Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Hearing Aids: How to Get Licensed

Scope of Practice

Hearing aid specialist  
Hearing aid specialists recommend, select or adapt hearing aids and may alter, adjust or reconstruct hearing aid specifications for functionality, such as taking ear impressions for proper fit.
 
A hearing aid is defined under Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 694.015(3)​ as any prosthetic instrument or device designed for or represented as aiding, improving or correcting defective human hearing and any parts, attachments or accessories of such an instrument or device. 
 
Hearing aids are not, however, devices for treating or correcting hearing impairment that are surgically implanted, such as cochlear implants.
Back to Top

Education & Training

The following documents describe the new training requirements for licensure (520 hours of practical training and completion of the International Hearing Society's Distance Learning Program for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences under direct supervision):

Step-by-step guide to become a hearing aid specialist​ (WORD)
Training Program information​
Practical Training Checklist
Certification of Training
Back to Top

Application Process

In addition to completing an application, paying fees and providing documentation regarding proof of age, identification and secondary education, applicants must provide the following:
 
Trainee Registration—Applicants must complete a Trainee Registration Agreement and Declaration of Responsibility required by ORS 694.065(2).
 
Temporary License—Individuals who have obtained the required training may apply for a temporary license, which allows them to practice under the supervision of a licensed specialist until they are able to pass the written and practical examinations. 
 
Certification of Training form must be completed before an application for a temporary license may be submitted.
Back to Top

Out-of-State Applicants

Applicants must provide documentation, in the form of an affidavit of licensure, submitted directly to the Health Licensing Office from the originating state’s regulatory office, providing evidence that the applicant currently holds or held a hearing aid specialist license within the past three years. 
 
Please note: Applicants currently licensed in another state who wish to obtain Oregon licensure must also take and pass the written and practical examinations.
Back to Top

Continuing Education

Licensees must complete and attest to 12 hours of continuing education each year. 
 
More information
Back to Top