Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Associate Sex Offender Therapist

Is active mental health licensure required for certification?

Question
Is active Oregon licensure in the mental health field required to obtain certification as an associate sex offender therapist?
 
Answer
No.  Active licensure in the mental health field is required only of clinical sex offender therapists.

Back to Top

How many hours of professional experience are required?

Question
How many hours of professional experience are required to obtain associate-level certification?
 
Answer
Applicants must document a minimum of 1000 hours of professional experience related to direct treatment services.  Applicants must have completed the 1000 hours within three years preceding the date of application. 
 
Direct treatment services is defined as "face-to-face individual, group or family therapy...." under Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 331-800-0010(11).

Back to Top

How many hours of formal training are required?

Question
How many hours of formal training are required to obtain associate-level certification?
 
Answer
Applicants must document at least 30 hours of formal training directly related to the treatment and evaluation of sex offenders or victims of abuse that was completed within the last three years immediately preceding the date of application.
 
For more information, see OAR 331-810-0030(3a-b)​.  Scroll down to find the correct section.  Or, review associate-level application materials on the Forms page.

Back to Top

How do I document my experience and formal training?

Question
How do I document the required 1000 hours of professional experience related to direct treatment services?
 
Answer
Complete the professional experience and formal training forms provided as part of the associate-level application materials on the Forms page.

Back to Top

Do the 1000 hours of professional experience require supervision?

Question
Do the required 1000 hours of professional experience related to direct treatment services require supervision?
 
Answer
No.  Associate sex offender therapists must provide documented supervision by a clinical sex offender therapist only after they become certified (see below). 
 
To become certified, applicants must submit documentation of the 1000 hours of professional experience, but those hours are not required to be supervised hours.

Back to Top

When is supervision required by an clinical-level therapist?

Question
When is an associate sex offender therapist required to be supervised by a clinical sex offender therapist?
 
Answer
Only after the applicant becomes certified as an associate sex offender therapist.  A minimum of two hours of supervison by a clinical-level therapist is required for each 45 hours of direct clinical contact an associate-level therapist has with a sex offender.

Back to Top

When is an associate required to choose a supervisor?

Question
When is an associate-level therapist required to choose a supervisor?
 
Answer
During the application process.  Applicants must submit a formal written contract that defines the parameters of the professional relationship between the applicant/associate-level therapist and the clinical-level therapist/supervisor.
 
For more information, see OAR 331-810-0050 and 331-810-0055.  Scroll down to find the correct section. Or, review associate-level application materials on the Forms page.

Back to Top

What if I can't locate a supervising clinical-level therapist?

Question
What if the applicant is unable to locate a clinical-level sex offender therapist to act in a supervisory role?
 
Answer
Contact the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA).  OHLA, in consulation with the Sex Offender Treatment Board (SOTB), can facilitate the certification process by assisting applicants in meeting the supervisory qualification requirements.

Back to Top