Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Clinical Sex Offender Therapist
Is active mental health licensure required for certification?
Question
Is active Oregon licensure in the mental health field required to obtain certification as an clinical sex offender therapist?
 
Answer
Yes.  Active licensure in the mental health field is required of clinical sex offender therapists under Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 675.375(3c).
 
How many hours of professional experience are required?
Question
How many hours of professional experience are required to obtain clinical-level certification?
 
Answer
Applicants for clinical-level certification must have a minimum of 2,000 hours of direct clinical contact with sex offenders, including:
  • 1,000 hours of direct treatment services
  • 500 hours of evaluations
  • 500 hours of professionally related activities
Experience must be obtained within not less than three years nor more than six years prior to the date of application Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 331-810-0020(2).
 
Direct treatment services is defined as "face-to-face individual, group or family therapy...." under OAR 331-800-0010(11).
 
To access specific requirements, go to OAR 331-810-0020(2-4) or to the related sections of the clinical-level application on the Forms page.

 
What is the specific experience requirement for evaluations?
Question
What is the specific experience requirement for evaluations to obtain clinical-level certification?
 
Answer
Under OAR 331-810-0020(3), applicants must record at least 500 hours of evaluations as defined in OAR 331-800-0010(14) (see below) that includes but is not limited to:
 
(a) Evaluation experience credit:
(A) Primary or secondary responsibility for interviewing the client;
(B) Preparation of the written evaluation report;
(C) All contact with clients; and
(D) Preparation of limited assessments for the purpose of:
(i) Institution classification;
(ii) Treatment monitoring; and
(iii) Reporting.
 
(b) Treatment experience credit:
(A) Face-to-face treatment hours performed by affiliates under the supervision of certified therapists;
(B) Time spent as a co-therapist. Both therapists shall have formal responsibility for the group session; and
(C) Time spent maintaining collateral contacts and written case/progress notes.
 
“Evaluation” means a comprehensive psychosexual assessment or intake assessment conforming to professional standards as adopted by the Association for Treatment of Sexual Abusers’ Practice Standards and Guidelines adopted in 2005, to determine a client’s risk to re-offend, identify dynamic risk factors, and develop appropriate treatment and supervision plans under OAR 331-800-0010(14).
 
Go to OAR 331-800-0010(14) or to the clinical-level application on the Forms page for more information.

 
What is the specific requirement for professional activities?
Question
What is the specific requirement for professionally related activities to obtain clinical-level certification?
 
Answer
Under OAR 331-810-0020(4), applicants must have a total of 500 hours of professionally related activities.  At least 340 hours of the 500 total hours must be documented activities, including but not limited to:
 
(A) Client charting or case management;
(B) Research;
(C) Peer review, consultations, or meetings with attorneys, parole officers or other officials;
(D) Court time or testimony;
(E) Profession related committee work or attendance at sex offender treatment related meetings;
 
and
 
At least 160 hours of professional activities engaged in as a sex offender therapist, while under the direct supervision of a qualified mental health professional.
 
The requirement of direct supervision by a qualified mental health professional may be waived if an applicant documents why supervision or documentation of supervision may not be obtained by completing a Waiver of Verification form on the Forms page.

 
How many hours of formal training are required?
Question
How many hours of formal training are required to obtain clinical-level certification?
 
Answer
Applicants must document at least 60 hours of formal training applicable to sex offender treatment and evaluation, achieved within the three years prior to application under ORS 675.375(3e).
 
At least 45 hours must be in "essential subjects" specified in OAR 331-810-0020(5a) and 15 hours must be in areas of "training and knowledge" specified in OAR 331-810-0020(5b).
 
To access specific requirements, go to OAR 331-810-0020(5a-b) or to to the formal training section of the clinical-level application on the Forms page.

 
How do I document my experience and formal training?
Question
How do I document my professional experience and formal training?
 
Answer
Complete the professional experience and formal training forms provided as part of the clinical-level application materials on the Forms page.

 
After becoming certified, may I supervise associate therapists?
Question
After becoming certified as a clinical sex offender therapist, may I supervise associate-level therapists?
 
Answer
Yes.  Go to OAR 331-810-0050 (Supervision Purpose Statement) and OAR 331-810-0055 (Supervision Requirements) for more information.  Clinical-level therapists may supervise a maximum of two associate-level therapists concurrently.
 
A formal written contract is required between the clinical- and associate-level therapists.  Go to the associate-level application on the Forms page for information on the Supervision Contract.