OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

SPECIAL EVENT DISTILLERY (SED)

BRIEF SUMMARY OF SED PRIVILEGES

The taste or drink must contain distilled liquor manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee. Once the taste or drink

contains distilled liguor manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee, the taste or drink may contain other distilled liquor

approved by the Commission for sale in Oregon and may also include malt beverages, wine, cider, and non-alcoholic liquids.

See Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 845-005-0413 for more information.

May provide tastings to the general public.

a. Atasting shall be no more than 1/2 fluid ounce of distilled liquor in a single container. The total liquid in the container may
be no more than 2 ounces. A licensee may charge the general public a fee for tastings.

b. The licensee shall not provide more than 2 and 1/2 fluid ounces of distilled liquor per person per license day.

May provide tastings to trade visitors.

a. Atasting shall be no more than 1 fluid ounce of distilled liquor in a single container. The total liquid in the container may be
no more than 3 ounces. A licensee may not charge a trade visitor a fee for tastings.

b. There is no daily limit on distilled liquor tastings provided to a trade visitor.
Trade visitors must be distinguished from members of the general public. A “trade visitor” means a person whose job
includes the purchase, or recommended purchase, of distilled spirits by a licensee of the Commission or distributors and
others in the commercial distribution chain; or a person representing an agency of mass communication, such as television,
radio, newspaper, magazine, and internet.

May sell by the drink. A “drink” contains more distilled liquor than what is allowed for a “tasting” (described above).

If the licensee is a DISTILLERY RETAIL OUTLET AGENT, may sell factory-sealed containers of distilled liquor manufactured by the

licensee for drinking off the premises. The sale is allowed only from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

1.

Food Service Requirements.

a. If you will provide only tastes and/or only sell factory-sealed containers of distilled liquor you have no food service
requirements.

b. If you will provide distilled liquor by the drink you must meet the food service requirements (see page 2).

Liquor Liability Insurance: If the licensed area is open to the public and expected attendance is 301 or more per day in the

licensed area, you must have at least $300,000 of liquor liability insurance coverage as required by ORS 471.168.

OLCC may refuse to process your application if it is not complete or is not submitted in sufficient time for the OLCC to

investigate. Typically, an application submitted to the OLCC two to four weeks before the event date is sufficient time to

process most applications.

Managing Your Event: Not following your written plan for managing your event may cause the OLCC to deny your future SED

applications.

Marijuana use is not allowed: The use of marijuana (both recreational and medical) is not allowed on your special event

licensed premises.

DIRECTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE SED APPLICATION

Fill out your application form completely and accurately.

Get your application signed by the local government where the event will take place before you submit it to the OLCC. The local

government may charge you a fee. The law allows the local government up to 45 days to process your application.

If the expected attendance at your event is 501 or more per day, please complete and attach the OLCC form Plan to Manage

Special Events, unless the OLCC exempts you from this requirement.

Submit forms to the OLCC office regulating the county in which your event will happen:

a. Typically, submitting them two to four weeks before the event date is sufficient time to process most applications.

b. Include the $10 per day license fee (per license day or any part of a license day). Make payment by check or money order,
payable to OLCC. A license day is from 7:00 am to 2:30 am on the succeeding calendar day.
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WHEN | PROVIDE DISTILLED LIQUOR BY THE DRINK AT THE SED, WHAT AMOUNT OF FOOD MUST | PROVIDE?

. THREE: You must provide at all times and in all areas where alcohol service is available at least three different substantial
food items.

WHAT IS A SUBSTANTIAL FOOD ITEM?

This is a food item that is typically served as a main course or entrée. Some examples are fish, steak, chicken, pasta, pizza, and
sandwiches. Side dishes, appetizer items, dessert items, and snack items such as popcorn, peanuts, chips and crackers do not qualify
as substantial food items.

WHAT DOES “DIFFERENT” MEAN?

“Different” means substantial food items that the OLCC determines differ in their primary ingredients or method of preparation. For
example, a turkey sandwich differs from a salami sandwich, a beef burger differs from a turkey burger, and fried chicken differs from
baked chicken. Different sizes of the same item are not considered different.

IS THERE AN EXCEPTION TO PROVIDING THE THREE DIFFERENT SUBSTANTIAL FOOD ITEMS?

The OLCC must determine that the clearly dominant emphasis is food service at all times in the area where alcohol service is
available in order for you to provide only one substantial food item. The OLCC will work with you to make this determination prior
to approving your application.

WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO PROVIDE FOOD SERVICE “AT ALL TIMES AND IN ALL AREAS WHERE ALCOHOL SERVICE IS AVAILABLE”?
Patrons must be able to obtain food service inside the special event licensed area. You may use either of the following two methods
to provide food service:

° Within all areas where alcohol service is available, have the minimum required food items available for patrons at all times;
or
. Within all areas where alcohol service is available, have a menu of the minimum required food items (plus any other items

you may choose to include) available for patrons at all times and be able to provide the food items in the area if a patron
chooses to order food. The food items could be kept at a location other than the area where the alcohol is served;
however, you must be able to provide the food items to the patron in the area where alcohol service is available.

MAY | USE FOOD PROVIDED BY A CONTRACTOR OR CONTRACTORS TO MEET THE FOOD REQUIREMENT?

Yes, the food service may be provided by someone other than you; however, even if food service is provided by a contractor, you
are fully responsible for compliance with the food requirements. You may sell or serve alcohol only when food service that meets
the requirement is provided to patrons at all times and in all areas where alcohol service is available.

WHO MAY THE CONTRACT FOR THE FOOD SERVICE BE WITH?
The contract may be between:

. You (the OLCC licensee) and the food service contractor; or
. The organizer of the event and the food service contractor.

DOES THE FOOD SERVICE CONTRACT NEED TO BE IN WRITING?
No, the food service contract does not need to be in writing; however, you may sell or serve alcohol only when food service that
meets the requirement is provided to patrons at all times and in all areas where alcohol service is available.
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OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION PRINT

SPECIAL EVENT DISTILLERY (SED) APPLICATION

You must be an Oregon Distillery licensee to obtain an SED. An SED allows you to provide tastes and sell distilled liquor for
drinking on the special event licensed premises, and if a Distillery Retail Outlet Agent, sell factory-sealed containers of distilled
liquor for drinking off the premises. The sale of factory-sealed containers is allowed only from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. The
distilled liquor must have been manufactured by the Distillery licensee and purchased from the OLCC.

e Process Time: OLCC needs your completed application in sufficient time to approve it. Sufficient time is typically 2 to 4
weeks before the first event date listed in #10 below (some events may need extra processing time). OLCC may refuse
to process your application if it is not submitted in sufficient time for the OLCC to investigate it.

e OLCC License Fee: $10 per license day or any part of a license day. Make payment by check or money order, payable

to OLCC. A license day is from 7:00 am to 2:30 am on the succeeding calendar day.

License Days: In #10 below, you may apply for a maximum of five license days per application form.

1. Licensee Name:

2. Email:

3. Trade Name of Business: 4, Fax:
5. Address of Annual Business 6. City:
7. Contact Person: 8. Contact Phone:
9. Event Name:

10. Date(s) of event (no more than five days):

11. Start/end hours of alcohol service: Dam [Jpm to I_lam I_lpm

12. Address of Special Event: City Zip

13. Is the event outdoors? DYes DNO

13a. If no, in what area(s) of the building is the event located?

13b. If yes, submit a drawing showing the licensed area and how the boundaries of the licensed area will be identified.

14. Describe the primary activities within the licensed area:

15. Will you sell factory-sealed containers of distilled liquor? []Yes [ JNo If yes, list your outlet number:

16. Will minors and alcohol be together in the same area? [ ]Yes []No

17. What is the expected attendance per day in the licensed area (where alcohol will be sold or consumed)?

PLAN TO MANAGE THE SPECIAL EVENT LICENSED AREA
If your answer to #17 is 501 or more, in addition to your answers to questions 18, 19, and 20, you will need to complete the
OLCC’s Plan to Manage Special Events form, unless the OLCC exempts you from this requirement.

18. Describe your plan to prevent problems and violations:

19. Describe your plan to prevent minors from gaining access to alcoholic beverages and from gaining access to any portion of
the licensed premises prohibited to minors:
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20. Describe your plan to manage alcohol consumption by adults:

21. List name(s) and service permit number(s) of alcohol manager(s) on-duty and in the licensed area:

LIQUOR LIABILITY INSURANCE
If the licensed area is open to the public and expected attendance is 301 or more per day in the licensed area, the event must
have at least $300,000 of liquor liability insurance coverage (ORS 471.168).

22. Insurance Company:

23. Policy #: | 24. Expiration Date:

MARIJUANA
25. Will marijuana (such as use, consumption, samples, give-away, sale, etc.) be allowed on the special event licensed
premises or be part of the event or an adjacent event? [ _JYes [_]No

FOOD SERVICE
See the attached sheet for an explanation of this requirement.

26. Will you provide distilled liquor by the drink? EIYes EINO

27. If yes to #26, name at least three different substantial food items that you will provide:

1. | 2. 3,

TRADE VISITORS (See Instructions)
28. Will you provide tastings to trade visitors at this event? [ves CIno
If yes, please describe how you will distinguish trade visitors from members of the general public:

GOVERNMENT RECOMMENDATION

You must obtain a recommendation from the local city or county named in #29 before submitting this application to the
OLCC. The law allows the city or county up to 45 days to process it.

29. Name the city if the event address is within a city’s limits, or the county if the event address is outside the city’s limits:

SIGNATURE
| affirm that | am authorized to sign this application on behalf of the applicant.
30. Name (please print):

31. Signature: 32. Date:

CITY OR COUNTY USE ONLY

The city/county named in #29 above recommends:

[ Grant 1 Acknowledge L] Deny (attach written explanation of deny recommendation)
City/County Signature: Date:

FORM TO OLCC

This license is valid only when signed by an OLCC representative. Submit this form to the OLCC office regulating the county in
which your special event will happen.

OLCC USE ONLY Date: Receipt #:
Fee Paid:

Licenseis: [ Approved [l Denied

OLCC Signature: Date:
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