News Release

,a' Oregon Liguor Control Commission
9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Portland, OR 97222-7355
1-800-452-6522

For more information: Christie Scott, Public Affairs Specialist, (503) 872-5002
Janice Kindrick, Regional Enforcement Manager (503) 972-5157
www.oregon.gov/olcc

For immediate release: Monday, March 22, 2010

Seventeen out of 18 Tillamook businesses pass OLCC check for alcohol
sales to minors

Tillamook, OR — Ninety five percent of Tillamook businesses that were checked by the Oregon
Liguor Control Commission passed by refusing to sell alcohol to the minor volunteers. The
compliance check was performed by the OLCC March 6.

The sales check resulted in a 95 percent compliance rate, which is well above the statewide
average of 78 percent.

“It is very important for licensees and their employees to take the time to check ID’s correctly,”
said Janice Kindrick, Regional Enforcement Manager. “Many sales to minors could be avoided
by servers and clerks if they took a little longer to really look at the ID being presented.”

Tillamook (3706/10)
95% Passed

PC RIVERSIDE MARKET
34585 BROOTEN RD
CLOVERDALE, OR

SUPER MART #7
34365 HWY 101 S
CLOVERDALE, OR

HEBO BAR & GRILL
31003 S HWY 101
HEBO, OR

DORYLAND PIZZA
33315 CAPE KIWANDA DR
PACIFIC CITY, OR

CAPE KIWANDA RV RESORT
33305 CAPE KIWANDA DR
PACIFIC CITY, OR

LOS CAPORALES RESTAURANT
35025 BROOTEN RD
PACIFIC CITY, OR

SPORTMAN'S PUB N GRUB
34975 BROOTEN RD
PACIFIC CITY, OR

PACIFIC CITY SHELL &
GROCERY

34995 BROOTEN RD
PACIFIC CITY, OR

PACIFIC CITY INN/DELICATE
PALATE

35280 BROOTEN RD
PACIFIC CITY, OR

PELICAN PUB
33180 CAPE KIWANDA DR
PACIFIC CITY, OR

THE SCHOONER
2065 NETARTS BAY RD
NETARTS, OR

MICHKO'S
4805 NETARTS HWY W
NETARTS, OR

BARVIEW JETTY STORE
15530 HWY 101 N
ROCKAWAY, OR

JETTY FISHERY
27550 HWY 101 N
ROCKAWAY BEACH, OR

BAYSIDE MARKET & DELI
4995 CRAB AVE W
TILLAMOOK, OR

NETARTS GROCERY
4945 NETARTS HWY W
TILLAMOOK, OR

BEAVER SHELL & GROCERY
24485 HWY 101 S
BEAVER, OR

BEAVER GROCERY & DELI
24375 HWY 101 S
BEAVER, OR

5% Failed

HEBO MARKET
31080 HWY 101 S
HEBO, OR




The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which
is a serious problem throughout the state. The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor
businesses each year. Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related
damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor.

The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s. Participants learn how to identify
false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol. Additional training opportunities
are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders. Interested persons
can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session. (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for
minor and adult attached)

The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which
is a serious problem throughout the state. The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor
businesses each year. Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related
damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor.

During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.
Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers. The
volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age
or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.

Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal
chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check. A business can also be
selected for a compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.
Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not
subject to these selection requirements.
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“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service”



