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Fourteen out of 17 Umatilla County businesses pass OLCC check for 

alcohol sales to minors  
 

Umatilla County, OR – Eighty-two percent of Umatilla County businesses that were checked for 
alcohol sales to minors passed by refusing to sell to underage volunteers.  The compliance check 
was performed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission on July 13.   
 
The sales check resulted in an 82 percent compliance rate, which is consistent with the statewide 
average of 78 percent.   
 
“It is essential for licensees and their employees to check ID’s correctly,” said Katy Boyce, Bend 
Regional Manager.  “Spending that extra 30 seconds to really look at the ID being presented 
could prevent many alcohol sales to minors.” 
 
Pendleton (7/13/10) - Umatilla County 
82% Passed 
14 out of 17 Businesses 
Passed    
SAM'S CORNER MARKET HAMLEY COFFEE HAMLEY'S 
107 E BROADWAY 16 SE COURT AVE 30 SE COURT 
MILTON-FREEWATER, OR PENDLETON, OR PENDLETON, OR 

NEW YORK RICHIES FRONTIER TAVERN 
GARNER'S GROCERY & 
SPORTING 

1004 SW COURT ST 129 SW 18TH 2214 SE COURT ST 
PENDLETON, OR PENDLETON, OR PENDLETON, OR 

ECHO HILLS GOLF COURSE 
MILTON-FREEWATER LIQUOR 
STORE TATE'S UMAPINE MERCANTILE 

GOLF COURSE RD S MAIN 51602 HWY 332 
ECHO, OR MILTON-FREEWATER, OR MILTON-FREEWATER, OR 
ALBERTSON'S #264 HELIX MARKET & PUB BI-MART #656 
1300 SW COURT 206 CONCORD 901 SW EMIGRANT 
PENDLETON, OR HELIX, OR PENDLETON, OR 
PIZZA HUT VIRGIL'S AT CIMMIYOTTI'S   
110 SW 20TH 137 S MAIN   
PENDLETON, OR PENDLETON, OR   
  
18% Failed 
3 out of 17 Businesses Failed    
UKIAH THICKET CAFÉ & BAR BARE BONES SAMS STOP & SHOP #3 
108 E MAIN 1304 SW DORION 1121 S MAIN 



UKIAH, OR PENDLETON, OR MILTON-FREEWATER, OR 
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which 
is a serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor 
businesses each year.  Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related 
damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to identify 
false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training opportunities 
are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  Interested persons 
can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.  (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for 
minor and adult 
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonliquorcontrolcommission/sets/72157624623539267/) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed 
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.  
Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers.  The 
volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age 
or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.  
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal 
chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A business can also be 
selected for a compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.  
Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not 
subject to these selection requirements.   
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