
 

News Release  
 

Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Portland, OR 97222-7355 

1-800-452-6522 
For more information:  Christie Scott, Public Affairs Specialist, (503) 872-5002 
 Matt Roberts, Medford Region Inspector (541) 776-6191 
 www.oregon.gov/olcc 
  

For immediate release:  Wednesday, June 15, 2011 
 

 
Medford businesses pass OLCC check for alcohol sales to minors  

 
Medford, OR – Five out of 8 businesses visited passed a check for alcohol sales to minors by refusing 
to sell alcohol to a minor volunteer.  The sales checks were performed May 18 by the Oregon Liquor 
Control Commission. 
 
The sales check resulted in a compliance rate of 63 percent which was significantly below the 2010 
statewide average of 80 percent.    
 
“Summer is an exciting time. It’s tempting to let yourself get distracted,” said Jeff Jett, Medford 
Regional Manager.  “Unfortunately, one distraction could result in selling alcohol to a minor.  The 
person who sold or served could be held legally responsible for any alcohol-related injuries, damages 
or deaths that are caused by the minor.  Refusing to sell alcohol to minors keeps the community and 
the business safe.” 
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which is a 
serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests licensed liquor businesses throughout the year.  
Licensees or their employees could be held liable for alcohol-related damages and injuries if they 
serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to identify false 
identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training opportunities are available 
including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  Interested persons can call the local 
OLCC office to schedule a training session.  (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for minor and adult 
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonliquorcontrolcommission/sets/72157624623539267/) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed business to 
see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.  Commission 
inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers.  The volunteers carry their 
own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale 
of alcohol.   The Oregon Driver license for a minor carries a red border around the picture with the 
words “Under 21 until” followed by the date of his/her 21st birthday. 
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal chance of 
being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A business can also be selected for a 
compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.  Businesses in cities with a 
population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection 
requirements.   
 
 

“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service” 
 

Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $343 million to Oregon's General 
Fund, Cities, Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs? See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's 

Website. 



Medford  
8 premises visited: 5 No Sales, 3 Sales – Compliance rate of 63%. 

 
 

NO SALES: NO SALES: 

4 Daughters Irish Pub 
126 W Main St 
Medford 

Shell 338 
1968 Crater Lake Hwy 
Medford 

Joe's La Burrita 
4044 Crater Lake Ave 
Medford 

Short Stop Market 
3320 N Pacific Hwy 
Medford 

Riverside 76 
1050 S Riverside Ave 
Medford 

  

SALES: SALES: 

Homewood Suites by Hilton 
2010 Hospitality Way 
Medford 

Spicers Restaurant & Dessertery 
3603 Crater Lake Hwy 
Medford 

Rogue Regency Inn & Suites 
2300 Biddle Road 
Medford 
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