OREGON Liquor CoNTROL COMMISSION
Age Verification Equipment

educing underage drinking is a high priority for the OLCC.
One resource to reduce sales to minors is the use of age

verification equipment by licensees.

Oregon Revised Statute 471.392 allows the OLCC to use age
verification equipment as a tool to reduce underage drinking and helps
licensees demonstrate that they are responsible business owners.

The rule (OAR 845-009-014) states that:

) For a first sale to a minor or failure to verify age, the OLCC may
allow a licensee the choice of:

Paying a civil penalty,
Serving a suspension, or
Buying age verification equipment

° For a second or subsequent violation, the OLCC has the option
of allowing a licensee to buy the equipment to partially offset a
civil penalty or suspension.

° Age verification equipment must be used at every point of sale
used to sell alcohol, and the equipment must be used at each
point of sale as long as the licensee owns the business.

° A licensee may use this option only one time.

The licensee must notify the OLCC within 15 days of receiving a
Notice of Violation of their intention to get and use equipment.

Licensees must be using the equipment within 30 days of receiving
the Notice of Violation, and must have the equipment in place, in
working condition, and in use for as long as the licensee owns the
business.
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Oregon Revised Statute 471.392
allows the OLCC to use age
verification equipment as a tool to
reduce underage drinking and
helps licensees demonstrate that
they are responsible business
owners.

For more information contact:
Public Safety Division

phone: 503-872-5253
toll free: 800-452-6522

The mission of the OLCC is to
promote the public interest through
the responsible sale and service
of alcoholic beverages.
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