Alcohol Server Education Course

The alcohol server education course is designed for Oregonians who hold on-premises
liquor licenses, their managers, and employees who mix, sell or serve alcohol. The
purpose of the program is to ensure that certified instructors give quality instruction
based on a state-issued model curriculum covering Oregon’s alcohol laws and
responsible service strategies. The alcohol server education course enforces standards
under ORS 471.542.

Reducing alcohol-related problems

Established in 1987, this first-in-the-nation mandatory program is based on the concept
that people who serve alcohol professionally can be a positive force in reducing
alcohol-related problems and enhancing public health and safety.

Alcohol server education includes instruction on Oregon liquor laws, drunk-driving
laws, effects of alcohol on the body, strategies for dealing with intoxicated and
underage customers, and responsible marketing and management techniques.

All alcohol servers, managers and business owners are required to attend an alcohol
server education course and pass a 50-question, multiple-choice test. Under the
program:

v An alcohol server applies for a service permit on the first day of
employment at a licensed business.

v The class is taken within 45 days of permit application.

v Permits are renewed every five years. Renewing servers may repeat the
initial class or take a shorter class and pass with a higher exam score.

Private-sector providers and instructors

Alcohol server education courses are taught by private providers and their instructors
who are certified by the OLCC. They must use a training curriculum, teaching methods
and class materials that meet standards developed by the OLCC.

Fees for the class are set by the provider and generally range from $25-$40 per person.
To qualify to teach in the program, instructors must have experience or post-secondary
education in the hospitality industry, teaching or other fields related to alcohol service.

The end-of-course examination is designed to reinforce the learning process. More than
98% of those taking the test pass.
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Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service
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OLCC program representatives monitor alcohol server education courses to ensure they meet training
standards and evaluate instructors annually. The OLCC may sanction a provider or instructor for failing
to meet program standards.

Professional alcohol servers

Since its inception in 1987, the alcohol server education program has trained more than 250,000 servers
through a network of instructors working for providers across the state. Annually, approximately 20,000
students attend one of more than 2,300 classes available, which meet students’ language needs in English,
Spanish, and Chinese.

This training has increased alcohol servers’ awareness of problems associated with alcohol abuse and
gives servers the information and skills they need to sell alcohol responsibly. Trained, professional servers
have learned to deny service to minors and to visibly intoxicated persons. As a result, the vast majority of
OLCC-licensed businesses sell alcohol safely and responsibly and do not create problems for their patrons
or communities.

For more information contact:

Andrea Mooney

Administrative Specialist
phone: (503) 872-5133
fax: (503) 872-5141

e-mail: andrea.mooney(@state.or.us
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