
OLCC’s alcohol service permits are designed to ensure that only eligible, trained

people manage alcohol service, and sell or serve alcoholic beverages at OLCC-

licensed businesses that allow on-premises alcohol consumption.

Responsible alcohol service
Serving alcohol is a serious business.  Responsible alcohol service ensures that Oregon

restaurants, bars, and taverns watch out for the safety of their customers, neighbors,

and communities. A decision to refuse alcohol sales to underage customers or

intoxicated persons can literally be a life-or-death decision. Oregon law recognizes the

importance of responsible alcohol service by requiring an alcohol service permit for

people who sell or serve alcohol to customers at restaurants, taverns, bars, and other

businesses where customers can legally drink alcoholic beverages. People who manage

alcohol servers are also required to have a permit. Servers must be at least 18 years

old, but are limited in their duties until they are 21. Currently, there are more than

120,000 licensed alcohol servers (permitees) in Oregon, and this year the OLCC

expects to process more than 35,000 service permit applications.

Simple application process
The application process is simple. A person applies for a permit by completing a form

that includes identifying information and questions about any criminal or drunk-

driving convictions that the applicant may have. People who have not previously had

an alcohol service permit application denied or a service permit canceled are allowed

to work as alcohol servers as soon as they have completed an application and it has

been endorsed by their employer. The employer is responsible for immediately sending

the completed application to the OLCC.

Background checks
The OLCC reviews the applications to ensure that applicants are eligible, and conducts

background checks to verify that applicants have accurately reported their criminal

history. Not every person qualifies for an alcohol service permit. People who have

recent or multiple convictions for driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII),

violating liquor laws, felony drug crimes, felony crimes of violence, or felony driving

while suspended or revoked may not qualify for a service permit. In addition, persons

who have a habit of abusing alcohol or controlled substances may not qualify for a

permit, unless they can establish that they are no longer using these substances, and are

participating in or have completed a state-approved alcohol or drug treatment program, 

and have completed any parole or probation requirements. If the OLCC proposes to

deny an application, the applicant has the right to an administrative hearing to contest

the agency’s action. 
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Alcohol server education course and test
All applicants must take an OLCC-approved alcohol server education course and pass a test no later than 45

days after the OLCC receives their application. A possible extension of the 45-day time limit may exist for

people living in counties with a population under 100,000, if they can demonstrate that circumstances beyond

their control prevented them from completing the course. The course teaches students about Oregon’s alcohol

service laws and covers key concepts of responsible alcohol sales and service, including recognizing signs of

intoxication, checking identification, and preventing alcohol sales to minors and intoxicated persons. At the

end of the course, students demonstrate their knowledge of the course materials by taking a scored exam.

Results and renewals
Applicants who meet the eligibility requirements for a permit, take the alcohol server education course, and

pass the exam are issued an alcohol service permit. The permit is valid for five years. Applicants who have

taken and passed the initial class within the past seven years may renew their service permit by either

repeating the initial class or taking a renewal course. The passing exam score is higher for a renewal course.  

Public safety
The alcohol server education course increases an alcohol server’s awareness of the problems associated with

alcohol over-service and abuse, and gives the server information and skills needed to sell and serve alcohol

responsibly. Trained servers are less likely to sell to minors or intoxicated persons, and are better able to detect

and prevent alcohol-related problems. Permitees who violate liquor laws are subject to OLCC administrative

penalties. These penalties range from written reprimands to fines, or the suspension or cancellation of a service

permit. Eligibility requirements for holding a permit help the OLCC ensure that people who serve alcohol are

likely to follow alcohol laws and rules. As a result, the vast majority of OLCC-licensed businesses sell alcohol

safely and responsibly, and do not create problems for their customers, neighbors or communities.  

For more information contact:

Gwenn McNeal

Service Permit Compliance Specialist

Phone: 503-872-5127

Fax: 503-872-5141

Email: gwenn.mcneal@state.or.us
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