Oregon’s Retail Liquor Stores

There are 242 retail liquor stores to serve the people of Oregon. Each one is operated by a
private-sector business person who has a contract with OLCC to serve as the liquor agent
for that store.

We describe most of our liquor stores as exclusive, meaning they sell distilled spirits
supplemented by a number of OLCC-approved related items, such as tobacco, olives, ice,
mixers and glassware. There are also 86 non-exclusive stores that sell distilled spirits in
conjunction with another business. Non-exclusive stores are usually found in rural areas,
where customer demand would not support a retailer relying only on distilled spirits for
income.

The last state-operated stores were converted to agencies in the 1980s. The number of
stores remained stable until 1987 when the Legislature directed the OLCC to open another
non-exclusive store that year. No more stores were added until 2000, when three new
stores were opened in the Portland metro area in accordance with OLCC’s retail business
plan. This plan balances the control of access to alcohol with the need to modernize retail
liquor stores and provide quality customer service.

Another six stores have been opened in the past four years. Three of the newest stores are
located inside Oregon grocery stores in an OLCC pilot project designed to meet customer
demand for more convenient retail liquor outlets while continuing strong compliance with
liquor laws. Up to three more pilot stores are planned.

Agents store operating expense fund

Each biennium, the Legislature approves a dollar limitation for the fund that the OLCC
distributes as agents’ compensation. These payments are agents’ take-home pay and also
cover store operating costs. In recent years, the Legislature has calculated agents’
compensation as a percentage of statewide liquor sales.

In addition to sales of distilled spirits, liquor agents earn revenue from lottery proceeds
and by selling related items. These sales are not included in the formula used to arrive at
agents’ compensation.

8.88% of sales

Liquor agents are compensated an average 8.88 percent of distilled spirits sales. The rate
was increased from 8.54 percent by the 2003 Legislature. Based on this 8.88 percent
figure, the Legislature also set compensation to liquor agents at $49,832,458 for the
2003-05 biennium.
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Over the past two decades, the annual payout to compensate liquor agents has nearly
tripled, from $9.7 million in 1985 to $25.4 million at the end of fiscal year 2004. For
several years statewide liquor sales — and agents compensation — have been above
projections. When sales exceed projections, OLCC requests an an increase in the
limitation from the Legislature to cover additional compensation to liquor agents.
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Agent compensation schedule

Agents sell distilled spirits directly to consumers and and to liquor-licensed businesses such as restaurants,
bars and taverns, known as “dispensers.”

All agents are paid monthly and receive base compensation, plus around 7.15 percent of monthly consumer
sales and 5.58 percent of monthly dispenser sales. These percentages are adjusted every six months.

Exclusive agents are paid a larger base compensation depending on the classification of their store, which is
dependent on annual sales figures as follows:

Class Annual sales Base compensation

1 up to $210,000 13% of the first $10,000 of monthly sales
2 $210,000 - $450,000 $1,560

3 $450,000 - $750,000 $1,820

4 $750,000 - $1,050,000 $2,248

5 $1,050,000 - $1,650,000 $2,340

6 $1,650,000 and up $2,600

Each exclusive liquor agent is eligible for up to $150, and each non-exclusive agent up to $118, in additional

monthly compensation that is deposited into deferred compensation if the agent also deposits a like amount
into the fund.

For more information contact:

Jim MacAlistaire
OLCC Retail Services Division Director
(503) 872-5028
jim.macalistaire(@state.or.us



