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Board of medical examiners 
Statement of purpose:    Recognizing that to practice medicine is not 
a natural right of any person but is a privilege granted by legislative authority, it is 
necessary in the interests of the health, safety, and welfare of the people of this state 
to provide for the granting of that privilege and the regulation of its use, to the end 
that the public is protected from the practice of medicine by unauthorized or 
unqualified persons and from unprofessional conduct by persons licensed to practice 
under the Medical Practice Act, ORS 677. 

 
 
History  
   
  In 1889 Oregon   
legislators responded to 
demands from the medical 
community and passed a bill 
creating the Board of 
Medical Examiners (BME). 

  Charged with regulating 
the practice of medicine in 
Oregon, the Board was 
appointed by the governor 
and included “three persons 
from among the most 
competent physicians in the 
state.”  

  Licensing requirements 
were relatively simple.  
Physicians either had to 
show a diploma from a 
medical school, pass an 
exam given by the Board, or, 
if already practicing,  register 
within 60 days of the new 
law’s passage.   

  Over the next 40 years,  
the Medical  Practice Act 
went through significant 
changes.  In 1895, the 
legislature added two 
members to the BME and 
defined unprofessional 
conduct for the first time to  
include “employment of 
cappers or steerers (payment 
for patient testimonials), 
moral turpitude. betraying 
professional secrets, and 
obtaining a fee for the care of 
an incurable disease.” 

 Applicants also were    now 
required to submit their 
educational credentials and 
pass an exam on all 
branches of medicine.  An 
osteopathic physician was 
added to the Board in 1907  

 

structure 
 
Today the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners (BME) 
oversees the licensure and professional conduct of 
more than 13,000 physicians (MD and DO) as well as 
approximately 170 podiatrists (DPM), 680 physician 
assistants (PA), and 760 acupuncturists (LAc). 
 
In this capacity, the BME administers the Medical 
Practice Act (ORS 677), establishes the rules and 
regulations guiding the practice of medicine in 
Oregon, and investigates complaints regarding a 
licensee’s professional behavior.       
 
The twelve-member Board is appointed by the 
Governor and includes seven MD members, two DO 
members, one DPM member, and two public 
members: 
 

 Lisa A. Cornelius, DPM, Corvallis 
 Clifford W. Deveney, MD, Portland 
 Ramiro Gaitán, Portland 
 David R. Grube, MD, Philomath 
 Nathalie M. Johnson, MD, Portland 
 Douglas B. Kirkpatrick, MD, Medford 
 Gary LeClair, MD, Eugene 
 Patricia L. Smith, Bend 
 John C. Stiger, DO, Milwaukie 
 Joseph J. Thaler, MD, Salem 
 Sheridan A. Thiringer, DO, Forest Grove 

 David G. Watt, MD, Portland 
 

Much of the BME’s work is done by committee.  Each 
member is assigned to at least one of the following 
committees: 

 Committee on Investigations has three 
 physician Board members and two public 
 Board members.  It meets monthly to consider 

   all investigative and disciplinary matters.  The 
   committee then makes recommendations to 
  the full Board regarding disposition of cases.
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 when the legislature moved 
DOs under the Board’s 
supervision. 

  By 1931 legislation 
passed that required all new 
physicians to pass a state-
administered basic science 
test before a medical license 
would be granted. 

  By the late 1940s, the 
BME began to put physicians 
who violated the Medical 
Practice Act on probation.  
These disciplinary efforts, in  
combination with the basic 
science exam requirement, 
made Oregon one of the 
most difficult states in which 
to get a medical license. 

  During the 1973 
legislature the basic science 
exam was repealed after it 
was determined that other   
credentialing/licensing 
exams served the same 
purpose. 

  About this time, the 
Board’s activities began to 
change and expand.  After 
82 years of regulating the 
medical practice provided by 
physicians only, the BME 
became responsible for the 
licensing of certain other 
health-care professionals. 

  Over the past 30 years, 
the Board has added  several 
groups and today oversees 
physician assistants, 
acupuncturists,  and 
podiatrists.   

  In 1975 the legislature 
passed several bills to 
increase the BME’s power in 
disciplinary matters. The 
Medical Practice Act 

  was changed to allow a       
physician’s license to be 
summarily suspended when 
the physician poses an 
immediate danger to the 
public.  Additional legislation 
passed that guarantees 
confidentiality   to anyone 
filing a complaint against a 
physician.  It also included a 
requirement for physicians 
to report colleagues who 
violate the Medical Practice 
Act directly to the Board 

 Committee on Administrative Affairs meets just 
prior to the quarterly Board meetings to review 
applicants for licensure, administrative rules 
and procedures, and includes five Board 
members.  

 Committee on Legislation & Public Policy 
develops and responds to legislative 
proposals.  It is active primarily just before and 
after a legislative session. 

 
The full Board meets quarterly (January, April, July, 
and October) to issue licenses and consider the 
activities of its committees. 
 

 allied health professionals 
 
In addition to responsibility for MD’s/DO’s and 
podiatrists, the BME licenses and monitors the 
following health professionals: 

 Physician Assistants 
 Acupuncturists 

 
The licensure requirements for the two groups are 
similar: an individual must graduate from a  
Board-approved school or training program and pass 
a national certification exam before a license can be 
granted.   
 
Each allied health group has a separate advisory 
committee that includes members from the involved 
profession as well as a Board representative.  They 
function similarly to other BME committees and are 
responsible for reviewing credentials of new 
applicants as well as serving as an investigative and 
disciplinary body. 
 
Physician assistants were the first allied health group 
to come under the Board’s responsibility in 1971.  
They are required to work under the supervision of a 
Board-approved physician and must have an 
individual scope of practice outlined in a practice 
description that is approved by the Board. 
 
Since 1973 acupuncturists have been licensed in 
Oregon to practice acupuncture and other forms of 
oriental medicine.   
 
The BME also works with the Department of Human 
Services Emergency Medical Services and Trauma 
Systems and oversees the Emergency Medical  
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  As a result of these 
changes, the BME has seen a 
dramatic increase in the 
number of complaints it 
receives 

  In 2006 a podiatric 
physician member was 
added to the Board and the 
Advisory Council on Podiatry 
abolished. 

  Since its modest    
beginnings more than 115 
years ago, the BME has 
changed markedly.  It has 
gone from three board 
members to 12, including 
two public members.  In 
1900, it was responsible for 
627 licensees; by the year 
2006 the number had grown 
to over 15,000 and is still 
growing.  

  Despite administrative 
and regulatory changes, the 
mission of the Board of 
Medical Examiners has 
remained constant since the 
beginning - to ensure the 
people of Oregon receive 
appropriate medical care 
from qualified professionals. 

 
 

Technician (EMT) Advisory Committee.  The EMT 
Committee develops the First Responder and EMT 
Scope of Practice and the qualifications and 
responsibilities for EMT supervising physicians. 
 

 funding  
 
Even though it is a state agency, the BME does not 
receive any moneys directly from the general fund.  It 
is completely self-supporting with all income 
generated from data processing requests and the 
examination, licensing, and registration fees and fines 
collected from its licensees. 
 
The funds raised are placed into a State Treasury 
account dedicated for Board expenditures and may 
be spent only with legislative approval.  The Board 
operates under the state’s Department of 
Administrative Services.  Every two years a budget is 
prepared and sent to the Governor for review, and 
possible modification, before it goes to the legislature 
for consideration and approval. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

organizational  chart 
 

 Oregon State Board of Medical Examiners 
7 MD members, 2 DO members, 1 DPM member, 2 public members   

Committee on Investigations Committee on Administrative Affairs Committee on Legislation & Public Policy 

4 MD/DO Board members 5 Board members 3 Board members 

2 Board public members   

EMT Advisory Committee Acupuncture Advisory Committee  Physician Assistant Advisory Committee 

3 EMTs, 2 MD/DOs 3 acupuncturists  2 PAs, 1 MD/DO, 1 pharmacist 

 2 MD/DOs, 1 Board liaison 1 Board liaison 
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Web site for the board of medical examiners 
 
The Board's web site address is:  www.oregon.gov/BME. 

 
In October 1998 the Board of Medical Examiners released its new web site.  The site 
provides useful information to the public and licensees about the Board and its various 
functions including a description of the Board's licensing programs, instructions on how 
to apply for a license, the disciplinary process, and how to file a complaint.  There is also 
a section on links to other health related web sites, as well as links to the administrative 
rules and statutes through the Secretary of State's office.  
 
Listed below is the current table of contents for the Board's web site: 
 
• About the Board 
• BME Newsletters 
• Board Actions 
• Board Calendar / Meeting Information 
• Current Events 
• DocFinder:  Find a Licensee / Search for a 

Provider 
• Filing a Complaint 
• Forms 
• Frequently Asked Questions 
• Health Professionals Program 
• Helpful Phone Numbers 

• HIPAA 
• Information about Licensees 
• Licensure Requirements 
• Links 
• Malpractice Claims Search 
• MD/DO/DPM Application Status 
• Mission Statement 
• Other Health Site Links 
• Rules and Statutes 
• Statistics / Performance Measures 
• Topics of Interest 

 
The general e-mail address for the Board is bme.info@state.or.us.  If you have any 
comments on the web site or suggestions for future additions of this handbook, please 
contact us. 
 

OREGON PHYSICIANS ON DOCFINDER 
                                                                                                                                                    
The BME has joined the Administrators in Medicine's (AIM) DocFinder on the Internet.  
Through the DocFinder web site, Oregon, along with 18 other states, is providing 
credentialing/licensing information on its licensees to the public via the Internet.  
 
DocFinder is a great tool for hospitals, clinics, health insurance companies, HMOs, the 
general public, and other licensees of the Board who might want to look up a physician, 
podiatrist, physician assistant, or acupuncturist and obtain basic credentialing/licensing 
information. 
 
DocFinder's home page can be found at www.docboard.org/docfinder.html and it is also 
linked through the Board's web site at www.oregon.gov/BME through "Search for a 
Provider" or “Find A Licensee.” 
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 activities & responsibilities   
 
The Board’s services are provided by its professional staff via two separate units.  
Operations handles all Board activities under the administrative, licensing, and 
investigations departments while the Health Professionals Program oversees the 
treatment and rehabilitation of licensees who suffer from substance abuse disorders. 
 
The administrative branch coordinates day-to-day operation and includes: 

 financial operations 
 business and technical support 
 liaison with governor, legislature, and other regulatory agencies/boards 
 legal interpretation of laws pertaining to the Board and its licensees 
 response to media requests for information on Board licensees 
 management of day-to-day operations 
 answering public inquiries regarding professionals licensed by the Board 

 
The licensing department ensures each individual granted a license meets all state 
requirements for education, clinical training, examinations, and conduct.  To 
accomplish this task, the following duties are performed: 

 review each application for compliance with requirements 
 collect verification on all degrees/credentials directly from source of 

certification 
 schedule interviews with Board for applicants with incomplete applications  
 administer required licensing exams  
 respond to inquiries from applicants and medical groups seeking licensure and   
   credentialing information 

 renew licenses 
 publish lists of Oregon licensed physicians 

 
All complaints against health professionals licensed by the Board are directed to the 
investigative department.***  Each year approximately 500 written complaints are 
received from members of the public, other health care professionals, and medical 
facilities.  In response, the department must: 

 review complaints to determine if the practitioner violated the Medical Practice    
 Act 

 initiate investigation if alleged violation has occurred 
 present findings of investigation to Board’s Committee on Investigations 
 follow-up and monitor action taken by Board regarding disciplined practitioner 

 
***A full description of the investigative and disciplinary process is provided in Section III. 

 
The Health Professionals Program allows professionals licensed by the Board to 
voluntarily seek treatment for substance abuse or dependency problems without 
risking the loss of their license.   In this capacity, the program will: 

 initiate interventions with licensee, in cooperation with family and colleagues 
 assess licensee and refer to appropriate treatment program 
 coordinate continuing care/rehabilitation following treatment 
 monitor licensee’s return to practice 

 
A detailed explanation of how this program operates is provided on subsequent pages 
of this section.
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 license classification, registration & renewal 
 
In late 2005 the Board delegated authority to the Executive Director to approve 
unlimited licensure to those physician applicants who had no issues associated with 
their application that would require Committee review, what the Board terms “express 
licensing.”  Express licensing eliminates the requirement that applicants wait until the 
quarterly Board meeting to be granted licensure.  To date, the Board has express 
licensed over 700 physicians. 
 
In Oregon physicians are licensed for a two-year period.  Those who become licensed 
during the first 12 months of that period must pay the full registration fee; however,  
individuals who become licensed during the second 12 months of the two-year period 
will be charged only a single year registration fee during their first registration period..   
 
MD’s and DO’s must renew their medical license by December 31 of each odd-
numbered year.   The vast majority of Oregon’s physicians maintain a medical license 
under one of the following classifications:  
 ACTIVE - physician practicing in Oregon or within 100 miles of Oregon’s border 

with regular practice in Oregon, practicing in the military or federal public health 
whose official state of residence is Oregon, or practicing teleradiology or 
telemedicine 

 LOCUM TENENS - physician residing out of state who practices intermittently in 
 Oregon 
 INACTIVE – physician licensed in Oregon who does not practice in Oregon 
 EMERITUS - retired physician who does volunteer nonremunerative practice only 
 RETIRED - fully-retired physician who is not practicing medicine in any capacity, 
 paid or volunteer 
 
A “limited” license is granted to physicians who are participating in a training program 
in a teaching institution (postgraduate, resident, fellow, visiting professor, and medical faulty). 
 
A list of the various licensure categories and their fees is provided later in this section. 
  

 address changes 
 
Each time a licensee moves to a new practice location, the new address and phone 
number must be reported to the Board within 30 days of the move (ORS 677.172).  
Failure to do so is a violation of Oregon law (ORS 677.228).  A copy of these statutes and 
the corresponding administrative rules are provided in Section IV of the handbook. 
 

 license  reactivation 
 
Physicians who want to reactivate their Oregon medical license from an inactive / 
emeritus / retired status must provide the Board with the following information: 

 an affidavit describing activities during the inactive/ emeritus / retired period 
 affidavit processing fee and any delinquent registration fees 
 a “Report for Disciplinary Inquiries” directly from the Federation of State 

Medical Boards and either the American Medical Association or the American 
Osteopathic Association Physician Profile 

 the results of a self-query to the National Practitioner Data Bank and Healthcare 
Integrity and Protection Data Bank  
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 verification of current licensure from the states in which the physician was 
practicing during the inactive / emeritus / retired period 

 verification from each hospital, clinic, office or training program where the 
physician was employed or trained during the inactive / emeritus / retired 
period 

 a new completed application for registration 
 

If an individual applying for reactivation has ceased the practice of medicine for 12 or 
more consecutive months, the Board may ask this person to take a medical 
competency examination.  
 

 WHAT can the Board do for you ? 
 
Each week the Board handles hundreds of requests about the programs it offers and 
the individuals it licenses from members of the public, other health care professionals, 
health insurers, hospitals, the media, and attorneys.   
 
The requests receive a quick and professional response from the Board staff .  The 
following services are provided at NO CHARGE: 

 copies of the current administrative rules, statutes, regulations pertaining to 
licensees, as well as proposed rules changes 

 list of BME members and members of its various committees 
 business address for current licensee 
 referral address for patients’ medical records when a physician has retired, 

moved out of state or is deceased   
 Certificate of Registration, wall license or wallet card replaced (due to lost 

document or name change) 
 copies of legal orders issued on or after January 1, 2006 
 reports on disciplinary actions taken 
 quarterly list of disciplinary action taken by Board provided to medical facilities 
 application packets for all licensing programs under the Board 
 malpractice claims reports (up to three names per month) 
 BME newsletter 
 response to written and telephone inquiries 

   
In addition, the Board will process the following requests for a fee: 

 verification of state licensure 
 copies of legal orders prior to 2006 
 printed, detailed report on malpractice judgments against licensee 
 lists and/or mailing labels of licensees by name, location, specialty 
 list of active and locum tenens licensed physicians in Oregon 

 
For a complete listing of the services available and the fees charged, see subsequent 
pages of this section. 

 

 health professionals program 
 
In 1989 the Oregon Legislature passed a bill, sponsored by the Oregon Medical 
Association, creating a program through which health professionals with substance 
abuse or dependency problems can voluntarily and confidentially seek help without 
risking the loss of license or punitive action by the Board.   
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Under the Diversion Program for Health Professionals, individuals voluntarily seeking 
treatment through the Health Professionals Program (HPP) are protected from 
disciplinary action from the Board as long as they participate in a specified treatment 
and continuing care program.  Most of the program’s participants are not known to 
the Board. 
 
However, HPP does work with some chemically dependent health professionals whose 
problems have brought them to the Board’s attention.  These individuals generally fall 
into two categories: first, licensees who indicate a substance abuse problem at the 
time of licensure and are required to participate in HPP; and second, individuals who 
have been referred to HPP as a result of some disciplinary action the Board has taken.  
In the latter case, the individual will be reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank. 
 
HPP’s voluntary participants are NOT identified to the Board even though the program 
comes under its oversight.  Maintaining the confidentiality of the participants in the 
program is paramount to its success.  This confidentiality is protected legislatively:  “All 
records ... are confidential and shall not be subject to public disclosure, nor shall the 
records be admissible as evidence in any judicial proceeding.”  Consequently HPP does 
not report voluntary participants to the National Practitioner Data Bank.  HPP may, 
however, refer a participant to the Board for review and possible disciplinary action in 
the event of noncompliance. 
 
The program operates under the direction of a medical director and a program 
coordinator.  A Board-appointed supervisory council of five members works very 
closely with HPP staff.  Additional consultants are used by HPP to assist with 
interventions, intervention training, educational programs, assessments, continuing 
care monitoring, and other supporting roles. 
 
Additional information about the program may be obtained directly from HPP which 
maintains offices separate from the BME: 

6950 SW Hampton St., Suite 130 
Tigard, Oregon 97223-8331 

 (503) 620-9117 
www.oregon.gov/BME/healthprog.shtml  

 

appropriate prescribing workshop 
 
Begun in 1989 under the co-sponsorship of the Board of Medical Examiners and 
Providence Hospital, this two-day seminar is designed to give physicians an update on 
prescribing controlled drugs and managing patients with complex pain syndromes. 
The curriculum includes pharmacology, the pathophysiology of pain, the psychology of 
pain, case studies in managing chronic pain, and a review of the current regulatory 
and legal climate surrounding prescribing controlled substances.  

It is held twice a year at the Board’s downtown, Portland office for those who seek a 
better understanding of current trends in dealing with difficult or drug-seeking 
patients.  

Topics covered include: 

• Chronic pain management 
• Ethical considerations involved in prescribing controlled substances 
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• Current legal requirements for controlled substance management and record 
keeping 

The workshop also provides the practitioner with an increased self-awareness of 
personal strengths and weaknesses that may lead to inappropriate prescribing.  

The program is currently sponsored by The Foundation for Medical Excellence (TFME) 
for Category 1 CME credits, with the number of credit hours determined by TFME for 
each workshop. Because the curriculum is very interactive, only 14 registrations are 
accepted for each session. Participants have commented that they consider the 
program very worthwhile and enjoyable, and one even suggested videotaping it for 
distribution to hospitals for staff viewing. 

The $450 fee includes registration and books, plus lunches and morning and afternoon 
snacks for both days. Lodging, other meals, and transportation are not included.  The 
last 6 APW workshops have been full several weeks ahead. 

You may find an agenda and a registration form for the most current workshop on the 
Board’s website at www.oregon.gov/BME/apw.shtml. 

 
 

phone guide to BME services 
 
If you know the name of the staff member you are calling, call 971-672-2701 then use 
the directory.  Otherwise, please call the general information numbers for routing and 
response, 971-673-2700 or Toll Free in Oregon 877-254-6263, and use the guide 
below to request the specific service you need. 
 

LICENSING services 
Address Changes Certificates of Registration  
Name Changes Wallet Size License Cards 
Registration Renewal  Formal Engrossed License 
Active and Locum Tenens Physician List Reinstate Lapsed Oregon License 
Lists/Labels of Licensees Reactivate Oregon License (Inactive, 
Dispensing Physicians Emeritus, Retired) 
Retired Physicians Physician Assistants Change in Practice 
Deceased Physicians Description or Supervising Physician 
Doctor’s Title Law First Responder, and EMT Basic, 
Proposed/Adopted Rules Changes Intermediate and Paramedic Scope of 
Administrative Rules & Medical Practice  Practice 

Act (ORS 677)  
  

INVESTIGATIVE services 
Complaints about a Licensee Malpractice Searches 
Triplicate Prescription Program  
  
  

Health Professionals Program 
Please call (503) 620-9117 
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license classifications & fees 
 
All LICENSEES:  
Reactivation Affidavit Processing Fee  $50.00 
  
MD/DO:  
Initial License Application Fee $375.00 
Active Registration Fee, including Teleradiology, Telemedicine, & Military/Public Health  219.00* 
Inactive Registration Fee  219.00* 
Locum Tenens Registration Fee  219.00* 
Emeritus Registration Fee    50.00* 
Limited License:  Postgraduate, Fellow, Visiting Professor, Medical Faculty, SPEX  185.00 
  
Podiatrist:  
Initial License Application Fee $340.00 
Active, Inactive, Locum Tenens Registration Fee  219.00* 
Limited License, Postgraduate  185.00 
  
Physician Assistant:  
Initial License Application Fee $245.00 
Active, Inactive, Locum Tenens Registration Fee    165.00* 
Limited License, Postgraduate     75.00 
  
Acupuncturist:  
Initial License Application Fee $245.00 
Active, Inactive, Locum Tenens Registration Fee   140.00* 
Limited License, Visiting Professor     75.00 
  
  * These fees are collected biennially so the amount charged will be twice the amount shown.  
    All Active registration fees include annual assessments of $33 for the Diversion Program  
    for Health Professionals and $10 for the  Oregon Health Sciences University Library.  
  
Late Fees:  
MD/DO/DPM Failure to Renew Registration of License $150.00 
MD/DO/DPM Failure to Register as Dispensing Physician upon Renewal of License   150.00 
PA, AC Failure to Renew Registration of License     75.00 

 
 
 administrative services &  fees 
 
Data processing requests:  
Standard Data license Order (disk) $300.00 
Custom Data License Order (disk)   400.00 
Address Label Disk   100.00 
Active & Locum Tenens Physician List:  Per Issue     75.00 
  
Miscellaneous Requests:  
Verification of license:               Individual requests  $ 10.00 
                                                  Multiple requests (5 or more names)                       $7.50 per licensee 
Photocopying charge                                                                                                 $5.00 + $.20 per page 
Records search fee                                                               Clerical                          $20.00/hour** 
                                                                                             Administrative               $30.00/hour** 
                                                                                              Executive                      $50.00** 
                                                                                              Medical Consultant      $75.00** 
                                                                               **Plus photocopying charges if applicable   
  
Malpractice search fee, per name (4 or more names per month) $ 10.00 
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 frequently asked questions 
 
WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY BOTH AN APPLICATION AND A REGISTRATION 

FEE? 

The application fee covers just the cost of processing each application for licensure.  
The registration fee, which is not paid until you are actually approved for your Oregon 
license, is charged to each individual who is granted an Oregon license. 
 
WHAT DO I RECEIVE IN RETURN FOR THE REGISTRATION FEE? 
Your registration fee entitles you to hold a medical license and practice medicine in 
Oregon (active, locum tenens, emeritus status classifications only) for the time specified under 
that license.  In addition, these fees provide for: 

 Certificate of Registration, wall license, and wallet card 
 maintenance of records on licensees, including addresses, name changes 

and other updates 
 a public information telephone line that responds to inquiries from health 

professionals, the public, hospitals, insurance/managed care groups, and 
pharmacies about an individual’s licensure, specialty certification, location of 
practice, and status with the Board 

 the Board website that provides extensive information about the Board’s 
functions and services for licensees and the public 

 Board newsletter and other informational mailings 
 the Diversion Program for Health Professionals, which is available to 

intervene and help physicians with substance abuse problems 
 investigative staff to respond to complaints regarding a licensee’s practice 
 operational expenses associated with running the Board and its many 

programs; including staff, office space, equipment and repairs, telephone 
service, legal consultation, supplies 

 
CAN REGISTRATION FEES BE PRORATED? 
The Board receives numerous requests to prorate registration fees for physicians 
who plan to retire or leave the state during the covered licensing period.  Additional 
requests for reduced fees are also received from physicians working part-time, 
resident physicians, and physicians who volunteer or are compensated minimally. 
 
The Board can only respond in a very limited manner because its fees are set by the 
Oregon Legislature.  These fees are based upon the costs associated with the Board’s 
operations and programming.   Licensees in a qualified training program may 
register and pay their fees on an annual basis.  Also, physicians licensed after 
January 1 of the second year of the registration period are charged only a single year 
registration fee.   
 
To accommodate physicians who practice exclusively as volunteers (without any 
remuneration), the Board offers a significantly reduced registration fee.  A complete 
description of Oregon’s license classifications and fees is provided in Section I. 
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HOW OFTEN MUST I RENEW MY LICENSE? 
Physicians’ licenses are renewed every two years during the odd-numbered year.  To 
allow adequate time for processing, renewal notices are sent out in mid-September 
and should be returned to the Board office by December 1st of the of odd-numbered 
year.  A late fee is imposed if a physician fails to renew by December 31.  
 
AM I REQUIRED TO OBTAIN CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION FOR 

REGISTRATION RENEWAL? 
Physicians, on a regular basis, are not required to obtain continuing medical 
education in order to renew their registration every two years.  Please, however, see 
the CME requirements for pain management below. 
 
Podiatrists (DPM) are required to obtain 50 hours of CME per biennium (ORS 
677.837), or 25 hours if granted a license in the second year of the biennium, in 
order to renew their registration every two years. 
 
WHAT ARE THE CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 

PAIN MANAGEMENT? 
All of the Board’s licensees, including physicians, are required to obtain 6 hours of 
continuing medical education (CME) on pain management or end-of-life care plus a 
one-hour pain management course specific to Oregon provided by the Pain 
Management Commission obtained after January 1, 2000 and before January 2, 2009 
(ORS 409.560 - .565, OAR 847-010-0100).  For further information see Intractable Pain 
and Pain Management under Topics of Interest on the Board’s website. 
 
WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO BE A DISPENSING PHYSICIAN?  
Dispensing physicians purchase pharmaceuticals to give or sell to their patients.  
Any actively licensed Oregon physician who dispenses drugs must register with the 
Board as a dispensing physician.  See the dispensing registration form at 
www.oregon.gov/BME/PDFforms/DispensingFillin.pdf.  Dispensing does not include 
distribution of free samples, drugs, vaccines, or other parenterals administered in 
your office, nor does dispensing include writing prescriptions that will be filled by a 
pharmacy.  Your DEA registration is sufficient to prescribe controlled substances. 
 
WHAT HAPPENS IF I ANSWER “YES” TO ANY OF THE QUESTIONS ON MY 

PERSONAL BACKGROUND ON THE APPLICATION OR RENEWAL NOTICE? 
All “YES” answers are reviewed by Board staff and, in some instances, by the BME’s 
Executive Director or Medical Director.  If warranted, Board staff will either contact 
you for clarification or refer the issue to the investigative department or Board for 
review.  It is imperative to answer truthfully because failure to do so can result in 
suspension of your license. 
 
WHAT CAN I DO IF I LOSE MY CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION?   
Just request a reissued certificate from the Board and be sure to indicate where the 
certificate should be sent.  A request form is available on the Board’s website at 
www.oregon.gov/BME/PDFforms/CertForRegFillin.pdf.  
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I HAVE TWO OFFICES AND OREGON LAW (ORS 677.184) SAYS I MUST 

DISPLAY MY LICENSE IN A PROMINENT PLACE IN MY OFFICE.  WHAT CAN 

I DO? 
You may make a copy of your formal engrossed license for display in your second 
office.  DO NOT REQUEST A SECOND LICENSE.  The Board can only replace lost, 
damaged, or destroyed licenses and replacement licenses are marked as such. 
 
WHO DO I CONTACT  WHEN I CHANGE MY BUSINESS AND/OR 

RESIDENCE ADDRESS? 
Oregon law (ORS 677.228) requires physicians to notify the Board of all address 
changes within 30 days of the change.  Either fill out and print a copy of this form 
from the BME’s website at www.oregon.gov/BME/PDFforms/addresschange.pdf, 
phone the Board and ask for an ADDRESS CHANGE FORM, , or send a signed letter 
that includes all new addresses, phone numbers, and the effective date of the move. 
 
If you include more than one address, indicate which is your preferred mailing 
address (practice, second practice location, or residence).  Please be advised that your 
mailing address is treated as public information and is available upon request.  
 
CAN I HAVE AN ACTIVE OREGON LICENSE EVEN IF I DON’T ACTUALLY 

LIVE OR PRACTICE IN OREGON? 
Generally, no.  To hold an active Oregon license you must practice in the state.  If 
you live and practice outside Oregon, you may have an inactive license.  There are 
exceptions to this rule:   
 
 You may have an active license if you practice in a border town and come into 

Oregon to practice as well.  Border towns are located within 100 miles of Oregon’s 
border.  Check with the Board to identify the areas that fall within this category.   

 If you reside outside the state, but practice intermittently within the borders, you 
must have a locum tenens license.   This license is automatically activated each 
time you notify the Board where and how long you’ll be practicing in a particular  
location. 

 If you are a physician practicing outside of Oregon whose practice it is to read 
radiological images transmitted from Oregon to your practice location in another 
state and you communicate your radiological findings back to the ordering 
physician in Oregon, you may request Active – Teleradiology status. 

 If you are a physician practicing outside of Oregon whose practice it is to monitor 
data collected during surgery in Oregon via a telemedicine link for the purpose of 
notifying the Oregon operating team of changes that may have a serious effect on 
the outcome and/or survival of the patient, you may request Active – 
Telemonitoring status. 

 If you are a physician practicing outside of Oregon whose practice it is to 
diagnose or treat patients located in Oregon as a result of the transmission of 
patient data by electronic or other means, after examining the patients in person 
and establishing a physician-patient relationship, you may request Active – 
Telemedicine status. 



  
Sec. II – Page 4 

 

 Most military and federal public health facilities require physicians to have an 
active license in order to practice within their organizations.  If your official 
residence is in Oregon but you practice outside of the state in a military or federal 
public health facility, you may apply for Active – Military/Public Health status; 
however, you will be limited to working within that facility.  If you are practicing 
in one of these facilities in Oregon with an out-of-state license, your practice is 
limited to that facility.  To practice outside of that facility, it is necessary to obtain 
either an active or locum tenens Oregon license. 

 
IS MY OREGON LICENSE VALID IF I DON’T ACTUALLY LIVE IN OREGON? 
Yes, your license is valid even if you don’t live in Oregon; however, the status of your 
license is what determines whether or not you’re eligible to practice in Oregon. 
 
WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR A LOCUM TENENS PHYSICIAN? 
Physicians practicing under locum tenens (LT) status must notify the Board two 
weeks prior to their arrival in Oregon of the location and length of stay for each 
Oregon practice.  Once this notification is received, the license is automatically 
activated to LT status for the time noted.  Oregon administrative rules limit a locum 
tenens practice in Oregon to 180 days in the biennium.  If a longer practice in 
Oregon is required, then the physician would need to reactivate to Active status. 
 
Locum Tenens physicians who work through an agency must also give the Board 
the agency’s name, address, phone number and name of a contact person.   If you 
are an LT physician and decide to reside and practice permanently in Oregon, or for 
more than 180 days in the biennium, you must contact the licensing department to 
initiate a change to active licensure status. 
  
HOW DO I CHANGE FROM INACTIVE TO ACTIVE STATUS? 
First, contact the Board’s licensing department to initiate the process.  If you were 
licensed more than three months ago, you will need to fill out an affidavit of 
reactivation indicating what you have been doing in the interim and include a $50 
affidavit fee.   
 
The status change will take about 30-45 days to complete. The same procedure 
applies when changing from inactive to locum tenens, since locum tenens is an 
active status. 
 
WHY DOES AN INACTIVE LICENSE COST SO MUCH WHEN I WON’T BE 

PRACTICING IN OREGON? 
As stated earlier, the Oregon Legislature sets the medical licensure and biennial 
registration fees based on the amount of money necessary to run the programs 
administered by the Board.  No state funds are used to support the Board; its 
funding is generated by the fees it charges. 
 
The costs to register and maintain records on an inactive and active physician are 
identical, because the costs to administer both active and inactive licensees are the 
same; updating addresses, status and name changes; and the processing involved 
in registration renewal. 
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I  AM MOVING OUT OF STATE ... I AM RETIRING ... I AM LEAVING A 

CLINIC ... WHAT DO I DO ABOUT  MY PATIENTS’ RECORDS? 
First, notify all patients of your plans and let them know where their records will be 
kept and how they may access them.  The Board should also be notified as to the 
disposition of your records because hundreds of requests are received each year 
from patients looking for their medical records after their physician leaves a 
practice.  This information is entered into the BME license database and provided, 
upon request, to your former Oregon patients. 
 
WHAT ARE MY OBLIGATIONS WHEN PATIENTS REQUEST A COPY OF 

THEIR MEDICAL CHART? 
Pertinent information in the medical chart must be provided to the patient within 30 
days of receiving a written request from that patient for a copy of the medical 
record. 
 
The information can be provided in a summary format and does not have to include 
the personal office notes of the physician or communications from a 
referring/consulting physician regarding the patient.  A reasonable charge can be 
made for the costs incurred in providing this information; however, patients should 
not be denied summaries/copies even if they are unable to pay. 
 
HOW DO I GET VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE SENT TO ANOTHER STATE? 
You can request verification of your Oregon license be sent to another state medical 
board through VeriDoc, an on-line license verification service at 
www.oregon.gov/BME/VeriDoc.shtml.  The verification will be mailed directly to the 
other state licensing board.  Licensees can also send verification of their Oregon 
license to other entities such as employers, insurance companies, or educational 
institutions, by completing the Board’s on-line request form at 
www.oregon.gov/BME/PDFforms/VerDispMalFillin.pdf at and mailing or faxing it 
(with fee) directly to the Board.   
 
WHERE CAN I FIND THE ADDRESS FOR A LICENSING BOARD IN ANOTHER 

STATE? 
You can locate this information on the website of the Federation of State Medical 
Boards at www.fsmb.org/directory_smb.html.  Or you may send a request for a 
listing of all state licensing boards within the U.S., with a self-addressed, stamped 
envelope, to the BME, 1500 SW 1st Ave, Suite 620, Portland, OR  97201.   
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 investigative & disciplinary procedures 
 
Each year the Board receives hundreds of inquiries and complaints directed toward the 
licensees it oversees.  They originate from a wide variety of sources, including members of 
the public, colleagues, other health professionals, health-care institutions, health insurance 
companies, governmental agencies, and medical associations.  The majority of complaints 
come from patients or their families. 
 
The Board opens between 300-400 formal investigations each year.  Many of these 
investigations are resolved quickly by the Board’s professional staff because the preliminary 
investigation reveals they do not represent a violation of the Medical Practice Act (ORS 677).  
On average most investigations are completed within 150 days of the complaint.   
 
The Medical Practice Act has 27 separate instances under which the Board may take 
disciplinary action against licensees.  Most are specific and range from alcohol and drug 
abuse to fraud, gross or repeated acts of negligence, and conviction of a criminal offense.  
Unprofessional conduct is also included and covers many of the areas not addressed 
specifically in the Act, such as sexual misconduct involving a patient.  The sections of the 
Oregon Medical Practice Act that regulate licensee behavior and medical practices are 
reproduced in Section IV. 
 
 investigation process 
 
After receiving a complaint, the Chief Investigator and case investigator work together to 
decide what information is necessary to evaluate the allegations.  Information and 
documentation is collected from the licensee, hospitals, pharmacies and any other person 
or entity identified as having relevant information.  All information is reviewed by the 
Board’s Medical Director and Executive Director and then forwarded to the Investigative 
Committee for review and direction. 
 
If the Investigative Committee determines the information does not support a violation of 
the Medical Practice Act, the case is forwarded to the Board for review and a decision 
regarding case closure.  If the Board also does not identify a violation of the Medical Practice 
Act, the case will be closed with no action and the licensee will be notified by one of two 
letters: 
 

• No Violation:  This letter states that no violation was found and the case is closed. 
 

• Letter of Concern:  This letter outlines important concerns identified by the Board 
during the investigation.  This letter closes the case, but may be referred to in the 
future if additional cases are opened. 

 
If the Investigative Committee determines the information supports a possible violation of 
the Medical Practice Act, it may request a more detailed evaluation of a licensee’s practice.  
The Committee may also suggest the investigative material be reviewed by an outside 
consultant who specializes in a medical practice similar to that of the licensee under 
investigation.  The Committee will typically interview the licensee at one of its monthly 
meetings during this phase of the investigation. 
 
After the Investigative Committee completes its investigation, the case is forwarded to the 
Board at its next quarterly meeting.  During this meeting, the Board reviews all the material 
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gathered during the investigation and decides whether or not the evidence supports a 
violation of the Medical Practice Act.  If the evidence supports a violation, the Board moves 
for disciplinary action against the licensee. 
 
If the Board finds a violation of the Medical Practices Act, it will issue a Complaint and 
Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action.  The Complaint and Notice outlines the specific 
allegations against the licensee.  The Assistant Attorney General assigned to the Board will 
draft the Complaint and Notice.  
 
Once a Complaint and Notice is issued, the licensee has two options: 
 

• The licensee may enter into a discussion with the Board to find an acceptable 
resolution; or 

 
• The licensee may request a Contested Case Hearing which is presided over by an 

Administrative Law Judge.  After the hearing, the hearing officer will draft a 
proposed order.  The Board then reviews the proposed order and determines an 
appropriate final action. 

 
In either case, the Board will adopt a final order, which memorializes the action taken.  
Except for available appeals, this order concludes the matter. 
 
 
 disciplinary sanctions 
 
The severity of the disciplinary actions that the Board may impose in a final order varies a 
great deal and can include: 
 

 revocation of license (restoration discretionary after two years) 
 suspension of license (length of suspension set by Board; restoration automatic once 

suspension lifted) 
 probation (terms may be modified at any time by the Board) 
 limitation on license (activities restricted) 
 fines (maximum of $5,000) 
 chaperone  
 educational program/coursework or practice monitor 
 deny renewal or reactivation of medical license 
 referral to the Health Professionals Program 
 suspension of judgment (no sanctions imposed even though a violation was 

identified) 
 reimbursement to the state for the costs associated with the hearing 
 retirement or surrender of license under investigation 
 

If a licensee disagrees with the action taken by the Board, the decision may be appealed to 
the Oregon Court of Appeals and the Oregon Supreme Court.  
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ANATOMY OF A COMPLAINTANATOMY OF A COMPLAINT

Written Complaint
Patient, family member, other provider, insurance company, 

pharmacy, hospital, malpractice review, other Board, self

Preliminary Review
Investigations staff, and/or Medical Director, 

and/or Executive Director, and/or Board Counsel

Open Investigation
Gather Information

Case review/summary by Medical Director

Investigative Committee
Comprised of 5 Board members.  Attorneys and 

consultants also present.  Reviews cases and refers 
them to the full Board

Full Board of Medical Examiners
Review Case Referrals

Complaint & Notice of Proposed 
Disciplinary Action

No Violation
No Jurisdiction

•Close Case
•Letter of Concern
•Referral

Emergency Suspension
Immediate threat to public safety

Contested Case Hearing
with Administrative Law 

Judge

Proposed Findings of 
Fact, Conclusion of Law

Board Order Issued
Board Accepts/Amends/Rejects 
Proposed Findings and issues a 

Final Order

Waiver of Hearing

Board Order Issued
•Stipulated Order
•Corrective Action Order
•Voluntary Limitation

Oregon Court of Appeals

Oregon Supreme Court

Settlement 
Discussions

Terms of Board Orders May Include:
Revocation, Suspension, Reprimand, Probation, 

Remedial Education, Monitoring (i.e. UA’s, chart 
review), Practice Limitation, Chaperone, Fine

Health Professionals
Program (HPP)
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 regulating  medical practice in Oregon 
 
 Statutory requirements 
 
In Oregon, physicians and other health professionals are governed by statutory law, 
the Medical Practice Act (Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) Chapter 677). These laws are 
enacted by the state legislature, but their enforcement has been delegated to the 
BME.  All Oregon Revised Statutes may be accessed at the Oregon State Legislature’s 
website at www.leg.state.or.us/ors/.  
 
Portions of the Medical Practice Act pertaining to physician licensure and practice 
are included in this section.  The areas included are: 

 identification of the professionals covered under the statute 
 definition of the what is acceptable and unacceptable in the practice of 

medicine 
 administration of controlled substances for intractable pain 
 drug dispensing requirements 
 definition of the standard of care 
 informed consent requirements 
 participation in Medicare 
 qualifications for licensure for physicians & podiatrists 
 practice of medicine across state lines (telemedicine) 
 grounds for suspension or termination of medical license 
 disciplinary and investigatory procedures 
 operation of the Health Professionals Program 

 
Additional Oregon laws that impact physicians and how they practice are also 
included.   
• The Doctor Title Law (ORS 676.100-.130) specifies how health care practitioners 

may present themselves to the public.  
• ORS 676.210-.220  define what happens to health care professionals who 

continue to practice following suspension or revocation of license. 
• ORS 676.310 sets limitations on the fees physicians may charge for lab work. 
• ORS 676.340-.345 define limitations on liability of providing health care services 

without compensation. 
 
The Board of Radiologic Technology (ORS 688.405-.605) is responsible for the 
licensing requirements for diagnostic radiologic technologists and limited permit 
holders who handle x-ray equipment for diagnostic purposes, and radiation 
therapists who use ionizing radiation for therapeutic purposes; all operate under the 
supervision of a licensed practitioner, such as an MD, DO, or DPM.  971-673-0215  
www.obrt.state.or.us  
 
Radiation Protection Services (ORS 453.605-.807) of the Office of Environmental 
Public Health of the Department of Human Services (DHS), Oregon Health Services, is 
responsible for the registration of x-ray machines and licensing of users of 
radioactive materials.  Radiation Protection Services develops radiation protection 
standards for x-ray equipment, and other radiation devices for use in doctor’s 
offices, hospitals, clinics, etc.  971-673-0490   
www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/rps/index.shtml   
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 reporting requirements 
 
Physicians are required by statute (ORS 419B.005-.050) to report to the local office of 
Oregon DHS Child Protective Services or a law enforcement agency when they have 
reasonable cause to believe a child has been abused, or they come in contact with a 
person they have reasonable cause to believe has abused a child.  The reporting law 
covers physical abuse, neglect, sexual abuse or exploitation, threats of harm, and 
mental abuse.  www.oregon.gov/DHS/children/abuse/cps/main.shtml  
 
Physicians are also required by statute to report to the DHS Office of Seniors and 
People with Disabilities or a law enforcement agency when they have reasonable 
cause to believe that a person 65 years old or older (ORS 124.050-.095) or an adult 
with a disability (ORS 430.735-.765) has suffered abuse, or they come in contact with 
a person they have reasonable cause to believe has abused a person 65 years old or 
older or an adult with a disability.  Abuse means physical injury that does not 
appear to be accidental, neglect, abandonment, or willful infliction of physical pain 
or injury.  www.oregon.gov/DHS/abuse/main.shtml  
 
Oregon law (ORS 146.710-.780) also mandates physicians report any injuries caused 
by a knife, gun or other deadly weapon that does not appear to have been caused 
by accidental means to the medical examiner. 
 
If a physician suspects an injury or death may be toy related, these findings must be 
reported to Director of the Department of Human Services (ORS 677.491). 
 
The Medical Practice Act (ORS 677.415) requires a licensee of the Board to report any 
information they may have which appears to show that the licensee is or may be: 
• medically incompetent 
• guilty of unprofessional or dishonorable conduct 
• an impaired licensee unable to safely practice as a physician, podiatrist, 

physician assistant, or acupuncturist. 
 
Federal law requires health care providers who administer certain vaccines 
(diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis,  measles,  mumps,  rubella & poliomyelitis)  to comply with specific 
guidelines.  The requirements state the provider must review information on the 
vaccination (DUTY TO WARN) with the patient and/or guardian, establish a permanent 
record of the immunization (including the manufacturer and the lot number), and report any 
adverse reactions to the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS).  For more 
information about these regulations and Oregon’s immunization activities, contact 
the Immunization Program of the Office of Family Health in the Portland offices of 
Oregon Health Services.  971-673-0300 or 800-422-6012  
www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/imm/index.shtml  
 
Physicians must also report patients with communicable diseases to their local 
health department.  A complete list of the diseases involved and reporting processes 
is provided at the end of this section.  Additional information is available through 
the Office of Disease Prevention & Epidemiology in Portland offices of the Oregon 
Health Services.  971-673-0982  www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/odpe/index.shtml  
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Physicians must report to the Department of Transportation any patient 14 years 
older or older whose cognitive or functional impairment affects that person’s ability 
to safely operate a motor vehicle (ORS 807.710). 
 
The Medical Practice Act contains references to other statutes that list reporting 
requirements, the treatment of patients for chemical dependency, completing and 
filing death certificates, tax deductions for physicians in medically disadvantaged 
areas, and the Oregon Death with Dignity Act. 
 
You may contact the Board of Medical Examiners for a copy of the complete 
Medical Practice Act (ORS Chapter 677), or you can access it and other statutes at 
www.leg.state.or.us/ors/. 
 
 administrative rules 
  
To facilitate its role under the Medical Practice Act, the BME establishes 
administrative rules, OAR Chapter 847, to define and regulate the licensure and 
practices of health care professionals under its oversight.  There are many 
administrative rules, including ones that outline the application process, set fees, 
and define administrative policies. 
 
Rather than reprinting all of the Board’s administrative rules, this handbook focuses 
on those that most directly affect a physician’s medical practice: 

 requirements regarding registration and renewal of medical license, including 
mandatory pain management education 

 rules regarding patient access to medical records 
 guidelines for the prescribing of controlled substances 

 
These particular rules will be provided in this section in their entirety following the 
Oregon Revised Statutes.  The administrative rules outlining registration and 
licensing requirements for podiatrists are reproduced as well.  For a complete copy 
of the administrative rules governing the Board and all the health professionals it 
licenses, contact the BME in Portland, 971-671-2700.  You can also access all the 
state’s administrative rules at 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/number_index.html. 
 
 Oregon revised statutes 
 

PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS, 
PODIATRIC PHYSICIANS AND 

SURGEONS:  General Provisions 
 

677.010 Definitions. As used in this chapter, subject 
to the exemptions in ORS 677.060 and unless the context 
requires otherwise: 
 (1) “Approved internship” means the first year of 
post-graduate training served in a hospital that is 
approved by the board or by the Accreditation Council of 
Graduate Medical Education, the American Osteopathic 
Association or the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Canada. 
 (2) “Board” means the Board of Medical Examiners 
for the State of Oregon. 
 (3) “Diagnose” means to examine another person in 
any manner to determine the source or nature of a 
disease or other physical or mental condition, or to hold 
oneself out or represent that a person is so examining 

another person. It is not necessary that the examination 
be made in the presence of such other person; it may be 
made on information supplied either directly or indirectly 
by such other person. 
 (4) “Dispense” means the preparation and delivery of 
a prescription drug, pursuant to a lawful order of a 
practitioner, in a suitable container appropriately labeled 
for subsequent administration to or use by a patient or 
other individual entitled to receive the prescription drug. 
 (5) “Dispensing physician” means a physician or 
podiatric physician and surgeon who purchases 
prescription drugs for the purpose of dispensing them to 
patients or other individuals entitled to receive the 
prescription drug and who dispenses them accordingly. 
 (6) “Drug” means all medicines and preparations for 
internal or external use of humans, intended to be used 
for the cure, mitigation or prevention of diseases or 
abnormalities of humans, which are recognized in any 
published United States Pharmacopoeia or National 
Formulary, or otherwise established as a drug. 
 (7) “Fellow” means an individual who has not 
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qualified under ORS 677.100 (1) and (2) and who is 
pursuing some special line of study as part of a 
supervised program of a school of medicine, a hospital 
approved for internship or residency training, or an 
institution for medical research or education that 
provides for a period of study under the supervision of a 
responsible member of that hospital or institution, such 
school, hospital or institution having been approved by 
the board. 
 (8) “Impaired physician” means a physician who is 
unable to practice medicine with reasonable skill and 
safety by reason of mental illness; physical illness, 
including, but not limited to, physical deterioration that 
adversely affects cognition, motor or perceptive skill; or 
habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs, alcohol or 
other substances that impair ability. 
 (9) “Intern” means an individual who has entered 
into a hospital or hospitals for the first year of post-
graduate training. 
 (10) “License” means permission to practice, whether 
by license, registration or certification. 
 (11) “Licensee” means an individual holding a valid 
license issued by the board. 
 (12) “Physician” means any person who holds a 
degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy. 
 (13) “Podiatric physician and surgeon” means a 
podiatric physician and surgeon licensed under ORS 
677.805 to 677.855 to treat ailments of the human foot, 
ankle and tendons directly attached to and governing the 
function of the foot and ankle. 
 (14) “Prescribe” means to direct, order or designate 
the use of or manner of using by spoken or written words 
or other means. 
 (15) “Resident” means an individual who, after the 
first year of post-graduate training, in order to qualify for 
some particular specialty in the field of medicine, pursues 
a special line of study as part of a supervised program of 
a hospital approved by the board. 
 (16) “Approved school of medicine” means a school 
offering a full-time resident program of study in medicine 
or osteopathy leading to a degree of Doctor of Medicine 
or Doctor of Osteopathy, such program having been fully 
accredited or conditionally approved by the Liaison 
Committee on Medical Education, or its successor agency, 
or the American Osteopathic Association, or its successor 
agency, or having been otherwise determined by the 
board to meet the association standards as specifically 
incorporated into board rules. 
 
 677.015 Statement of purpose. Recognizing that to 
practice medicine is not a natural right of any person but 
is a privilege granted by legislative authority, it is 
necessary in the interests of the health, safety and welfare 
of the people of this state to provide for the granting of 
that privilege and the regulation of its use, to the end that 
the public is protected from the practice of medicine by 
unauthorized or unqualified persons and from 
unprofessional conduct by persons licensed to practice 
under this chapter. 
 
 677.060 Persons and practices not within scope of 
chapter. This chapter does not affect or prevent the 
following: 
 (1) The practice of medicine or podiatry in this state 
by any commissioned medical or podiatric officer serving 
in the Armed Forces of the United States or Public Health 
Service, or any medical or podiatric officer on duty with 
the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, while 
any such medical or podiatric officer is engaged in the 
performance of the actual duties prescribed by the laws 
and regulations of the United States. 
 (2) The meeting in this state of any licensed 
practitioner of medicine of any other state or country with 
a licensed practitioner of medicine in this state, for 
consultation. 

 (3) Supervised clinical training by an acupuncture 
student who is enrolled in a school approved to offer 
credit for post-secondary clinical education in Oregon or 
clinical practice of acupuncture by a practitioner licensed 
to practice acupuncture in another state or foreign 
country who is enrolled in clinical training approved by 
the Board of Medical Examiners. 
 (4) The furnishing of medical or surgical assistance in 
cases of emergency requiring immediate attention. 
 (5) The domestic administration of family remedies. 
 (6) The practice of dentistry, pharmacy, nursing, 
optometry, psychology, clinical social work, chiropractic, 
naturopathic medicine or cosmetic therapy, by any 
person authorized by this state. Nothing in ORS 677.085 
(5) prevents the use of the words “Doctor” or “Specialist,” 
or any abbreviation or combination thereof, or any letters 
or words of similar import by any person duly licensed to 
practice optometry within Oregon. 
 (7) The practice of the religion of persons who 
endeavor to prevent or cure disease or suffering by prayer 
or other spiritual means in accordance with the tenets of 
any church. Nothing in this chapter interferes in any 
manner with the individual’s right to select the 
practitioner or mode of treatment of an individual’s 
choice, or interferes with the right of the person so 
employed to give the treatment so chosen if public health 
laws and rules are complied with. 
 (8) The sale of lenses, artificial eyes, limbs or surgical 
instruments or other apparatus or appliances of a similar 
character. 
 (9) The sale, rent or use for hire of any device or 
appliance, the sale of which is not prohibited by the laws 
of Oregon or the United States. 
 (10) The practice of physiotherapy, electrotherapy or 
hydrotherapy carried on by a duly licensed practitioner of 
medicine, naturopathic medicine or chiropractic, or by 
ancillary personnel certified by the State Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners, pursuant to ORS 684.155 (1)(c)(A), 
to provide physiotherapy, electrotherapy or hydrotherapy 
and working under the direction of a chiropractic 
physician. 
 (11) The practice or use of massage, Swedish 
movement, physical culture, or other natural methods 
requiring use of the hands. 
 
 677.080 Prohibited acts. No person shall: 
 (1) Knowingly make any false statement or 
representation on a matter, or willfully conceal any fact 
material to the right of the person to practice medicine or 
to obtain a license under this chapter. 
 (2) Sell or fraudulently obtain or furnish any medical 
and surgical diploma, license, record or registration, or aid 
or abet in the same. 
 (3) Impersonate anyone to whom a license has been 
granted by the Board of Medical Examiners. 
 (4) Except as provided in ORS 677.060, practice 
medicine in this state without a license required by this 
chapter. 
 
 677.082 Expression of regret or apology by 
licensee. (1) For the purposes of any civil action against a 
person licensed by the Board of Medical Examiners, any 
expression of regret or apology made by or on behalf of 
the person, including an expression of regret or apology 
that is made in writing, orally or by conduct, does not 
constitute an admission of liability for any purpose. 
 (2) A person who is licensed by the Board of Medical 
Examiners, or any other person who makes an expression 
of regret or apology on behalf of a person who is licensed 
by the Board of Medical Examiners, may not be examined 
by 677.030; deposition or otherwise in any civil or 
administrative proceeding, including any arbitration or 
mediation proceeding, with respect to an expression of 
regret or apology made by or on behalf of the person, 
including expressions of regret or apology that are made 
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in writing, orally or by conduct. 
 
 677.085 What constitutes practice of medicine. A 
person is practicing medicine if the person does one or 
more of the following: 
 (1) Advertise, hold out to the public or represent in 
any manner that the person is authorized to practice 
medicine in this state. 
 (2) For compensation directly or indirectly received 
or to be received, offer or undertake to prescribe, give or 
administer any drug or medicine for the use of any other 
person. 
 (3) Offer or undertake to perform any surgical 
operation upon any person. 
 (4) Offer or undertake to diagnose, cure or treat in 
any manner, or by any means, methods, devices or 
instrumentalities, any disease, illness, pain, wound, 
fracture, infirmity, deformity, defect or abnormal physical 
or mental condition of any person. 
 (5) Except as provided in ORS 677.060, append the 
letters “M.D.” or “D.O.” to the name of the person, or use 
the words “Doctor,” “Physician,” “Surgeon,” or any 
abbreviation or combination thereof, or any letters or 
words of similar import in connection with the name of 
the person, or any trade name in which the person is 
interested, in the conduct of any occupation or profession 
pertaining to the diagnosis or treatment of human 
diseases or conditions mentioned in this section. 

 
PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS; 
PODIATRIC PHYSICIANS AND 

SURGEONS 
(Generally) 

 
 677.087 Physicians and podiatric physicians and 
surgeons required to perform agreed upon surgery 
personally. (1) Any physician or podiatric physician and 
surgeon having agreed with a patient to perform any 
surgical operation or procedure, shall perform the surgery 
personally or, prior to surgery, shall inform the patient 
that the physician or podiatric physician and surgeon will 
not be performing the surgery. 
 (2) This section shall not apply when the physician 
or podiatric physician and surgeon, because of an 
emergency, cannot personally notify the patient that the 
physician or podiatric physician and surgeon will not be 
performing the surgery. 
 
 677.089 Physicians dispensing prescription drugs 
to do so personally; records; required labeling 
information. (1) Prescription drugs dispensed by a 
physician or podiatric physician and surgeon shall be 
personally dispensed by the physician or podiatric 
physician and surgeon. Nonjudgmental dispensing 
functions may be delegated to staff assistants when the 
accuracy and completeness of the prescription is verified 
by the physician or podiatric physician and surgeon. 
 (2) The dispensing physician shall maintain records 
of receipt and distribution of prescription drugs. These 
records shall be readily accessible and subject to 
inspection by the Board of Medical Examiners. 
 (3) The dispensing physician shall label prescription 
drugs with the following information: 
 (a) Name of patient; 
 (b) The name and address of the dispensing 
physician; 
 (c) Date of dispensing; 
 (d) The name of the drug but if the dispensed drug 
does not have a brand name, the prescription label shall 
indicate the generic name of the drug dispensed along 
with the name of the drug distributor or manufacturer, its 
quantity per unit and the directions for its use stated in 
the prescription. However, if the drug is a compound, the 

quantity per unit need not be stated; 
 (e) Cautionary statements, if any, as required by law; 
and 
 (f) When applicable and as determined by the State 
Board of Pharmacy, an expiration date after which the 
patient should not use the drug. 
 (4) Prescription drugs shall be dispensed in 
containers complying with the federal Poison Prevention 
Packaging Act unless the patient requests a 
noncomplying container. 
 
 677.095 Duty of care; legal issues not precluded by 
investigation or administrative proceeding. (1) A 
physician or podiatric physician and surgeon licensed to 
practice medicine or podiatry by the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon has the duty to use that 
degree of care, skill and diligence that is used by 
ordinarily careful physicians or podiatric physicians and 
surgeons in the same or similar circumstances in the 
community of the physician or podiatric physician and 
surgeon or a similar community. 
 (2) In any suit, action or arbitration seeking damages 
for professional liability from a health care provider, no 
issue shall be precluded on the basis of a default, 
stipulation, agreement or any other outcome at any stage 
of an investigation or an administrative proceeding, 
including but not limited to a final order. 
 
 677.097 Procedure to obtain informed consent of 
patient. (1) In order to obtain the informed consent of a 
patient, a physician or podiatric physician and surgeon 
shall explain the following: 
 (a) In general terms the procedure or treatment to be 
undertaken; 
 (b) That there may be alternative procedures or 
methods of treatment, if any; and 
 (c) That there are risks, if any, to the procedure or 
treatment. 
 (2) After giving the explanation specified in 
subsection (1) of this section, the physician or podiatric 
physician and surgeon shall ask the patient if the patient 
wants a more detailed explanation. If the patient requests 
further explanation, the physician or podiatric physician 
and surgeon shall disclose in substantial detail the 
procedure, the viable alternatives and the material risks 
unless to do so would be materially detrimental to the 
patient. In determining that further explanation would be 
materially detrimental the physician or podiatric 
physician and surgeon shall give due consideration to the 
standards of practice of reasonable medical or podiatric 
practitioners in the same or a similar community under 
the same or similar circumstances. 
 
 677.099 Notice of participation or nonparticipation 
in Medicare assignment program. (1) A physician 
currently a participating physician in the Medicare 
assignment program under 42 U.S.C. 1395 (b)(3)(B) II shall 
post a notice reading: 
 

 
 (Physician’s name) is participating in the Medicare 
Assignment Program. The physician will not charge you 
fees above the Medicare determined annual deductible 
and the per visit copayment. Ask your physician for more 
information concerning your fees. 
 

 
(2) A physician not currently a participating 

physician in the Medicare assignment program under 42 
U.S.C. 1395 (b)(3)(B) II shall post a notice reading: 

 

 



 

Sec. IV - Page 6 

 

 (Physician’s name) is not participating in the 
Medicare Assignment Program and may legally charge 
you fees in addition to the Medicare determined annual 
deductible and per visit copayment. Ask your physician 
for more information concerning your fees. 
 

 
 (3) The Board of Medical Examiners for the State of 
Oregon shall establish by rule the dimension and design 
for the printing and posting of the sign so as to assure 
that it can be seen and read by Medicare beneficiaries. 
 (4) If the physician has reasonable cause to believe 
that the patient cannot read the sign or cannot 
comprehend its content, the physician shall endeavor to 
explain the meaning of the notice.  
 

(Licensing) 
 
 677.100 Qualifications of applicant for license. (1) 
An applicant for a license to practice medicine in this 
state, except as otherwise provided in subsection (2) of 
this section, must possess the following qualifications: 
 (a) Have attended and graduated from a school of 
medicine. 
 (b) Have satisfactorily completed the following post-
graduate requirement: 
 (A) Satisfactory completion of an approved rotating 
internship if a graduate of an approved school of 
medicine; 
 (B) One year of training in an approved program if a 
graduate of an approved school of medicine; or 
 (C) Three years of training in an approved program if 
a graduate of an unapproved school of medicine. 
 (c) Have complied with each rule of the Board of 
Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon which applies 
to all similar applicants for a license to practice medicine 
in this state. 
 (d) Have provided evidence sufficient to prove to the 
satisfaction of the board that the applicant is of good 
moral character. For purposes of this section, the lack of 
good moral character may be established by reference to 
acts or conduct that reflect moral turpitude or to acts or 
conduct which would cause a reasonable person to have 
substantial doubts about the individual’s honesty, 
fairness and respect for the rights of others and for the 
laws of the state and the nation. The acts or conduct in 
question must be rationally connected to the applicant’s 
fitness to practice medicine. 
 (2) If an applicant establishes that the applicant is of 
good moral character and has qualifications which the 
board determines are the equivalent of the qualifications 
required by subsection (1)(a) to (c) of this section, the 
applicant satisfies the requirements of subsection (1) of 
this section. 
 (3) An applicant for a license to practice medicine 
must make written application to the board showing 
compliance with this section, ORS 677.110, 677.120 and 
the rules of the board, and containing such further 
information as the rules of the board may require. 
 
 677.110 Scope and administration of examination; 
certificate in lieu of examination. (1) Applicants who 
satisfy the requirements of ORS 677.100 shall be admitted 
to an examination in subjects covered in schools of 
medicine that grant degrees of Doctor of Medicine or 
Doctor of Osteopathy. The examination shall be sufficient 
to test the applicant’s fitness to practice medicine. The 
examination shall be conducted in such a manner as to 
conceal the identity of the applicant until all 
examinations have been scored. In all such examinations 
an average score of not less than 75 is required for 
passing. The Board of Medical Examiners may require the 
applicant to take and pass the Federation Licensing 
Examination, also known as FLEX. 

 (2) The Board of Medical Examiners for the State of 
Oregon may accept a certificate issued by the National 
Board of Medical Examiners of the United States or the 
National Board of Examiners for Osteopathic Physicians 
and Surgeons or the Medical Council of Canada or 
successful completion of the United States Medical 
Licensing Examination in lieu of its own examination. 
 (3) If an applicant fails the examination, the board 
may permit the applicant to take a subsequent 
examination, if the applicant has otherwise complied with 
the law and the rules of the board. 
 (4) After any applicant satisfactorily passes the 
examination in the required subjects, and otherwise 
complies with the law and the rules of the board, the 
board shall grant a license to the applicant to practice 
medicine in Oregon.  
 
 677.120 Reciprocity. (1) As used in this section, 
'health clinic' means a public health clinic or a health 
clinic operated by a charitable corporation that mainly 
provides primary physical health, dental or mental health 
services to low-income patients without charge or using a 
sliding fee scale based on the income of the patient. 
 (2) A physician and surgeon who lawfully has been 
issued a license to practice in another state or territory of 
the United States or the District of Columbia, the 
qualifications and licensing examinations of which are 
substantially similar to those of the State of Oregon, may 
be licensed by the Board of Medical Examiners for the 
State of Oregon to practice medicine in this state without 
taking an examination, except when an examination is 
required under subsection (3) or (4) of this section. 
 (3) A person described in subsection (2) of this 
section, whose application is based on a license issued in 
another state or territory or the District of Columbia, 
certification of the National Board of Medical Examiners 
of the United States, the National Board of Examiners for 
Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons or the Medical 
Council of Canada or successful completion of the United 
States Medical Licensing Examination, 10 years or more 
prior to the filing of an application with the board or who 
has ceased the practice of medicine for 12 or more 
consecutive months, may be required by the board to 
take an examination. 
 (4) A person described in subsection (2) of this 
section who volunteers at a health clinic and whose 
application is based on a license issued in another state 
or territory or the District of Columbia, certification of the 
National Board of Medical Examiners of the United States, 
the National Board of Examiners for Osteopathic 
Physicians and Surgeons or the Medical Council of 
Canada or successful completion of the United States 
Medical Licensing Examination or the Federation 
Licensing Examination may be required by the board to 
take a national licensing examination  if the person has 
ceased the practice of medicine for 24 or more 
consecutive months immediately prior to filing the 
application. 
 (5) The board shall make the application under 
subsection (4) of this section available online. A physician 
and surgeon applying for a license under subsection (4) of 
this section shall pay to the board an application fee as 
determined by the board pursuant to ORS 677.265.  
 
 677.125 Reciprocal agreements. The Board of 
Medical Examiners may enter into agreements with 
medical or osteopathic examining boards of other states 
and territories of the United States, and the District of 
Columbia, having qualifications and standards at least as 
high as those of this state, providing for reciprocal 
licensing in this state, without further examination, of 
persons who have been licensed upon written 
examination in the other state or territory. Approval of 
these agreements by any other officer or agency of this 
state is not required.  
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 677.132 Limited license. (1) When a need exists, the 
Board of Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon may 
issue a limited license for a specified period to an 
applicant who possesses the qualifications prescribed by 
the rules of the board. The board shall supervise the 
activities of the holder of a limited license and impose 
such restrictions as it finds necessary. Each person 
holding a limited license must obtain an unlimited license 
at the earliest time possible. After such time the board 
shall refuse to renew a limited license at the end of a 
specified period if it determines that the holder thereof is 
not pursuing diligently an attempt to become qualified for 
a license. 
 (2) The board by rule shall prescribe the types of and 
limitations upon licenses issued under this section. 
 (3) A person licensed under this section is subject to 
all the provisions of this chapter and to all the rules of the 
board, has the same duties and responsibilities and is 
subject to the same penalties and sanctions as any other 
person licensed under this chapter.  
 
 677.135 Definition of “practice of medicine across 
state lines.” As used in ORS 677.135 to 677.141, “the 
practice of medicine across state lines” means: 
 (1) The rendering directly to a person of a written or 
otherwise documented medical opinion concerning the 
diagnosis or treatment of that person located within this 
state for the purpose of patient care by a physician 
located outside this state as a result of the transmission 
of individual patient data by electronic or other means 
from within this state to that physician or the physician’s 
agent; or 
 (2) The rendering of medical treatment directly to a 
person located within this state by a physician located 
outside this state as a result of the outward transmission 
of individual patient data by electronic or other means 
from within this state to that physician or the physician’s 
agent.  
 
 677.137 License required for practice of medicine 
across state lines; exceptions. (1) A person may not 
engage in the practice of medicine across state lines, 
claim qualification to engage in the practice of medicine 
across state lines or use any title, word or abbreviation to 
indicate or to induce another to believe that the person is 
licensed to engage in the practice of medicine across 
state lines unless the person is licensed in accordance 
with ORS 677.139. 
 (2) ORS 677.135 to 677.141 do not apply to a 
physician engaging in the practice of medicine across 
state lines in an emergency, as defined by rule of the 
Board of Medical Examiners. 
 (3) ORS 677.135 to 677.141 do not apply to a 
licensed physician located outside this state who: 
 (a) Consults with another physician licensed to 
practice medicine in this state; and 
 (b) Does not undertake the primary responsibility for 
diagnosing or rendering treatment to a patient within this 
state. 
 (4) ORS 677.135 to 677.141 do not apply to a 
licensed physician located outside this state who has an 
established physician-patient relationship with a person 
who is in Oregon temporarily and who requires the direct 
medical treatment by that physician.  
 
 677.139 License to practice medicine across state 
lines; application; fees. (1) Upon application, the Board of 
Medical Examiners may issue to an out-of-state physician 
a license for the practice of medicine across state lines if 
the physician holds a full, unrestricted license to practice 
medicine in any other state of the United States, has not 
been the recipient of a professional sanction by any other 
state of the United States and otherwise meets the 
standards for Oregon licensure under this chapter. 

 (2) In the event that an out-of-state physician has 
been the recipient of a professional sanction by any other 
state of the United States, the board may issue a license 
for the practice of medicine across state lines if the board 
finds that the sanction does not indicate that the 
physician is a potential threat to the public interest, 
health, welfare and safety. 
 (3) A physician shall make the application on a form 
provided by the board, accompanied by nonrefundable 
fees for the application and the license in amounts 
determined by rule of the board. The board shall adopt 
necessary and proper rules to govern the renewal of 
licenses issued under this section. 
 (4) A license for the practice of medicine across state 
lines is not a limited license for purposes of ORS 677.132. 
 (5) A license for the practice of medicine across state 
lines does not permit a physician to practice medicine in 
this state except when engaging in the practice of 
medicine across state lines. 
 
 677.141 Responsibilities; prohibited practices; 
confidentiality requirements. (1) A physician issued a 
license under ORS 677.139 is subject to all the provisions 
of this chapter and to all the rules of the Board of Medical 
Examiners. A physician issued a license under ORS 
677.139 has the same duties and responsibilities and is 
subject to the same penalties and sanctions as any other 
physician licensed under this chapter. 
 (2) A physician issued a license under ORS 677.139 
may not: 
 (a) Act as a dispensing physician as defined in ORS 
677.010; 
 (b) Administer controlled substances for the 
treatment of intractable pain to a person located within 
this state; 
 (c) Employ a physician assistant as defined in ORS 
677.495 to treat a person located within this state; 
 (d) Claim the tax deduction provided by ORS 
316.076; 
 (e) Participate in the Rural Health Services Program 
under ORS 442.550 to 442.570; or 
 (f) Assert a lien for services under ORS 87.555. 
 (3) A physician licensed under ORS 677.139 shall 
comply with all patient confidentiality requirements of 
this state, except as those requirements are expressly 
prohibited by the law of any other state of the United 
States where a person’s medical records are maintained. 
 
 677.172 Change of location of practice; effect. (1) 
Any person licensed to practice under this chapter who 
changes location during the period between any two 
registration dates shall notify the Board of Medical 
Examiners of the change within 30 days after such 
change. 
 (2) Any person who is newly licensed by the board to 
practice under this chapter during the period between 
any two registration dates shall immediately register and 
pay the registration fee for that period. 
 (3)(a) Any person licensed under this chapter who 
changes location of practice to some other state or 
country shall be listed by the board as inactive. Absence 
from the state of a person licensed by the board does not 
affect the validity of the license if the licensee notifies the 
board of such absence from the state and pays the 
inactive registration fee during such absence. 
 (b) Before resuming practice in the state, the licensee 
shall notify the board of the intention to resume active 
practice in the state and obtain a certificate of active 
registration for the renewal period during which the 
licensee returns. The fee shall be the active registration 
fee less any inactive registration fee previously paid for 
that renewal period. 
 (c) The licensee shall file an affidavit with the board 
describing medically related activities during the period of 
inactive registration. If, in the judgment of the board, the 
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conduct of the licensee has been, during the period of 
inactive registration, such that the licensee would have 
been denied a license if applying for an initial license, the 
board may deny active registration and may take further 
action as appropriate.  
 
 677.175 Retirement; cessation of practice. (1) A 
person licensed to practice under this chapter may retire 
from practice by notifying the Board of Medical Examiners 
for the State of Oregon in writing of such intention to 
retire. Upon receipt of this notice the board shall record 
the fact that the person is retired and excuse such person 
from further payment of registration fees. During the 
period of retirement no such person may practice. If a 
retired licensee desires to return to practice, the licensee 
shall apply to the board in writing for active registration. 
The board shall take action on the application as if the 
licensee were listed by the board as inactive and applying 
for active registration. 
 (2) If a person licensed to practice under this chapter 
ceases to practice for a period of 12 or more consecutive 
months, the board in its discretion may require the 
person to prove to its satisfaction that the licensee has 
maintained competence. 
 (3) The surrender, retirement or other forfeiture, 
expiration or cancellation of a license issued by the board 
shall not deprive the board of its authority to institute or 
continue a disciplinary action against the licensee upon 
any ground provided by law.  
 
 677.184 License to show degree held; display of 
license; use of degree on stationery and in displays. (1) 
On each license issued by it, the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon shall enter after the 
name of the person holding the license the degree to 
which the person is entitled by reason of the diploma of 
graduation from a school of medicine which, at the time 
of the graduation of such person, was approved by the 
board for purposes of ORS 677.100. 
 (2) The license shall be displayed in a prominent 
place in the licensee’s office. 
 (3) In every letter, business card, advertisement, 
prescription blank, sign, public listing or display in 
connection with the profession of the person, each person 
licensed to practice medicine in this state shall designate 
the degree appearing on the license of the person 
pursuant to subsection (1) of this section. Action taken by 
the board under ORS 677.190 for failure to comply with 
this subsection does not relieve a person from criminal 
prosecution for violation of ORS 676.100 to 676.120.  
 
 677.188 Definitions for ORS 677.190. As used in ORS 
677.190, unless the context requires otherwise: 
 (1) “Fraud or misrepresentation” means the 
intentional misrepresentation or misstatement of a 
material fact, concealment of or failure to make known 
any material fact, or any other means by which 
misinformation or a false impression knowingly is given. 
 (2) “Fraudulent claim” means a claim submitted to 
any patient, insurance or indemnity association, company 
or individual for the purpose of gaining compensation, 
which the person making the claim knows to be false. 
 (3) “Manifestly incurable condition, sickness, disease 
or injury” means one that is declared to be incurable by 
competent physicians and surgeons or by other 
recognized authority. 
 (4) “Unprofessional or dishonorable conduct” means 
conduct unbecoming a person licensed to practice 
medicine or podiatry, or detrimental to the best interests 
of the public, and includes: 
 (a) Any conduct or practice contrary to recognized 
standards of ethics of the medical or podiatric profession 
or any conduct or practice which does or might constitute 
a danger to the health or safety of a patient or the public 
or any conduct, practice or condition which does or might 

impair a physician’s or podiatric physician and surgeon’s 
ability safely and skillfully to practice medicine or 
podiatry; 
 (b) Willful performance of any surgical or medical 
treatment which is contrary to acceptable medical 
standards; and 
 (c) Willful and repeated ordering or performance of 
unnecessary laboratory tests or radiologic studies; 
administration of unnecessary treatment; employment of 
outmoded, unproved or unscientific treatments; failure to 
obtain consultations when failing to do so is not 
consistent with the standard of care; or otherwise utilizing 
medical service for diagnosis or treatment which is or 
may be considered inappropriate or unnecessary. 
  
 677.190 Grounds for suspending, revoking or 
refusing to grant license, registration or certification; 
alternative medicine not unprofessional conduct. The 
Board of Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon may 
refuse to grant, or may suspend or revoke a license to 
practice for any of the following reasons: 
 (1)(a) Unprofessional or dishonorable conduct. 
 (b) For purposes of this subsection, the use of an 
alternative medical treatment shall not by itself constitute 
unprofessional conduct. For purposes of this paragraph: 
 (A) “Alternative medical treatment” means: 
 (i) A treatment that the treating physician, based on 
the physician’s professional experience, has an objective 
basis to believe has a reasonable probability for 
effectiveness in its intended use even if the treatment is 
outside recognized scientific guidelines, is unproven, is no 
longer used as a generally recognized or standard 
treatment or lacks the approval of the United States Food 
and Drug Administration; 
 (ii) A treatment that is supported for specific usages 
or outcomes by at least one other physician licensed by 
the Board of Medical Examiners; and 
 (iii) A treatment that poses no greater risk to a 
patient than the generally recognized or standard 
treatment. 
 (B) “Alternative medical treatment” does not include 
use by a physician of controlled substances in the 
treatment of a person for chemical dependency resulting 
from the use of controlled substances. 
 (2) Employing any person to solicit patients for the 
licensee. However, a managed care organization, 
independent practice association, preferred provider 
organization or other medical service provider 
organization may contract for patients on behalf of 
physicians. 
 (3) Representing to a patient that a manifestly 
incurable condition of sickness, disease or injury can be 
cured. 
 (4) Obtaining any fee by fraud or misrepresentation. 
 (5) Willfully or negligently divulging a professional 
secret without the written consent of the patient. 
 (6) Conviction of any offense punishable by 
incarceration in a Department of Corrections institution or 
in a federal prison, subject to ORS 670.280. A copy of the 
record of conviction, certified to by the clerk of the court 
entering the conviction, shall be conclusive evidence of 
the conviction. 
 (7) Habitual or excessive use of intoxicants, drugs or 
controlled substances. 
 (8) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for or 
procuring a license to practice in this state, or in 
connection with applying for or procuring registration. 
 (9) Making statements that the licensee knows, or 
with the exercise of reasonable care should know, are 
false or misleading, regarding skill or the efficacy or value 
of the medicine, treatment or remedy prescribed or 
administered by the licensee or at the direction of the 
licensee in the treatment of any disease or other 
condition of the human body or mind. 
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 (10) Impersonating another licensee licensed under 
this chapter or permitting or allowing any person to use 
the license. 
 (11) Aiding or abetting the practice of medicine or 
podiatry by a person not licensed by the board, when the 
licensee knows, or with the exercise of reasonable care 
should know, that the person is not licensed. 
 (12) Using the name of the licensee under the 
designation “doctor,” “Dr.,” “D.O.” or “M.D.,” “D.P.M.,” 
“Acupuncturist,” “P.A.” or any similar designation in any 
form of advertising that is untruthful or is intended to 
deceive or mislead the public. 
 (13) Insanity or mental disease as evidenced by an 
adjudication or voluntary commitment to an institution 
for the treatment of a mental disease that affects the 
ability of the licensee to safely practice medicine, or as 
determined by an examination conducted by three 
impartial psychiatrists retained by the board. 
 (14) Gross negligence or repeated negligence in the 
practice of medicine or podiatry. 
 (15) Incapacity to practice medicine or podiatry. If 
the board has evidence indicating incapacity, the board 
may order a licensee to submit to a standardized 
competency examination. The licensee shall have access 
to the result of the examination and to the criteria used 
for grading and evaluating the examination. If the 
examination is given orally, the licensee shall have the 
right to have the examination recorded. 
 (16) Disciplinary action by another state of a license 
to practice, based upon acts by the licensee similar to 
acts described in this section. A certified copy of the 
record of the disciplinary action of the state is conclusive 
evidence thereof. 
 (17) Failing to designate the degree appearing on the 
license under circumstances described in ORS 677.184 (3). 
 (18) Willfully violating any provision of this chapter 
or any rule adopted by the board, board order, or failing 
to comply with a board request pursuant to ORS 677.320. 
 (19) Failing to report the change of the location of 
practice of the licensee as required by ORS 677.172. 
 (20) Adjudication of or admission to a hospital for 
mental illness or imprisonment as provided in ORS 
677.225. 
 (21) Making a fraudulent claim. 
 (22)(a) Performing psychosurgery. 
 (b) For purposes of this subsection and ORS 426.385, 
“psychosurgery” means any operation designed to 
produce an irreversible lesion or destroy brain tissue for 
the primary purpose of altering the thoughts, emotions or 
behavior of a human being. “Psychosurgery” does not 
include procedures which may produce an irreversible 
lesion or destroy brain tissues when undertaken to cure 
well-defined disease states such as brain tumor, epileptic 
foci and certain chronic pain syndromes. 
 (23) Refusing an invitation for an informal interview 
with the board requested under ORS 677.415. 
 (24) Violation of the federal Controlled Substances 
Act. 
 (25) Prescribing controlled substances without a 
legitimate medical purpose, or prescribing controlled 
substances without following accepted procedures for 
examination of patients, or prescribing controlled 
substances without following accepted procedures for 
record keeping or without giving the notice required 
under ORS 677.485. 
 (26) Failure by the licensee to report to the board 
any adverse action taken against the licensee by another 
licensing jurisdiction or any peer review body, health care 
institution, professional or medical society or association, 
governmental agency, law enforcement agency or court 
for acts or conduct similar to acts or conduct that would 
constitute grounds for disciplinary action as described in 
this section. 
 (27) Failure by the licensee to notify the board of the 
licensee’s voluntary resignation from the staff of a health 

care institution or voluntary limitation of a licensee’s staff 
privileges at the institution if that action occurs while the 
licensee is under investigation by the institution or a 
committee thereof for any reason related to medical 
incompetence, unprofessional conduct or mental or 
physical impairment.  
 
 677.200 Disciplinary procedure. Except as provided 
in ORS 677.202 or 677.205 (1)(a), any proceeding for 
disciplinary action of a licensee licensed under this 
chapter shall be substantially in accord with the following 
procedure: 
 (1) A written complaint of some person, not 
excluding members or employees of the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon, shall be verified and 
filed with the board. 
 (2) A hearing shall be given to the accused in 
accordance with ORS chapter 183 as a contested case.  
 
 677.202 When procedure inapplicable. ORS 677.200 
does not apply in cases where the license of a person to 
practice under this chapter has been suspended 
automatically as provided in ORS 677.225.  
 
 677.205 Grounds for discipline; action by board. (1) 
The Board of Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon 
may discipline as provided in this section any person 
licensed, registered or certified under this chapter who 
has: 
 (a) Admitted the facts of a complaint filed in 
accordance with ORS 677.200 (1) alleging facts which 
establish that such person is in violation of one or more of 
the grounds for suspension or revocation of a license as 
set forth in ORS 677.190; 
 (b) Been found to be in violation of one or more of 
the grounds for disciplinary action of a licensee as set 
forth in this chapter; or 
 (c) Had an automatic license suspension as provided 
in ORS 677.225. 
 (2) In disciplining a licensee as authorized by 
subsection (1) of this section, the board may use any or all 
of the following methods: 
 (a) Suspend judgment. 
 (b) Place the licensee on probation. 
 (c) Suspend the license. 
 (d) Revoke the license. 
 (e) Place limitations on the license. 
 (f) Take such other disciplinary action as the board 
in its discretion finds proper, including assessment of the 
costs of the disciplinary proceedings as a civil penalty or 
assessment of a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000, or 
both. 
 (3) In addition to the action authorized by 
subsection (2) of this section, the board may temporarily 
suspend a license without a hearing, simultaneously with 
the commencement of proceedings under ORS 677.200 if 
the board finds that evidence in its possession indicates 
that a continuation in practice of the licensee constitutes 
an immediate danger to the public. 
 (4) If the board places any licensee on probation as 
set forth in subsection (2)(b) of this section, the board may 
determine, and may at any time modify, the conditions of 
the probation and may include among them any 
reasonable condition for the purpose of protection of the 
public or for the purpose of the rehabilitation of the 
probationer, or both. Upon expiration of the term of 
probation, further proceedings shall be abated if the 
licensee has complied with the terms of the probation. 
 (5) If a license issued under this chapter is 
suspended, the holder of the license may not practice 
during the term of suspension. Upon the expiration of the 
term of suspension, the license shall be reinstated by the 
board if the conditions for which the license was 
suspended no longer exist. 
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 (6) The board shall enter each case of disciplinary 
action on its records. 
 (7) Civil penalties under this section shall be 
imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.  
 
 677.208 Hearing; disqualification of investigating 
board members; judicial review. (1) Where the Board of 
Medical Examiners proposes to refuse to issue a license, 
or refuses to restore an inactive registrant to an active 
registration, or proposes to revoke or suspend a license, 
opportunity for hearing shall be accorded as provided in 
ORS chapter 183. 
 (2) Following a contested case hearing, the members 
of the board who participated in the investigation of the 
licensee, except for one public member, shall not 
participate in the final decision of the board. A meeting of 
the board to determine what further action, if any, should 
be taken regarding the licensee or applicant is not a part 
of the investigation. The final decision of the board 
following a contested case hearing shall be based upon 
the transcript and record, including the exhibits. 
 (3) Judicial review of orders under subsection (1) of 
this section shall be in accordance with ORS chapter 183. 
 (4) If the final order of the court on review reverses 
the board’s order of suspension or revocation, the board 
shall issue the license and reinstate appellant not later 
than the 30th day after the decision of the court.  
 
 677.220 Issuance or restoration of license after 
denial or revocation. Whenever a license issued under 
this chapter is denied or revoked for any cause, the Board 
of Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon may, after 
the lapse of two years from the date of such revocation, 
upon written application by the person formerly licensed, 
issue or restore the license.  
 
 677.225 Automatic suspension of license for 
mental illness or imprisonment; termination of 
suspension. (1) A person’s license issued under this 
chapter is suspended automatically if: 
 (a) The licensee is adjudged to be mentally ill or is 
admitted on a voluntary basis to a treatment facility for 
mental illness that affects the ability of the licensee to 
safely practice medicine and if the licensee’s residence in 
the hospital exceeds 25 consecutive days; or 
 (b) The licensee is an inmate in a penal institution. 
 (2)(a) The clerk of the court ordering commitment or 
incarceration under subsection (1)(a) or (b) of this section 
shall cause to be mailed to the Board of Medical 
Examiners, as soon as possible, a certified copy of the 
court order. No fees are chargeable by the clerk for 
performing the duties prescribed by this paragraph. 
 (b) The administrator of the hospital to which a 
person with a license issued under this chapter has 
voluntarily applied for admission shall cause to be mailed 
to the board as soon as possible, a certified copy of the 
record of the voluntary admission of such person. 
 (c) Written evidence received from the supervisory 
authority of a penal or mental institution that the licensee 
is an inmate or patient therein is prima facie evidence for 
the purpose of subsection (1)(a) or (b) of this section. 
 (3) A suspension under this section may be 
terminated by the board when: 
 (a)(A) The board receives evidence satisfactory to the 
board that the licensee is not mentally ill; or 
 (B) The board receives evidence satisfactory to the 
board that the licensee is no longer incarcerated; and 
 (b) The board is satisfied, with due regard for the 
public interest, that the licensee’s privilege to practice 
may be restored.  
 
 677.228. Automatic lapse of license for failure to 
pay registration fee or report change of location; 
reinstatement. (1) A person’s license to practice under this 
chapter automatically lapses if the licensee fails to: 

 (a) Pay the registration fee as required by rule of the 
Board of Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon. 
 (b) Notify the board of a change of location not later 
than the 30th day after such change. 
 (c) Complete prior to payment of the registration fee 
described in paragraph (a) of this subsection, or provide 
documentation of previous completion of, if required by 
rule of the board: 
 (A) A pain management education program 
approved by the board and developed in conjunction 
with the Pain Management Commission established 
under ORS 409.500; or 
 (B) An equivalent pain management education 
program, as determined by the board. 
 (2) If a license issued automatically lapses under this 
section, the holder of the license shall not practice until 
the conditions for which the license automatically lapsed 
no longer exist. 
 (3) A person whose license has automatically lapsed 
under subsection (1)(a) of this section is reinstated 
automatically when the licensee pays the registration fee 
plus all late fees then due. 
 (4) A person whose license has automatically lapsed 
under subsection (1)(b) of this section is reinstated 
automatically if the board receives notification of the 
current and correct address of the licensee not later than 
the 10th day after such automatic lapse takes effect. 
Otherwise the lapse continues until terminated by the 
board. 
 (5) A person whose license has automatically lapsed 
under subsection (1)(c) of this section is reinstated 
automatically when the board receives documentation of 
the person’s completion of a pain management education 
program if required by subsection (1)(c) of this section. 
  
 677.270 Proceedings upon refusal to testify or 
failure to obey rule, order or subpoena of board. If any 
licensee fails to comply with any lawful rule or order of 
the Board of Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon, or 
fails to obey any subpoena issued by the board, or 
refuses to testify concerning any matter on which the 
licensee may lawfully be interrogated by the board, the 
board may apply to any circuit court of this state, or the 
judge thereof, to compel obedience. The court or judge, 
upon such application, shall institute proceedings for 
contempt. The remedy provided in this section is in 
addition to, and not exclusive of, the authority of the 
board to discipline licensees for violations of ORS 677.190 
(18) and (23). 

 
(Enforcement) 

 
 677.320 Investigation of complaints and suspected 
violations. (1) Upon the complaint of any citizen of this 
state, or upon its own initiative, the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon may investigate any 
alleged violation of this chapter. If, after the investigation, 
the board has reason to believe that any person is subject 
to prosecution criminally for the violation of this chapter, 
it shall lay the facts before the proper district attorney. 
 (2) In the conduct of investigations, the board or its 
designated representative may: 
 (a) Take evidence; 
 (b) Take the depositions of witnesses, including the 
person charged; 
 (c) Compel the appearance of witnesses, including 
the person charged; 
 (d) Require answers to interrogatories; and 
 (e) Compel the production of books, papers, 
accounts, documents and testimony pertaining to the 
matter under investigation. 
 (3) In exercising its authority under subsection (2) of 
this section, the board may issue subpoenas over the 
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signature of the executive director and the seal of the 
board in the name of the State of Oregon. 
 (4) In any proceeding under this section where the 
subpoena is addressed to a licensee of this board, it shall 
not be a defense that the material that is subject to the 
subpoena is protected under a patient and physician 
privilege. 
 (5) If a licensee who is the subject of an investigation 
or complaint is to appear before members of the board 
investigating the complaint, the board shall provide the 
licensee with a current summary of the complaint or the 
matter being investigated not less than five days prior to 
the date that the licensee is to appear. At the time the 
summary of the complaint or the matter being 
investigated is provided, the board shall provide to the 
licensee a current summary of documents or alleged facts 
that the board has acquired as a result of the 
investigation. The name of the complainant or other 
information that reasonably may be used to identify the 
complainant may be withheld from the licensee. 
 (6) A licensee who is the subject of an investigation 
and any person authorized to act on behalf of the 
licensee shall not knowingly contact the complainant 
until the licensee has requested a contested case hearing 
and the board has authorized the taking of the 
complainant’s deposition pursuant to ORS 183.425. 
 (7) Except in an investigation or proceeding 
conducted by the board or another public entity, or in an 
action, suit or proceeding where a public entity is a party, 
a licensee shall not be questioned or examined regarding 
any communication with the board made in an 
appearance before the board as part of an investigation. 
This section shall not prohibit examination or questioning 
of a licensee regarding records dealing with a patient’s 
care and treatment or affect the admissibility of those 
records. As used in this section, “public entity” has the 
meaning given that term in ORS 676.177.  
  

677.325 Enjoining unlicensed practice of medicine. 
The Board of Medical Examiners may maintain a suit for 
an injunction against any person violating ORS 677.080 
(4). Any person who has been so enjoined may be 
punished for contempt by the court issuing the injunction. 
An injunction may be issued without proof of actual 
damage sustained by any person. An injunction shall not 
relieve a person from criminal prosecution for violation of 
ORS 677.080 (4).  
 
 677.330 Duty of district attorney and Attorney 
General; jurisdiction of prosecutions. (1) The district 
attorney of each county shall prosecute any violation of 
this chapter occurring in the county. The Board of Medical 
Examiners shall be represented by the Attorney General 
acting under ORS 180.140. Each district attorney shall 
bring to the attention of the grand jury of the county any 
information independently developed by the district 
attorney, the Attorney General or other law enforcement 
agencies pertaining to a violation of this chapter. 
 (2) Upon any appeal to the Court of Appeals of this 
state in any of the proceedings referred to in subsection 
(1) of this section, the Attorney General shall assist the 
district attorney in the trial of the cause in the Court of 
Appeals. 
 (3) Justice courts and the circuit courts have 
concurrent jurisdiction of prosecutions for the violation of 
this chapter.  
 
 677.335 Official actions of board and personnel; 
privileges and immunities; scope of immunity of 
complainant. (1) Members of the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon, members of its 
administrative and investigative staff, medical 
consultants, and its attorneys acting as prosecutors or 
counsel shall have the same privilege and immunities 
from civil and criminal proceedings arising by reason of 

official actions as prosecuting and judicial officers of the 
state. 
 (2) No person who has made a complaint as to the 
conduct of a licensee of the board or who has given 
information or testimony relative to a proposed or 
pending proceeding for misconduct against the licensee 
of the board, shall be answerable for any such act in any 
proceeding except for perjury committed by the person. 

 
(Competency to Practice 

Medicine or Podiatry) 
 

 677.410 Voluntary limitation of license; removal of 
limitation. A licensee may request in writing to the Board 
of Medical Examiners a limitation of license to practice 
medicine or podiatry, respectively. The board may grant 
such request for limitation and shall have authority, if it 
deems appropriate, to attach conditions to the license of 
the licensee within the provisions of ORS 677.205 and 
677.410 to 677.425. Removal of a voluntary limitation on 
licensure to practice medicine or podiatry shall be 
determined by the board.  
 
 677.415 Investigation of incompetence; reports to 
board; informal interview. (1) As used in this section: 
 (a) “Health care facility” means a facility licensed 
under ORS 441.015 to 441.087. 
 (b) “Official action, incident or event” means a 
restriction, limitation, loss or denial of privileges of a 
licensee to practice medicine, any formal action taken 
against a licensee by a government agency or a health 
care facility based on a finding of medical incompetence, 
unprofessional conduct or licensee impairment, or the 
withdrawal by a licensee from the practice of medicine or 
podiatry. 
 (2) The Board of Medical Examiners on its own 
motion may investigate any evidence that appears to 
show that a licensee licensed by the board is or may be 
medically incompetent or is or may be guilty of 
unprofessional or dishonorable conduct or is or may be 
an impaired licensee unable safely to engage in the 
practice of medicine or podiatry. 
 (3) A licensee licensed by the board, the Oregon 
Medical Association, Inc., or any component society 
thereof, the Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of 
Oregon, Inc. or the Oregon Podiatric Medical Association 
shall report within 10 working days, and any other person 
may report, to the board any information such licensee, 
association, society or person may have that appears to 
show that a licensee is or may be medically incompetent 
or is or may be guilty of unprofessional or dishonorable 
conduct or is or may be an impaired licensee unable 
safely to engage in the practice of medicine or podiatry. 
However, a licensee who is treating another licensee for a 
mental disability has a duty to report within 10 working 
days the licensee patient unless, in the opinion of the 
treating licensee, the patient is not impaired. 
 (4) A licensee shall self-report within 10 working 
days any official action, incident or event taken against 
the licensee. 
 (5) A health care facility shall report to the Board of 
Medical Examiners any official action, incident or event 
taken against a licensee within 10 business days of the 
date of the official action, incident or event. 
 (6) A licensee’s voluntary resignation from the staff of 
a health care institution or voluntary limitation of the 
licensee’s staff privileges at such an institution shall be 
promptly reported to the board by the institution and the 
licensee if that action occurs while the licensee is under 
investigation by the institution or a committee thereof for 
any reason related to possible medical incompetence, 
unprofessional conduct or mental or physical impairment. 
 (7) If, in the opinion of the board, it appears that 
information provided to it under this section is or may be 
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true, the board may order an informal interview with the 
licensee subject to the notice requirement of ORS 677.320. 
 (8) A person who reports in good faith to the Board 
of Medical Examiners as required by this section is 
immune from civil liability by reason of making the report.  
 
 677.417 Medical incompetence, unprofessional 
conduct, licensee impairment; rules. The Board of 
Medical Examiners shall determine by rule what 
constitutes medical incompetence, unprofessional 
conduct or licensee impairment for the purposes of ORS 
chapter 677.  
 
 677.420 Competency examination; investigation; 
consent by licensee; assistance. (1) Notwithstanding any 
other provisions of this chapter, the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon may at any time direct 
and order a mental, physical or medical competency 
examination or any combination thereof, and make such 
investigation, including the taking of depositions or 
otherwise in order to fully inform itself with respect to the 
performance or conduct of a licensee. 
 (2) If the board has reasonable cause to believe that 
any licensee is or may be unable to practice medicine or 
podiatry with reasonable skill and safety to patients, the 
board shall cause a competency examination of such 
licensee for purposes of determining the fitness of the 
licensee to practice medicine or podiatry with reasonable 
skill and safety to patients. 
 (3) Any licensee by practicing or by filing a 
registration to practice medicine or podiatry shall be 
deemed to have given consent to submit to mental or 
physical examination when so directed by the board and, 
further, to have waived all objection to the admissibility of 
information derived from such mental or physical or 
medical competency examination on the grounds of 
privileged communication. 
 (4) The board may request any medical organization 
to assist the board in preparing for or conducting any 
medical competency examination that the board may 
consider appropriate.  
 
 677.425 Confidential information; immunity. (1) Any 
information that the Board of Medical Examiners for the 
State of Oregon obtains pursuant to ORS 677.200, 677.205 
or 677.410 to 677.425 is confidential as provided under 
ORS 676.175. 
 (2) Any person who reports or provides information 
to the board under ORS 677.205 and 677.410 to 677.425 
and who provides information in good faith shall not be 
subject to an action for civil damages as a result thereof.  
 
 677.450 Release of certain information to health 
care facilities. The Board of Medical Examiners may 
release information received under ORS 441.820 
concerning the revocation or restriction of a physician’s or 
podiatric physician and surgeon’s activities at a health 
care facility to any other health care facility licensed 
under ORS 441.015 to 441.087, 441.525 to 441.595, 
441.815, 441.820, 441.990, 442.342, 442.344 and 442.400 
to 442.463 at which that physician or podiatric physician 
and surgeon holds or has applied for staff privileges or 
other right to practice medicine or podiatry at the facility. 

 
(Administration of 

Controlled Substances for 
Intractable Pain) 

 
 677.470 Definitions for ORS 677.470 to 677.485. As 
used in ORS 677.470 to 677.485: 
 (1) “Controlled substance” has the meaning given 
that term under ORS 475.005. 

 (2) “Intractable pain” means a pain state in which 
the cause of the pain cannot be removed or otherwise 
treated and for which, in the generally accepted course of 
medical practice, no relief or cure of the cause of the pain 
has been found after reasonable efforts, including, but not 
limited to, evaluation by the attending physician.  
 
 677.474 Administration of controlled substances 
for intractable pain allowed; exceptions. (1) 
Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, a 
physician licensed under this chapter may prescribe or 
administer controlled substances to a person in the 
course of the physician’s treatment of that person for a 
diagnosed condition causing intractable pain. 
 (2) A physician shall not be subject to disciplinary 
action by the Board of Medical Examiners for prescribing 
or administering controlled substances in the course of 
treatment of a person for intractable pain with the goal of 
controlling the patient’s pain for the duration of the pain. 
 (3) Subsections (1) and (2) of this section do not 
apply to: 
 (a) A physician’s treatment of a person for chemical 
dependency resulting from the use of controlled 
substances; 
 (b) The prescription or administration of controlled 
substances to a person the physician knows to be using 
the controlled substances for nontherapeutic purposes; 
 (c) The prescription or administration of controlled 
substances for the purpose of terminating the life of a 
person having intractable pain, except as allowed under 
ORS 127.800 to 127.897; or 
 (d) The prescription or administration of a substance 
that is not a controlled substance approved by the United 
States Food and Drug Administration for pain relief. 
 (4) Subsection (2) of this section does not exempt the 
governing body of any hospital or other medical facility 
from the requirements of ORS 441.055.  
 
 677.480 Discipline. ORS 677.474 does not prohibit 
the Board of Medical Examiners from placing on 
probation or denying, revoking, limiting or suspending the 
license of any physician who does any of the following: 
 (1) Prescribes or administers a controlled substance 
or treatment that is nontherapeutic in nature or 
nontherapeutic as administered or prescribed or that is 
administered or prescribed for a nontherapeutic purpose. 
 (2) Fails to keep a complete and accurate record of 
controlled substance purchases, dispensing and disposal 
as required by the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention 
and Control Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-513), other federal law or 
ORS 475.005 to 475.285 and 475.940 to 475.999. 
 (3) Prescribes controlled substances without a 
legitimate medical purpose. 
 (4) Prescribes, administers or dispenses controlled 
substances in a manner detrimental to the best interest of 
the public. 
 (5) Prescribes, administers or dispenses a controlled 
substance in a manner prohibited under ORS 475.005 to 
475.285 or 475.940 to 475.999. 
 (6) Falsifies prescription information, including, but 
not limited to, the identity of the recipient.  
 
 677.485 Written notice required. Prior to 
commencing the treatment of intractable pain as allowed 
under ORS 677.474, the physician shall provide to the 
person and the person shall sign a written notice, 
provided and approved by the board, disclosing the 
material risks associated with the prescribed or 
administered controlled substances to be used in the 
course of the physician’s treatment of that person. 

 
DIVERSION PROGRAM 
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 677.615 Diversion Program Supervisory Council. (1) 
There is established a Diversion Program Supervisory 
Council consisting of five members appointed by the 
Board of Medical Examiners for the purpose of developing 
and implementing a diversion program for chemically 
dependent licensees regulated under this chapter. No 
current board member or staff shall serve on the council. 
 (2) The term of office of each member is two years, 
but a member serves at the pleasure of the board. Before 
the expiration of the term of a member, the board shall 
appoint a successor whose term begins July 1 next 
following. A member is eligible for reappointment. If there 
is a vacancy for any cause, the board shall make an 
appointment to become immediately effective for the 
unexpired term. 
 (3) The members of the council must be citizens of 
this state who are familiar with the recognition, 
intervention, assessment and treatment of chemically 
dependent persons. 
 (4) A member of the council is entitled to 
compensation and expenses as provided in ORS 292.495, 
except that the compensation for the time spent in 
performance of official duties shall be the same as the 
compensation received by members of the Board of 
Medical Examiners. 
 (5) The council shall select one of its members as 
chairperson and another as vice chairperson, for such 
terms and with duties and powers necessary for the 
performance of the functions of such offices as the 
council determines. 
 (6) A majority of the members of the council 
constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.  
 
 677.625 Medical director; appointment; duties. (1) 
Subject to the approval of the Board of Medical 
Examiners, the Diversion Program Supervisory Council 
shall appoint a medical director to serve at the pleasure 
of the council. The medical director shall be an employee 
of the board. 
 (2) The medical director shall administer, under the 
control and supervision of the council, the diversion 
program for chemically dependent licensees. 
 (3) The board shall appoint such employees as may 
be necessary to carry out the duties of the council, as 
assigned by the medical director. 
  
 677.635 Contract for services to chemically 
dependent licensees. The Board of Medical Examiners 
may enter into contracts to provide services for 
chemically dependent licensees and may, in accordance 
with ORS chapter 183, adopt rules necessary for the 
administration of a diversion program for chemically 
dependent licensees.  
 
 677.645 Referral in addition to or in lieu of 
discipline. (1) In addition to or in lieu of any disciplinary 
action under ORS 677.205, the Board of Medical 
Examiners may refer a licensee who is chemically 
dependent to a diversion program administered by the 
Diversion Program Supervisory Council. 
 (2) The council shall report to the board and provide 
all pertinent information concerning any licensee who 
fails to complete the diversion program or fails to 
participate in the diversion program in good faith.  
 
 677.655 Confidentiality of records and information; 
effect of successful completion of program. (1) All records 
of the Diversion Program Supervisory Council are 
confidential and shall not be subject to public disclosure, 
nor shall the records be admissible as evidence in any 
judicial, administrative, arbitration or mediation 
proceeding except proceedings between the licensee or 
applicant and the Board of Medical Examiners. 
 (2) The members, employees, contractors and past or 
present clients of the council shall not be subject to the 

disclosure requirements in ORS 677.415, nor shall they 
disclose information or be examined regarding any 
participant in the program. 
 (3) Any licensee who in good faith voluntarily 
participates in an approved diversion program and 
successfully completes the program shall not be subject 
to disciplinary investigation or sanctions unless the 
licensee is suspected of a violation of this chapter, other 
than ORS 677.190 (1)(a), by the manner of obtaining or 
self-administration of intoxicants, drugs or controlled 
substances or a violation of ORS 677.190 (7) or (24).  
 

677.677 Rulemaking authority of board; fees and 
charges. In addition to any other powers granted by ORS 
677.615 to 677.677, the Board of Medical Examiners may 
adopt necessary and proper rules for administration of 
ORS 677.615 to 677.677 including, but not limited to, 
establishing fees and charges to carry out its legal 
responsibilities, subject to prior approval by the Oregon 
Department of Administrative Services and a report to the 
Emergency Board prior to adopting the fees and charges. 
The fees and charges established under this section shall 
not exceed the cost of administering the program of the 
Diversion Program Supervisory Council, as authorized by 
the Legislative Assembly within the board’s budget, or as 
the budget may be modified by the Emergency Board, 
and shall be maintained in an account separate from 
other funds of the board. 

 
PODIATRY 

 (General Provisions) 
 
 677.805 Definitions for ORS 677.805 to 677.855. As 
used in ORS 677.805 to 677.855: 
 (1) “Ankle” means the tibial plafond and its 
posterolateral border or posterior malleolus, the medial 
malleolus, the distal fibula or lateral malleolus, and the 
talus. 
 (2) “Board” means the Board of Medical Examiners 
for the State of Oregon. 
 (3) “Podiatric physician and surgeon” means a 
podiatric physician and surgeon whose practice is limited 
to treating ailments of the human foot, ankle and tendons 
directly attached to and governing the function of the foot 
and ankle. 
 (4) “Podiatry” means the diagnosis or the medical, 
physical or surgical treatment of ailments of the human 
foot, ankle and tendons directly attached to and 
governing the function of the foot and ankle, except 
treatment involving the use of a general or spinal 
anesthetic unless the treatment is performed in a hospital 
certified in the manner described in ORS 441.055 (2) or in 
an ambulatory surgical center certified by the 
Department of Human Services and is under the 
supervision of or in collaboration with a physician 
licensed to practice medicine by the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon. “Podiatry” does not 
include the administration of general or spinal 
anesthetics or the amputation of the entire foot.  
 
 677.810 License required to practice podiatry. (1) 
No person shall practice podiatry without first obtaining 
from the Board of Medical Examiners a license 
authorizing the practice of podiatry in this state, except 
as otherwise provided in ORS 677.805 to 677.855. 
 (2) It shall be deemed prima facie evidence of 
practicing podiatry within the meaning of ORS 677.805 to 
677.855 if any person uses the name or title podiatrist, 
podiatric physician and surgeon, chiropodist, D.S.C., 
D.P.M., D.P., foot expert, foot specialist, foot correctionist, 
or any other word, abbreviation or title indicating that the 
person was or is qualified and licensed to practice 
podiatry.  
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 677.812 Surgery on ankle; limitations. Surgery of 
the ankle as defined in ORS 677.805 must be conducted: 
 (1) In a hospital certified in the manner described in 
ORS 441.055 (2) or in an ambulatory surgical center 
certified by the Department of Human Services; and 
 (2) By a podiatric physician and surgeon who meets 
the qualifications for ankle surgery established by rule of 
the Board of Medical Examiners.  
 
 677.815 Application of ORS 677.805 to 677.855. (1) 
ORS 677.805 to 677.855 does not prevent: 
 (a) Any person, firm or corporation from 
manufacturing, selling, fitting or adjusting any shoe or 
appliance designed and intended to equalize pressure on 
different parts of the foot. 
 (b) The sale by licensed druggists of plasters, salves 
and lotions for the relief and cure of corns, warts, 
callosities and bunions. 
 (2) ORS 677.805 to 677.855 shall not be construed to 
apply to or interfere with: 
 (a) The practice of any person whose religion treats 
or administers to the sick or suffering by purely spiritual 
means, nor with any individual’s selection of any such 
person. 
 (b) Physicians licensed by the Board of Medical 
Examiners for the State of Oregon, nor to surgeons of the 
United States Army, Navy and United States Public Health 
Service, when in actual performance of their official 
duties.  
 
 677.820 Qualifications of applicants. All applicants 
for a license to practice podiatry under ORS 677.805 to 
677.855 shall: 
 (1) Have attained the age of 18 years. 
 (2) Be of good moral character. 
 (3) Have graduated from an approved podiatry 
school or college. 
 (4) Have satisfactorily completed one year of post-
graduate training served in a program that is approved by 
the Board of Medical Examiners pursuant to standards 
adopted by the board by rule. 
 (5) As used in this section, “approved podiatry school 
or college” means any school or college offering a full-
time resident program of study in podiatry leading to a 
degree of Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, such program 
having been fully accredited or conditionally approved by 
the American Podiatric Medical Association or its 
successor agency, or having been otherwise determined 
by the board to meet the association standards as 
specifically incorporated into board rules.  
 
 677.825 Examination of applicants; issuing license; 
fees; reexamination. Any person desiring a license to 
practice podiatry shall be examined by the Board of 
Medical Examiners in subjects which the board may 
deem advisable. If the applicant possesses the 
qualifications required by ORS 677.820 and passes the 
examination prescribed, the applicant shall be issued a 
license by the board to practice podiatry in this state. 
Each applicant shall submit an application for 
examination and the required examination fee to the 
board. Any applicant failing in the examination, and being 
refused a license, is entitled to a reexamination upon the 
payment of an additional examination fee.  
  

677.830 Reciprocal licensing; use of national board 
examination. (1) Notwithstanding the provisions of ORS 
677.825, the Board of Medical Examiners may issue a 
license to practice podiatry without a written examination 
of the applicant if the applicant has a license to practice 
podiatry issued by a licensing agency of another state or 
territory of the United States and the applicant complies 
with the other provisions of ORS 677.805 to 677.855. Such 
a license shall not be issued unless the requirements, 
including the examination for such license are 

substantially similar to the requirements of this state for a 
license to practice podiatry. The board shall adopt rules 
governing the issuance of licenses to persons applying 
under this section. The license may be evidenced by a 
certificate of the board indorsed on the license issued by 
the other state or territory, or by issuance of a license as 
otherwise provided by ORS 677.805 to 677.855. 
 (2) The board may accept a certificate of successful 
examination issued by the National Board of Podiatry 
Examiners in lieu of a written examination given by the 
board. 
 (3) The board may require an applicant under 
subsection (1) or (2) of this section to take an oral 
examination conducted by one or more members of the 
board.  
  

677.837 Continuing podiatric education required; 
exemption. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this 
section, all podiatric physicians and surgeons licensed 
under this chapter shall complete at least 50 hours in an 
approved program of continuing podiatric education 
every two calendar years and shall submit satisfactory 
evidence thereof to the Board of Medical Examiners for 
the State of Oregon when the license is renewed. 
 (2) The board may exempt a licensed podiatric 
physician and surgeon from the requirements of 
subsection (1) of this section upon a finding by the board 
that the podiatric physician and surgeon was unable to 
comply with the requirements because of extenuating 
circumstances.  
 
 677.840 Fees. Every podiatric physician and surgeon 
shall pay to the Board of Medical Examiners for the State 
of Oregon nonrefundable fees as determined by the board 
pursuant to ORS 677.265. 
 

penalties 
 
 677.990 Penalties. (1) Violation of any provision of 
this chapter is a misdemeanor. In any prosecution for 
such violation, it shall be sufficient to sustain a conviction 
to show a single act of conduct in violation of any of the 
provisions of this chapter and it shall not be necessary to 
show a general course of such conduct. 
 (2) Any person who practices medicine without 
being licensed under this chapter as prohibited in ORS 
677.080 (4) commits a Class C felony. 
 (3) A person who violates the provisions of ORS 
677.360 to 677.370 commits a Class C misdemeanor. 

 
doctor title law 

 
 676.100 Definitions for ORS 676.100 to 676.130. As 
used in ORS 676.100 to 676.130, unless the context 
requires otherwise, “person” means and includes any 
“clinic,” “institute,” “specialist” or any group or 
combination of persons. 
 
 676.110 Practitioner to designate particular 
business or profession. Any person practicing a health 
care profession who uses the title “doctor,” or any 
contraction thereof, “clinic,” “institute,” “specialist” or any 
other assumed or artificial name or title, in connection 
with the business or profession, on any written or printed 
matter, or in connection with any advertising, billboards, 
signs or professional notices, shall add after the name of 
the person, or after any such assumed or artificial names, 
one of the following respective designations in letters or 
print which shall be at least one-fourth the size of the 
largest letters used in the title or name, and in material, 
color, type or illumination to give display and legibility of 
at least one-fourth that of the title or name: 
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 (1) In the case of a person practicing podiatry, the 
word “podiatrist” or the words “podiatric physician” or 
“podiatric physician and surgeon.” 
 (2) In the case of a person practicing chiropractic, 
the word “chiropractor” or the words “chiropractic 
physician.” 
 (3) In the case of a person practicing dentistry, the 
word “dentist” or “dentistry.” 
 (4) In the case of a person practicing naturopathic 
medicine, the word “naturopath” or the words 
“naturopathic physician.” 
 (5) In the case of a person practicing optometry, the 
word “optometrist” or the words “doctor of optometry” or 
“optometric physician.” 
 (6) In the case of a person licensed to practice 
medicine by the Board of Medical Examiners for the State 
of Oregon who holds the degree of Doctor of Osteopathy, 
or the equivalent, the word “osteopath” or the words 
“osteopathic physician” or “osteopathic physician and 
surgeon.” 
 (7) In the case of a person licensed to practice 
medicine by the Board of Medical Examiners for the State 
of Oregon who holds the degree of Doctor of Medicine, or 
the equivalent, the word “physician” or the word 
“surgeon” or the words “physician and surgeon.” 
 (8) In the case of a person practicing veterinary 
medicine, the word “veterinarian.” 
 (9) In the case of a person practicing acupuncture, 
the word “acupuncturist.”  
 
 676.120 Use of business or professional 
designation by unlicensed person prohibited; use of 
deceased licensee’s name. No person shall use any of the 
designations stated in ORS 676.110 (1) to (9), in 
connection with the name, business or profession of the 
person or in connection with an assumed or artificial 
name, or “clinic,” “institute” or “specialist,” unless the 
person is licensed under the laws of this state to practice 
the particular health care profession indicated by such 
designation, as stated in ORS 676.110. However, upon the 
death of any person duly licensed by any board 
empowered to license any practitioner of a health care 
profession, the executors of the estate or the heirs, 
assigns, associates or partners may retain the use of the 
decedent’s name, where it appears other than as a part of 
an assumed name, for no more than one year after the 
death of such person or until the estate is settled, 
whichever is sooner.  
 
 676.130 Enforcement of ORS 676.100 to 676.120. 
Each board licensing any of the health care professions, 
within this state, shall notify the appropriate district 
attorney of any violation of ORS 676.100 to 676.120 which 
may be brought to the attention of such board. The 
district attorney of the county in which any violation of 
those sections takes place shall prosecute the violation 
upon being informed of the violation by any person or by 
one of such boards. 

 
action taken when a  
licensee continues to  

practice following  suspension 
or revocation Of LICENSE 

 
 676.210 Practice of health care profession after 
suspension or revocation of license prohibited. No 
person whose license has been revoked or suspended by 
any board authorized by the statutes of the State of 
Oregon to issue licenses to practice a health care 
profession shall continue the practice of this profession 
after the order or decision of the board suspending or 
revoking the license of the person has been made. The 
license shall remain suspended or revoked until a final 

determination of an appeal from the decision or order of 
the board has been made by the court.  
 
 676.220 Enjoining health care professional from 
practicing after suspension or revocation of license. (1) If 
at any time the board suspending or revoking the license 
of any licentiate of a health care profession determines 
that such licentiate is continuing to practice the health 
care profession notwithstanding, the board shall in its 
own name bring an action to enjoin such licentiate. 
 (2) If the court shall find that the licentiate has been 
or is continuing the practice of the health care profession 
for which the license has been revoked or suspended it 
shall issue an injunction restraining the licentiate. The 
commission of a single act constituting the practice of the 
respective health care profession shall be prima facie 
evidence warranting the issuance of such injunction. 

 
LIMITS ON fees for LAB WORK  

 
 676.310 Fees for laboratory testing; itemized 
billing; failure to comply considered unprofessional 
conduct. (1) Any person authorized by law to order 
laboratory testing may charge a reasonable fee for all 
laboratory and other specialized testing performed by the 
practitioner or by a person in the practitioner’s employ. In 
addition, the practitioner is entitled to charge a 
reasonable fee for collecting and preparing specimens to 
be sent to independent persons or laboratories for testing, 
and for the preparation of the billing to the patient for the 
test. However, a practitioner shall not mark up, or charge 
a commission or make a profit on services rendered by an 
independent person or laboratory. 
 (2) A practitioner shall prepare an itemized billing, 
indicating the charges for each service rendered to the 
patient. Any services rendered to the patient that were 
performed by persons other than those in the direct 
employ of the practitioner and the charges therefor shall 
be indicated separately on the patient’s bill. 
 (3) Failure to comply with the requirements of this 
section shall be considered to be unprofessional conduct 
and may be subject to disciplinary action by the 
appropriate licensing board. 
 (4) As used in this section, “practitioner” means a 
person licensed to practice medicine, dentistry, 
naturopathic medicine or chiropractic or to be a nurse 
practitioner. 
 

limitations on liability of 
providing health care services 

without compensation 
 
 676.340 Limitations on liability of health 
practitioners providing health care services without 
compensation; requirements; exceptions; attorney fees; 
applicability. (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of 
law, a health practitioner described in subsection (7) of 
this section who has registered under ORS 676.345 and 
who provides health care services without compensation 
is not liable for any injury, death or other loss arising out 
of the provision of those services, unless the injury, death 
or other loss results from the gross negligence of the 
health practitioner. 
 (2) A health practitioner may claim the limitation on 
liability provided by this section only if the patient 
receiving health care services, or a person who has 
authority under law to make health care decisions for the 
patient, signs a statement that notifies the patient that 
the health care services are provided without 
compensation and that the health practitioner may be 
held liable for death, injury or other loss only to the extent 
provided by this section. The statement required under 
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this subsection must be signed before the health care 
services are provided. 
 (3) A health practitioner may claim the limitation on 
liability provided by this section only if the health 
practitioner obtains the patient’s informed consent for the 
health care services before providing the services, or 
receives the informed consent of a person who has 
authority under law to make health care decisions for the 
patient. 
 (4) A health practitioner provides health care 
services without compensation for the purposes of 
subsection (1) of this section even though the practitioner 
requires payment of laboratory fees, testing services and 
other out-of-pocket expenses. 
 (5) A health practitioner provides health care 
services without compensation for the purposes of 
subsection (1) of this section even though the practitioner 
provides services at a health clinic that receives 
compensation from the patient, as long as the health 
practitioner does not personally receive compensation for 
the services. 
 (6) In any civil action in which a health practitioner 
prevails based on the limitation on liability provided by 
this section, the court shall award all reasonable attorney 
fees incurred by the health practitioner in defending the 
action. 
 (7) This section applies only to: 
 (a) A physician licensed under ORS 677.100 to 
677.228; 
 (b) A nurse licensed under ORS 678.040 to 678.101; 
 (c) A nurse practitioner licensed under ORS 678.375 
to 678.390; 
 (d) A clinical nurse specialist certified under ORS 
678.370 and 678.372; 
 (e) A physician assistant licensed under ORS 677.505 
to 677.525; 
 (f) A dental hygienist licensed under ORS 680.010 to 
680.205; and 
 (g) A dentist licensed under ORS 679.060 to 679.180.  
 
 676.345 Registration program for health care 
professionals claiming liability limitation; program 
requirements. (1) A health practitioner described in ORS 
676.340 (7) may claim the liability limitation provided by 
ORS 676.340 only if the health practitioner has registered 
with a health professional regulatory board in the manner 
provided by this section. Registration under this section 
must be made: 
 (a) By a physician or physician assistant, with the 
Board of Medical Examiners; 
 (b) By a nurse, nurse practitioner or clinical nurse 
specialist, with the Oregon State Board of Nursing; and 
 (c) By a dentist or dental hygienist, with the Oregon 
Board of Dentistry. 
 (2) The health professional regulatory boards listed 
in subsection (1) of this section shall establish a 
registration program for the health practitioners who 
provide health care services without compensation and 
who wish to be subject to the liability limitation provided 
by ORS 676.340. All health practitioners registering under 
the program must provide the health professional 
regulatory board with: 
 (a) A statement that the health practitioner will 
provide health care services to patients without 
compensation, except for reimbursement for laboratory 
fees, testing services and other out-of-pocket expenses; 
 (b) A statement that the health practitioner will 
provide the notice required by ORS 676.340 (2) in the 
manner provided by ORS 676.340 (2) before providing the 
services; and 
 (c) A statement that the health practitioner will only 
provide health care services without compensation that 
are within the scope of the health practitioner’s license. 
 (3) Registration under this section must be made 
annually. The health professional regulatory boards listed 

in subsection (1) of this section shall charge no fee for 
registration under this section. 
 

CHILD ABUSE REPORTING 
 
 419B.005 Definitions. As used in ORS 419B.005 to 
419B.050, unless the context requires otherwise: 
 (1)(a) “Abuse” means: 
 (A) Any assault, as defined in ORS chapter 163, of a 
child and any physical injury to a child which has been 
caused by other than accidental means, including any 
injury which appears to be at variance with the 
explanation given of the injury. 
 (B) Any mental injury to a child, which shall include 
only observable and substantial impairment of the child’s 
mental or psychological ability to function caused by 
cruelty to the child, with due regard to the culture of the 
child. 
 (C) Rape of a child, which includes but is not limited 
to rape, sodomy, unlawful sexual penetration and incest, 
as those acts are defined in ORS chapter 163. 
 (D) Sexual abuse, as defined in ORS chapter 163. 
 (E) Sexual exploitation, including but not limited to: 
 (i) Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor, 
as defined in ORS chapter 163, and any other conduct 
which allows, employs, authorizes, permits, induces or 
encourages a child to engage in the performing for people 
to observe or the photographing, filming, tape recording 
or other exhibition which, in whole or in part, depicts 
sexual conduct or contact, as defined in ORS 167.002 or 
described in ORS 163.665 and 163.670, sexual abuse 
involving a child or rape of a child, but not including any 
conduct which is part of any investigation conducted 
pursuant to ORS 419B.020 or which is designed to serve 
educational or other legitimate purposes; and 
 (ii) Allowing, permitting, encouraging or hiring a child 
to engage in prostitution, as defined in ORS chapter 167. 
 (F) Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child, 
including but not limited to the failure to provide 
adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care that is 
likely to endanger the health or welfare of the child. 
 (G) Threatened harm to a child, which means 
subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm to the 
child’s health or welfare. 
 (H) Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age 
as described in ORS 163.537. 
 (I) Permitting a person under 18 years of age to enter 
or remain in or upon premises where methamphetamines 
are being manufactured. 
 (J) Unlawful exposure to a controlled substance, as 
defined in ORS 475.005, that subjects a child to a 
substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or safety. 
 (b) “Abuse” does not include reasonable discipline 
unless the discipline results in one of the conditions 
described in paragraph (a) of this subsection. 
 (2) “Child” means an unmarried person who is under 
18 years of age. 
 (3) “Public or private official” means: 
 (a) Physician, including any intern or resident. 
 (b) Dentist. 
 (c) School employee. 
 (d) Licensed practical nurse or registered nurse. 
 (e) Employee of the Department of Human Services, 
State Commission on Children and Families, Child Care 
Division of the Employment Department, the Oregon 
Youth Authority, a county health department, a 
community mental health and developmental disabilities 
program, a county juvenile department, a licensed child-
caring agency or an alcohol and drug treatment program. 
 (f) Peace officer. 
 (g) Psychologist. 
 (h) Member of the clergy. 
 (i) Licensed clinical social worker. 
 (j) Optometrist. 
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 (k) Chiropractor. 
 (L) Certified provider of foster care, or an employee 
thereof. 
 (m) Attorney. 
 (n) Naturopathic physician. 
 (o) Licensed professional counselor. 
 (p) Licensed marriage and family therapist. 
 (q) Firefighter or emergency medical technician. 
 (r) A court appointed special advocate, as defined in 
ORS 419A.004. 
 (s) A child care provider registered or certified under 
ORS 657A.030 and 657A.250 to 657A.450. 
 (t) Member of the Legislative Assembly. 
 (4) “Law enforcement agency” means: 
 (a) Any city or municipal police department. 
 (b) Any county sheriff’s office. 
 (c) The Oregon State Police. 
 (d) A county juvenile department.  
 
 419B.010 Duty of officials to report child abuse; 
exceptions; penalty. (1) Any public or private official 
having reasonable cause to believe that any child with 
whom the official comes in contact has suffered abuse or 
that any person with whom the official comes in contact 
has abused a child shall immediately report or cause a 
report to be made in the manner required in ORS 
419B.015. Nothing contained in ORS 40.225 to 40.295 or 
419B.234 (6) affects the duty to report imposed by this 
section, except that a psychiatrist, psychologist, member 
of the clergy, attorney or guardian ad litem appointed 
under ORS 419B.231 is not required to report such 
information communicated by a person if the 
communication is privileged under ORS 40.225 to 40.295 
or 419B.234 (6). An attorney is not required to make a 
report under this section by reason of information 
communicated to the attorney in the course of 
representing a client if disclosure of the information 
would be detrimental to the client. 
 (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, a 
report need not be made under this section if the public 
or private official acquires information relating to abuse 
by reason of a report made under this section, or by 
reason of a proceeding arising out of a report made under 
this section, and the public or private official reasonably 
believes that the information is already known by a law 
enforcement agency or the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (3) A person who violates subsection (1) of this 
section commits a Class A violation. Prosecution under 
this subsection shall be commenced at any time within 
18 months after commission of the offense.  
 
 419B.015 Report form and content; notice to law 
enforcement agencies and local office of Department of 
Human Services. (1)(a) A person making a report of child 
abuse, whether voluntarily or pursuant to ORS 419B.010, 
shall make an oral report by telephone or otherwise to 
the local office of the Department of Human Services, to 
the designee of the department or to a law enforcement 
agency within the county where the person making the 
report is located at the time of the contact. The report 
shall contain, if known, the names and addresses of the 
child and the parents of the child or other persons 
responsible for care of the child, the child’s age, the 
nature and extent of the abuse, including any evidence of 
previous abuse, the explanation given for the abuse and 
any other information that the person making the report 
believes might be helpful in establishing the cause of the 
abuse and the identity of the perpetrator. 
 (b) When a report of child abuse is received by the 
department, the department shall notify a law 
enforcement agency within the county where the report 
was made. When a report of child abuse is received by a 
designee of the department, the designee shall notify, 
according to the contract, either the department or a law 

enforcement agency within the county where the report 
was made. When a report of child abuse is received by a 
law enforcement agency, the agency shall notify the local 
office of the department within the county where the 
report was made. 
 (2) When a report of child abuse is received under 
subsection (1)(a) of this section, the entity receiving the 
report shall make the notification required by subsection 
(1)(b) of this section according to rules adopted by the 
department under ORS 419B.017.  
 
 419B.025 Immunity of person making report in 
good faith. Anyone participating in good faith in the 
making of a report of child abuse and who has 
reasonable grounds for the making thereof shall have 
immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, that might 
otherwise be incurred or imposed with respect to the 
making or content of such report. Any such participant 
shall have the same immunity with respect to 
participating in any judicial proceeding resulting from 
such report. [1993 c.546 §17] 
 
 419B.035 Confidentiality of records; when available 
to others. (1) Notwithstanding the provisions of ORS 
192.001 to 192.170, 192.210 to 192.505 and 192.610 to 
192.990 relating to confidentiality and accessibility for 
public inspection of public records and public documents, 
reports and records compiled under the provisions of ORS 
419B.010 to 419B.050 are confidential and may not be 
disclosed except as provided in this section. The 
Department of Human Services shall make the records 
available to: 
 (a) Any law enforcement agency or a child abuse 
registry in any other state for the purpose of subsequent 
investigation of child abuse; 
 (b) Any physician, at the request of the physician, 
regarding any child brought to the physician or coming 
before the physician for examination, care or treatment; 
 (c) Attorneys of record for the child or child’s parent 
or guardian in any juvenile court proceeding; 
 (d) Citizen review boards established by the Judicial 
Department for the purpose of periodically reviewing the 
status of children, youths and youth offenders under the 
jurisdiction of the juvenile court under ORS 419B.100 and 
419C.005. Citizen review boards may make such records 
available to participants in case reviews; 
 (e) A court appointed special advocate in any 
juvenile court proceeding in which it is alleged that a 
child has been subjected to child abuse or neglect; 
 (f) The Child Care Division for certifying, registering or 
otherwise regulating child care facilities; 
 (g) The Office of Children’s Advocate; and 
 (h) Any person, upon request to the Department of 
Human Services, if the reports or records requested 
regard an incident in which a child, as the result of abuse, 
died or suffered serious physical injury as defined in ORS 
161.015. Reports or records disclosed under this 
paragraph must be disclosed in accordance with ORS 
192.410 to 192.505. 
 (2)(a) When disclosing reports and records pursuant 
to subsection (1)(h) of this section, the Department of 
Human Services may exempt from disclosure the names, 
addresses and other identifying information about other 
children, witnesses, victims or other persons named in the 
report or record if the department determines, in written 
findings, that the safety or well-being of a person named 
in the report or record may be jeopardized by disclosure 
of the names, addresses or other identifying information, 
and if that concern outweighs the public’s interest in the 
disclosure of that information. 
 (b) If the Department of Human Services does not 
have a report or record of abuse regarding a child who, as 
the result of abuse, died or suffered serious physical 
injury as defined in ORS 161.015, the department may 
disclose that information. 
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 (3) The Department of Human Services may make 
reports and records compiled under the provisions of ORS 
419B.010 to 419B.050 available to any person, 
administrative hearings officer, court, agency, 
organization or other entity when the department 
determines that such disclosure is necessary to 
administer its child welfare services and is in the best 
interests of the affected child, or that such disclosure is 
necessary to investigate, prevent or treat child abuse and 
neglect, to protect children from abuse and neglect or for 
research when the Director of Human Services gives prior 
written approval. The Department of Human Services 
shall adopt rules setting forth the procedures by which it 
will make the disclosures authorized under this 
subsection or subsection (1) or (2) of this section. The 
name, address and other identifying information about 
the person who made the report may not be disclosed 
pursuant to this subsection and subsection (1) of this 
section. 
 (4) A law enforcement agency may make reports and 
records compiled under the provisions of ORS 419B.010 to 
419B.050 available to other law enforcement agencies, 
district attorneys, city attorneys with criminal 
prosecutorial functions and the Attorney General when 
the law enforcement agency determines that disclosure is 
necessary for the investigation or enforcement of laws 
relating to child abuse and neglect. 
 (5) A law enforcement agency, upon completing an 
investigation and closing the file in a specific case relating 
to child abuse or neglect, shall make reports and records 
in the case available upon request to any law 
enforcement agency or community corrections agency in 
this state, to the Department of Corrections or to the State 
Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision for the 
purpose of managing and supervising offenders in 
custody or on probation, parole, post-prison supervision 
or other form of conditional or supervised release. A law 
enforcement agency may make reports and records 
compiled under the provisions of ORS 419B.010 to 
419B.050 available to law enforcement, community 
corrections, corrections or parole agencies in an open 
case when the law enforcement agency determines that 
the disclosure will not interfere with an ongoing 
investigation in the case. The name, address and other 
identifying information about the person who made the 
report may not be disclosed under this subsection or 
subsection (6)(b) of this section. 
 (6)(a) Any record made available to a law 
enforcement agency or community corrections agency in 
this state, to the Department of Corrections or the State 
Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision or to a 
physician in this state, as authorized by subsections (1) to 
(5) of this section, shall be kept confidential by the 
agency, department, board or physician. Any record or 
report disclosed by the Department of Human Services to 
other persons or entities pursuant to subsections (1) and 
(3) of this section shall be kept confidential. 
 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection: 
 (A) A law enforcement agency, a community 
corrections agency, the Department of Corrections and 
the State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision may 
disclose records made available to them under 
subsection (5) of this section to each other, to law 
enforcement, community corrections, corrections and 
parole agencies of other states and to authorized 
treatment providers for the purpose of managing and 
supervising offenders in custody or on probation, parole, 
post-prison supervision or other form of conditional or 
supervised release. 
 (B) A person may disclose records made available to 
the person under subsection (1)(h) of this section if the 
records are disclosed for the purpose of advancing the 
public interest. 
 (7) An officer or employee of the Department of 
Human Services or of a law enforcement agency or any 

person or entity to whom disclosure is made pursuant to 
subsections (1) to (6) of this section may not release any 
information not authorized by subsections (1) to (6) of this 
section. 
 (8) As used in this section, “law enforcement agency” 
has the meaning given that term in ORS 181.010. 
 (9) A person who violates subsection (6)(a) or (7) of 
this section commits a Class A violation. 
 
 419B.040 Certain privileges not grounds for 
excluding evidence in court proceedings on child abuse. 
(1) In the case of abuse of a child, the privileges created in 
ORS 40.230 to 40.255, including the psychotherapist-
patient privilege, the physician-patient privilege, the 
privileges extended to nurses, to staff members of schools 
and to registered clinical social workers and the husband-
wife privilege, shall not be a ground for excluding 
evidence regarding a child’s abuse, or the cause thereof, 
in any judicial proceeding resulting from a report made 
pursuant to ORS 419B.010 to 419B.050. 
 (2) In any judicial proceedings resulting from a report 
made pursuant to ORS 419B.010 to 419B.050, either 
spouse shall be a competent and compellable witness 
against the other.  
 
 419B.050 Authority of health care provider to 
disclose information; immunity from liability. (1) Upon 
notice by a law enforcement agency, the Department of 
Human Services, a member agency of a county 
multidisciplinary child abuse team or a member of a 
county multidisciplinary child abuse team that a child 
abuse investigation is being conducted under ORS 
419B.020, a health care provider must permit the law 
enforcement agency, the department, the member agency 
of the county multidisciplinary child abuse team or the 
member of the county multidisciplinary child abuse team 
to inspect and copy medical records, including, but not 
limited to, prenatal and birth records, of the child 
involved in the investigation without the consent of the 
child, or the parent or guardian of the child. A health care 
provider who in good faith disclosed medical records 
under this section is not civilly or criminally liable for the 
disclosure. 
 (2) As used in this section, “health care provider” has 
the meaning given that term in ORS 192.519. 

 
ELDERLY ABUSE REPORTING 

 
 124.050 Definitions for ORS 124.050 to 124.095. As 
used in ORS 124.050 to 124.095: 
 (1) “Abuse” means one or more of the following: 
 (a) Any physical injury caused by other than 
accidental means, or which appears to be at variance 
with the explanation given of the injury. 
 (b) Neglect which leads to physical harm through 
withholding of services necessary to maintain health and 
well-being. 
 (c) Abandonment, including desertion or willful 
forsaking of an elderly person or the withdrawal or 
neglect of duties and obligations owed an elderly person 
by a caretaker or other person. 
 (d) Willful infliction of physical pain or injury. 
 (e) An act that constitutes a crime under ORS 
163.375, 163.405, 163.411, 163.415, 163.425, 163.427, 
163.465 or 163.467. 
 (f) Wrongfully taking or appropriating money or 
property, or knowingly subjecting an elderly person or 
person with disabilities to alarm by conveying a threat to 
wrongfully take or appropriate money or property, which 
threat reasonably would be expected to cause the elderly 
person or person with disabilities to believe that the 
threat will be carried out. 
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 (2) “Elderly person” means any person 65 years of 
age or older who is not subject to the provisions of ORS 
441.640 to 441.665. 
 (3) “Law enforcement agency” means: 
 (a) Any city or municipal police department. 
 (b) Any county sheriff’s office. 
 (c) The Oregon State Police. 
 (d) Any district attorney. 
 (4) “Public or private official” means: 
 (a) Physician, naturopathic physician, osteopathic 
physician, chiropractor or podiatric physician and 
surgeon, including any intern or resident. 
 (b) Licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, nurse’s 
aide, home health aide or employee of an in-home health 
service. 
 (c) Employee of the Department of Human Services, 
county health department or community mental health 
and developmental disabilities program. 
 (d) Peace officer. 
 (e) Member of the clergy. 
 (f) Licensed clinical social worker. 
 (g) Physical, speech or occupational therapists. 
 (h) Senior center employee. 
 (i) Information and referral or outreach worker. 
 (j) Licensed professional counselor or licensed 
marriage and family therapist. 
 (k) Any public official who comes in contact with 
elderly persons in the performance of the official’s official 
duties. 
 (L) Firefighter or emergency medical technician.  
 
 124.060 Duty of officials to report. Any public or 
private official having reasonable cause to believe that 
any person 65 years of age or older with whom the 
official comes in contact, while acting in an official 
capacity, has suffered abuse, or that any person with 
whom the official comes in contact while acting in an 
official capacity has abused a person 65 years of age or 
older shall report or cause a report to be made in the 
manner required in ORS 124.065.  
 
 124.065 Method of reporting; content; notice to law 
enforcement agency and to department. (1) When a 
report is required under ORS 124.060, an oral report shall 
be made immediately by telephone or otherwise to the 
local office of the Department of Human Services or to a 
law enforcement agency within the county where the 
person making the report is at the time of contact. If 
known, such reports shall contain the names and 
addresses of the elderly person and any persons 
responsible for the care of the elderly person, the nature 
and the extent of the abuse (including any evidence of 
previous abuse), the explanation given for the abuse and 
any other information which the person making the 
report believes might be helpful in establishing the cause 
of the abuse and the identity of the perpetrator. 
 (2) When a report is received by the department 
under ORS 124.060, the department may notify the law 
enforcement agency having jurisdiction within the county 
where the report was made. If the department is unable 
to gain access to the allegedly abused elderly person, the 
department may contact the law enforcement agency for 
assistance and the agency shall provide assistance. When 
a report is received by a law enforcement agency, the 
agency shall immediately notify the law enforcement 
agency having jurisdiction if the receiving agency does 
not. The receiving agency shall also immediately notify 
the local office of the department in the county where the 
report was made.  
 
 124.075 Immunity of person making report in good 
faith; identity confidential. (1) Anyone participating in 
good faith in the making of a report of elder abuse and 
who has reasonable grounds for making the report shall 
have immunity from any civil liability that might 

otherwise be incurred or imposed with respect to the 
making or content of such report. Any such participant 
shall have the same immunity with respect to 
participating in any judicial proceeding resulting from 
such report. 
 (2) The identity of the person making the report shall 
be treated as confidential information and shall be 
disclosed only with the consent of that person or by 
judicial process, or as required to perform the functions 
under ORS 124.070. 

 
ABUSE REPORTING FOR PERSONS 

With MENTALLY ILLness or 
DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITY 

 
 430.735 Definitions for ORS 430.735 to 430.765. As 
used in ORS 430.735 to 430.765: 
 (1) “Abuse” means one or more of the following: 
 (a) Any death caused by other than accidental or 
natural means. 
 (b) Any physical injury caused by other than 
accidental means, or that appears to be at variance with 
the explanation given of the injury. 
 (c) Willful infliction of physical pain or injury. 
 (d) Sexual harassment or exploitation, including but 
not limited to any sexual contact between an employee 
of a facility or community program and an adult. 
 (e) Neglect that leads to physical harm through 
withholding of services necessary to maintain health and 
well-being. For purposes of this paragraph, “neglect” does 
not include a failure of the state or a community program 
to provide services due to a lack of funding available to 
provide the services. 
 (2) “Adult” means a person who is mentally ill or 
developmentally disabled, who is 18 years of age or older 
and receives services from a community program or 
facility. 
 (3) “Adult protective services” means the necessary 
actions taken to prevent abuse or exploitation of an adult, 
to prevent self-destructive acts and to safeguard an 
adult’s person, property and funds. Any actions taken to 
protect an adult shall be undertaken in a manner that is 
least intrusive to the adult and provides for the greatest 
degree of independence. 
 (4) “Care provider” means an individual or facility 
that has assumed responsibility for all or a portion of the 
care of an adult as a result of a contract or agreement. 
 (5) “Community program” means a community 
mental health and developmental disabilities program as 
established in ORS 430.610 to 430.695. 
 (6) “Department” means the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (7) “Facility” means a residential treatment home or 
facility, residential care facility, adult foster care home, 
residential training home or facility or crisis respite 
facility. 
 (8) “Law enforcement agency” means: 
 (a) Any city or municipal police department; 
 (b) Any county sheriff’s office; 
 (c) The Oregon State Police; or 
 (d) Any district attorney. 
 (9) “Public or private official” means: 
 (a) Physician, naturopathic physician, osteopathic 
physician, psychologist, chiropractor or podiatric 
physician and surgeon, including any intern or resident; 
 (b) Licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, nurse’s 
aide, home health aide or employee of an in-home health 
service; 
 (c) Employee of the Department of Human Services, 
county health department, community mental health and 
developmental disabilities program or private agency 
contracting with a public body to provide any community 
mental health service; 
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 (d) Peace officer; 
 (e) Member of the clergy; 
 (f) Licensed clinical social worker; 
 (g) Physical, speech or occupational therapist; 
 (h) Information and referral, outreach or crisis 
worker; 
 (i) Attorney; 
 (j) Licensed professional counselor or licensed 
marriage and family therapist; or 
 (k) Any public official who comes in contact with 
adults in the performance of the official’s duties. 
 
 430.743 Abuse report; content; action on report; 
notice to law enforcement agency and Department of 
Human Services. (1) When a report is required under ORS 
430.765 (1) and (2), an oral report shall be made 
immediately by telephone or otherwise to the designee of 
the Department of Human Services or a law enforcement 
agency within the county where the person making the 
report is at the time of contact. If known, the report shall 
include: 
 (a) The name, age and present location of the 
allegedly abused adult; 
 (b) The names and addresses of persons responsible 
for the adult’s care; 
 (c) The nature and extent of the alleged abuse, 
including any evidence of previous abuse; 
 (d) Any information that led the person making the 
report to suspect that abuse has occurred plus any other 
information that the person believes might be helpful in 
establishing the cause of the abuse and the identity of the 
perpetrator; and 
 (e) The date of the incident. 
 (2) When a report is received by the department’s 
designee under this section, the designee shall 
immediately determine whether the reported victim has 
sustained any serious injury. If so, the designee shall 
immediately notify the department. If there is reason to 
believe a crime has been committed, the designee shall 
notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction 
within the county where the report was made. If the 
designee is unable to gain access to the allegedly abused 
adult, the designee may contact the law enforcement 
agency for assistance and the agency shall provide 
assistance. When a report is received by a law 
enforcement agency, the agency shall immediately notify 
the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction if the 
receiving agency does not. The receiving agency shall also 
immediately notify the department in cases of serious 
injury or death.  
 
 430.753 Immunity of persons making reports in 
good faith; confidentiality. (1) Anyone participating in 
good faith in making a report of abuse pursuant to ORS 
430.743 and 430.765 (1) and (2) and who has reasonable 
grounds for making the report, shall have immunity from 
any civil liability that might otherwise be incurred or 
imposed with respect to the making or content of the 
report. The participant shall have the same immunity with 
respect to participating in any judicial proceeding 
resulting from the report. 
 (2) The identity of the person making the report shall 
be treated as confidential information and shall be 
disclosed only with the consent of that person, by judicial 
order or as otherwise permitted by ORS 430.763.  
 
 430.763 Confidentiality of records; when record 
may be made available to agency. Notwithstanding the 
provisions of ORS 192.410 to 192.505, the names of 
persons who made reports of abuse, witnesses of alleged 
abuse and the affected adults and materials under ORS 
430.747 maintained under the provisions of ORS 430.757 
are confidential and are not accessible for public 
inspection. However, the Department of Human Services 
shall make this information and any investigative report 

available to any law enforcement agency, to any public 
agency that licenses or certifies facilities or licenses or 
certifies the persons practicing therein and to any public 
agency providing protective services for the adult, if 
appropriate. The department shall also make this 
information and any investigative report available to any 
private agency providing protective services for the adult 
and to the system described in ORS 192.517 (1). When this 
information and any investigative report is made 
available to a private agency, the confidentiality 
requirements of this section apply to the private agency.  
 
 430.765 Duty of officials to report abuse; 
exceptions for privileged communications; exception for 
religious practice. (1) Any public or private official who 
has reasonable cause to believe that any adult with 
whom the official comes in contact while acting in an 
official capacity, has suffered abuse, or that any person 
with whom the official comes in contact while acting in 
an official capacity has abused an adult shall report or 
cause a report to be made in the manner required in ORS 
430.743. 
 (2) Nothing contained in ORS 40.225 to 40.295 
affects the duty to report imposed by subsections (1) and 
(2) of this section, except that a psychiatrist, psychologist, 
member of the clergy or attorney shall not be required to 
report such information communicated by a person if the 
communication is privileged under ORS 40.225 to 40.295. 
 (3) An adult who in good faith is voluntarily under 
treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer in 
accordance with the tenets and practices of a recognized 
church or religious denomination by a duly accredited 
practitioner thereof shall for this reason alone not be 
considered subjected to abuse under ORS 430.735 to 
430.765. 

 
Injuries caused by weapons 

 
 146.750 Injuries to be reported to medical 
examiner. (1) Except as required in subsection (3) of this 
section, any physician, including any intern and resident, 
having reasonable cause to suspect that a person 
brought to the physician or coming before the physician 
for examination, care or treatment has had injury, as 
defined in ORS 146.710, inflicted upon the person other 
than by accidental means, shall report or cause reports to 
be made in accordance with the provisions of subsection 
(2) of this section. 
 (2) An oral report shall be made immediately by 
telephone or otherwise, and followed as soon thereafter 
as possible by a report in writing, to the appropriate 
medical examiner. 
 (3) When either an injury as defined in ORS 146.710 
or abuse as defined in ORS 419B.005 occurs to an 
unmarried person who is under 18 years of age, the 
provisions of ORS 419B.005 to 419B.050 shall apply.  
 
 146.760 Immunity of participant in making of 
report. Anyone participating in good faith in the making 
of a report pursuant to ORS 146.750 and who has 
reasonable grounds for the making thereof shall have 
immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, that might 
otherwise be incurred or imposed with respect to the 
making of such report. Any such participant shall have 
the same immunity with respect to participation in any 
judicial proceeding resulting from such report.  
 
 146.780 Confidentiality of records and reports. 
Notwithstanding the provisions of ORS 192.410 to 192.505 
relating to confidentiality and accessibility for public 
inspection of public records, records and reports made 
under the provisions of ORS 146.750 are confidential and 
are not accessible for public inspection. 
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Injuries caused by toys 
 
 677.491 Reporting toy related injury or death; rules. 
(1) Whenever any physician determines or reasonably 
suspects the injury or death of a person to be toy related, 
the physician shall, in accordance with rules adopted 
under subsection (5) of this section, report the physician’s 
findings to the Director of Human Services. 
 (2) The director of any hospital, health care facility, 
health maintenance organization, public health center, 
medical center or emergency medical treatment facility 
where any physician has made a determination or has a 
reasonable suspicion under subsection (1) of this section 
as to whether an injury or death is toy related, shall, in 
accordance with the rules adopted under subsection (5) 
of this section, report that physician’s findings to the 
Director of Human Services. 
 (3) The Director of Human Services shall review, 
organize and keep a record of the information set forth in 
the reports of toy related injuries and deaths submitted 
by physicians under this section. The director, on a 
regular basis, shall make the information recorded under 
this section available to the United States Consumer 
Product Safety Commission for inclusion in its Injury or 
Potential Injury Incident Data Base. The information so 
recorded shall also be made available to the public for a 
fee determined by the director. 
 (4) If the Director of Human Services determines that 
a specific toy or item poses an immediate danger or 
potential threat to the safety of the citizens of this state, 
the director shall immediately issue a public notice 
warning the public, retail sellers and distributors of the 
director’s findings and recommendations concerning that 
toy or item. 
 (5) The Director of Human Services shall adopt rules 
to implement this section..  

 
MISCELLANEOUS 

 
 807.710 Reports of persons with cognitive or 
functional impairment; rules; forms. (1) For the purposes 
of this section: 
 (a) “Physician” means a doctor of medicine or 
osteopathy licensed to practice medicine by the Board of 
Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon. 
 (b) “Health care provider” means a person licensed, 
certified or otherwise authorized or permitted by the laws 
of this state to administer health care. 
 (2) In consultation with medical experts and experts 
on cognitive or functional impairments, the Department 
of Transportation shall adopt rules requiring reporting 
and: 
 (a) Designating physicians and health care providers 
required to report to the department a person whose 
cognitive or functional impairment affects that person’s 
ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. If a designated 
physician or health care provider makes a report to the 
department in good faith, that person shall be immune 
from civil liability that might otherwise result from making 
the report. If a designated physician or health care 
provider does not make a report, that person shall be 
immune from civil liability that might otherwise result 
from not making the report. 
 (b) Designating the cognitive or functional 
impairments that are likely to affect a person’s ability to 
safely operate a motor vehicle. 
 (3) Determinations regarding a person’s ability to 
safely operate a motor vehicle may not be based solely 
on the diagnosis of a medical condition or cognitive or 
functional impairment, but must be based on the actual 
effect of that condition or impairment on the person’s 
ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. 
 (4) Reports required by the department under this 
section shall be upon forms prescribed or provided by the 

department. Each report shall include the person’s name, 
address, date of birth, sex and a description of how the 
person’s current medical status affects the person’s ability 
to safely operate a motor vehicle. The State Health Officer 
shall consider this information in determining whether to 
issue a certificate of eligibility under ORS 807.090. 
 (5) Except as provided in ORS 802.240, the reports 
required by the department under this section are 
confidential and shall be used by the department only to 
determine the qualifications of persons to operate motor 
vehicles upon the highways. 
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 BME ADMINISTRATIVE RULES - CHAPTER 847 
 
DIVISION 008- REGISTRATION, USE OF NAME, CHANGE OF ADDRESS 
 
847-008-0000 
Definitions  

As used in OAR Chapter 847, “Licensee” means an individual holding a valid license, or certificate 
issued by the Board to practice as a Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Osteopathy, Doctor of Podiatric 
Medicine, Physician Assistant, or Acupuncturist. 

 
847-008-0005 
Registration Periods  

Every licensee of the Board shall renew their registration prior to the last day of each renewal 
period as follows: 

(1)  The registration renewal form and fee for Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathy, Doctors 
of Podiatric Medicine and Physician Assistants must be received in the Board office during regular 
business hours on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year. 

(2)  The registration renewal form and fee for Licensed Acupuncturists must be received in the 
Board office during regular business hours on or before June 30 of each even-numbered year. 

(3)  If the registration renewal form and fee are not received in the Board office during regular 
business hours on or before the last day of the renewal period the license shall lapse.  
 
847-008-0010 
Initial Registration  

(1) An applicant for licensure as a physician (MD/DO), podiatrist, physician assistant, or 
acupuncturist, whose application file is complete, must submit to the Board the initial registration 
form and fee prior to being granted a license by the Board.  

(2) If the initial registration form and fee are not received by the Board within three months from 
the date mailed to the applicant, the applicant shall update the application for licensure by 
completing an affidavit and submitting it to the Board with the affidavit fee. 

(3) Per OAR 847-020-0110 (2), a person applying for licensure who has not completed the 
licensure process within a 12 month consecutive period shall file a new application, documents, 
letters 

and pay a full filing fee as if filing for the first time. 
(4) An individual who initially becomes licensed, certified or registered by the Board at any time 

during the first 12 months of a biennial registration period must pay the entire biennial registration 
fee for that period, except as provided in OAR 847-008-0015, and OAR 847-008-0025.  

(5) An individual who initially becomes licensed, certified, or registered by the Board at any time 
during the second 12 months of the biennial registration period must pay the registration fee for one 
year. 

 
847-008-0015 
Active Registration 

(1) Each licensee of the Board who practices within the State of Oregon shall register and pay a 
biennial active registration fee prior to the last day of the registration period, except where: 

(a) The licensee is in a qualified training program and elects to register on an annual basis. 
(b) The licensee practices on an intermittent, locum-tenens basis, as defined in OAR 847-008-

0020. 
(c) The licensee is in the Military or Public Health Service where the licensee's official state of 

residence is Oregon as documented by a defense Finance and Accounting Service Military Leave and 
Earnings Statement, an Oregon voter registration card, or an Oregon driver license, then licensee may 
maintain an active status by request and by paying the active fee.  Practice must be limited to the 
military or public health service.  Licensee must file an affidavit before beginning active practice in 
Oregon. 

(d) The licensee practices teleradiology, as defined in OAR 847-008-0022. 
(2) Each licensee of the Board whose practice address of record with the Board is within 100 

miles of the border of the State of Oregon and who intends to practice within Oregon shall qualify for 
active registration status.  Such licensee shall submit a statement to the Board attesting to practice in 
Oregon. 
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847-008-0020 
Locum Tenens Registration  

(1) Any licensee whose official state of residence is a state other than Oregon who proposes to 
practice intermittently within the State shall register and pay the biennial locum tenens registration 
fee. 

(2) The licensee practicing in Oregon with a locum tenens registration status may practice for a 
period not longer than one hundred and eighty consecutive days in the biennium, or a total of one 
hundred and eighty days on an intermittent basis in the biennium.  A licensee practicing in Oregon 
with a locum tenens registration status who wishes to reactivate to active registration status, may be 
granted an additional ninety days to complete the reactivation process. 

(3) A volunteer camp physician, who provides medical care at a non-profit camp, shall practice 
with locum tenens registration status.  The volunteer camp physician with locum tenens status may 
practice in Oregon for a period not longer than fourteen days per year. 

(4) A licensee who registers as locum tenens and who does not practice in Oregon during the 
biennium, shall be registered as inactive at the time of registration renewal, and shall be required to 
reactivate to locum tenens registration status prior to practicing in Oregon. 

(5) Requirements, procedures, and fees for a Locum Tenens registration shall be the same as for 
active registration. 

(6) Any licensee registered as locum tenens shall provide the Board with timely notification of the 
location and duration of each Oregon practice prior to beginning of such practice. 

 
847-008-0022 
Teleradiology Registration 

(1) Teleradiology is the electronic transmission of radiological images from one location to 
another for the purposes of interpretation and/or consultation.   

(2) A physician whose specialty is radiology or diagnostic radiology who practices in a location 
outside of Oregon and receives radiological images via teleradiology from an Oregon location for 
interpretation or consultation and who communicates his/her radiological findings back to the 
ordering physician may register and pay a biennial active registration fee.  Licensee must file an 
affidavit before beginning active practice in Oregon. 
 
847-008-0023 
Telemonitoring Registration 

(1) Telemonitoring is the intraoperative monitoring of data collected during surgery and 
electronically transmitted to a physician who practices in a location outside of Oregon via a 
telemedicine link for the purpose of allowing the monitoring physician to notify the operating team of 
changes that may have a serious effect on the outcome and/or survival of the patient.  The 
monitoring physician is in communication with the operation team through a technician in the 
operating room. 

(2)  The facility where the surgery is to be performed must be a licensed hospital or ambulatory 
surgical center licensed by the Department of Human Services, must grant medical staff membership 
and/or clinical privileges to the monitoring physician, and must request the Board of Medical 
Examiners grant Active- Telemonitoring status to the monitoring physician to perform intraoperative 
telemonitoring on patients during surgery. 

(3) Physicians granted Active - Telemonitoring status may register and pay a biennial active 
registration fee.  The licensee must file an Affidavit of Reactivation before beginning active practice in 
Oregon. 
 
847-008-0025 
Inactive Registration  

Each licensee of the Board who is licensed, certified or registered but who does not practice 
within the State of Oregon, shall register and pay a biennial inactive registration fee prior to the last 
day of the registration period, except where the licensee is a physician in a qualified training 
program and elects to register on an annual basis. 

 
847-008-0030 
Emeritus Registration  

A licensee who has retired from active practice, but does only volunteer, non-remunerative 
practice and receives no direct monetary compensation, may register and pay an annual emeritus 
registration fee. 
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847-008-0035 
Retired Status  

A licensee who is fully retired and not practicing any form of medicine, whether paid, volunteer, 
or writing prescriptions in any state, may request retirement status and pay no biennial renewal fee.  
Prior to retirement a licensee shall notify the Board in writing of intent to retire. 

 
847-008-0040 
Process of Registration  

(1) The application for registration shall be made on a form provided by the Board. 
(2) Except as provided in OAR 847-008-0015(1) and (2) and OAR 847-008-0025 the application 

shall be accompanied by the appropriate fee as listed in OAR 847-005-0005. 
(3) The application for registration shall be filed with the Board by the first day of the month  in 

which 
the license or certification is due to expire. 

(4) At its discretion, the Board may waive the fee for good and sufficient reason. 
(5) The Board shall mail to all licensees who have complied with this section a certificate of 

registration which shall remain in effect until the end of the last business day of the registration 
period. 

(6) Such certificate shall be displayed in a prominent place in the holder's primary place of 
practice. 

 
847-008-0045 
Failure to Apply for Registration  

(1) A license or certificate shall be considered delinquent if not renewed by the first day of the 
final month of the registration period. 

(2) A license or certification shall lapse if not received in the Board office during regular business 
hours on or before the final day of the registration period. 

(3) A licensee who wishes to officially surrender license must submit the engrossed license and 
wallet-sized card.  This must be done prior to the expiration of registration. 

(4) Should a licensee continue to practice while a license or certificate is lapsed, that individual 
shall be considered practicing without a valid license or certificate, and may be subject to 
prosecution under ORS 677.205, or may be subject to discipline by the Board. 

 
847-008-0050 
Reinstatement of License Lapsed Due to Non-Renewal  

(1) A licensee of the Board whose license or certification has lapsed through failure to renew 
registration may reinstate by paying a late registration fee, paying renewal fees for a maximum of 
two biennial registration periods during which the license or certification was lapsed, completing and 
submitting the required forms, and meeting any other requirements defined by Oregon law. The 
license or certification will be reinstated, effective the date the renewal was processed. 

(2) The license of a licensee of the Board shall expire if it is not reinstated within two biennia from 
the date the license lapsed due to failure to renew registration. A licensee who wishes to be 
relicensed after their license has expired must apply as a new applicant and submit the license 
application form and fee, and satisfactorily complete the application process. The applicant must 
meet all current licensing requirements before being considered for relicensure. 
 
847-008-0051 
Reinstatement Following Surrender of Licensure  

A licensee who wishes to be relicensed after surrendering licensure, must apply as a new 
applicant, and submit the license application form and fee.  If the license had lapsed prior to 
surrender, the lapsed registration must be cleared by payment of the back registration fees and late 
fee. The applicant must meet all current licensing requirements before being considered for 
relicensure.  
 
847-008-0053 
Restoration of License from Revoked Status 

(1) A licensee whose license has been revoked may request restoration of licensure two years  
after   the date of revocation of his license, and must apply as  a new applicant.  

(2) The applicant must meet all current licensing requirements, and pay all applicable fees. 
(3) Prior to the Board reviewing the request for restoration of a revoked license the applicant shall 

provide the Board with: 
(a) All relevant disciplinary actions in the applicant’s history; and 
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(b) Professional history since the date of revocation, including continuing medical education, and 
professional or personal rehabilitation. 

 
847-008-0055 
Reactivation from Locum Tenens/Inactive/ Emeritus to Active/Locum Tenens Status  

(1) A licensee who wishes to reactivate from an inactive or emeritus  status  to  an  active  or  
locum  tenens status, or from locum tenens status to active status must provide the Board with the 
following:  

(a) Completed affidavit form provided by the Board, describing activities during the period of 
locum tenens, inactive or emeritus registration: 

(b) Completed application(s) for registration; and 
(c) Appropriate fees for processing of affidavit and registration. 
(d) A completed “Reports for Disciplinary Inquiries” (MD/DO/DPM) sent to the Board from the 

Federation of State Medical Boards or Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards,  a physician profile 
sent to the Board from the American Medical Association Physician Profile System,  or American 
Osteopathic Association, and the results of the Practitioner Request for Information Disclosure (Self-
Query) from the National Practitioners Data Bank and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data 
Bank, sent to the Board by the applicant; 

(e)  Verification of current licensure sent directly from each of the State Boards in the United 
States or Canada where the licensee has been practicing during the past 5 years, or from the date the 
license to practice in Oregon changed to inactive, locum tenens or emeritus status whichever is the 
shorter period of time, showing license number, date issued, and status; 

(f) An official letter sent directly to the Board from the director, administrator, dean, or other 
official of each hospital, clinic, office, or training institute where the licensee was employed, 
practiced, had hospital privileges (MD/DO/DPM), or trained in the United States or foreign countries 
during the past 5 years, or from the date the license to practice in Oregon changed to locum tenens, 
inactive or emeritus status, whichever is the shorter period of time.  The letter shall include an 
evaluation of overall performance, and specific beginning and ending dates of 
practice/employment/training. 

(2) A personal appearance before the Board may be required. 
(3) If, in the judgment of the Board, the conduct of the licensee has been such, during the period 

of locum tenens, inactive or emeritus registration, that the licensee would have been denied a license 
if applying for an initial license to practice medicine, the Board may deny active registration. 

(4) If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for 12 or more consecutive months, the 
licensee may be required to take an examination to demonstrate medical competency. 

 
847-008-0056 
Reactivation from Retired to Emeritus/Locum Tenens/Active Status 

(1) A licensee who wishes to reactivate from a retired status to an emeritus, locum tenens, or 
active status must provide the Board with the following: 

(a) Completed affidavit form provided by the Board,  describing  activities   during  the  period    
of 
retired registration; 

(b) Completed application(s) for registration; and 
(c) Appropriate fees for processing of affidavit, and registration fees. 
(2) If the license had lapsed prior to the change to retired status, the lapsed registration must be 

cleared by payment of the registration renewal late fee before reactivation can be completed. 
(3) A personal appearance before the Board may be required. 
(4) If, in the judgment of the Board, the conduct of the licensee has been such, during the period 

of retired registration, that the licensee would have been denied a license if applying for an initial 
license to practice medicine, the Board may deny emeritus/locum tenens/active registration. 

(5) If a licensee has ceased the practice of medicine for 12 or more consecutive months, the 
licensee may be required to take an examination to demonstrate medical competency. 

 
847-008-0060 
Notification of Change of Location  

Each licensee of the Board shall report each change in practice setting and mailing address to 
the Board no later than 30 days after the change. 

 
847-008-0065 
Use of Name  

(1) Each licensee of the Board shall be licensed, certified, or registered under licensee's legal 
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name and shall practice under that legal name. 
(2) When a name is changed, all of the following must be submitted so that the Board's records 

may reflect the new name: 
(a) A signed change of name notification affidavit provided by this Board; 
(b) A copy of the legal document showing the name change; 
(c) The returned original Oregon license and license card, or engrossed certificate whichever is 

applicable; 
(d) The appropriate fees for the issuance of a new license and license card, or engrossed 

certificate. 
 
Division 010 – general 
 
OAR 847-010-0073 
Reporting Incompetent or Impaired Licensees to the Board 

(1) ORS 677.415 requires health care facilities and Board licensees to report to the Board of 
Medical Examiners any official action, incident or event taken against or involving a Board licensee, 
based on a finding of medical incompetence, unprofessional conduct, or licensee impairment, within 
ten working days of their occurrence.  For the purposes of the statute, the terms medical 
incompetence, unprofessional conduct, and impaired licensee have the following meanings:  

(a) Medical Incompetence:  A licensee who is medically incompetent is one who is unable to 
practice medicine with reasonable skill or safety due to lack of knowledge, ability, or impairment.  
Evidence of medical incompetence shall include: 

(A) Gross or repeated acts of negligence involving patient care. 
(B) Failure to achieve a passing score or satisfactory rating on a competency examination or 

program of evaluation when the examination or evaluation is ordered or directed by a health care 
facility.   

(C) Failure to complete a course or program of remedial education when ordered or directed to 
do so by a health care facility. 

(b) Unprofessional conduct:  Unprofessional conduct includes the behavior described in ORS 
677.188 (4) and is conduct which is unbecoming to a person licensed by the Board of Medical 
Examiners or detrimental to the best interest of the public and includes: 

(A) Any conduct or practice contrary to recognized standards of ethics of the medical, podiatric 
or acupuncture professions or any conduct which does or might constitute a danger to the public, to 
include a violation of patient boundaries. 

(B) Willful performance of any surgical or medical treatment which is contrary to acceptable 
medical standards. 

(C) Willful and repeated ordering or performance of unnecessary laboratory tests or radiologic 
studies, administration of unnecessary treatment, employment of outmoded, unproved, or 
unscientific treatments, except as allowed in ORS 677.190 (1)(b), failing to obtain consultations when 
failing to do so is not consistent with the standard of care, or otherwise utilizing medical service for 
diagnosis or treatment which is or may be considered unnecessary or inappropriate. 

(D) Committing fraud in the performance of, or the billing for, medical procedures.  
(c) Licensee Impairment:  A licensee who is impaired is a licensee who is unable to practice 

medicine with reasonable skill or safety due to factors which include, but are not limited to: 
(A) The use or abuse of alcohol, drugs, or other substances which impair ability. 
(B) Mental or emotional illness. 
(C) Physical deterioration or long term illness or injury which adversely affects cognition, motor, 

or perceptive skills. 
(2) For the purposes of the reporting requirements of this rule and ORS 677.415, licensees shall be 

considered to be impaired if they refuse to undergo an evaluation for mental or physical competence 
or chemical impairment, or if they resign their privileges to avoid such an evaluation, when the 
evaluation is ordered or directed by a health care facility or by this Board. 

(3) A report made by a healthcare facility, organization or individual to the Board of Medical 
Examiners under ORS 677.415 shall include the following information: 

(a) The name and title of the person making the report; 
(b) Where an “official action, incident or event,” including a voluntary resignation, or voluntary 

limitation of staff privileges at an institution while under investigation has been taken against a 
licensee, a statement describing the action and the name, job title and location of the licensee being 
reported; 

(c) A description of the basis for the action, including voluntary resignation or voluntary 
limitation of staff privileges at an institution while under investigation, not to include information 
pursuant to ORS 41.675; and 
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(d) To facilitate the Board investigation, a complete list of patients and the medical record 
numbers which were reviewed and are relevant to the action. 

(4) In addition to the subject matter of a report required under section (3) of this rule, a licensee 
shall include in his/her written report a summary of the licensee’s understanding of the complaint 
giving rise to the reporting requirement. 

(5) All required reports shall be made in writing. 
(6) Any person who reports or provides information to the board under ORS 677.205 and 677.410 

to 677.425 and who provides information in good faith shall not be subject to an action for civil 
damages as a result thereof. 
 
847-010-0078 
Agreement Prohibited between Physician and Patient that Limits a Patient’s Rights  

Licensees and applicants shall not make an agreement with a patient or person, or any person or 
entity representing patients, nor provide any form of consideration, that would prohibit, restrict, 
discourage or otherwise limit a person's ability to file a complaint with the Board of Medical 
Examiners, to truthfully and fully answer any questions posed by an agent or representative of the 
Board, or to participate as a witness in a Board proceeding. 

 
847-010-0081 
Physician Assisted Suicide 

A licensee’s compliance with ORS 127.800 et seq, shall not be considered a violation of ORS 
677.190 (1), unprofessional or dishonorable conduct, as defined in ORS 677.188 (4)(a), (b), or (c). 

 
847-010-0100 
Mandatory Pain Management Education 

(1) All licensees of the Board of Medical Examiners, except the licensees listed in section (2) of 
this rule, will complete mandatory continuing medical education (CME) in the subjects of pain 
management and/or the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients as follows: 

(a) A one-hour pain management course specific to Oregon provided by the Pain Management 
Commission of the Department of Human Services; and 

(b) A minimum of 6 (six) continuing medical education credit hours in the subjects of pain 
management and/or the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients.  Any combination of CME 
coursework focusing on pain management and/or treatment of terminally ill and dying patients may 
be used to fulfill this requirement. 

(2) Licensees holding the following types of licenses shall not be required to meet this 
requirement: 

(a) Lapsed license; 
(b) Telemedicine license; or  
(c) Teleradiology license. 
(3) The required CME must be completed after January 1, 2000 and before January 2, 2009. 
(4) Licensees must be prepared to provide documentation of CME if requested by the Board. 
(5) All applicants granted a license after January 2, 2009, excepting those with a type of license 

listed in Section (2), must obtain the required CME coursework within twelve months of the date the 
Board granted licensure. 

 
DIVISION 012 - PATIENT’S ACCESS TO PHYSICIAN MEDICAL RECORDS 
 
847-012-0000 
Patient's Access to Physician Medical Records  

(1) Licensees of the Board of Medical Examiners shall make protected health information in the 
medical record available to the patient or the patient’s authorized representative upon their request, 
to inspect and obtain a copy of protected health information about the individual, except as 
provided by law and this rule.  The patient may request all or part of the record.  A summary may 
substitute for the actual record only if the patient agrees to the substitution. Board licensees are 
encouraged to use the written authorization form provided by ORS 192.522. 

(2) For the purpose of this rule, “health information in the medical record” means any oral or 
written information in any form or medium that is created or received and relates to: 

(a) The past, present, or future physical or mental health of the patient. 
(b) The provision of health care to the patient. 
(c) The past, present, or future payment for the provision of healthcare to the patient.  
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(3) Upon request, the entire health information record in the possession of the Board licensee will 
be provided to the patient.  This includes records from other healthcare providers. Information which 
may be withheld includes: 

(a) Information which was obtained from someone other than a healthcare provider under a 
promise of confidentiality and access to the information would likely reveal the source of the 
information. 

(b) Psychotherapy notes. 
(c) Information compiled in reasonable anticipation of, or for use in, a civil, criminal, or 

administrative action or proceeding; and 
(d) Other reasons specified by federal regulation.  
(4) A reasonable cost may be imposed for the costs incurred in complying with the patient’s 

request for health information.  These costs may include: 
(a) No more than $25 for copying 10 or fewer pages of written material and no more than 25 

cents per page for each additional page. 
(b) Postage costs to mail copies of the requested records. 
(c) Actual costs of preparing an explanation or summary of the health information, if such 

information is requested by the patient 
(d) Actual costs of reproducing films, x-rays, or other reports maintained in a non written form. 

However, a patient may not be denied summaries or copies of his/her medical records because of 
inability to pay. 

(5) Requests for medical records shall be complied with within a reasonable amount of time not 
to exceed thirty (30) days from the receipt of the request. 

(6) Violation of this rule may be cause for disciplinary action under ORS 677.190.  
 

DIVISION 015 -  GENERAL LICENSING RULES, RELATING TO CONTROLLED 
SUBSTANCES 
 
847-015-0005 
Schedule II Controlled Substances - Bariatrics Practice  

(1) A physician shall not utilize a Schedule II controlled substance for purposes of weight 
reduction or control. 

(2) A violation of any provision of this rule, as determined by the Board, shall constitute 
Unprofessional Conduct as the term is used in ORS 677.188(4)(a),(b), or (c), whether or not actual 
injury to a patient is established. 

 
847-015-0010 
Schedule III or IV Controlled Substances - Bariatrics Practice  

(1) A physician shall not utilize a Schedule III or IV controlled substance for purposes of weight 
reduction, other than in accordance with federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) product 
guidelines in effect at the time of utilization and with all the provisions of this rule. 

(2) A physician may utilize a Schedule III or IV controlled substance for purposes of weight 
reduction 
in the treatment of Exogenous Obesity in a regimen of weight reduction based on caloric restriction, 
behavior modification and prescribed exercise, provided that all of the following conditions are met: 

(a) Before initiating treatment utilizing a Schedule III or IV controlled substance, the physician 
determines through review of the physician's own records of prior treatment, or through review of the 
records of prior treatment which another treating physician or weight-loss program has provided to 
the physician, that one of the following conditions exist: 

(A) Patient’s body mass index exceeds 30 Kg/M sq; or 
(B) Patient’s body mass index exceeds 27 Kg/M sq and the excess weight represents a threat to 

the patient’s health (as with hypertension, diabetes, or hypercholesterolemia.) 
(b) Before initiating treatment utilizing a Schedule III or IV controlled substance, the physician 

obtains a thorough history, performs a thorough physical examination of the patient, and rules out 
the existence of any recognized contraindications to the use of the controlled substance to be 
utilized. 

(3) Continuation of Schedule III or IV designated as FDA short term use controlled substances 
beyond three (3) months requires documentation of an average two (2) pound per month weight loss 
during active weight reduction treatment, or documentation of maintenance of goal weight. Use of 
Schedule III or IV controlled substances with FDA approval for bariatric therapy and designated for 
long term use where FDA guidelines are followed may also be used beyond three months. 

(4) A violation of any provision of this rule, as determined by the Board, shall constitute 
Unprofessional Conduct as the term is used in ORS 677.188(4)(a), (b), or (c), whether or not actual 
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injury to a patient is established. 
 

847-015-0015 
Maintenance of Controlled Substances Log by Prescribing Practitioners  

Any practitioner dispensing or administering controlled substances from the practitioner's office 
must have a Drug Enforcement Administration registration indicating the address of that office.  The 
practitioner shall maintain an inventory log showing all controlled substances received, and 
administered or dispensed.  This log shall also list for each controlled substance, the patient's name, 
amounts used, and date administered  or   dispensed.   This log 
shall be available for inspection on request by the Board of Medical Examiners or its authorized 
agents.  Controlled substances samples are included in this rule. 

 
847-015-0020 
Maintenance of Controlled Substances Log – Ambulance  Medical  Rescue  Services  Receiving 
Controlled Substances from Physicians  

Any physician providing controlled substances for use by ambulance and medical rescue 
services must have a Drug Enforcement Administration registration for the address where the 
controlled substances and inventory log are stored.  The inventory log at the registered address shall 
be maintained showing all controlled substances received, or dispensed to the emergency vehicle.  
The administration log shall also show for each controlled substance, the patient's name and amount 
used, date, and by whom administered or dispensed, and may be maintained in the emergency 
vehicle.  This log should be reviewed on a monthly basis and be readily retrievable for inspection on 
request by the Board, the ambulance licensing authority as specified in ORS 682.015, or their 
authorized agents. 
 
847-015-0025 
Dispensing Physicians  

(1) Any actively licensed physician who dispenses drugs shall register with the Board on the 
appropriate form before beginning to dispense drugs. 

(2) A physician who supervises a physician assistant who is applying for emergency dispensing 
privileges, or monitors/supervises any other health care provider with emergency dispensing 
privileges, must be registered with the Board of Medical Examiners as a dispensing physician. 

(3) Dispensing of samples, without charge, will not constitute dispensing under this rule. 
(4) Administering drugs in the physician's office will not constitute dispensing under this rule. 
(5) At the time of biennial medical license reregistration, all actively licensed physicians who 

dispense shall so indicate on the reregistration form. 
(6) Any physician who dispenses drugs after January 1, 1988, without first registering with the 

Board will be fined $100, and may be subject to further disciplinary action by the Board. 
 

847-015-0030 
Written Notice Disclosing the Material Risks Associated with Prescribed or Administered Controlled 
Substances for the Treatment of “Intractable Pain.” 

(1) Controlled substances may be prescribed for long term treatment of “intractable pain”, ORS 
677.475 (1). The attending physician records must contain the attending physician’s examination, 
diagnosis and any other supporting diagnostic evaluations and other therapeutic trials, including 
records from previous providers. If there is a consulting physician, written documentation of his/her 
corroborating findings, diagnosis and recommendations shall be included in the record. 

(2) Before initiating treatment of “intractable pain” with controlled substances, the attending 
physician shall discuss with the patient the material risks associated with the prescribed or 
administered controlled substances. Following the discussion the patient may request further 
explanation prior to signing the material risks notice. Following completion of the discussion, the 
attending physician shall provide to the person and the person shall sign a written notice of the 
material risks associated with the prescribed or administered controlled substances to be prescribed, 
ORS 677.485. 

(3) The material risk notice should include but not be limited to: 
(a) The diagnosis; 
(b) The controlled substance and/or group of controlled substances to be used; 
(c) Anticipated therapeutic results; 
(d) Alternatives to controlled substance therapy; and 
(e) Potential side effects (if applicable): 
(A) General; 
(B) Central Nervous System; 
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(C) Gastrointestinal; 
(D) Respiratory; 
(E) Dermatologic, and 
(F) Other. 
(f) Allergy Potential; 
(g) Interaction/Potentiation of other medications; 
(h) Potential for dose escalation/tolerance; 
(i) Withdrawal precautions; 
(j) Potential for dependence and addiction; 
(k) Potential for impairment of judgment and/or motor skills; 
(l) Satisfaction with or desire for more explanation; and 
(m) Patient signature (dated). 
(4) The material risk consent form will be maintained as a permanent component of the patient 

record as shall documentation of long term follow-up to demonstrate the continued need for this 
form of therapy, ORS 677.480(1)(3). A dispensing record of the amount and dose of the prescribed or 
administered controlled substances shall be maintained as part of the patient record. 

 
847-015-0035 
Attending physicians prescribing medications to physician assisted suicide patients 

Attending physicians prescribing medications pursuant to ORS 127.800 – 127.897 shall: 
(1) Dispense medications directly, including ancillary medications intended to facilitate the 

desired effect to minimize the patient’s discomfort, provided the attending physician is registered as 
a dispensing physician with the Board of Medical Examiners, has a current Drug Enforcement 
Administration (D.E.A.) certificate,  and complies with the provisions of ORS 677.089, OAR 847-015-
0015 and OAR 847-015-0025; or 

(2) With the patient’s written consent: 
(a) Contact a pharmacist, and inform the pharmacist of the purpose of the prescription, and 
(b) Deliver the written prescription personally or by mail to the pharmacist who will dispense the 

medications to either the patient, the attending physician, or an expressly identified patient’s agent. 
 
847-015-0040 
Collaborative Drug Therapy Management 

(1) "Collaborative Drug Therapy Management" as used in this section means the participation by 
a physician and a pharmacist in the management of drug therapy pursuant to a written protocol that 
includes information specific to the dosage, frequency, duration and route of administration of the 
drug, authorized by a physician and initiated upon a prescription order for an individual patient and: 

(a) Is agreed to by one physician and one pharmacist; or 
(b) Is agreed to by one or more physicians in a single organized medical group, such as a 

hospital medical staff, clinic or group practice, including but not limited to organized medical groups 
using a pharmacy and therapeutics committee, and one or more pharmacists at a single pharmacy 
registered by the Board of Pharmacy. 

(2) A physician shall engage in collaborative drug therapy management with a pharmacist only 
under a written arrangement that includes: 

(a) The identification, either by name or by description, of the participating pharmacist(s). 
(b) The identification, by name, of the participating physician(s). 
(c) The name of the physician and principal pharmacist who are responsible for development, 

training, administration, and quality assurance of the arrangement. 
(d) A detailed description of the collaborative role the pharmacist(s) shall play, including but not 

limited to: 
(A) Written protocol for specific drugs pursuant to which the pharmacist will base drug therapy 

management decisions for an individual patient. 
(B) Circumstances which will cause the pharmacist to initiate communication with the physician, 

including but not limited to the need for new prescription orders and reports of patients' therapeutic 
responses or adverse effects. 

(C) Training requirement for pharmacist participation and ongoing assessment of competency, if 
necessary; 

(D) Quality assurance and periodic review by a panel of the participating physicians(s) and 
pharmacist(s). 

(e) Authorization by the physician(s) for the pharmacist(s) to participate in the collaborative drug 
therapy. 

(f) A provision for the collaborative drug therapy arrangement to be reviewed and updated, or 
discontinued at least every two years; and 



 

Sec. IV - Page 31 

 

(g) A description of the mechanism for the pharmacist(s) to communicate to the physician(s) and 
for documentation of the implementation of the collaborative drug therapy. 

(3) Collaborative drug therapy management is valid only when initiated upon the prescription 
order of a participating physician for each individual patient. 

(4) Nothing in this rule shall be construed to allow therapeutic substitution. 
(5) The collaborative drug therapy protocol must be filed with the Board of Pharmacy, kept on file 

in the pharmacy and made available to the Board of Pharmacy and the Board of Medical Examiners 
upon request. 

 
DIVISION 080 - PODIATRISTS 
 
847-080-0019 
Registration and Continuing Medical Education Requirements  

(1)  An application for renewal of registration and  statutory registration  fee  shall  be submitted 
to the Board of  Medical  Examiners and must be received in the Board office during regular business 
hours on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year in order for  the  doctors  of podiatric 
medicine to be renewed for the next 24 months. 

(2)  Licensed  podiatrists shall at the time of submitting their  biennial registration  fee  and  as a 
condition of registration renewal submit  to  the Board  a signed original renewal application 
showing satisfactory evidence  of having completed a minimum of 50 hours of continuing medical 
education, or 25 hours if licensed during the second year of the biennium. 

(3)  Upon failure to comply with section (1) and (2) of this rule, the registration shall lapse. 
(4) Continuing medical education is acceptable if provided by: 
(a) The American Podiatric Medical Association, American Medical Association, or American 

Osteopathic Association; or 
(b) The American Hospital Association; and 
(c) Any of the accredited colleges or schools of podiatric medicine within the United States; or 
(d) Programs sponsored by any affiliated group to the above organizations, or associations. 
(5) The Board shall audit a random sample of podiatrists for compliance with the continuing 

medical education. 
(6) If documentation of the continuing education  is  improper  or inadequate,  the  podiatrist 

shall correct the deficiency.  Failure to correct the continuing education documentation within 90 
days shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action. 

(7) Misrepresentation of compliance shall constitute  grounds   for disciplinary action. 
(8) Documentation supporting compliance with continuing medical education requirements shall 

be available to the Board upon request during the  renewal period and the two year period following 
the renewal period. 

 
847-080-0020 
Use of Title 

(1) Every Podiatrist licensed by the Board must  pursue  the practice  of  podiatry  under the 
licensee's name only as it  appears  on  the license issued by the Board.  If a name change occurs 
after license is issued, the licensee may pursue the practice of podiatry under the new name only 
after the licensee files proof of the name to the Board. 

(2) Any Podiatrist licensed by the Board who uses the title "Doctor"  or any contraction  thereof  in  
connection with the practice of  podiatry  shall comply with ORS 676.100 through 676.990. 
 
OAR 847-080-0022 
Qualifications to Perform Ankle Surgery 

Ankle surgery must be conducted in a certified hospital or in an ambulatory surgical center 
certified by the Health Division. To be eligible to perform ankle surgery in the state of Oregon, the 
licensed podiatrist shall meet the qualifications from one of the following sections prior to being 
approved by the Board to perform ankle surgery: 

(1) Completion of a CPME (Council on Podiatric Medical Education) approved surgical residency; 
Board Certification by the American Board of Podiatric Surgery in Foot and Ankle Surgery; 
documented clinical experience as approved by the Board; and current clinical privileges to perform 
reconstructive/rearfoot ankle surgery in a JCAHO (The Joint Commission on the Accreditation of 
Health Care Organizations) approved hospital; or 

(2) Completion of a CPME (Council on Podiatric Medical Education) approved surgical residency; 
and Board Qualified by the American Board of Podiatric Surgery in Reconstructive Rearfoot/Ankle 
Surgery progressing to Board Certification in Reconstructive Rearfoot/Ankle Surgery within seven 
years. 
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847-080-0025 
Change of Address and Multiple Offices  

Every licensee must notify the board in writing of their change or addition of business or 
residence address within 30 days of any change. 

 
847-080-0030 
Denial or Revocation of License  

No applicant shall be entitled to a podiatry license who: 
(1) Has failed in an examination for licensure in the State of Oregon; 
(2)  Has  had  a license revoked or suspended in this or any  other  state unless  the  said license 

has been restored or reinstated and the  applicant's license is in good standing in the state which 
had revoked the same; 

(3)  Has  been  refused  a license or certificate in any  other  state  or country  on  any  grounds  
other  than   failure  in  a  podiatric   licensure examination; 

(4)  Has been guilty of conduct similar to that which would be prohibited by or to which ORS 
677.190 would apply; or 

(5)  Has been guilty of cheating or subverting the  podiatric  licensing examination  process.   
Podiatric licensing examination means any  examination given  by  the  Board, other states, or 
national testing organization,  to  an applicant  for  registration,  certification  or  licensure  under  
this  act. Evidence of cheating or subverting includes, but is not limited to: 

(a)  Copying answers from another examinee or permitting one's answers to be copied by 
another examinee during the examination; 

(b)  Having  in one's possession during the examination any books,   notes,  written  or  printed  
materials or data of any kind,  other  than  examination materials  distributed by Board staff, which 
could facilitate the applicant in completing the examination; 

(c) Communicating with any other examinee during the administration of the examination; 
(d) Removing from the examining room any examination materials; 
(e) Photographing or otherwise reproducing examination materials. 
(6)  In addition to the grounds for denial, revocation, or suspension  set  be the basis  of  denial or 

revocation of any license authorized or issued under  the provisions of ORS Chapter 677 and laws 
mandatory thereof. 

 
847-080-0035 
Approved Podiatry Colleges  

Podiatry colleges approved by the Board are only those approved by the American Podiatric 
Medical Association Council on Podiatry Education. 
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Public Health Reporting. . . for clinicians 
 
By law,1 Oregon clinicians must report diagnoses (confirmed or suspected) of the infections, 
diseases, microorganisms and conditions listed below. Both clinical and lab-confirmed cases 
are reportable. The parallel system of lab reporting does not obviate the clinician’s obligation 
to report. Some conditions (e.g., Uncommon Illnesses of Potential Public Health Significance, 
animal bites, HUS, PID, pesticide poisoning, disease outbreaks) are rarely if ever identified by 
labs. In short, we depend upon clinicians to report. 
 
Reports should be made to the patient’s local health department2 and should include at least 
the patient’s name, home address, phone number, date of birth, sex, the diagnosis, and the 
date of symptom onset. Most reports should be made within one (health department) 
working day of the diagnosis, but there are a number of exceptions (noted with asterisks, 
infra). 
 
Disease reporting enables appropriate public health follow-up for your patients, helps 
identify outbreaks, provides a better under-standing of morbidity patterns, and may even 
save lives. If local health department staff are unavailable, a state epidemiologist is always 
on call:  971-673-1111; after hours 503-731-4030. 
 
The following are listed by the time frame within which they must be reported: 
 
IMMEDIATELY—DAY OR NIGHT 
Anthrax 
Any Outbreak of disease3 

Any Uncommon illness of 
public health 
significance4 

Botulism 

Diphtheria 
Marine intoxications5 
Plague 
SARS 

 
WITHIN 24 HOURS (including weekends/holidays) 
Haemophilus influenzae 
Measles (rubeola) 
Meningococcal disease 

Pesticide poisoning 
Polio 
Rabies 

Rubella 
Vibrio infection 

 
WITHIN ONE HEALTH DEPARTMENT BUSINESS DAY 
Animal bites 
Any Arthropod-borne 

infection6 
Brucellosis 
Campylobacteriosis 
CD4 cell count <200/ml 

or CD4/total <14% 
Chancroid 
Chlamydia7 
Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease 
Cryptosporidiosis 
Cyclosporidiosis 
Escherichia coli (Shiga-

toxigenic)8 
Giardiasis 
Gonorrhea 

Hantavirus 
Hepatitis A 
Hepatitis B (acute or 

chronic) 
Hepatitis C (new 

infections)9 
Hepatitis D (delta) 
HIV infection and AIDS 
HUS 
Legionellosis 
Leptospirosis 
Listeriosis 
Lyme disease 
Malaria 
Mumps 
Pertussis 

PID (acute, non-
gonococcal) 

Q fever 
Rickettsia 
Salmonella (including 

typhoid) 
Shigellosis 
Syphilis 
Taenia 

solium/Cysticercosis 
Tetanus 
Trichinosis 
Tuberculosis 
Tularemia 
Yersiniosis 

 
WITHIN 1 WEEK 
Lead poisoning 
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FOOTNOTES 
1 ORS 433.004; OAR 333-018-0000 to -0015. 
2 Refer to www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/acd/reporting/counties.shtml for a list of local 

health departments and more details about what to report. 
3 Outbreaks are  2 cases from separate households associated with a suspected 

common source. 
4 Ask yourself “Might there be public health implications from a case of possible Ebola, 

smallpox, melioidosis, or whatever?” If the answer is “yes”— or even “maybe”— then 
pick up the phone. There are no penalties for over-reporting. 

5 Paralytic shellfish poisoning, scombroid, domoic acid intoxication, ciguatera, etc. 
6 Including any of the scores of viral, bacterial, and parasitic infections typically spread 

by ticks, mosquitoes, fleas, and their ilk (e.g., Lyme disease, malaria, ehrlichiosis, 
relapsing fever, typhus, babesiosis, dengue, yellow fever, Oroya fever, Colorado tick 
fever, West Nile fever, RMSF, SLE, WEE, EEE,  lariasis, tsutsugamushi, Congo-Crimean 
hemorrhagic fever,...). 

7 STDs, trachoma, TWAR, psittacosis—all of them—even if they are renamed 
Chlamydophila. 

8 E. coli O157:H7 is the exemplar of this group. 
9 Report only diagnoses of probable recent infection (e.g., post-transplant infections, 

persons with conversion of paired sera). Most cases are old or indeterminate; these 
are not reportable. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Acute and Communicable Disease Prevention 
Oregon Department of Human Services 

800 NE Oregon St, Suite 772 
Portland, OR 97232 

Ph: 971-673-1111  Fax: 971-673-1100 
www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/odpe/index.shtml  
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STATEMENTS OF PHILOSOPHY                                      
  
Statements of Philosophy are adopted by the Board to express its philosophy and intentions 
regarding the practice of medicine in the state of Oregon.  Statements of Philosophy reflect the 
diversity of issues discussed by the Board, issues of national as well as state concern. In discussing 
these matters, Board members review the work of medical experts, consider the policy statements of 
national medical associations, and request input from other state licensing boards and state 
professional associations. The Board also consults existing Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and 
Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR).   
 
New Statements of Philosophy are discussed and drafted as the particular topics of interest arise. 
When adopted, Statements of Philosophy are published in the quarterly BME Report newsletter, and 
added to the BME Web site at www.oregon.gov/BME under “Topics of Interest.”   

  
Table of Contents  …………………………………………………………………………………………1 
Advertising  ………………………………………………………………………………………………………1 
Appropriate Prescribing of Controlled Substances  ……………………2 
Lasers, Medical Use of  ……………………………………………………………………………… 3 
Pain Management  ……………………………………………………………………………………… 4 
Physicians with Mental Illness  …………………………………………………………… 5 
Physicians with Substance Abuse Problems  ……………………………… 6 
Physician-Patient Relationship, The  ………………………………………………… 8 
Professionalism  …………………………………………………………………………………………… 9 
Scope of Practice  ………………………………………………………………………………………… 11 
Sexual Misconduct  …………………………………………………………………………………… 12 

 
 

Advertising 
 

In 1975 the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), through a court decision, established that 
professional associations were subject to antitrust scrutiny in their attempts at regulating 
advertising. This has also pertained to any attempts by medical boards to establish rules governing 
advertising.  
 

The FTC has stated that honest and fair advertising promotes safe and fair competition. 
Restraints on legitimate advertising are restraints against legitimate competition. 

 
However, it is accepted that any false or deceptive representation or statement a physician 

makes to mislead consumers as perceived by the consumer, to the consumer’s detriment, will be 
considered unacceptable. There must be a reasonable basis for any claims made as to safety and 
quality of care. All statements must be true and confirmable. Although testimonials are not 
prohibited, they must not be fraudulent or misleading. Photographs may not be used so as to distort 
actual results. Claims of medical supervision must represent actual physician involvement in the 
care provided. 

 
If a physician represents him/herself as a specialist, he/she must be prepared to 

demonstrate training or expertise in a legitimate specialty. Successful completion of training 
recognized as a prerequisite for Board certification in a medical specialty or subspecialty by either 
the American Board of Medical Specialists (ABMS) or the Advisory Board for Osteopathic Specialists 
(ABOS) shall be considered adequate. Anything less shall put the burden of proof upon the physician 
to legitimize the claim. 

 
If a physician advertises him/herself as being “Board Certified,” he/she must indicate the full 

name of the certifying board. This statement must contain the term “Not recognized” if the certifying 
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board is not recognized by the ABMS or by the Advisory Board of the American Osteopathic 
Association (AOA). 
 
 

Appropriate Prescribing of Controlled Substances 
 

Inappropriate prescribing of controlled substances can be an investigatory and disciplinary 
problem for the Board. Under the Medical Practice Act (ORS 677.190), inappropriate prescribing is 
regulated as follows: (1) Unprofessional conduct, (24) Violation of the U.S. Controlled Substances Act 
and (25) Prescribing controlled substances without a legitimate medical purpose and without 
following accepted procedures for examination of patients and recordkeeping. 

 
ORS 677.188 defines “unprofessional conduct” as including any conduct or practice which 

does, or might constitute, a danger to the patient’s or the public’s safety. It also includes willful 
performance of any surgical or medical treatment that is contrary to acceptable medical standards 
and administration of unnecessary treatments. 

 
Controlled substances offer important health benefits to patients and should be prescribed 

as medically indicated. A balance must be achieved between appropriate prescribing, and adequate 
safeguards against diversion and abuse of such medications. Underprescribing of controlled 
substances, i.e., in management of cancer pain, can impair optimal patient care. However, when 
controlled substances are diverted and abused, public health is damaged. 

 
It used to be generally accepted that it was inappropriate to treat chronic, intractable, non-

malignant pain with opioids on a routine basis. This is clearly no longer true. Other than fear of 
addiction and abuse, one reason formerly given for not using opioids was that use of these 
medications for this type of pain was thought to decrease the availability of endogenous opioid 
mechanisms and therefore their use might actually decrease pain thresholds. Opioids may also 
produces sedation and thus decrease the patient’s willingness to become actively involved in 
his/her rehabilitation efforts. Currently, appropriately prescribed opioids are felt to control the pain 
and make the patient more interested and capable of participating in not only his/her rehabilitation 
effort, but also in the activities of daily living.  The improved ability to be more active and to better 
perform the tasks of life is one of the most important measures that is used to determine whether 
the plan for treating the patient’s chronic, intractable, non-malignant pain is succeeding. 

 
Not every patient with chronic non-malignant pain necessarily requires opioid medications.  

It is accepted, however, that there are many patients who will be properly served by the chronic 
administration of opioid substances for non-malignant pain.  

 
Please read the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners philosophy on Pain Management in this 

section of this Handbook.  It may also be found on the web at: 
http://egov.oregon.gov/BME/topics.shtml#INTRACTABLE_PAIN_AND_PAIN_MANAGEMENT.  

 
It should also be noted that the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) rules forbid a 

physician to prescribe controlled substances to patient who is addicted to substances, for the 
purpose of maintenance or of detoxification, except in a DEA-approved program (Methadone Clinic).  
Recent changes in the Federal Law allow the use of Schedule III-IV drugs (two special formulations of 
buprenorphine for sublingual use) for this purpose providing the prescribing physician has eight 
hours of specific CME, is certified by the Secretary of HHS, and receives a special DEA number. 

 
In response to its duty to protect the public, the Board investigates all possible cases 

involving inappropriate prescribing. Investigations may include review of physician records, review 
by a Board consultant and possibly a personal interview with the Board’s Investigative Committee.  
Following the investigation the Board has a variety of administrative options to respond to 
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inappropriate prescribing should that be determined to be a problem. The Board attempts to avoid 
disciplinary measures in its effort to rehabilitate physicians, but that is not always possible.  

 
All physicians are encouraged to become knowledgeable about methods of pain treatment 

and to participate in the management of their patients who develop chronic non-malignant pain. 
 

Adopted May 2004 
Amended January 2006 

 
 

Medical Use of Lasers 
 

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulates the sale of lasers under the Centers for 
Devices and Radiological Health. A laser is a device that only a licensed practitioner can purchase. 
 

Destruction, incision, ablation or the revision of human tissue by use of a laser is surgery. 
 

Complications from the medical use of lasers can include visual impairment, blindness, 
inflammation, burns, scarring, hypopigmentation and hyperpigmentation. 

 
The Oregon Board of Medical Examiners adopts the position that the medical use of lasers is 

the practice of medicine as defined by ORS 677.085: 
“(3) Offer or undertake to perform any surgical operation upon any person. 
“(4) Offer or undertake to diagnose, cure or treat in any manner or by any means, methods, 

devices or instrumentalities, any disease, illness, pain, wound, fracture, infirmity, deformity, defect or 
abnormal physical or mental condition of any person.” 

 
Physicians using lasers should be trained appropriately in the physics, safety and surgical 

techniques using lasers and intense pulsed light devices, as well as pre- and post-operative care. 
Any physician who delegates a procedure using lasers or intense pulsed light devices to a non-
physician should also be qualified to do the procedure themselves by virtue of having received 
appropriate training in physics, safety and surgical techniques using lasers and intense pulsed light 
devices, as well as pre- and post-operative care. 
 

Any allied health professional employed by a physician to perform a laser or intense pulsed 
light procedure should have received documented training and education in the safe and effective 
use of each system, and may carry out specifically designed laser procedures only under direct 
physician supervision, and following written guidelines and/or policies established by the specific 
site at which the laser procedure is performed. 

 
The ultimate responsibility for performing any procedure lies with the physician. The 

supervising physician should be on-site, immediately available,  
and able to respond promptly to any questions or problems that may occur while the procedure is 
being performed. 
  

The guiding principle for all physicians is to practice ethical medicine with the highest 
possible standards to ensure the best interest and welfare of the patients. 

 
Adopted January 18, 2002 
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Pain Management 
 

The BME urges the use of effective pain control for all patients, irrespective of the etiology of 
their pain. This includes, but is not limited to, postoperative pain, chronic pain of diverse etiology, 
and pain derived from malignancies. Physicians are encouraged to treat pain within the scope of 
their practice. 
 

Studies have shown that as many as one-half of patients in pain are not given sufficient pain 
medication to control their pain in an optimal manner. There are three reasons for this failure to 
achieve adequate pain relief: 1) concern about causing addiction; 2) lack of knowledge about pain 
management techniques and pain medication pharmacology; and 3) fear of scrutiny and discipline 
by regulatory agencies. None of these factors, however, should preclude the physician from assuring 
that the patient has adequate pain control. 
 

The treatment of post-operative pain requires aggressive management and frequent 
feedback from the patient regarding the adequacy of the pain control prescribed. The potential for 
addiction is very low when short courses of narcotics are used to treat post-operative pain. 

 
Skillful pain management techniques, including oral, parenteral and, when available, 

regional pain management techniques can achieve maximum patient comfort and may reduce the 
total amount of narcotics required. 

 
The BME encourages physicians to become well informed in acute post-operative pain 

management and to hone their skills in the latest techniques for control of these acute, self-limited 
episodes of pain caused by surgical procedures. 
 

Management of the patient with chronic nonmalignant pain requires different techniques 
but a similar degree of skill. In 1995, the Oregon Legislative Assembly passed ORS 677.470 – .485, 
commonly referred to as the Intractable Pain Act. This act allows a physician to prescribe or 
administer controlled substances to a patient diagnosed with a condition causing intractable pain 
without fear of sanction from the Board of Medical Examiners, so long as that physician complies 
with the provisions of this statute. 

 
Both this statute and its facilitating Oregon Administrative Rule (847-030-0015) assure that 

the patient with chronic nonmalignant intractable pain:  (1), receives careful assessment, 
documentation, and management of the pain; (2), receives the assessment and recommendations of 
a physician specializing in the body area, system or organ perceived as the source of the pain; and 
(3), executes a signed material risk notice acknowledging receipt of information disclosing the 
material risks associated with the prescription or administration of controlled substances used in the 
course of his or her treatment. 
 

Finally, physicians occasionally prescribe narcotics too sparingly for their terminally ill 
patients. The BME believes that physicians should make every effort to relieve the pain and suffering 
of their dying patients. This may require either intermittent or continued administration of large 
doses of narcotics, often well above those dosages that are considered usual in such references as 
the PDR. 

 
Since the goal of treatment is to relieve pain and suffering, dying patients should receive 

sufficient narcotic dosages to produce the maximal possible comfort. The physician should 
acknowledge that the natural dying process usually involves declining blood pressures, decreasing 
respirations and altered levels of consciousness. Narcotics should not be withheld on the basis of 
physiologic parameters when patients continue to experience pain. 
 

Some physicians frequently express concerns that the use of narcotics in dying patients may 
hasten death through pneumonia or respiratory depression. For these reasons, at times physicians 
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may have limited the use of narcotics in dying patients out of fear that they may be investigated for 
inappropriate prescribing or allegations of euthanasia. 

 
The BME is concerned that such fear on the part of physicians may result in inadequate pain 

control and unnecessary suffering in terminally ill patients. The BME encourages physicians to 
employ skillful and compassionate pain control for dying patients and believes that relief from 
suffering remains the physician’s primary obligation to dying patients. 
 

Appropriate management of all of these types of pain is the treating physician’s 
responsibility. The standard of care allows neither overtreatment nor undertreatment. As such, the 
Board will consider clearly documented undertreatment of pain to be a violation equal to 
overtreatment, and will investigate allegations in the same manner. 
 

Adopted April 16, 1999 
Amended July 9, 2004 

 
 

Physicians with Mental Illness 
 

A responsibility and obligation of the Board is the licensing and regulation of physicians and other 
health care professionals, in order to uphold the standards of the medical profession and to protect 
the public from the practice of medicine or acupuncture by an impaired licensee. 
 

The Board recognizes that a licensee, like any other member of society, is susceptible to 
illnesses, including mental illness. It is also known that a licensee can have a mental illness or seek 
counseling and not be occupationally impaired. For example, this can occur with some depression 
and anxiety disorders, or with marital and family problems.  
 
  However, just as with a physical illness, a licensee’s ability to practice medicine or 
acupuncture may be compromised by his or her mental illness. This can occur with organic mental 
disorders, some mood and psychotic disorders and various types of character problems. Under ORS 
677.190, the Board is required to refuse to grant or renew licenses, or to suspend or revoke licenses 
to practice medicine or acupuncture, under certain conditions. One such condition is any mental 
illness affecting a licensee’s ability to safely practice medicine or acupuncture. 
 
  In such cases, the Board takes appropriate licensing action based on such evidence as civil 
adjudication or voluntary commitment to an institution for treatment of mental diseases. Supporting 
evidence may also include findings from an examination conducted by three impartial psychiatrists 
retained by the Board. 
 
  Furthermore, ORS 677.225 requires automatic license suspension when the Board learns that 
a licensee has been committed by civil action or admitted on a voluntary basis to a treatment 
facility for longer than 25 consecutive days, for a mental illness that affects the ability of the licensee 
to safely practice medicine or acupuncture.  
 
  The Board supports the de-stigmatization of mental illnesses in licensees. This is exemplified 
by the questions on the initial application and registration (renewal) forms that ask about current 
disabilities from mental illness rather than focusing only on the presence of a mental diagnosis and 
treatment. Specifically, the questions focus on the presence of serious physical or mental illnesses or 
hospitalizations for either illness (physical or mental) within the past five years which impairs (or 
impaired) the licensee’s ability to practice medicine safely and competently.  
 
  If the Board has reasonable cause to believe that any licensee is or may be unable to 
practice medicine with reasonable skill and safety to patients, the Board may direct and order an 
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investigation. This may include a mental, physical or medical competency examination for the 
purpose of determining the fitness of the licensee to practice medicine with reasonable skill and 
safety to patients, as outlined by ORS 677.420. 
 
  No restrictions are placed upon a licensee if the licensee is not found to be impaired by his 
or her mental illness.  
 
  However, if the mental illness is found to impair the licensee’s ability to practice medicine or 
acupuncture, then the Board may take disciplinary action as outlined by ORS 677.205. This may 
include license limitation, probation, suspension, revocation or denial of license. All of these Board 
actions are reportable to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 
 
 The Board recognizes the adverse consequences of stigmatizing mental illness, including 
interference with the licensee seeking treatment. The presence of current impairment from a mental 
illness is investigated rather than focusing on a potential mental disability. As a result, the Board can 
protect the public and ensure that a licensee who has a mental illness can practice safely, 
professionally and competently. 
 

Revised July 15, 2005 
 
 

Physicians with Substance Abuse Problems 
 

In the interest of the health, safety and welfare of the people of Oregon, the Board of Medical 
Examiners is charged with protecting the public from the practice of medicine by unqualified, 
incompetent or impaired physicians. With this principle foremost in mind, the Board has adopted a 
policy of rehabilitating impaired physicians whenever possible. 
 

A Health Professionals Program (HPP) Supervisory Council has been established pursuant to 
ORS 677.615 for the purpose of developing and implementing a diversion program for chemically 
dependent licensees regulated under this chapter. The Council consists of five members who are 
appointed and serve at the pleasure of the Board.  The term of office is two years, and Council 
members are eligible for reappointment.  
 

The HPP Medical Director is appointed by the Supervisory Council, and administers the 
program under the control and supervision of the Council. The Medical Director serves at the 
pleasure of the Supervisory Council and is an employee of the Board, and as such, reports to the 
Executive Director of the Board.  
 

The HPP, also referred to as the Diversion Program, was established as a confidential referral 
resource for rehabilitation. To maintain the confidentiality of its participants, the HPP office is located 
in Tigard, separate from the Board’s office in Portland. Its services consist of case finding, 
interventions, referral for an acute treatment phase, and continuing care recovery monitoring.  

 
Licensees experiencing substance abuse problems who have participated in HPP have 

experienced a rehabilitation rate of approximately 90 percent. Experience indicates that anything 
short of this standard of comprehensive treatment and monitoring leads to a markedly increased 
failure rate. 
 

Within health care delivery systems, there is acute awareness of the need to identify 
substance abusers. Nearly all hospitals and other delivery systems (HMOs, IPAs, PPOs, etc.) require 
licensees to answer personal substance use and treatment questions. State law requires that all 
impaired licensees be reported to the Board. 
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Licensees with substance abuse problems are encouraged by the Board to seek 
comprehensive treatment before becoming impaired. 
 

The Board has adopted the following policy in the handling of licensees with substance 
abuse problems: 
 

Self-referral:  Licensees will be considered “true volunteers” when they have sought 
affiliation with HPP on their own or through an intervention of others without prior Board knowledge. 
The responsibility of individuals and organizations required by law to report impaired physicians 
may be discharged if the impaired physician enters HPP. Voluntary HPP participants require no 
further action relative to licensure, and they will not be reported to the Board so long as they 
successfully participate. 
 

The Board will not be notified of the identity of voluntary participants in Diversion but will be 
kept informed of program information and statistics on an on-going basis. HPP participants will not 
be reported to the National Practitioners Data Bank as disciplinary cases. There will be, however, a 
formal agreement between HPP and the licensee. This agreement is legally binding. The terms of this 
agreement will include standardized language acceptable to the Board as recommended by the 
Diversion Program Supervisory Council (see attachment for the currently accepted Agreement). 
 

Board referral: At the discretion of the Chief Investigator or the Board’s Medical Director in 
consultation with the Executive Director, licensees reported to the BME for investigation and 
believed to have a substance related disorder may be offered an opportunity to participate in HPP. 
Disciplinary action may be utilized for licensees determined as inappropriate for HPP or requiring 
discipline in addition to HPP monitoring. 
 

The Board accepts the Diversion Program Supervisory Council protocol for continuing care 
treatment and monitoring as its standard of the minimum required elements for monitoring: 
 

A. At least one weekly counseling meeting (individual or group) for the first two years of 
participation. 

B. A minimum of quarterly meetings with an assigned HPP monitoring consultant. 
C. A minimum of 25-30 random urine drug screens per year for the first two years. 
D. Individual counseling if recommended by the primary treatment provider or the 

therapy team. 
E. Treatment plan changes will be made in consultation with all therapy providers and 

the Diversion Program Supervisory Council when necessary. 
F. The Diversion Program keeps the Board apprised of its policies, procedures and 

protocols. 
G. HPP participants will be reported to the Board in accordance with the Diversion 

Council protocol for Relapse Management or upon failure to successfully complete 
the HPP Program. 

 
Not all licensees with a chemical dependency problem will avail themselves of HPP; those 

who choose not to participate or do not comply with the terms of the agreement with HPP are 
subject to denial of license or discipline pursuant to ORS 677.190. 
 

Chemical dependency does not have to be a condition that destroys a professional’s career, 
personal life and professional standing. When in remission, chemical dependency does not 
adversely affect a physician’s ability to practice medicine. With proper treatment and follow-up, 
chemically dependent licensees can continue their practice, often virtually uninterrupted. 
 

In situations where a disciplinary action is necessary, it is often appropriate to reinstate a 
licensee as soon as their condition warrants it. The BME has found that with proper in-patient 
treatment and good monitoring, a rehabilitation rate of approximately 90 percent is possible. 
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As the above policy indicates, self-referral is vastly superior to disciplinary action. By 
whatever method necessary, the Board strives to assure that licensees with chemical dependency 
problems receive appropriate treatment. In its effort to both protect the public and rehabilitate 
physicians, the Board encourages all licensees and their organizations to promote early intervention. 
 
 

The Physician-Patient Relationship 
 

An Oregon physician has medical, legal and ethical obligations to his or her patients. In light 
of these obligations, it is the policy of the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners that: 
 

1. Regardless of whether an act or failure to act is determined entirely by a physician, or is 
the result of a contractual or other relationship with a health care entity, the relationship 
between a physician and a patient must be based on trust, and must be considered 
inviolable. Included among the elements of such a relationship of trust are: 

 
• Open and honest communication between the physician and patient, including 

disclosure of all information necessary for the patient to be an informed participant 
in his or her care. 

 
• Commitment of the physician to be an advocate for the patient and for what is best 

for the patient, without regard to the physician’s personal interests or the interests of 
any other healthcare entity. 

 
• Provision by the physician of that care which is necessary and appropriate for the 

condition of the patient, and neither more nor less. 
 

• Avoidance of any conflict of interest or inappropriate relationships outside of the 
therapeutic relationship. 

 
• Respect for, and careful guardianship of, any intimate details of the patient’s life 

which may be shared with the physician. 
 

• A career-spanning dedication by the physician to continually maintain professional 
knowledge and skills. 

 
• Respect for the autonomy of the patient. 

 
• Respect for the privacy and dignity of the patient. 

 
• Compassion for the patient and his or her family. 

 
2. The relationship between a physician and a patient is fundamental, and is not to be 

constrained or adversely affected by any considerations other than what is best for that 
patient. The existences of other considerations, including financial or contractual 
concerns are and must be secondary to the fundamental relationship. 

 
3. Any act or failure to act by a physician that violates the trust upon which the 

relationship is based jeopardizes the relationship and may place the physician at risk of 
being found in violation of the Medical Practice Act. 

 



 Sec. V – Page 9 

4. The policies expressed herein apply to all physicians in Oregon, as well as those who 
make decisions which affect Oregon consumers, including health plan medical directors 
and other physicians employed by or contracting with such plans. 

 
Adopted 1998 

 
 

professionalism 
 
 The mission of the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners is to protect the health, safety, and 
well being of Oregon citizens by regulating the practice of medicine in a manner that promotes 
quality care. It fulfills its mission by, among other activities, investigating and, if necessary, imposing 
disciplinary action upon physicians who do not uphold the standards of professionalism. 
 
 Professionalism comprises those attributes and behaviors that serve to maintain patients’ 
interests above the physician’s self-interest. 
 
 Professionalism means the continuing pursuit of excellence (see definition below), and 
includes the following qualities: 
 

• Altruism is the essence of professionalism. Altruism refers to unselfish regard for and 
devotion to the welfare of others and is a key element of professionalism. Self-interest or the 
interests of other parties should not interfere with the care of one’s patients and their families. 
 

• Accountability and Responsibility are required at many levels —individual patients, society 
and the profession. First, there must be accountability to one’s patients and to their families. There 
must also be accountability to society for addressing the health needs of the public and to ensure 
that the public’s needs are addressed. 
 

One must also be accountable to the profession to ensure that the ethical precepts of 
practice are upheld. Inherent in responsibility is reliability in completing assigned duties or fulfilling 
commitments. There must also be a willingness to accept responsibility for errors. 
 

• Duty: Acceptance of a Commitment to Service. This commitment entails being available 
and responsive when “on call,” accepting personal inconvenience in order to meet the needs of 
one’s patients, enduring unavoidable risks to oneself when a patient’s welfare is at stake, and 
advocating the best possible care regardless of the patient’s ability to pay.  
 

• Excellence entails a conscientious effort to exceed ordinary expectations and to make a 
commitment to life-long learning. Commitment to excellence is an acknowledged goal for all 
physicians. A key to excellence is the pursuit of, and commitment to, providing the highest quality of 
health care through lifelong learning and education. One must seek to learn from errors and aspire 
to excellence through self-evaluation and acceptance of the critiques of others. 
 

• Honesty and Integrity are the consistent regard for the highest standards of behavior and 
the refusal to violate one’s personal and professional codes. Honesty and integrity imply being fair, 
being truthful, keeping one’s word, meeting commitments, and being forthright in interactions with 
patients, peers and in all professional work, whether through documentation, personal 
communication, presentations, research, or other aspects of interaction. Honesty and integrity 
require awareness of situations that may result in conflict of interest or that result in personal gain 
at the expense of the best interest of the patient. 
 

• Respect for Others is central to professionalism. This respect extends to all spheres of 
contact, including but not limited to patients, families, other physicians and professional colleagues. 
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One must treat all persons with respect and regard for their individual worth and dignity. One must 
listen attentively and respond humanely to the concerns of patients and family members. 

 
Appropriate empathy for and relief of pain, discomfort, and anxiety should be part of the 

daily practice of medicine. One must be fair and nondiscriminatory and be aware of emotional, 
personal, family, and cultural influences on patient well-being and patients’ rights and choices of 
medical care. It is also a professional obligation to respect appropriate patient confidentiality. 
 

Signs of Unprofessionalism 
 

It is sometimes by looking at what is unprofessional behavior, that the physician can obtain 
greater understanding of the meaning of professionalism. The Board has seen these signs of 
unprofessionalism: 
 

• Abuse of Power: Physicians are generally accorded great respect by their patients. When 
used well, this power can accomplish enormous good. When abused, it causes the opposite. 
Examples of abuse of power are: 

o Crossing sexual boundaries. 
o Breaching confidentiality. 
o Proselytizing a point of view in order to change a patient’s mind. 

 
• Arrogance: For a physician, arrogance is an offensive display of superiority and self-

importance, which prevents the establishment of empathetic relationships. Examples of arrogance 
are: 

o Failing to listen to others. 
o Abusing the social position of physicians. 
o Failing to make appropriate referrals. 
o Safeguarding physician interests above the patient. 

 
• Greed: When money rather than patient care becomes the guiding force in a physician’s 

practice. Examples of greed are: 
o Doing procedures that have no medical indication. 
o Billing fraud. 
o Not providing medical documentation for services. 

 
• Misrepresentation: In the context of unprofessional behavior misrepresentation consists of 

lying (consciously telling an untruth) and fraud (conscious misrepresentation of material facts with 
the intent to mislead). Examples of misrepresentation are: 

o Misrepresenting educational history. 
o Not filling out licensing and other applications for renewal truthfully. 
o Faking research. 
o Inflating credentials. 
o Altering charts. 
o Giving expert testimony that is not truthful. 

 
• Impairment: This occurs when a physician is no longer able to give the patient the needed 

proper care. Examples are: 
o Being under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs while on duty. 
o Having untreated physical or mental health problems. 
o Overworking, which may lead to the inability to concentrate. 

 
• Lack of Conscientiousness: This occurs when a physician does not fulfill his/her 

responsibilities to patients, colleagues and society. Examples are: 
o Charting poorly. 
o Abandoning patients. 
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o Not returning phone calls or pages. 
o Not responding appropriately or refusing referrals without a good reason. 
o Not providing patient records in a timely manner. 
o Supervising trainees inadequately. 
o Self-medicating without documentation. 
o Not keeping up with the skills and knowledge advances in the scope of 

practice. 
 

• Conflict of Interest: When the physician puts his/her interests above that of the patient and 
society, it is a conflict of interest. Here are a few examples: 

o Ordering diagnostic procedures or treatment from businesses where the 
physician has an interest. 

o Receiving expensive gifts and/or money from drug dispensing companies, 
which causes undue influence. 

 
Adopted May 5, 2005 

 
 

Scope of Practice 
 

The Oregon Legislature has given the Board of Medical Examiners the power to exercise 
general supervision over the practice of medicine and podiatry within the state. Increasingly, health 
professionals, some licensed by this Board and some by other agencies, are seeking to extend the 
scope of their practice and authority. While the ultimate decision on scope of practice issues 
generally rests with the legislature, the Board assists lawmakers by providing complete and accurate 
information upon which to base decisions. 
 

The following factors are considered when the Board reviews scope of practice questions: 
 
 Public safety must be the primary focus; 

 
 The patient should receive the same level of care and informed consent regardless of 

who provides the care; 
 

 Fully qualified providers must perform procedures, whether those providers are 
physicians or other health care professionals. With extensive years of medical training, 
physicians have broad authority and considerable latitude in the scope of their medical 
practice. Health care providers with less formal education need a clearly defined scope of 
practice in keeping with Oregon statutes. 

 
When considering scope of practice changes for professions or individuals under its own 

jurisdiction, the Board considers the following: 
 
1) Education: Has the provider received education from an approved institution with 

national standards?  What is the provider’s core education in terms of residency, post-
graduate education and continuing education courses? 

 
2) Experience: What experience has the practitioner had recently relative to the proposed 

expansion in scope of practice? 
 

3) Level of supervision: When health care professionals work under supervision, the Board 
expects the supervisor to be identified in advance and to be skilled in the procedure 
being supervised. The supervisor must also assume responsibility for delegation of 
duties. 
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4) Back-up assistance available: Before undertaking a scope of practice change, a 

functional back-up system must be identified in advance, with the availability of review 
similar to hospital peer review. 

 
5) Demonstration of skill level: In assessing ability, the Board looks for proficiency 

demonstrated under supervision, documented by an unbiased third party. There needs 
to be verified outcomes following an appropriate number of procedures over a given 
period of time. 

 
Prior to the addition of a diagnostic or therapeutic technique to a health practitioner’s scope 

of practice under any jurisdiction, the Board believes that the following questions should be 
answered in addition to the above outlined standards: 

 
 What is the current standard of practice, and is the skill being added appropriate to the 

professional background? 
 

 What background is sufficient to prepare the professional to perform a given procedure 
safely? 

 
 Does the individual have adequate experience to understand appropriate indications 

and handling of complications? 
 

The citizens of Oregon expect and deserve the same high quality care for the same medical 
service rendered irrespective of the background, training, skill and knowledge of the health care 
provider. It is on this basis that the Board of Medical Examiners carefully reviews questions of 
expanded scope of practice for health care providers. 

 
Adopted July 1999 

 
 

Sexual Misconduct 
 

The Oregon Board of Medical Examiners recognizes that the practice of medicine entails a 
unique relationship between physician and patient.  The patient’s trust and confidence in a 
physician’s professional status grants power and influence to the physician.  
 

Licensees are expected to maintain a professional manner and to avoid behaviors that may 
be misunderstood by or considered offensive by the patient.  Sexual contact or suggestion of any 
sort within a current professional relationship, or any such contact outside the physician-patient 
relationship that exploits the patient’s trust and confidence, is unethical. 
 

Adopted 1995 
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resources 
 
state & federal regulatory & health agencies 
 
Board of Medical Examiners 
1500 S.W. First Avenue, #620 
Portland, Oregon  97201-5847 
(971) 673-2700 
www.oregon.gov/BME  
Executive Director: Kathleen Haley, JD 
 
Department of Human Services, 
Health Services, Public Health 
800 N.E. Oregon Street #21 
Portland, Oregon 97232 
(503) 731-4000 
www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/index.shtml  
Director:  Susan Allan, MD, JD, MPH  

 
Federal Drug Enforcement Agency 
DEA Field Office 
400 2nd Ave W 
Seattle, Washington 98119 
(888) 219-4261 
www.usdoj.gov/dea  
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 professional  medical  organizations 
 
Oregon Medical  Association* 
5210 SW Corbett Ave 
Portland, Oregon 97239 
(503) 226-1555 
www.theoma.org  
Executive  Director:  Jo Bryson 
 
*A list of Oregon’s county and specialty medical 
societies is available through the OMA. 
 
Osteopathic Physicians & Surgeons 
of Oregon 
2121 SW Broadway, Suite 120 
Portland, Oregon 97201 
(503) 222-2779 
www.opso.com  
Executive Director:  Jeff Heatherington 
 
Oregon Podiatric Medical Association 
12658 SE Stark St 
Portland, Oregon  97233 
(503) 256-4018 
www.oregonpodiatry.org 
President:  Lyndon G. Johansen, DPM 
 

Oregon Acupuncture Association 
PO Box 14615 
Portland, Oregon 97293-0615 
(503) 236-4383 
www.oregonacupuncture.org  
President:  David Tara, LAc 
 
Acupuncture & Oriental Medicine 
Society of Oregon 
1245 NW Galveston Ave 
Bend, Oregon 97701 
(541) 383-3424 
President:  Evelyn Brust, LAc 
 
Oregon Society of Physician Assistants 
PO Box 514 
Oregon City, Oregon  97045-0029 
(503) 650-5864 
www.oregonpa.org  
Executive Secretary:  Kristi Beyer 
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OREGON HOSPITALS
 
Adventist Medical Center 
(Adventist Health Northwest) 
10123 SE Market, Portland  97216 
(503) 251-6150 
 
Ashland Community Hospital 
280 Maple St, Ashland  97520 
(541) 482-2441 
 
Bay Area Hospital 
1775 Thompson Rd, Coos Bay  97420 
(541) 269-8111 
 
Blue Mountain Hospital 
170 Ford Rd, John Day  97845 
(541) 575-1311 
 
Casey Eye Institute (OHSU) 
33375 SW Terwilliger Blvd, Portland  97201 
(503) 494-3000  
 
Central Oregon Community Hospital 
1253 N. Canal Blvd, Redmond  97756 
(541) 548-8131 
 
Columbia Douglas Medical Center 
738 W. Harvard Blvd, Roseburg  97470 
(541) 673-6641 
 
Columbia Memorial Hospital 
2111 Exchange St, Astoria  97103 
(503) 325-4321 
 
Coquille Valley Hospital 
940 E. 5th St, Coquille  97423 
(541) 396-3101 
 
Cottage Grove Community Hospital 
(PeaceHealth, Oregon Region) 
1515 Village Dr, Cottage Grove  97424 
(541) 942-0511 
 
Curry General Hospital 
94220 E. 4th, Gold Beach  97444 
(541) 247-6621 
 
Doernbecher Children’s Hospital 
(Oregon Health and Science University) 
3181 S.W. Sam Jackson Park Rd, Portland  97201 
(503) 494-8311 
 
Genesis Recovery Center 
(Asante Health System) 
600 South 2nd, Central Point  97520 
(541) 608-4000 
 
 
 

Good Samaritan Hospital Foundation  
(Samaritan Health Services) 
3600 NW Samaritan Dr, Corvallis  97330 
(541) 766-5172 
 
Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center 
(Samaritan Health Services) 
P.O. Box 1068, Corvallis  97339 
(541) 768-5009 
 
Good Shepherd Medical Center 
(Samaritan Health Services) 
610 N.W. 11th, Hermiston  97838 
(541) 667-3400 
 
Grande Ronde Hospital 
P.O. Box 3290, La Grande  97850 
(541) 963-8421 
 
Harney District Hospital 
557 W. Washington, Burns  97720 
(541) 573-7281 
 
Hearthstone (Asante Health System) 
2901 E. Barnett Rd, Medford  97504 
(541) 779-4221 
 
Holy Rosary Medical Center 
351 S.W.  9th, Ontario  97914 
(541) 881-7000 
 
Kaiser Foundation Northwest Health Plan/Kaiser 
Foundation Hospital (Kaiser Permanente Northwest) 
500 NE Multnomah, Ste 100, Portland  97232 
(503) 813-2800 
 
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center (Kaiser 
Permanente Northeast) 
10180 S.E. Sunnyside Dr, Clackamas  97015 
(503) 652-2880 
 
Lake District Hospital 
700 S. J St, Lakeview  97630 
(541) 947-2114 
 
Lane County Psychiatric Hospital 
151 W. Fifth Ave, Eugene  97401 
(541) 342-1697 
 
Legacy Emanuel Hospital & Health Center 
(Legacy Health System) 
2801 N. Gantenbein, Portland  97227 
(503) 413-200 
 
Legacy Emanuel Children’s Hospital (Legacy Health 
System)  
2801 N. Gantenbein, Portland  97227 
(503) 413-4008 
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Legacy Good Samaritan Hospital & Medical Center 
(Legacy Health System) 
1015 N.W. 22nd Ave, Portland  97210 
(503) 413-7711 
 
Legacy Meridian Park Hospital 
(Legacy Health System) 
19300 S.W. 65th, Tualatin  97062 
(503) 692-1212 
 
Legacy Mount Hood Medical Center 
(Legacy Health System) 
24800 S.E. Stark, Gresham  97030 
(503) 674-1191 
 
Lower Umpqua Hospital 
600 Ranch Road, Reedsport  97467 
(541) 271-2171 
 
McKenzie-Willamette Medical Center 
1460 G St, Springfield  97477 
(541) 726-4400 
 
Mercy Medical Center 
2700 Stewart Pkwy, Roseburg  97470 
(541) 673-0611 
 
Merle West Medical Center 
2865 Daggett, Klamath Falls  97601 
(541) 882-6311 
 
Mid-Columbia Medical Center 
1700 E. 19th St., The Dalles  97058 
(541) 296-1111 
 
Mountain View Hospital 
470 N.E. A St, Madras  97741 
(541) 475-3882 
 
Northwest Permanente Medical Group 
500 NE Multnomah, Ste 100, Portland, OR  97232 
(503) 813-3882 
 
Oregon Health & Science University Hospital 
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd, Portland 97201 
(503) 494-8311 
 
Oregon State Hospital 
2600 Center St, N.E., Salem  97310 
(503) 9454-2800 
 
Peace Harbor Hospital 
(PeaceHealth – Siuslaw Region) 
400 Ninth St, Florence  97439 
(541) 997-8412 
 
Pioneer Memorial Hospital, Heppner 
P.O. Box 9,  Heppner  97836 
(541) 676-9133 
 
 

Pioneer Memorial Hospital, Prineville 
1201 N. Elm, Prineville  97754 
(541) 447-6254 
 
Providence Hood River Memorial Hospital 
(Providence Health Systems) 
P.O. Box 149, Hood River  97031 
(541) 386-3911 
 
Providence Medford Medical Center 
(Providence Health Systems) 
1111 Crater Lake Ave, Medford  97504 
(541) 732-5000 
 
Providence Medical Group 
(Providence Health Systems) 
1235 NE 47th, #209, Portland  97213 
(503) 574-5000 
 
Providence Milwaukie Hospital 
(Providence Health Systems) 
10150 S.E. 32nd, Milwaukie  97222 
(503) 513-8300 
 
Providence Newberg Hospital 
(Providence Health Systems) 
501 Villa Rd, Newberg  97132 
(503) 537-1555 
 
Providence Portland Medical Center 
(Providence Health Systems) 
4805 N.E. Glisan, Portland  97213 
(503) 215-1111 
 
Providence Seaside Hospital 
(Providence Health Systems) 
725 S. Wahanna Rd., Seaside  97138 
(503) 717-7000 
 
Providence St. Vincent Medical Center 
9205 S.W. Barnes Road, Portland  97225 
(503) 216-1234 
 
Rogue Valley Medical Center 
2825 Barnett Rd, Medford  97504 
(541) 608-4900 
 
Sacred Heart Medical Center 
P.O. Box 10905, Eugene  97440 
(541) 686-7300 
 
Salem Hospital 
P.O. Box 14001, Salem  97309 
(503) 561-5200 
 
Samaritan Albany General Hospital 
1040 W. 6th St, Albany  97321 
(503) 812-4000 
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Samaritan Lebanon Community Hospital 
(Samaritan Health Services) 
PO Box 739, Lebanon  97355 
(541) 451-7107 
 
Samaritan North Lincoln Hospital 
(Samaritan Health Services) 
PO Box 767, Lincoln City, 97367 
(541) 994-3661 
 
Samaritan Pacific Communities Hospital 
(Samaritan Health Services) 
PO Box 945, Newport 97365 
(541) 265-2244 
 
Santiam Memorial Hospital 
1401 N. 10th Ave., Stayton  97383 
(503) 769-2175 
 
Serenity Lane 
616 E. 16th, Eugene  97401 
(541) 687-1110 
 
Shriners Hospital for Children 
3101 S.W. Sam Jackson Park Rd, Portland  97201 
(503) 241-5090 
 
Silverton Hospital 
342 Fairview, Silverton  97381 
(503) 873-1500 
 
Southern Coos Hospital & Health Center 
900 11th St. SE, Bandon  97411 
(541) 347-2426 
 
St. Anthony Hospital 
1601 S.E. Court Ave., Pendleton  97801 
(541) 276-5121 
 
St. Charles Medical Center – Bend 
(Cascade Healthcare Community) 
2500 N.E. Neff Rd, Bend  97701 
(541) 382-4321 
 
St. Charles Medical Center – Redmond 
(Cascade Healthcare Community) 
1253 N. Canal Blvd., Redmond  97756 
(541) 548-8131 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

St. Elizabeth Health Services 
3325 Pocahontas Rd, Baker City  97814 
(541) 523-6461 
 
Three Rivers Community Hospital & Health Center 
(Asante Health) 
500 SW Ramsey, Grants Pass  97527 
(541) 476-6831 
 
Tillamook County General Hospital 
(Adventist Health Northwest) 
1000 Third, Tillamook  97141 
(503) 842-4444 
 
Tuality Healthcare 
P.O. Box 309, Hillsboro  97123 
(503) 681-1111 
 
University Hospital - OHSU 
3181 S.W. Sam Jackson Park Rd, Portland  97201 
(503) 494-8311 
 
Veterans Affairs Medical Center 
P.O. Box 1034, Portland  97207 
(503) 220-8262 
 
VA Roseburg Healthcare Systems 
913 NW Garden Valley Blvd, Roseburg  97470 
(541) 440-1000 
 
Wallowa Memorial Hospital 
401 NE 1st St., Enterprise  97828 
(541) 426-3111 
 
West Valley Hospital 
PO Box 378, Dallas  97338 
(503) 623-8301 
 
Willamette Falls Hospital 
1500 Division, Oregon City  97045 
(503) 656-1631 
 
Willamette Valley Medical Center 
2700 SE Stratus Ave., McMinnville  97125 
(503) 472-6131 
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the FOUNDATION FOR MEDICAL EXCELLENCE 
 
The Foundation for Medical Excellence (TFME) is a public, not-for-profit foundation 
established in 1984.  Its mission is to assure that health care in the Pacific Northwest is of 
the highest quality.  The Foundation focuses its energy and resources on problem areas 
identified by state medical boards, seeking solutions through education and research.  The 
Foundation develops and presents a wide range of educational programs, provides 
consultative services, and sponsors in-depth research projects. 
 
Programs sponsored by TFME include: 
 
• On-site educational programs provided at no cost to hospitals.  Most programs last no 

more than an hour and can be scheduled at the medical staff’s convenience.  The 
presenters are experts in their subject areas.  These very effective programs are made 
possible by generous contributions from hospitals, medical staffs, organizations, and 
individuals. 

• Seminars and conferences focusing on topics of broad concern and featuring nationally 
recognized speakers. These intensive one-day and two-day day programs are at central 
locations and benefit physicians from throughout the Pacific Northwest. 

• Quarterly luncheons and special events spotlighting noted speakers on issues of 
special interest. 

• Research projects that probe areas of current concern, such as malpractice, physician-
patient communication, and chemical substance abuse.  These projects produce vital 
information for problem-solving.  

• Northwest Center for Physician-Patient Communication, established in 1994 to pursue 
research, develop educational programs, and serve as a resource center to help 
physicians and their patients communicate more effectively.  The development of this 
new Center was prompted by a study confirming that the benefits of improved 
communication include more accurate diagnoses, greater willingness by patients to 
follow physician instructions, better patient outcomes, and increased satisfaction for 
both patients and physicians.   

• Northwest Center for Physician Well-Being, dedicated to providing physicians with the 
skills to manage change in both their personal and professional lives. Its mission is to 
create healthy physicians through leadership, education and support.  

 
The Center is very active and works closely with the American Academy on Physician and 
Patient, medical schools, state medical Boards and a variety of physician organizations.   
 
The Foundation’s mission is guided by a 16 member Board made up of community leaders 
and health professionals from throughout Oregon.  For additional information, contact the 
foundation office at:  

The Foundation for Medical Excellence 
1 SW Columbia St, Suite 860 

Portland, Oregon  97258 
Phone:  (503) 222-1960 
FAX:  (503) 796-0699 

www.tfme.org 
President:  John Ulwelling
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