Employee Information Sheet
(AFSCME – Military)

Employee Information Sheet 
Congratulations and welcome to the Oregon Military Department, an agency of the State of Oregon. The following forms, in conjunction with the information listed below, is located on the Oregon Military Department State website at: http://www.oregon.gov/OMD/AGP/agp.forms.shtml. You will review this information with your supervisor, during your orientation. Ask your supervisor questions. If you work in an area that does not have internet access, your supervisor may provide printed copies of these necessary documents.  

Form I-9,​​_Employment Eligibility 
The Immigration and Naturalization Law of 1986 requires us to verify that all employees are citizens or aliens authorized to work in the United States, within three business days of hire. You are required to provide specific documents which establish your identity. Instructions concerning the required documents are found on page 2 of the Form I-9. Your supervisor or an authorized person must witness your signature on the Form I-9. This form will be forwarded to AGP where your information will be kept confidential.

Form W-4, Employees Withholding Allowance Certificate 

The Internal Revenue Service requires us to have all new employees complete a Form W-4 Certificate. This form includes instructions for filing exemption allowances. You will be required to include accurate information regarding your complete name and social security number. An improper or incomplete form will result in being taxed at a single rate with zero allowances. 
Employee Emergency Information Record  

Indicate who you would have us contact in the event you are involved in an emergency situation while at work. It is best to provide two options in case one is not available. Completely fill in all requested information. Only provide your Social Security number if you have not been given an OR State Identification number. 
Insurance Information, PEBB Benefit Enrollment 
You must complete your on-line insurance enrollment within 30 days of hire at www/Oregon.gov/DAS/PEBB/2012Benefits/NewHireTOC.shtml. Your health and dental insurance are effective the first of the month following your enrollment.
At your option, within 45 days of the effective date of your coverage, you must complete the Health Engagement Module (HEM). Failure to complete the HEM may result in a premium surcharge.
Public Employees Retirement System (PERS) and Oregon Public Service Retirement Plan (OPSRP) 
After six full months of employment OMD contributes 6% of your salary to the Individual Account Program for PERS and OPSRP.  If you are a current member of PERS, you may be entitled to those contributions upon hire. 
You must designate your PERS beneficiaries by completing an IAP Designation. The IAP Designation indicates the individuals you choose to be the beneficiaries of your retirement benefits in the event of your death. It is your responsibility to send your IAP Designation directly to AGC.
Locate the IAP Designation form at:

http://oregon.gov/PERS/MEM/section/forms/iap.shtml.

Select IAP: Pre-Retirement Designation of Beneficiary Packet. 

Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Self-Identification Form 
You will receive a self-identification form to complete. If you choose not to complete this form, the federal government requires the state to determine this information by visual survey or other available information.   

Electronic Deposit 
You may elect to have your pay electronically deposited into your bank account or to an AccelaPay payroll card. For more information, go to: http://oregon.gov/DAS/SCD/OSPS/form.shtml. Locate the direct deposit form or accelapay pay card form at: 
Timekeeping 
The hours you work are recorded electronically or on paper, depending on your work location. Your supervisor will explain timekeeping procedures to you.  

Paycheck Stub Information 
The Payroll website has on-line information about your paycheck stub.  The web address is: http://oregon.gov/DAS/SCD/OSPS/pubs.shtml. Go to, “Employee Fact Sheets,” then “Guide to Reading Your Pay Stub.”
Employee Assistance Program (EAP) 
The State of Oregon has a contract with Cascade Centers Inc. to provide employees a limited number of visits per issue with an EAP counselor at no charge to the employee. Services the EAP provides include more than just counseling. Visit the EAP website for more information:

http://oregon.gov/DAS/PEBB/EAP.shtml.  

Collective Bargaining Agreements (CBAs) 
You are represented by AFSCME Council 75 Local 3932. Your Collective Bargaining Agreement is located on line at: http://oregon.gov/DAS/HR/CBAs.shtml. Choose the Oregon Military Department link containing your current contract. Employees who elect not to be members of the union, per ORS fair share payments in lieu of dues to the union, per ORS 243.650 (10) and AFSCME council 75 Local 3932.  If nonassociation is elected because of a bona fide religious tenet, an equivalent payment may be made to a mutually agreed upon charity, per ORS 243.666 (1). The union is obligated to represent you regardless if you elect to be a member of the union. Your CBA allows a union representative to participate in an agency new employee orientation or otherwise provide the union an opportunity to meet with you. The union representative will give you information about union membership.
Sick Leave 
Sick leave is accrued at eight hours per month. It can be used the first of the month following the month of accrual. Sick leave is prorated for part-time employees. Sick leave balances carry over from year to year. There is no limit to the amount of sick leave you can accrue. For more information refer to your CBA. 
Vacation Leave 
Vacation accrual rates are different depending on your position and are prorated for part-time employees. Leave accrual rates increase with longevity at five year increments. A new employee is eligible to use vacation leave on the first of the month following six full calendar months of employment. For accrual rates, maximum accrual allowed, and maximum payoff allowed see Article 32 of the CBA. 

Personal Business Leave

Twenty-four (24) hours of leave per year is given on July 1st.  This leave must be used before June 30th of the following year or it will be forfeited. Personal Business leave is prorated for part-time employees. You must have completed six months of state service in order to use this time. For specific provisions regarding Personal Business Leave, refer to Article 28 of the CBA.

Special Day (often called Governor’s Leave) 

This paid leave shall be accrued by all employees employed as of the day before Thanksgiving or Christmas each year. Refer to Article 30 Section 2 of the CBA.
Wellness and Safety 
OMD promotes wellness and safety for its employees. Employees are expected to practice good safety techniques to ensure a safe and healthy environment. Immediately report all accidents and potential hazards to HR or your supervisor. There are links to wellness and safety pages on our website at www.oregon.gov/OMD/AGP/index.shtml.

Agency and Section Expectations 
Your supervisor may give you written or verbal expectations regarding workplace performance, behavior and activities.  

Position Description 
You have a position description that describes the purpose of your position and duties assigned in order to accomplish this purpose. You will be asked to sign your position description.

Orientation to Section and Workspace 
This orientation will acquaint you with your work area and the unit to which you are assigned. You will have an opportunity to meet your coworkers and ask questions.

Phone Numbers   

· Supervisor ___________________________

· Payroll: Theresa Klopenstein: 503-584-3880 
· Human Resources 503-584-3588
Your Payroll representative can answer questions about your paycheck and your Human Resource representative can answer questions about employment with the State of Oregon.  

Agency Policies 
The Oregon Military Department has a unique set of policies that govern the business of the agency and employee performance. You will be sent a letter with your employee identification number (EIN) and a list of State and agency policies to read. If you have questions about agency policies, please ask your supervisor. You will be asked to sign and date a form indicating you read the agency policies. Return this form to AGP as soon as possible.
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