Requesting Family and
Medical Leave

An employee must follow agency
procedures to request leave.

Thirty days advance notice is gener-
ally required for a planned absence
under FMLA and OFLA.In the
event of an emergency, an employee
should contact his or her supervisor
or the agency’s human resource
office as soon

as possible.

Depending on the leave type, an
agency may require an employee to
provide appropriate

certification verifying the need for
leave.

Resources

State HR Policy 60.000.15
Family and Medical Leave

http://oregon.gov/IDAS/OP/policies.shtml
A collective bargaining agreement

Posted in your work area

Oregon Family Leave Act, Notice to
Employers and Employees

U.S. DOL Employee Rights Under the
Family and Medical Leave Act
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Medlcal Leave

Federal and state laws

protect an eligible employee’s
absence from work under
certain conditions.




ENTITLEMENT AND PURPOSE

ELIGIBILITY

Under both FMLA and OFLA

Under most circumstances, an eligible
employee is allowed up to 12 weeks of
FMLA and OFLA leave for Parental leave,
or to tend to the employee’s own serious
health condition or the serious health
condition of the employee’s spouse, par-
ent or child under 18 years of age.

Also under FMLA

An employee may use the |2-week
entitlement for FMLA Qualifying Exi-
gency leave resulting from an employee’s
spouse, parent or child’s (no age limit) call
to active duty in the military.

An employee is allowed up to 26 weeks
of FMLA Military Caregiver leave to

care for the employee’s spouse, parent,
child or next of kin who is a covered
servicemember who has a serious illness
or injury incurred in the line of duty on
active duty.

Also under OFLA

OFLA also allows an employee to use his

or her |2-week entitlement to tend to the
serious health condition of his or her child
of any age, parent-in-law, grandparent, grand-
child, same-sex domestic partner and the
child or parent of the employee’s same-sex
domestic partner, or to tend to the em-
ployee’s child under 18 with a non-serious
health condition requiring home care.

An eligible female
employee who takes any
amount of OFLA leave
for pregnancy disability
may take up to 12 weeks
of additional OFLA leave
for any OFLA purpose.

An eligible employee using 12 weeks of
OFLA Parental leave may take up to another
|2 weeks of leave under OFLA to care

for a sick child with a non-serious health
condition.

OFLA also allows an employee to use his or

s

Federal Family and Medical

Leave Act (FMLA)

An employee must work for Oregon
state government |2 months (with no
more than a seven-year break in ser-
vice) and work 1250 hours during the

[ 2-month period immediately preceding
the leave.

Oregon Family Leave Act
(OFLA)

Parental leave: employee must work
for Oregon state government at least
|80 calendar days immediately preceding
the date the leave begins.

Serious health condition or Sick
Child leave: work 180 days (described
above) plus work 25 hours per week
average.

Military Family leave: must work
an average of 20 hours per week (no
| 80-day requirement).




