Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Hazard Mitigation Grant Programs

Unified Hazard Mitigation Assistance - Non-Disaster Grant Opportunities

FEMA has announced availability of the Unified Hazard Mitigation Assistance non-disaster grant programs for Federal Fiscal Year 2013. Since we are in the Fourth Quarter of FY2013, the application period for this program offering is short. Sub-applications are developed by eligible sub-applicants in FEMA’s e-Grants system and submitted to Oregon Emergency Management (OEM) as the applicant to the program offering.

If you are interested in applying for non-disaster mitigation grant funding, you are encouraged to contact OEM directly for information on this year’s program offering, access to e-Grants and to discuss program eligibility requirements. Sub-applicant eligibility includes cities and counties with FEMA-approved natural hazard mitigation plans. Private property owners are not eligible to apply directly; they must contact their eligible jurisdiction (city or county).


Primary Point of Contact (PDM and FMA):
Oregon Emergency Management
State Hazard Mitigation Officer
(503)378-2911, x22247
Alternate Point of Contact (FMA and Questions on NFIP Loss Data):
Christine Shirley
Oregon Dept. of Land Conservation and Development
NFIP Coordinator
(503)373-0050, x250


The Fiscal Year 2013 update of the Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Unified Guidance and Addendum has been released and is now available on FEMA’s website at www.fema.gov/hazard-mitigation-assistance. Please note, the Guidance and Addendum are separate documents. The Guidance is effective for all Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) activities for disasters declared on or after the July 12, 2013. The Guidance is effective for FY13 Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Programs.


FEMA will open the PDM and FMA application period on July 19, 2013 and close the application period on October 18, 2013. Please go to grants.gov for the PDM and FMA Funding Opportunity Announcements.
Back to Top

FY13 Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM)

Applicants will be limited to 5 sub-applications (project and planning) plus a management costs sub-application
The following priorities, developed by FEMA, for funding will be used for PDM selections:
1.    The #1 ranked sub-application in each State and Territory if the sub-application is within the 1% set-aside or $250,000. If the #1 ranked sub-application is greater than $250,000 that sub-application will be considered after all other State and Territory set-asides are selected.
2.    Planning Sub-applications
3.    Indian Tribal Government Sub-applications (in Oregon, the Tribes apply directly to FEMA for the HMA grant programs)
4.    Non flood projects from Applicants with no open HMGP declaration
5.    Non-flood projects from Applicants with an open HMGP declaration
6.    Flood mitigation projects
Back to Top

FY13 Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)

1.   FMA funding for mitigation planning will be limited to $100,000 for States and Territories.
2.   Sub-applications containing higher ratios of SRL properties will receive priority over other projects. In Oregon, floodplain property acquisitions (“buy-outs” of residential properties that have sustained repetitive flood losses) are preferred because of the short application period.
For more information from the FEMA Website:
Back to Top