Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Press Release
May 06, 2009
Military Family Appreciation Day
 
In recognition of the sacrifices made by Oregon military families, Governor Theodore
Kulongoski has declared May 8 Military Families Appreciation Day.

Events to honor the sacrifices of the military family will be taking place in numerous communities around Oregon. Below is the list of events, locations and points of contact for further information.

Astoria/Warrenton
Donna Nyberg (503) 320-2050 jdnyberg@bradwitt.com 
5:00 - 8:00 pm Camp Rilea Patriot Way, Warrenton

Bend
Roy Morris (541) 388-6079 roy.g.morris@state.or.us 
6:00 - 8:00 pm River Front Plaza Downtown Bend

Canby
Troy Buzalsky (503) 572-5504 tbuzalsky@canbyfire.org 
6:00 - 8:00 pm Clackamas County Fair & Event Center 694 NE 4th Ave, Canby

Coos Bay
Robin Thomas (541) 396-3121 x 258 rthomas@co.coos.or.us 
6:00 - 8:00 pm Eagles Lodge 568 S. 2nd Street, Coos Bay

Independence
Stan Peterson (503) 838-5758 SPeterson@monmouthchristian.org 
6:00 - 9:00 pm Gentle Woods Park Monmouth

Klamath Falls
Tami Narramore (541) 885-6112 tamra.narramore@orklam.ang.af.mil 
5:30 - 6:30 pm Klamath Christian Ctr 6100 Church Hill Drive, K-Falls

La Grande
Jodi Marsh (541) 910-3210 jomooney@aim.com 
5:30 - 9:00 pm Riverside Park Spruce Street, La Grande

McMinnville
Rep Weidner/Derry (503) 986-1424 rep.jimweidner@state.or.us 
6:00 - 9:00 pm Evergreen Museum 500 NE Capt. Michael King Way, McMinnville
****Free admission for all military families
 
Medford
Chris Patrone (541) 826-2111 x 3230 christopher.petrone2@va.gov 
5:00 -8:00 pm Jerusalem Center 6 Mace Rd, Medford

Vale/Ontario/Nyssa
Ronald Verini, Chris Sandoval (541) 881-8881 help@veteranadvocates.org 
happyfeet48@cableone.net 
6:00 - 9:00 pm American Legion Post #96 436 Main St., Vale

Roseburg
Joe Laurance 541) 440-4201 laurance@co.douglas.or.us 

Salem
Art Cummins (503) 399-2400 abcpc_2000@yahoo.com 
4:00 - 5:30 American Legion Post #136 4774 Lilac Lane N.E., Salem
**6:00 pm at 14th Annual Viking Battalion (Army) JROTC awards program at North Salem HS

Springfield
Tom & Laurel Laing (541) 729-1268 honoringveterans@aol.com 
6:00 - 8:00 pm Day Island Park Springfield
*****If it rains they will meet at Springfield City Hall (where the farmers market is located)