Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
ATV Permits
ATV Permit Information
You must display an ATV permit if you are operating your ATV on public land (and even then, the land must be specifically designated for ATV use).

The ATV Permit Fee is $10.00 (Most permit agents charge an extra .50), and it is valid for two years.  See the latest permit agent list.  There are four classes of ATVs (see below).

 
Out of state ATV Permits
An ATV/OHV operating permit that is issued in another state shall be honored in the State of Oregon if the issuing state also honors an Oregon ATV operating permit. 
 
Regardless of the class of ATV, an operator must have a resident state ATV/OHV operating permit or a State of Oregon ATV operating permit to operate the ATV on public lands in Oregon. An Oregon ATV Operating Permit may be issued to any class ATV owned by a resident of another state.
 
Oregon honors permits from the following states:
 
Arizona         

California
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Utah 
 
 
 
These states currently have an OHV registration program that can issue a plate or decal (or both) that serves as their ATV permit to operate on or off-road. This plate may or may not make the OHV street legal to be operated on public roads and highways. Oregon recognizes other states' OHV plates or ATV permits in lieu of the Oregon ATV permit when operating off-road.
 
 
Class I Permits
Class I ATVs
(ATVs, 3 Wheelers)
 
Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class ATV
 
 





Defined:

  • For vehicles 50 inches wide or less
  • Dry weight of 1,200 pounds or less
  • Uses handlebars for steering;
  • Has a seat designed to be straddled for the operator
  • Travels on three or more pneumatic tires that are six inches or more in width and has wheels with a rim diameter 14" or less.
  • Meet the safety equipment standards for off road vehicles.
 

Operator requirements (applies only to public OHV riding areas):

 
Class II Permits
Jeeps traveling on an unmaintained dirt road.
(4x4s)
 
Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class ATV
 
 
 




Defined: 

  • Weighs more than or is wider than a Class I all-terrain vehicle
  • Is not a Class IV all-terrain vehicle
  • Is actually being operated off a highway

 Operator requirements (applies only to public OHV riding areas):

  • A valid drivers license.

  • Youth under 18 must wear a DOT approved helmet with the chin strap fastened (unless vehicle is registered and has a roof or roll bar).

  • Youth under 16 must wear seatbelts if the OHV is equipped with them.

  • Meet the safety equipment standards for off road vehicles.

  • Check with law enforcement officials in the area you wish to ride for any special requirements.

  • Liability insurance is required by law for all Class II vehicles (ref: ORS 806.012 & 806.020). Contact your insurance company for more information. 

    *A vehicle Title is often required to finance or insure any Class of ATV.  Contact  Department of Motor Vehicles for vehicle Titling information.
     
     
 
 
Class III Permits
Class III motorcycle
Tom Niemela photo
(Motorcycles)
 
Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class ATV






Defined:

 
    

Operator requirements (applies only to public OHV riding areas):

  • Must be at least 7 years of age

  • All operators must hold a valid ATV Safety Education Card

  • Youth must also successfully complete a hands-on training course 

  • Youth under 16 must be supervised by an adult who is at least 18 years old and holds a valid ATV Safety Education Card and can provide immediate assistance and direction to the children.

  • Youth under 18 must wear a DOT approved helmet with the chin strap fastened.
     
 
 
 
Class IV Permits
Class IV ATV
(Side-by-sides)
 
 
Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class ATV
 
 




Defined:

  • Is 65 inches wide or less at its widest point.
  • Has a dry weight of 1,800 pounds or less
  • Has nonstraddle seating
  • Has a steering wheel for steering control
  • Travels on four or more pneumatic tires that are six inches or more in width and has wheels with a rim diameter 14" or less. 
 
 
 

Operator requirements (applies only to public OHV riding areas):

 
  • All Class IV operators must have a valid driver's license with the exception of vehicles whose manufacturer recommendation allows for younger ages.  
          Example: the Polaris RZR 170 manufacturer recommendation is for riders 10 years old and   
          older. A youth 10 and older is allowed to operate this vehicle if that youth has been trained and
          has a valid ATV Safety Education Card
  • Youth under 16 operating a Class IV ATV must be accompanied by a person who is at least 18 years of age, who holds a valid  ATV Safety Education Card and who is able to provide immediate assistance and direction to the child.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ocean Shores-ATV Permits


Ocean Shore ATV Operating Permits are issued by OPRD. A person with a disability can establish they are entitled to a reasonable accommodation by providing OPRD a copy of physician’s letter; DMV disabled placard; Veterans letter; or Oregon State Parks Special Access Pass.

Once established, they can qualify for a permit to operate a quad (Class I ATV) or side x side (Class IV ATV) on the ocean shore areas open to motorized use. However, upon request from an individual with a disability, OPRD may issue such a permit for sections closed to motorized use using criteria established under OAR 736-004-0062.

For more information specific to the Ocean Shore ATV Operating Permit, please contact (541) 265-9871 for the north coast (Clatsop-Lincoln), and (541) 888- 9324 Ext 227, for the south coast (Lane-Curry).  

 
Snowmobiles
OPRD does not issue snowmobile registrations, snowmobile permits, or sno-park permits. All snowmobile registrations and permits are issued through DMV.  Please contact the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services.  Their phone number is (503) 945-5000.