Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Advisory Committees

Oregon Recreation Trails Advisory Council (ORTAC)

The Oregon Recreation Trails Advisory Council (ORTAC) was established in 1971 as part of the Oregon Recreation Trails System Act.  The impetus of the act was to provide for the ever-increasing outdoor recreation needs of an expanding resident and tourist population and to promote public access to the outdoor gems of Oregon. 
ORTAC consists of seven members, at least one from each congressional district and not less than two members from separate counties bordering upon the ocean shore.  Members of the Council are appointed by the OPRD commission, serve at the pleasure of the Commission for four-year terms, and are eligible for reappointment.


ORTAC is advisory to the Commission and the Department on subjects related to non-motorized recreational trails.  They advise on the development of trails and the Statewide Trails Plan to ensure trails are established both near the urban areas of this state and to the highly scenic areas more remotely located. 
ORTAC designates state significant trails to highlight the best urban and scenic trails in Oregon. Members of the Council may serve on a variety of other OPRD committees responsible for reviewing grant-funding proposals and developing statewide plans.
The following is a TENTATIVE list of the upcoming quarterly meetings:
January 27     Coos Bay
April 21          Newberg
July 21           Astoria
October 27     Klamath Falls

Interested in joining ORTAC? Fill out the following form and send it to:

OPRD contact:
David L. Stipe, IPS Manager


Interest Form  (108 KB Word)


Back to Top

Scenic Bikeway Advisory Committee

OPRD’s Scenic Bikeway Program is a result of a partnership between OPRD, Travel Oregon, ODOT and Cycle Oregon.  This partnership piloted the process of developing the first Scenic Bikeway, the Willamette Valley Scenic Bikeway, in 2005.  To establish other Scenic Bikeways proposed by local proponents, OPRD revised the recreation trails administrative rules to include Scenic Bikeways as a state designated trail category.  The revision also created the Scenic Bikeway Committee.

The Scenic Bikeway Committee consists of 11 appointed volunteer members that represent a citizen at large, a cycling advocacy organization, Travel Oregon, ODOT, a federal land manager, Oregon Destination Marketing Organizations, Association of Oregon Counties, League of Oregon Cities, Oregon Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee, Oregon Recreation Trails Advisory Council and OPRD.

The Scenic Bikeway Committee is appointed by the director and they evaluate and recommend routes to ORTAC for designation.  The committee also advises OPRD on the development and implementation of the Scenic Bikeway Program.

Scenic Bikeway Committee Current Members

Back to Top

All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Grant Committees

There are two ATV Committees. 

The All-Terrain Vehicle Advisory Committee’s mission is to make a positive difference in the   Off-highway Vehicle recreational experience by interacting with the public and utilizing resources in making recommendations to the OPRD Commission regarding off-highway vehicle classifications, safety requirements in all classes to protect riders and the future funding of ATV grant projects.

The ATV Advisory Committee consists of a Class I organization, Class II organization, Class III organization, Class IV organization, ATV user at large, Law Enforcement Agency, U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, Department of Forestry, Oregon Vehicle Dealer Association, Department of Transportation, Department of Human Services, Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife, ADA representative, Rural Fire Protection District, Emergency Medical Services Provider and a Non-voting member from Oregon Parks and Recreation Department.

The ATV Advisory Grant Subcommittee's purpose is to interact with the public and utilize resources to review and make recommendations to OPRD regarding the funding of ATV/OHV grants in the following categories; operation and maintenance, law enforcement, emergency services, land acquisition, planning, future development of ATV/OHV trail opportunities in Oregon’s OHV recreation areas.

The ATV Advisory Grant subcommittee consists of a Class I Representative, Class II Representative, Class III Representative, Class IV Representative, Member-at-large, Law Enforcement Representative and a ADA Representative.

For more information about the Committees, click here.

Back to Top

Recreation Grants Program (RTP)

The committee provides advice to the RTP Coordinator and Oregon Parks and Recreation Department Director regarding program policy and procedures. The committee is instrumental in developing project eligibility, selection criteria, and recommending projects for funding to the Director for approval by the Oregon Parks Commission.

For more information about the Committee, click here.

Back to Top

Local Government- Grant Advisory Committee

The Local Government Grant Advisory Committee is composed of ten members appointed by the OPRD Director.

For more information about the Committee, click here.

Back to Top

County Opportunity-County Parks Assistance Advisory Committee

This advisory committee is composed of seven members appointed by the Director, and reviews all project applications.  

For more information about the Committee, click here.

Back to Top

Land & Water Conservation Fund-Oregon Outdoor Recreation Committee (OORC)

The OORC is a nine-member committee appointed by the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department Director. The committee meets annually and at othertimes upon the call of the Director. The committee members serve non-concurrent four-year terms and represent the following
  •  Counties east of the Cascade Mountains;

  •  Counties west of the Cascade Mountains;

  •  Cities under 15,000 populations;

  •  Cities over 15,000 populations;

  •  Park and Recreation Districts, Metropolitan Service District or Port Districts

  •  Oregon Parks and Recreation Department

  •  People with Disabilities

  •  Minorities; or Representatives from Tribal Governments

  •  Public-at-Large


Selection of committee members shall be from lists supplied by the Oregon Parks Association,

Association of Oregon Counties, League of Oregon Cities, Oregon Recreation and Park Association,

Special Districts Association of Oregon, and recommendations from the Director.


For more information about the Committee, click here.

Back to Top