Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Advanced Practice Licensure

General Information

breast self-exam teaching
There are three types of advanced practice nurse in Oregon: Nurse Practitioner, Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and Clinical Nurse Specialist.  There are nine nurse practitioner specialties: adult; acute; women's health care; geriatric (until 2015); pediatric; psychiatric mental health; family; neonatal, and nurse midwife.
 
Generally, you are eligible to apply for Nurse Practitioner and CNS certification if you are a currently licensed RN in Oregon, have a Master's or Doctoral Degree in Nursing, and have graduated from an appropriate specialty program.  CRNAs educated after Jan. 1, 2001, also must have a Master's Degree.  Specifically, you must meet the OSBN's education, practice and legal requirements for each type (Refer to the Oregon Nurse Practice Act and Administrative Rules http://www.oregon.gov/OSBN/adminrules.shtml.).  Prescriptive authority requirements are found in Division 56 of the Oregon Nurse Practice Act (OAR 851-056).

Back to Top

Eligibility

Nurse Practitioner
  • You must hold a current, unencumbered Oregon RN license.
  • You must have graduated from a NLNAC- or CCNE-accredited master's or doctoral degree nursing program. (You will need to arrange for your official transcript to be sent to us--see the NP Application Packet for details.)
  • You must hold national certification in a NP specialty through one of the OSBN-approved organizations (click here for a list).
  • You must have:
    • graduated from a nurse practitioner program specific to the NP category you are seeking within the last year; or,
    • graduated from a nurse practitioner program specific to the NP category you are seeking & practiced as a nurse practitioner at least 192 hours within the last two years; or,
    • practiced a minimum of 960 hours as a nurse practitioner within the last five years.
  • All initial NP applicants must provide documentation of a minimum of 384 hours of RN practice, which includes assessment and management of clients and is not completed as an academic clinical requirement or continuing education program.  This requirement is waived for individuals practicing in the specialty area as a licensed certified nurse practitioner in another state for at least 384 hours in the advanced practice role. 
  • The practice requirement allows for advanced nursing practice in a teaching, research, consulting or supervisory role in addition to direct practice.
  • All nurse practitioner applicants must additionally meet the requirements for prescriptive authority found in Division 56 of the Oregon Nurse Practice Act.

Clinical Nurse Specialist
  • You must hold a current, unencumbered Oregon RN license.
  • You must have graduated from a NLNAC- or CCNE-accredited master's or doctoral degree nursing program. (You will need to arrange for your official transcript to be sent to us--see the CNS Application Packet for details.)
  • You must have graduated from an accredited CNS program in the last five years, or practiced a minimum of 960 hours in a RN/CNS scope of practice during the last five years to meet the practice requirement.
  • CNSs are eligible to apply for prescriptive authority, but are not required to do so.

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist
  • You must hold a current, unencumbered Oregon RN license.
  • You must have graduated from a COA-accredited nurse anesthetist program. (You will need to arrange for your official transcript to be sent to us--see the CRNA Application Packet for details.)
  • You must hold a current national certification from the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists.
  • You must meet the practice requirement of:
    • graduation within the last two years, or 
    • practiced 850 hours or more as a CRNA (outside Oregon) within the last two years.

Back to Top

Fees & Refund Policy

Fees for Initial Advanced Practice Licensure

Advanced Practice Licensure Renewal Fees
  • Nurse Practitioner:  $300 (with prescriptive authority)
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA):  $200
  • Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS):  $220 (without prescriptive authority)
  • Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS):  $300 (with prescriptive authority)
Please Note:  Effective January 1, 2010, NP and CNS Prescriptive Privilege renewal and reactivation fees include a $50 biennial fee for the Electronic Prescription Monitoring fund established by Oregon Senate Bill 355.
 
If you need to renew your license, you may do so online (click here).

Refund Policy
Fees submitted as part of the application process are not refundable, per ORS 678.410(2).  Be certain that you intend to complete the process before submitting your payment.  If you have any questions regarding your eligibility, please call our Customer Service Center at 971-673-0685.

If an error has been made in your payment, contact OSBN Information: 971-673-0685, or e-mail oregon.bn.info@state.or.us to request a review of your account.  Allow 10 working days for the refund to be processed as a credit to your credit card account.

Back to Top

Renewal Information

When will my license/certificate expire?
Nursing licenses and certificates are good for two years and expire at midnight on your birthday--in even years if you were born in an even year, or in odd years if you were born in an odd year.
 
You should receive a renewal notice from the OSBN approximately six-to-eight weeks before your license expires, assuming you have kept your mailing address up-to-date with the OSBN office. Failure to receive this courtesy notice in the mail, however, does not relieve you of your responsibility to maintain a current license.

Advanced Practice Renewal Requirements
Advanced practice nurses also must hold a current RN license. Keep in mind that advanced practice hours count toward RN practice hours for renewal, but RN practice hours do not count toward advanced practice renewal.
 
Nurse Practitioner:
  • Practice Requirement:
    • Practice as a NP for a minimum of 960 hours during the last five years; or
    • Graduate from a NP education program within the past year; or
    • Graduate from a NP education program and practice as a NP at least 192 hours within the last two years.
  • Continuing education: Complete 100 hours of continuing education within the past two years prior to renewal date. For new graduates (graduated within the past two years), the hours are prorated based on the length of time between graduation and the first renewal.
  • National certification as a NP may count for up to 50 hours of structured CE.
Clinical Nurse Specialist:
  • Practice as a CNS for no less than 960 hours within the past five years prior to renewal, or have completed a re-entry program.
  • Complete 40 hours of continuing education during the past two years prior to renewal.
  • National certification as a CNS may count for up to 20 hours of structured CE.
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA):
  • Practice as a CRNA for a minimum of 850 hours within the past two years or graduate from a nurse anesthesia educational program within the past two years.
  • Hold current certification from the Council on Certification or Council of Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists.
  • Complete 40 hours of continuing education approved by the AANA during the past two years prior to renewal. For new graduates (graduated within the past two years), the hours are prorated based on the length of time between graduation and the first renewal.

 

Link to Continuing Education Audit FAQs

Back to Top

Background Checks

The OSBN conducts a criminal records check through the Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) on every application.  A national fingerprint-based criminal records check is required for all Exam, Endorsement, and Reactivation applicants, and for late Renewals that are 61 or more days past expiration date.  You are required to work with an OSBN investigator/advisor if you have a criminal record.  Providing details of your criminal history (if any) or previous disciplinary actions taken against your license or certificate by another state´s Board of Nursing (if any) is part of the application process and must be completed before your license will be issued.  Some individuals may be denied licensure based on their criminal or disciplinary histories.
 
Click here to view Frequently Asked Questions about fingerprinting.

Back to Top