Applicants for new licensure/certification or reactivation of a previously-issued Oregon license/certificate now have their fingerprints taken via Livescan, a digital process for fingerprint capture. The new process is easier, more reliable, and produces results faster than the traditional ink-and-paper method.
What is the difference between Livescan fingerprints and print cards?
Traditional fingerprints are taken by rolling each fingertip on an ink pad, and then onto a paper card. Because of the variations in how people’s fingertips take the ink and the pressure used to print the card, this method has a higher percentage of difficulty in retrieving a readable fingerprint. Livescan fingerprints produce a digital image that can be transmitted electronically; this provides for a faster and more accurate fingerprint collection process.
Why switch to digital fingerprinting?
The State of Oregon has worked during the last two legislative sessions to make fingerprint background checks more efficient and less burdensome for healthcare workers, while maintaining the safety of Oregonians. One of these efforts is to switch to digital fingerprint capture. Digital fingerprinting is easier for applicants, more reliable, and produces results faster, thus reducing the time it takes to get a license. The state has contracted with Fieldprint Inc. to handle fingerprint collection services. Fieldprint Inc. has the largest network of Livescan collection sites in the country.
How do I schedule an appointment to have my fingerprints collected?
A. First, you must apply for a license:
i. If you currently have a RN or LPN license in a US state or jurisdiction other than Oregon,
apply for an Oregon RN or LPN license via our online Endorsement System:
Click here for a link to online system
ii. If you are a new nursing graduate or an international nurse and are applying for your first
U.S. RN or LPN license, apply with a paper form: Click here
iii. If you are a CNA certified in a US state or jurisdiction other than Oregon, or you are a first-
time CNA applicant in Oregon, apply with a paper form: Click here
iv. Do you need to reactivate an Oregon RN, LPN, or CNA license/certificate that has been
expired more than 60 days? Click here to apply
B. Look for your “Next Steps” email sent from the Oregon State Board of Nursing (don’t forget to check
in your junk mail folder). Once we have received your application and payment, we will send you a
Next Steps email with directions for what to do next, including instructions on how to get
C. The Next Steps email contains a link that will take you to the Oregon State Board of Nursing section
of Fieldprint’s website. This link is unique to your application and cannot be used by any other
applicant or licensing board.
D. Once at Fieldprint’s website, click “Schedule an Appointment” and you will be prompted to create a
secure user account.
E. Enter an email address under “New Users/Sign Up” and click the “Sign Up” button. Follow the
instructions for creating a Password and Security Question and then click “Sign Up and Continue.”
F. You will be prompted to enter all demographic information required by the State of Oregon. Once
this step is complete, you will be able to search for a fingerprinting location and schedule an
appointment at a date and time most convenient for you.
G. Pay the $64.50 background check fee via Fieldprint’s website.
H. At the end of the process, print the Confirmation Page. Take the Confirmation Page with you to your
fingerprint appointment, along with two forms of identification.
I. If you have any questions or problems, you may contact Fieldprint’s customer service team at 877-
614-4364 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
What if I don’t have an email address?
We will send you the Fieldprint link via U.S. mail. Please note that this will add approximately five business days to your licensure process.
Do I need to schedule an appointment?
Yes, an appointment is required to be fingerprinted. Walk-ins are not accepted.
I am not currently in the state of Oregon. Can I be fingerprinted in another state?
Yes, applicants may be printed in another state. Simply click “Schedule an Appointment“ to find the most convenient collection site. Fieldprint has collection sites located throughout the U.S.
What personal information do I need to complete to register?
The State of Oregon and the FBI require the following demographic information to conduct a fingerprint-based background check:
B. Alias (if any)
C. Country of Citizenship
D. Social Security Number
E. Date of Birth
F. City & State of Birth
K. Eye Color
L. Hair Color
M. Home Address
N. Work/Office Address
O. Phone Number
P. Email Address
How can I be sure that my personal information is protected during the fingerprinting process?
What do I need to bring to my fingerprinting appointment?
A. Two (2) forms of identification, at least one (1) of which must be a valid government-issued
B. Your appointment Confirmation Page.
What types of ID are accepted by Fieldprint?
Acceptable primary IDs include:
A. State-issued Driver’s License
B. State-issued Non-Driver’s License ID Card
C. U.S. Passport
D. Military Identification Card
E. Work Visa w/ Photo
F. DOD Common Access Card
G. Foreign Driver’s License
Acceptable secondary IDs include:
A. Credit Card
B. Bank Statement
C. Electric Bill
D. Birth Certificate
E. Marriage Certificate
F. Citizenship or Naturalization Certificate
G. School ID w/ Photograph
H. Vehicle Registration/Title
I. Voter Registration Card
J. Bank Statement/Paycheck Stub
K. Draft Record
L. Native American tribal document
What if I fail to show up for my appointment or cancel in less than 24 hours?
If you do not show up for your appointment, or you cancel your appointment within less than 24 hours of your scheduled date and time, you will be charged a rescheduling fee.
What happens after my fingerprints are taken?
The background checks are processed by the Oregon State Police and FBI, and results are sent electronically to the Oregon Board of Nursing. Once the OSBN receives the results of your background check, our Licensing staff will either complete the licensure process and issue you a license/certificate or contact you for more information.
You should receive a license/certificate or be contacted by our staff for more information within five to seven business days once we receive your background check results, assuming we have received any other documents that may be required for your license type (educational transcripts, etc.). Note: Results are dependent upon processing times of the Oregon State Police and the FBI, which are subject to change.
What happens if my fingerprints are rejected?
While Livescan fingerprint collection process is very good at recording all of the details of most individuals' fingerprints, there are cases where an individual fingerprint file cannot be “read” by the FBI’s automated fingerprint information system. In these situations, the applicant will be notified about the fingerprint rejection, and then the applicant will contact Fieldprint to reschedule a fingerprint collection at no cost if the fingerprints were collected at a Livescan location. If the fingerprints were collected at a non-Livescan location, additional fees apply.
Who do I contact if I have not received a fingerprint rejection notice and my license/certificate has not been issued yet?
Please contact the OSBN directly if you have not received notice from our office regarding your license or a fingerprint rejection letter, or if you have not been contacted by an OSBN staff member, within 15 business days of submitting your fingerprints.
I have been fingerprinted several times in the past. Are you able to use those prints?
No. Any fingerprints that you had collected in the past are not retrievable or transferable from other state or federal agencies.