Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

OSBN Nursing Practice Committee
Committee Information


The Nursing Practice Committee responds to issues regarding RN/LPN scope of practice, and requests for rule review or formulation.  Components of the committee are as follows.

  • Committee meetings are held on a quarterly basis.
  • Committee meetings comply with the Oregon Public Meeting Law.
  • Committee members serve two-year terms.
  • Committee members represent a geographical diversity and a variety of healthcare practice settings.
  • Committee goal is to review/revise current Board policies, position statements, and administrative rules as directed and with the schedule set by the Board/Board staff, including responding to requests formally submitted on the Request for OSBN Issue Review form.
  • Committee goal is to respond, as directed by the Board, to the changing healthcare environment by addressing scope-of-practice issues and developing policies and positions statements as needed.
  • Committee goal is to discuss and deliberate scope-of-practice issues when requested, and make recommendations to the Board regarding specific issues.
Committee Forms, Policies, and Minutes
Nursing Practice Committee Policy and Form

Committee Materials


Current Members

Regular Members

  1. Jessica Andry, RN, BSN, Douglas County [Infusion Therapy, Perioperative]
  2. Lynn Barton, RN, MSN, CNS, Lincoln County [Nursing Faculty]
  3. Linda Bifano, RN, MPH, DNP, FGNLA, Multnomah County [Community-Based Care, Quality Improvement]
  4. David Brown, BSN, RN, Washington County [Corrections]
  5. Shannon Carefoot, RN, BSN, CCRN, Yamhill County [Critical, Palliative]
  6. Dee Anna Chamberlain, RN, MSN, CNS, Polk County [Home Care]
  7. Annette Cole, RN, MSN, Klamath County [Acute Care]
  8. Kathryn Holloway, RN, MSN, Clackamas County [Education, Gerontology, Surgical]
  9. Lisa Krening, MPH, BSN, CPAN, NE-BC, Clackamas County [Nursing Administration]
  10. Tamara Markovich, RNBS, MSN, CPHRM, Douglas County [Risk Management]
  11. Shannon Ryan, RN, BSN, Jackson County [School Health]
  12. Ann Vrabel, RN, MSN, Multnomah County [School, Public Health]
  13. Julia Willis, LPN, Benton County [Community-Based Care, Gerontology]

Associate Members

  1. Deborah Cateora, RN, BSN, Manager [Oregon Department of Human Services, Office of Licensing and Regulatory Oversight]
  2. Jordan Ferris, RN, BSN, CMSRN, [Oregon Nurses Association, Professional Services]

OSBN Members

  1. Gretchen Koch, RN, MSN, OSBN Board Staff [Policy Analyst, RN/LPN Practice]
  2. Wendy Bigelow, BSN, RN, OSBN Board Staff [Nurse Investigator]
OSBN Nursing Practice Policies