Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Other Course Options
U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary (CGA)
1. The Boating Safely Course (BSC) is an 8-12 hour course offered either on one full day, two half days, or one night a week for 4-7 weeks.

2. Boating Skills and Seamanship (BS&S) is a more thorough 13 week course exceeding minimum state requirements. It covers boat handling, legal requirements, rules of the road, navigation, safety, boat terminology, weather and marine radio use. Some are offered two-nights per week and run 6-7 weeks. The cost for these courses is for classroom materials, which may vary between $25-$30.

 
U.S. Power Squadron (USPS)
USPS = United States Power Squadrons. Two courses are offered to all boaters. Information covered includes nautical rules, regulations, and courtesies on the water. The cost for these courses is for classroom materials, which varies between $25-$35.
  1. The Safe Boating Course is an all-inclusive 7 week course which encompasses boat handling, elementary seamanship, equipment, marlinspike, weather, charts, aids to navigation, basic navigation, engine troubleshooting, navigation rules, marine radio operation and calling procedures, trailer boating, and state and local boating regulations.
  2. The BoatSmart© Course is a shorter and less inclusive course. It is considered a basic boating course that also includes state and local boating regulations. It is offered as a full, one-day session, may be split over two days or may be offered one evening a week for three to four weeks.
 
Consider continuing education with the U.S. Power Squadrons. By becoming a member, you can learn about marine electronics, celestial navigation, or many other advanced courses. Members can also take an active role in community education and Vessel Safety Inspections.

 
Other Course Options
Only the above approved Internet courses meet Oregon's mandatory education requirement.
Any classroom course that is approved by National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) will meet Oregon's minimum standards. NW Power Boating School offers a customized, private, "Hands-On" safety and skills training, using your boat and on water of your choice.  Contact Capt. Bob Kelso at 503-887-0899 or www.startboatingbest.com for more information.  Other private classes may be offered locally and at various fees. Once you complete courses, keep your original certificate of completion.