Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Become an Instructor!

Teach Boating Safety!

Officer with boaters  
Over 150,000 power boaters will need boating safety training to meet the Oregon Mandatory Boater Education requirements.
  • Teach in your community!
  • Read on to find out how to become an Approved Instructor.

Back to Top

What is the goal of the course?

The primary goal is to increase boating safety through education. The hope is to see a reduction in boating related accidents, injuries, and property damage on Oregon waterways.

Back to Top

Why does the Oregon State Marine Board want your help?

We want boaters to have convenient access to boating safety courses in their communities. The Marine Board partners with other agencies and individuals who want to make a difference in safer boating practices.

Back to Top

How do I become an Approved Instructor?

Instructor's Application Packet

Instructor's Application Packet These are PDF files available for download.
 
Review the qualifications and duties listed in this brochure.
  1. Contact the Oregon State Marine Board to request an instructor application packet. (Contents of packet are available here.)
  2. Submit the Instructor Application and References List to the Marine Board. We will review it and conduct a background check.
  3. Wait for notification of acceptance or denial of your application. Once accepted, you will be invited to attend an Instructor Training Course.
  4. Successfully pass the Instructor Course and receive your approved course provider number. Then you are ready to teach!
  5. To retain your qualifications you must teach at least two courses per year and attend any further training sessions required by the Marine Board.

Boat Oregon Instructor Qualifications
  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Pass a background check.
  • Have successfully completed a boating safety course approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators AND have an Oregon Boater Education Card.
  • Have a minimum of one year of power boating experience.
  • Have a minimum of 60 hours teaching and/or public speaking experience.
  • Ability to conduct classes in a professional manner, be a role model for students, accept other peoples values and opinions and interact with public in a polite and helpful manner.

Back to Top

Instructor Duties and Responsibilities

  • Plan, promote, organize and conduct the Boat Oregon course within the local community.
  • Instruct the Boat Oregon course according to the standards set by the Oregon Marine Board.
  • Be familiar with and observe Oregon boating rules and regulations.
  • Be familiar with all sections of the Boat Oregon Instructor Manual and audio-visual materials.
  • Be able to operate and maintain audio-visual equipment used in teaching the Boat Oregon course, including a television, VCR, overhead projector, and/or slide projector.
  • Complete course forms and maintain course records and submit them to the Marine Board as required.
  • Adhere to the policies and procedures set forth in the Boat Oregon Instructor Manual.
  • Teach/co-teach a minimum of two courses per year and attend training sessions as required.
  • Display a willing attitude to deal with the public in a professional, courteous and helpful manner.
  • Present a neat, clean and professional appearance at all times when representing the Marine Board.

Back to Top

Course Materials & Teaching Aids (provided by the Marine Board)

Boat Oregon logo  
Instructor Training Course
A fun and interactive session focusing on:
  • Teaching Techniques
  • Course Standards and Requirements
  • Teaching Aids & Materials
  • Adding Activities into your Course
  • Presentation Practice and Feedback

Back to Top

Why Teach Boating Safety?

Boating Safety is...
  • Important
    • Teaching others the basics of safe boating is a great way to increase safety on Oregon waterways.
  • Fun
    • The Marine Board's Boat Oregon course is simple and straightforward and can be fun for both students and instructors.

Boating Safety can...
  • Save lives
    • Statistics show that boaters who have taken a boating safety course are five times less likely to be involved in a boating accident. By teaching boating safety you can really make a difference.
 
Contact us for more information.
MariAnn McKenzie​, Program Coordinator
Oregon State Marine Board
435 Commercial St. NE
PO Box 14145
Salem, OR 97309
(503) 378-5158
www.boatoregon.com

Back to Top