Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Titling & Registration

Fee Schedule Information

Boats using any kind of motor, regardless of length, must be titled and registered in Oregon. Also, sailboats 12 feet and longer must be titled and registered in Oregon.  Registration is issued on a two calendar year basis, with all decals expiring Dec. 31.  No retroactive or late fees for registration.
 

Calculate the fee at $3 per foot (rounded up) plus $5 for the Aquatic Invasive Species Surcharge.
 
i.e.  A boat 18 feet 2 inches = (19 X $3) + $5 = $62 

Oregon Title transfer $30
Oregon Title - new boats or Out-of-State transfers $30
Lost Title replacement without change of ownership $15
Lost Title replacement with a change of ownership $30
Duplicate Certificate of Number (registration card) $10
Duplicate Decals and Certificate of Number (registration card) $10
 
Note: A late -fee penalty of $25 is charged for Oregon titles transferred 30 days after the date of purchase.
Back to Top

Registration Renewal

Need to renew your boat registration? 

Expired this season and received a notice?   renew online or mail the payment with the notice.  If you have lost your current notice and would like the PIN to renew online, contact us.  

If you have not renewed for several seasons, the online option is not available.  The quickest and easiest way to renew is by mail.  Mail a check or money order made to OSMB with the boat’s Certificate of Number (OR#) on the check memo.  If your address has changed, please make note.  Calculate the fee at $3 per foot rounded up plus $5 for the Aquatic Invasive Species Surcharge. 
 
i.e.  A boat 18 feet 2 inches = (19 X $3) + $5 = $62 

If you have an old registration notice or Certificate of Number (registration card), you can mail a check made out to the Marine Board for the appropriate fee or visit a local agent. 
 

Oregon State Marine Board
P. O. Box 14145
Salem, OR 97309-5065

Back to Top

What do I do if I move?

Have you moved? Need to change the address on your boat registration?
Please click on Adress Change link below. Expect a response within 3-5 days.
Back to Top

When ownership changes

When the ownership of a boat changes, documents for title transfers must be received by the board or an agent within 30 days of the date of purchase indicated by the date of release by the previous owners. Title transfer requests received after the 30-day period are assessed a $25 penalty fee.
 
Renewing early is to your advantage in receiving your Certificate of Number (registration card) and decals before the boating season starts.
 
Several types of boating transactions can be handled by mail. Forms are available below. Print off the form you need, fill it out and mail it with appropriate payment and/or any required documents to:
Marine Board
PO Box 14145
Salem OR  97309-5065
Back to Top

Hull Indentification Number (HIN) Inspections

  • HIN inspections were implemented in 1999.  HINs are reviewed for accuracy when a title is submitted for transfer of ownership. 
  • PENCIL TRACING PHOTO and/or HIN Inspection is requested based on documents submitted, the age of the boat, etc. Once a pencil tracing and photo is received, a LEDS/NCIC check is requested.
  • HINs not matching Certificate of Number require a pencil tracing or photo and the original title must be returned for correction and re-issuance.  There is no charge for this service.
Back to Top