
 
 
 
 

Ocean Charter Vessels 
 
 

FAQs 
 
What Constitutes an Ocean Chater Vessel? 
 

• Any person in the business of carrying passengers for hire for angling, sightseeing 
or other recreational purposes in the ocean. The License applies to the vessel, not 
the operator. The License also allows the boat to charter inland waterways as well 
as the Pacific Ocean.  

 

What are the basic requirements for this program? 
 

• A minimum of $300,000 general liability insurance. 
• A valid Coast Guard license with the proper offshore endorsement.  Proper 

endorsements include, Near Coastal or an Oceans Endorsement. 
• A $5,000 surety bond if they collect deposits in excess of $100 per person. 
• Safety Equipment.   
• An application completed yearly. 
• Yearly renewal fee. 
• A Certificate of Inspection if carrying more than 6 paying passengers. 

 

What types of lincese can charter captains apply for? 
 

• Sole Proprietor and Corporate. 
• Sole Proprietor licenses are in the individual’s name and their business name 

while Corporate licenses list the entity name. All business names must be 
registered through the Oregon Secretary of State’s office.  

 
How do I know if a Charter Vessel is Licensed? 
 

• Charter Vessel’s are required to carry their valid Charter Vessel license on 
board the vessel and presented to any peace officer upon demand.   

• Charter Vessel licenses can be verified by calling the Marine Board at 503-378-
2519.  

 

Are decals required for Charter Vessels? 
 

• Yes. A Charter Vessel must display their valid Charter Vessel license decals on 
each side of the vessel.   

 
How many passengers can Charter Vessels Carry? 

 



• An uninspected Charter Vessel can carry up to 6 paying passengers.  
• An inspected Charter Vessel can carry more than 6 paying passengers. Inspected 

Charter Vessels must have a United States Coast Guard Certificate of Inspection 
(COI) in order to carry more than 6 paying passengers.  

 
What state laws govern the charter program? 
 

• Oregon Revised Statutes 803.430 through 830.460 and 830.997; and Oregon 
Administrative Rules; 250-015-0001 through 250-016-0033 cover Oregon Charter 
Vessel’s.   

 
 

 
 


