
 

 
 

INSTRUCTIONS: 

Oregon State Marine Board 
PO Box 14145 

Salem, OR 97309 
Phone: 503-378-8587 Fax: 503-378-4597 

Email: Marine.Board@state.or.us 
 

HOMEBUILT BOAT BUILDER CERTIFICATE 

 

This form is to be used exclusively for boats that are HOMEBUILT regardless of the material type.  HOMEBUILT boats are not factory 

production line boats but are boats constructed by an individual that is not registered with the United States Coast Guard as a 

builder/manufacturer. Manufactured kit boats that have not been assigned a hull identification number (HIN) are considered HOMEBUILT. 

Antique boats or boats reconstructed from an existing boat hull are not considered HOMEBUILT boats. A hull identification number inspection 

may be requested after receipt of below Application requirements. 

Application Requirements: 
1. Complete all sections of this form. Submit with an Application for Title and the proper fees. (see reverse)  
2. Please submit 2 pictures of the boat, a side view and a picture of the transom. 
3. Please do not submit an application until boat construction is completed. 
4. This form must either be notarized or you may sign and provide a copy of valid photo identification. 

 
 

 
BUILDER: 

STATEMENT OF BUILDER 

 

Name Phone 

 
Address 

 

City State Zip Code 
 

VESSEL DESCRIPTION 
 

Length: 
 

 

Material: 

 

 
 
(See Reverse) 

 

Type: 
 

 
 
Open/Cabin 

 

Year/Month Completed:   

 
Majority of the material for 
construction was obtained 
from: 

 

 
 
 
Name 

 

Address 

 
City State Zip 

 
CERTIFICATE OF BUILDER 

 

I hereby certify under penalty of law the information given by me on this Builder’s Certificate is true, correct, and complete to the best of my 
knowledge. 

 

 
 
 

Date Signature of Builder 

 
Subscribed  before me by     on this    day of   _, 20    . 

(builder) 

 
 

Notary Public of Oregon My commission expires:    
 

250-r11 - Rev. 08/15 

mailto:Marine.Board@state.or.us


How to Register Homebuilt vessels 

 
• Owner completes and signs the application for title form. 

• Submit the application form, the boat builder certificate and fees to Marine Board in Salem. 

• If builder and applicant are not the same, enclose a Bill of Sale also. 

• Enclose the title and registration fees. 
 

Transfer of Oregon title 

Penalty fees are assessed at $25 if an Oregon boat title has not been transferred within 30 days from the date of purchase. This is in 
addition to the $50 title fee. 

 
 
 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

 

Oregon Title Transfer $50 

Late Title Transfer Penalty (Oregon Boats Only) $25 

New Boat \ from Out-of-State \ Never Titled $50 

Replacement Title NO Change of Ownership $25 

Registration = $4.50 per foot (rounded up) 
         plus AIS surcharge required with registration 

ft. x $4.50 + $5.00 = total 

Replacement Certificate of Number (card only) $15 

Replacement Certificate of Number with Decals $15 

 
 
 
 

 
HOW TO MEASURE YOUR BOAT 

The length is measured from end to end excluding sheer. This is a straight line measurement of the overall length from 
the foremost part of the boat to the aftermost part of the boat, measured parallel to the centerline. Bow sprits, bumpkins, 
rudders, outboard motor brackets, and similar fittings or attachments are not included in the measurement. Length shall 
be stated in feet and inches. 

 
 

LENGTH LENGTH 
 
 
 
 

 
WATERLINE 

 

LENGTH 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

WATERLINE 


