
 
REPLACEMENT BOAT TITLE APPLICATION 

                                                                           

Services Fees Paid 

Oregon Title Transfer $50  

Late Title Transfer Penalty (Oregon boats only) $25  

Replacement Title NO Change of Ownership $25  

Registration = $4.50 per foot (rounded up) plus 
         $5 AIS surcharge required with registration 

Ft. x $4.50 + 
$5.00 

Total Reg= 

Replacement Certificate  of Number (card only) $15  

Replacement Certificate of Number with Decals $15  

                                              TOTAL FEES PAID $ 
 

 

 
 OWNER(s) on the last issued Oregon boat title MUST CHECK one of the following:  

       TITLE NO change of ownership:  BY signature below, I / we certify the title  is (MARK ONE):  Lost (  )  Destroyed (  )Stolen (  ) 

         Mutilated (  ) Never Received (   ) and I will defend the State of Oregon against all claims or assertions of claims it may be subjected to arising 
         from this application.  Any false statement may result in a fine.   

      TITLE WITH change of ownership:  BY signature below, I / we certify the title is (MARK ONE): Lost (  ) Destroyed (  ) Stolen (  )         

        Mutilated (  )  Never Received (  ) and I / we are releasing all interest in the vessel described above.  Furthermore, I / we will defend the State of   
        Oregon against all claims or assertions of claims it may be subjected to arising from this application.  Any false statement may result in a fine. 
 
 

LAST OWNER OF RECORD PRINTED NAME             LAST OWNER SIGNATURE                                                         DATE 
 
 

LAST CO-OWNER PRINTED NAME                            LAST CO-OWNER SIGNATURE                                                  DATE 
 
 

LAST CO-OWNER PRINTED NAME                            LAST CO-OWNER SIGNATURE                                                  DATE 
 
 

LAST LENDER NAME / REPRESENTATIVE SIGNATURE / TITLE:   (Please use company line stamp or print company name)    DATE                                                                  
 

  Boat Title owner(s) signature(s) above must be either notarized or include a photocopy of each  
owner’s current driver’s license, front and back or other signed photo identification.   

NOTARY PUBLIC: 
State of Oregon, County of __________________ Subscribed before me by______________________________  as owner  
 
(and _____________________________ as co-owner) on this _____ day of _______________, 20___. 
 
Notary Public Signature ___________________________           My commission expires on __________________ 
 

COMPLETE THIS SECTION HOW THE NEW TITLE SHOULD READ 

OWNER (please print full legal name)                                                                                                                                        Date of Birth : 

MAILING ADDRESS /  CITY / STATE/  ZIP                                                                                                                                                           Phone Number: 

CO-OWNER (please print full legal name)                                                                                                                                  Date of Birth: 

CO-OWNER MAILING ADDRESS /  CITY / STATE/  ZIP                                                                                                                                 Phone Number: 

CO-OWNER (please print full legal name)                                                                                                                                  Date of Birth: 

SURVIVORSHIP:      JOINT OWNERS agree that the title will be issued with right of survivorship (ORS 105.920) (Mark One):           YES            NO 

LIENHOLDER NAME 

LIENHOLDER MAILING ADDRESS /  CITY / STATE/   ZIP                                           

Owner and Co-Owner Signature:                                                               Date:                        Email: 
 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
I CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THE INFORMATION GIVEN BY ME ON THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE, CORRECT, AND 
COMPLETE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF AND THAT OREGON IS THE STATE OF PRINCIPAL USE.   

MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION 

 OR #      

 LENGTH YEAR 

 HULL ID # 

MANUFACTURER 

TITLE # 
See instructions on 
reverse side of form 



 
RETURN APPLICATION TO:  Oregon State Marine Board   PO BOX 14145 SALEM OR 97309-5065 

PH# (503)378-8587 
 

REPLACEMENT BOAT TITLE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS: 
Complete the reverse side of this form and return it with supporting documents. The replacement title fee with change of 
ownership is $50. Replacement titles with no change are $25.  If you have other circumstances, review the special 
instructions below or call the Marine Board for assistance. Please submit a picture or pencil rubbing of the 12 digit hull 
identification number from the transom. 
 

SURVIVORSHIP means the existence of co-ownership of personal property (ORS 105.920). It may also be called joint 
ownership or joint tenancy. 

1) Survivorship – YES: If the title was issued with survivorship and an owner is deceased, the surviving owner(s) may 
transfer the title with proof of the deceased owner’s death. 

2) Survivorship – NO: If the title was issued without survivorship and an owner is deceased, a personal representative 
as defined by Letters of Testamentary or an Inheritance Affidavit signed by all heirs needs to be completed to 
transfer title.  If ownership is settled by probate, small estate or other circumstances, contact the Marine Board for 
further instruction.    

 

LATE PENALTY FEES: 
If the title is being transferred, the new owner has 30 days from the date of sale or release of interest signature on this form to 
have the application received by our office or an agent without a $25 penalty. 
       
REGISTRATION FEES: 
Any boat in use, defined as in the water, must have current registration decals.  There are no retroactive fees charged for 
boats that have not been in use for a period of years.  Boats using any kind of motor, regardless of length, must be titled and 
registered in Oregon. Also, sailboats 12 feet and longer must be titled and registered in Oregon.  The registration fee is $4.50 
per foot plus the $5 Aquatic Invasive Species surcharge.  The measure is the center length, bow to stern.  Feet are rounded 
up.  Example:  11’ 6” = 12’ x $4.50 + $5 = $59.00.  
 

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
CERTIFIED MAIL TO DOCUMENT PROOF OF CONTACT OR ATTEMPTED CONTACT WITH LAST TITLE HOLDER(s): 
1. Fill out the top section of the form identifying the vessel data. 
2. Print the former owner, co-owner and lender names where indicated. Make a copy of the form to mail. 
3. Write a note to the former title holders indicating that you have purchased the boat and need the signed and released 

title or their notarized signatures releasing interest for this vessel on the Replacement Title Application form. 
4. Send the note and form as Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested. Be sure to list all owners named on the record.  

(Your local post office has these forms.) 
5. If the letter is undeliverable, the Post Office will return it to the sender.  Submit the unopened letter, along with your 

application as new owner, an original Bill of Sale, the title fee and the registration fee if needed. 
6. If the Return Receipt card is signed and returned to you, but the form is not returned within 30 days, submit the Return 

Receipt with your application as new owner, an original Bill of Sale and the title fee and registration fee if needed. 
 

IF OWNERS ARE DIVORCED OR DECEASED: 

If the transfer involves a divorce the following items are needed, the first page of the final divorce decree, the 
page describing the boat and who was awarded the boat and the signature page.  
If one of the owners is deceased and the title indicates right of survivorship, a proof of death must be submitted.  
(Either a copy of the death certificate, obituary, or church service announcement.)   
If both of the owners are deceased, proofs of death must be submitted.  
 Along with proof of death, whichever of the following apply: 

 If there was a will, the first page or pages describing who will represent the deceased, page describing 
who inherits the boat, and the signature page.  The appointed executor or personal representative must 
sign the applicable replacement title statement on behalf of the deceased in the presence of a notary 
public.  

 If there are court orders appointing a personal representative, a copy of the order must be submitted and 
the representative must sign the applicable lost title statement on behalf of the deceased in the presence 
of a notary public. 

 If there are no wills or assignment of personal representative, an Inheritance Affidavit must be completed 
and submitted with the application and proof of death along with any other supporting documents. The 
Inheritance Affidavit may be printed from www.boatoregon.com and requires notarized signatures of heirs. 

250-041-10/2015 

http://www.boatoregon.com/

