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The Legal Requirements of Boating
In Oregon, boaters must have a certificate of title, certificate of number, and validation
stickers to operate a motorboat of any length or sailboat longer than 12 feet legally on public

waterways. This includes boats that are documented with a recreational endorsement by the U.S.

Coast Guard and principally used or moored in Oregon.

EXAMPLE OF DECAL DISPLAY FOR A DOCUMENTED VESSEL
Docu mented boa‘ts ‘tha‘t have a recrea‘tional (Decals to be affixed on both port and starboard sides of the hull)

endorsement do not have an Oregon certificate of title -~

Decal
Location

and do not need to display an OR number but are

required to register and display a current validation sticker on both sides of the aftermost part of
the hull in the upper, square foot, below the deckline. All other recreational boats moored in
Oregon are required to have current validation sticker.

The certificate of number, commonly called the “registration card,” is a pocket-sized
card that must be on board and available for inspection by an enforcement officer whenever the
boat is being operated.

The registration number is specific to the boat and is issued with the title and registration.
The registration number (OR#) and validation sticker (decal) must be displayed on the starboard
and port side bow of the boat. Once a number is issued, it can be painted, applied as a decal

sticker, or otherwise affixed to the bow and placed above the water line so it can be read easily.


http://www.facebook.com/boatoregon
http://twitter.com/marineboard
http://www.youtube.com/user/MarineBoard
https://marineboard.wordpress.com/

Numbers are read from left to right on both sides of the bow and must be in 3-inch high block

letters (not slanted) and separated by at least 2 inches. Letters
must be in a contrasting color to the boat’s hull color or striping.
The validation sticker (decal -good for two calendar years)
must be affixed on each side of the boat and placed in line. The
sticker on the port side is after the OR number and on the
starboard side, before the OR number (see illustration). The decal

expires on December 31 of the year indicated on the sticker.
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Correct spacing of decal and registration number on
the starboard & port sides of the vessel

The certificate of title, certificate of number and validation stickers (decals) can be

obtained by completing an application and submitting the proper fee with documentation to the

Oregon State Marine Board. Many boat dealers will submit the documents on your behalf for an

agent fee.

Obtaining a title and certificate of number can take anywhere from a month to four

months, depending on the boat dealer or other documents that may be needed to complete the

transaction.

Failure to have a certificate of
registration for documented vessels is a B
violation and a $260 fine. Failure for a boat
operator to carry a certificate of number is a
D violation and a $$110 fine. Boaters can
also be cited with failure to obtain a title, a

D violation with $110 fine.

To learn more about this topic and other legal requirements of boating, visit

http://www.boatoregon.com/.
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