|A Deadly Mix |
Boating and alcohol is a deadly mix. Alcohol is involved in approximately 30 percent of boating fatalities in Oregon each year, 50-70 percent nationwide. A drug or alcohol impaired boat operator who is arrested for Boating Under the Influence of Intoxicants faces the following:
- could face fines of up to $6,250 and up to a year in jail
- must complete a boating safety class
- lose his or her boat operation priveleges for a period of time
- have boat registrations suspended for up to three years
Oregon's BUII laws apply to motorized and non-motorized watercraft alike. Remember, in a raft, everyone with a paddle is an operator.
While BUII laws pertain to boat operators, a recent study reported in the Journal of the American Medical Association that an intoxicated passenger is as likely to die as an intoxicated operator. That's because most fatalities occur from falls overboard, not collissions as occurs in motor vehicles.
"Boat Safe, Boat Sober," and leave the alcohol at home.