
Oregon State Marine Board Boat Transaction Fee Summary 
 

Effective November 1, 2015: 

Transaction Type Required Documents or Information Fees 

Renew boat registration for an 
Oregon titled boat 

Applicant must be the current owner Registration Fee - $4.50 per foot, 
rounded up 
AIS Surcharge - $5 

Register a USCG Documented 
Vessel primarily used in 
Oregon 

Applicant must be the current owner on the US 
Coast Guard Certificate of Documentation 

Registration Fee - $4.50 per foot, 
rounded up 
AIS Surcharge - $5 

Replacement Certificate of 
Number 

Registration must be current; certificate of number 
(registration card) only 

Replacement Certificate of No.  
Fee - $15 

Replacement Certificate of 
Number plus Registration 
Decals  

Registration must be current; certificate of number 
(registration card) plus registration decals (stickers) 

Replacement Certificate of No. plus 
Decals Fee - $15 

Register a Rent or Lease 
(livery) boat 

Individual or entity must an active account as 
Rent/Lease (Livery) with the Marine Board or pay 
the full registration fee 

Registration Fee - $6 per boat 
AIS Surcharge - $5 per boat 
 

Register for a Dealer Plate Individual or entity must have an active 
Dealer/Demo account with the Marine Board; if not 
refer to Marine Board    

Registration Fee - $45 first plate 
- $10 additional plates 
AIS Surcharge - $5 per plate 

Register a State, Federal or 
Eleemosynary Organization 
boat 

Eleemosynary Organization, State or Federal Agency 
only; must pay title fee 
Non-profit organizations do NOT qualify   

Registration Fee -$0, “E” stickers 

 

Effective January 1, 2016: 

Transaction Type Required Documents Fees 

Title a 
Brand New Boat 

Original MSO (manufacturer’s statement of origin) or MCO 
(manufacturer’s certificate of origin) 

Title Fee - $50 
 

Oregon Title Transfer Original Oregon Certificate of Title for a Boat 
If title is lost, Lost Boat Title Application with release from owner(s) with 
signature verification and lienholder release, if any 

Title Fee - $50 

Late Oregon Title Transfer Late Penalty Fee assessed for Oregon titled boat when applicant applies 
more than 30 days from the date of release by the former owner 

Late Fee - $25 

Title a boat moving into 
Oregon that has been issued 
an Out-of-State Title  

Original Out-of-State Certificate of Title  Title Fee - $50 
 

Title a boat moving into 
Oregon that has been issued 
registration only from a Non-
Titling State 

Out-of-State Registration or State Record 
HIN Verification (photo, side and close up of HIN) 
Bill of Sale, if available 
Any other supporting documentation 

Title Fee - $50 

Title a boat that has never 
been titled or registered 

Boat History Form 
If available, the MSO or Bill of Sale 

Title Fee - $50 
 

Title a boat that was formerly  
USCG Documented 

Letter of Deletion from the USCG National Documentation Center 
HIN Verification (photo of side view and close up of HIN) 

Title Fee - $50 
 

Title a boat moving into 
Oregon from Canada 

Bill of Sale 
US Customs Documentation or Removal from Canadian Registry 

Title Fee - $50 

Duplicate Oregon title 
without ownership changes 

Completed Lost Boat Title Application form for a duplicate title Title Fee - $25 
 

 

 Floating Property applicants should contact OSMB at (503) 378-8587 or marine.board@state.or.us 
AIS Permits:  Applicant can apply online or at a business selling AIS permits; Out of State registered motorboats must 
carry an Out-of-State AIS permit; Non-Motorized watercraft may purchase 1 or 2-year AIS permits. 

mailto:marine.board@state.or.us

