Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Turn-In-Poachers (TIP)
 
Report Wildlife and Habitat Law Violators  
Poaching wildlife and damaging habitats affects present and future generations of wildlife, impacts communities and the economy, and creates enforcement challenges.
 
Poaching (illegal take of game or fish), trespassing, littering, theft, destroying of property and road closure violations affect all Oregonians.
 
The TIP reward is paid for information leading to an arrest or issuance of a citation for the illegal killing or taking of wildlife and/or for illegally obtaining Oregon hunting/angling licenses or tags.
 
People who "work" the system and falsely apply for resident license or tags are not legally hunting and/or angling and are considered poachers.
 
Tip rewards can also be given for the illegal taking, netting, snagging, and/or dynamiting of salmon, steelhead, sturgeon, and/or large numbers of any fish listed in Oregon statue as a game fish.
 
 
When making a report, provide as much of the following information as possible:
 
- Nature of violation or activity observed or advised about
- Location of activity (Road number, Milepost, GPS, Range, etc.)
- Date and time of violation/activity
- Description of any vehicle involved
- Name and/or description of violator
 
 
How to Report a Wildlife and/or Habitat Law Violation or Suspicious Activity:
 
TIP Hotline:  1-800-452-7888 or *OSP(677) (Available 24/7)
TIP E-Mail:   TIP@state.or.us   (Monitored M-F 8:00AM - 5:00PM)
 
Please use the TIP Hotline for Weekend and Evening Reporting
 
Download and complete our Violation / Suspicious Activity Report Form and provide the information to us in person, via phone, e-mail, fax, or mail.
 
*  When reporting a violation, advise the trooper of your interest in requesting the reward.
*  TIPs can also remain anonymous.
 
 
Rewards:
 
  • $1,000 Bighorn Sheep, Mountain Goat and Moose 
  • $500 Elk, Deer and Antelope 
  • $300 Bear, Cougar and Wolf
  • $300 Habitat Destruction 
  • $200 Illegally obtaining Oregon hunting or angling license or tags
  • $100 Game Fish and Shellfish
  • $100 Upland Birds and Waterfowl
  • $100 Furbearers 

TIP Clean Cropped Image.jpg
Oregon State Police work hand in hand with OHA and the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife to ensure that present and future generations have a hunt-able wildlife resource. OHA sponsors the Turn In Poachers (TIP) program, which rewards individuals who help catch poachers.