Oregon Department of State Police
Identification Services Section

Theodore R. Kulongoski, Governor 3772 Portland Road NE
Salem, OR 97303

(503) 378-3070 (Voice/TTY)
FAX (503) 378-2121

July 28, 2005

< NOTICE OF PERMANENT FEE CHANGE >

To: All Identification Services Section Customers

As you may recall, the Identification Services Section increased a number of fees for service effective
March 1, 2005 under the Temporary Administrative Rule process. Permanent rule making is required
in order for these fees to continue beyond the temporary rule process expiration date. This letter
serves as notice that Oregon State Police has filed for permanent rule regarding the following fees. A
copy of the rulemaking documents is attached for your reference. These fees are necessary to cover
costs for continued services and service levels under the current budget.

Outlined below is a list of services for which fees are set in Oregon Administrative Rule. Please note
these are Oregon State Police fees only and do _not include the prevailing FBI fees, where
applicable. (FBI fees have not changed. FBI fees may be found on our web page for each applicable
service.)

Service Oregon Fee
Copy of your own) Oregon Criminal History $33

Open Records (name check of another person’s Oregon Criminal History) $10 (fee decrease)
Public Fingerprinting $20
Clearinghouse (business/organization providing care - qualified by law) fingerprint check $52
Non-criminal Justice Agency (authorized by law) N@ame check $4

Non-criminal Justice Agency (authorized by law) fingerprint check $28 (card not retained)

$27 (card retained)

Should you need to contact us with questions, please call 503-378-3070 or send an email to our
contact address: receptionistl.idservices@state.or.us

Patricia R. Whitfield, Director
Identification Services Section
Information Management Division
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Assumptions for calculating fees
ISS funding will be based on 100% of fee’s
Based on 2003-2005 FTE at 73 total
Personnel Services costs estimated at step 8
One Cost of living per 12 month period, equal to 2%
Based on 03-05 Capitol Outlay and Services & Supplies limitations and appropriations
Capitol Outlay and Services & Supplies allocated to each function based on total FTE
Core Services (Administration, Accounting, AFIS and CCH) costs allocated to each
function based on total FTE.
= Based on biennial volumes for average submissions by function from July 2001-June
2004
» Waived fee’s reimbursed through General Fund as follows:
Clearinghouse waived fees = 75% of total submissions
Open Record waived fees = 1% of total submissions

Service Provided Direct Cost In-Direct Cost Total Cost
Copy Own Record $17.00 $16.00 $33.00
Clearinghouse Checks $28.00 $24.00 $52.00
Open Records $ 5.00 $ 5.00 $10.00
Public Fingerprinting $10.00 $10.00 $20.00
Authorized Agency (name check) $ 2.00 $ 2.00 $ 4.00
Authorized Agency (prints not retained) $15.00 $13.00 $28.00
Authorized Agency (prints retained) $14.00 $13.00 $27.00

NOTE: Fees above are for Oregon background services only and do not
include FBI fees. FBI fees are $24 or $18(volunteers).




Secretary of State
STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT

A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing or a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking accompanies this form.

Department of State Police, Information Management Division 257

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

In the Matter of:

Adopting OAR 257-010-0025 (13) pertaining to fees for acquiring non-retained fingerprint based criminal records checks under ORS
181.533; Adopting OAR 257-010-0025 (14) pertaining to customer responsibility for covering the prevailing user fee charged by the
FBI for fingerprint based record checks; and, Amending OAR 257-010-0025 (1)(B); 257-010-0025 (1)(C)(d); 257-010-0025 (11);
257-010-0025 (12); 257-010-0035 (6); and 257-010-0035 (7).

Statutory Authority:

ORS 181.560 (4) and ORS 181.533 (9)(b).

Other Authority:

N/A

Statutes Implemented:

ORS 181.560 (4) and ORS 181.533 (9)(b).
Need for the Rule(s):

In December of 2004, the Department of State Police, Identification Services Section reviewed its budget and fee structure and
determined it to be inadequate for covering the cost of providing services. As a result, an immediate adjustment of fees for service
was required in order to mitigate a budget shortfall through the end of the 03/05 biennium. The January 2005 Emergency Board
provided the Department with funds necessary to avoid staff layoffs or service reductions on the premise that the Department would
adjust its fees set in administrative rule effective March 1, 2005. On February 8, 2005, the Department received DAS approval to
pursue the required fee adjustments under the “Form 333" process. The Department conducted a series of public meetings
concerning the proposed fee adjustments in Pendleton, Medford, and Salem the week of February 14™ 2005. Adjusting the fees via
temporary rule allowed the Department to mitigate its immediate budget crisis at ID Services while affording it the opportunity to
consult with its customers and the legislature prior to initiating a permanent rule making process.

This filing continues the fees adjusted under the temporary rules which expire on August 28, 2005. Continuation of the adjusted fees
is necessary to cover the cost of providing services.

Documents Relied Upon:

Identification Services Section fee structure and methodology, historical statistics for workload volumes and submissions, and fiscal
information spreadsheets for revenue and expenditures.

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
See attached Fiscal Impact Document
Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:

No. In lieu of an “Administrative Rule Advisory Committee”, the Department follow: p

“Form/333" process in addition to holding
. three public meetings (see narrative above).

Peter Spirup
Printed name

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310,
ARC 925-1997
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Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING*
A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form.

Department of State Police, Information Management Division 257

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Cort Dokken _(503) 378-3725, Extension 4105
Rules Coordinator

Telephone

400 Public Service Building; Salem, Oregon 97310

Address
RULEMAKING ACTION
ADOPT:

AMEND: OAR 257-010-0025 and 257-010-0035

REPEAL:

ORS 181.560 (4) and ORS 181.533 (9) (b)
Stat. Auth.: ORS

Other Authority

ORS 181.560 (4) and ORS 181.533 (9) (b)
Stats. Implemented: ORS

RULE SUMMARY

- Adopt OAR 257-010-0025 (13) establishing fee of $52.00 for conducting criminal records checks under ORS 181.533. These
checks were originally provided under OAR 257-010-0025 (12) for the fee of $12.00. OAR 257-010-0025 (12) will now be dedicated
to the fee for conducting non-retained applicant and regulatory fingerprint based criminal records checks.

Adopt OAR 257-010-0025 (14) pertaining to customer responsibility for covering the prevailing user fee charged by the FBI for
fingerprint based record checks. This new section relocates language previously found in OAR 257-010-0025 (1)X(B).

Amend OAR 257-010-0025 (1)(B) by changing fee from $2.00 to $4.00; OAR 257-010-0025 (1)(C)(d) by changing fee from $15.00
to $10.00; OAR 257-010-0025 (11) by changing fee from $15.00 to $27.00; OAR 257-010-0025 (12) by changing fee from $12.00 to
$28.00 and eliminating language no longer applicable to this section; OAR 257-010-0035 (6) by changing fee from $12.00 to
$33.00; and, OAR 257-010-0035 (7) by changing fee from $5.00 to $20.00.

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members,
within 21 days following the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date
Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the
date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.

ORS 183.335(2)(b)(G) requests public comment on whether other options should b, copsidered/for achieving the rule’s substantive
goals while reducing the negative economic impact of the rule on business.

September 6, 2005
Last Day for Public Comment

Peter Spirup

Printed name

“The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation. Notice forms must be
submitted to the Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month

unless this deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday when Notice forms are accepted until 5:00pm on the preceding workday.
ARC 923-2003




