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General fireworks display operators are 
required to obtain operator certification from 
the Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM) as 
specified in Oregon Administrative Rules 
(OAR) 837-012-790. Certification allows the 
operator to shoot a general fireworks display 
provided the display is otherwise in 
conformance with OAR 837-012-700 through 
837-012-970. 
 
A general display is a fireworks display held 
outdoors that utilizes 1.3g fireworks. 1.3g 
fireworks are primarily aerial fireworks. A 
general fireworks display may include 1.4g 
fireworks or special effects fireworks, 
however, all requirements for general 
fireworks displays must be met. 

 
APPLICATION DEADLINE: 

90 DAYS BEFORE FIRST 
DISPLAY DATE 

 
Applications may be obtained from the OSFM, 
the wholesaler from whom the applicant intends 
to purchase their fireworks, or by visiting the 
OSFM website at www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/. 
 
Applications must be submitted a minimum of 
90 days prior to the date of the first general 
fireworks display for which the applicant 
intends to be the operator. 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 
No fee required. 

APPLICABLE STATUTES, RULES, 
AND OTHER REFERENCES 

 
Oregon Revised Statutes 480.010 through 
480.290, and 480.990. 
Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-700 
through 837-012-970. 
National Fire Protection Association 
Standard 1123 - Display of Fireworks. 
 

VALID DATES 
 
Certification is valid for three years unless 
revoked or suspended. 
 

REQUIREMENTS 
 
To be obtain certification, applicants are 
required to meet the following requirements: 
• Be at least 21 years of age. 
• Participate in three (3) or more Oregon 

displays in three years or less, completing 
the following minimum duties: 

 Installation of Mortars 
 Loading Shells 
 Clean-up and Inspection of site 

Note: Firing Display (required on at 
least one display) 

• Submit an Application For Operator 
Certification to substantiate work experience 
on three (3) or more Oregon displays. 

• Pass a written examination, administered by 
the OSFM, with a score of 80% or more. 
The examination assesses the applicant's 
knowledge of Oregon's fireworks display 
statutes and administrative rules and safety 
procedures for displays. 

• Complete one training course approved by 
the OSFM. 

ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATION 
 

Allow 90 days from date of submission for 
certification to be issued. 
 

GENERAL 
 
The operator is in charge of the general 
fireworks display. It is the operator’s 
responsibility to ensure the display conforms 
with the requirements of OAR 837-012-700 
through 837-012-970 and any other applicable 
safety codes and regulations including: 
 
• Assuring the permit requirements are 

followed. 
• Prohibiting persons under the influence of 

alcohol, narcotics, or drugs that could 
adversely affect judgment, movement or 
stability from entering the discharge area. 

• Assuring smoking does not occur within 50 
feet of any areas where there are fireworks. 

• Allowing only authorized persons in the 
discharge area. 

• 1.3g fireworks are allowed to be discharged 
only by the operator and the assistant. The 
operator, assistant and permit holder are not 
allowed to provide fireworks to any other 
persons attending the display. 

• Preventing the existence of a fire hazard at 
any location under their control. 
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AFTER SHOW REPORTING 
 
Following each general fireworks display, the 
operator in charge of the display shall complete an 
after show report on forms provided by the OSFM, 
certifying the information contained in the report 
is accurate. 
 
The report is to be submitted within 10 days of the 
display. Certification and/or future permits may be 
denied, suspended, and/or revoked for false 
reporting. 
 
RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION 

 
Renewal notices are sent to certificate holders with 
adequate time for the renewal certification to be 
completed prior to expiration of their current 
certification. Applications must be submitted at 
least 90 days prior to the expiration of the current 
certification. The application must contain the 
following information: 
 
• Participate in three (3) or more Oregon 

displays in three years or less, completing the 
following minimum duties: Installation of 
Mortars; Loading Shells; and Clean-up and 
Inspection of site. 

• Submit an Application For Operator 
Certification to substantiate work experience 
on three (3) or more Oregon displays. 

• Complete one training course approved by the 
OSFM. 

• The required displays and training course must 
have been completed in the three years 
immediately preceding the expiration date of 
applicant’s current certification. If the 
applicant allows their certification to expire 
without applying for re-certification, they will 
also be required to take and pass the operator 
certification examination. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For more information or additional copies of 
this brochure, contact the Office of State Fire 
Marshal at (503) 934-8274.  
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