
Limited fireworks display operators are 
required to obtain operator certification from 
the Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM) as 
specified in Oregon Administrative Rules 
(OAR) 837-012-790. Certification allows the 
operator to shoot a limited fireworks display 
provided the display is otherwise in 
conformance with OAR 837-012-700 through 
837-012-970. 
 
A limited display means a fireworks display 
held outdoors and limited to the use of 1.4g 
fireworks. Quantities of firecrackers, 
skyrockets, missle rockets, helicopter 
spinners, mortars, and similar items are 
subject to limitation by the local fire 
authority and/or the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 
 

APPLICATION DEADLINE: 
90 DAYS BEFORE FIRST 

DISPLAY DATE 
 
Applications may be obtained from the OSFM, the 
wholesaler from whom the applicant intends to 
purchase their fireworks, or by visiting the OSFM 
website at www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/. 
 
Applications must be submitted a minimum of 90 
days prior to the date of the first limited fireworks 
display for which the applicant intends to be the 
operator. 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 
No fee required. 

APPLICABLE STATUTES, RULES, 
AND OTHER REFERENCES 

 
Oregon Revised Statutes 480.010 through 
480.290, and 480.990. 
Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-700 
through 837-012-970. 
National Fire Protection Association 
Standard 1123 - Display of Fireworks. 
 

VALID DATES 
 
Certification is valid for three years unless revoked 
or suspended. 
 

REQUIREMENTS 
 
All operators are required to meet operator 
certification requirements prior to shooting a 
display. 
 
Applicants shall meet the following: 
• Be at least 18 years of age 
• Certify a knowledge of the applicable 

requirements of ORS l480.110 through 
480.165 and Oregon Administrative Rules, 
Chapter 837, Division 12. 

• Complete an application for limited operator 
certification. 

• The person completing the application must 
sign the application, certifying they meet the 
requirements for limited operator certification 
and that they understand that violation of 
fireworks statutes or administrative rules may 
result in the OSFM revoking, suspending, or 
refusing to issue their certification and/or 
display permits as well as result in civil 
penalties. 

ISSUANCE 
 
Allow 90 days from date of submission for 
applications to be processed and certification to be 
issued. 
 

GENERAL 
 
The operator is in charge of the limited fireworks 
display. It is the operator’s responsibility to ensure 
the display conforms with the requirements of 
OAR 837-012-700 through 837-012-970 and any 
other applicable safety codes and regulations 
including: 
 
• Assuring the permit requirements are 

followed. 
• Prohibiting persons under the influence of 

alcohol, narcotics, or drugs that could 
adversely affect judgment, movement or 
stability from entering the discharge area. 

• Assuring smoking does not occur within 50 
feet of any areas where there are fireworks. 

• Allowing only authorized persons in the 
discharge area. 

• 1.4g fireworks are allowed to be discharged 
only by the operator and the assistant. The 
operator, assistant and permit holder are not 
allowed to provide fireworks to any other 
persons attending the display. 

• Preventing the existence of a fire hazard at any 
location under their control. 



OPERATOR 
CERTIFICATION FOR 
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DISPLAYS 

RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION 
 

Renewal notices are sent to certificate holders with 
adequate time for the renewal certification to be 
completed prior to expiration of their current 
certification. Applications must be submitted at 
least 90 days prior to the expiration of the current 
certification. The applicant must meet the same 
requirements for renewal as listed above under 
REQUIREMENTS. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For more information or additional copies of 
this brochure, contact the Office of State Fire 
Marshal at (503) 934-8274. 
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4760 Portland Road NE 

Salem Oregon 97305-1760 
(503) 934-8274 

Fax: (503) 934-8288 
www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/  

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/

