Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

  • The Role of the Board

    The Board is responsible for protecting the health, safety and welfare of individuals who receive Occupational Therapy services in Oregon.  The ROLE of the Oregon OT Licensing Board is to:  (1) Investigate complaints and take appropriate action; (2) Make and enforce laws and rules regarding OT practice; (3) Establish continuing education requirements; (4) Process applications and issue license and renewals; (5) Collect fees and authorize disbursements of funds.  The MISSION of the Board is to protect the public by supervising Occupational Therapy practice.

    The new Oregon Ethics/Law exam is for all new  applicants as part of the application process.  It is not required for those renewing their license.  See more information under Applications. 

    Click here to view 2014 OT Workforce Data.      Click here to view 2014 OTA Workforce Data.

    Click here to view 2012 OT Workforce Data.      Click here to view 2012 OTA Workforce Data.

    New Rule:  Mental Health and Cultural Competency:  339-010-0007 and 339-020-0025

    New Rule:  Telehealth:   339-010-0006     Telehealth Q and A

    New Rule:  CE and maintenance of NBCOT certification339-020-0010


    HIRING:  Admin Specialist 2

    The OT Board is currently looking for a new Public Board member.  Please contact Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us if you are interested.


CLICK here TO VERIFY any OT or OT Assistant licensed in Oregon by name, license number or city.

If you need a verification of your license to be sent to another state:

To request that a verification be sent to another state, send an e-mail to the Director Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us and give the exact address where it needs to go. We do not need their form.  There is no charge.



Make changes within 30 days by email to Nancy.Schuberg@state.or.us, OR submit form below:





Do you have comments about the OT Licensing Board's services?  Click here to give us comments. We want to hear from you.  We use your comments to improve our web site.


Important information for Oregonians







License renewals start March 1-May 1st, 2016
Be sure the Board has your current contact information. 

New CE Rule change:

339-020-0010 CE Requirements for Current Licensees
(1) All current licensees shall obtain a minimum of 30 points of CE from Board approved categories during the two years immediately preceding the date of the license renewal; or
(2) The Board recognizes the maintenances of continuous professional development hours as evidenced by current NBCOT Certification (National Board of Certification in Occupational Therapy) as fulfilling the requirements for CE under (1).
(3) Exceptions:
(a) Current licensees who have their first NBCOT certifcation do not need CE for their first year.
(b) Current licensees who have their second year of NBCOT certification shall obtain a minimum of 15 points of CE from Board approved categories. 
Check to see if your NBCOT certification is current:

One-time Pain Management CE:

All new applicants have 2 years to complete a CE Pain Management requirement.  It is part of the required 30 CE points and includes the Pain Commission 1-hour free on-line presentation and 6 additional hours.  Any class on the Pain Commission site can be used.  Go to : http://www.oregon.gov/oha/OHPR/PMC/Pages/index.aspx

Anyone completing the Pain CE requirement is asked to send an e-mail to Nancy.Schuberg@state.or.us giving the name of the class(es), provider(s), # of credits, and dates completed. We will add that to your data base. 



If you are an OT Assistant working in Oregon, your current Supervision Form must be filed in the board office - signed by you and your supervising OTR.  If supervision changes, the OTA is responsible to send in a new supervision form prior to start of work.


If you want to reinstate your license, and it lapsed in the last 2 years, contact the Nancy.Schuberg@state.or.us to obtain a reinstatement form.  Please send in your CE certificates showing you have the required 30 points or that your NBCOT certification is current. 

If you were licensed more than 2 years ago, fill out a new Application form and follow instructions, except you do not need state verifications for those state verifications we already will have in your file.