Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • OVMEB
    OVMEB
    The Veterinary Medical Examining Board was established in 1903 to test, license, monitor and regulate practitioners of veterinary medicine in the state. The Board's mission is to protect animal health and welfare, public health, and consumers of veterinary services. The Board's authority comes from the Veterinary Practice Act, Chapter 686 of the Oregon Revised Statutes and Chapter 875 of the Oregon Administrative Rules.
Important Information Current Topics



SUMMARY OF DECEMBER 2016 RULEMAKING​

 

Text that is added or changed is highlighted; text to be deleted is in red.


These rules are in effect now and are valid for 180 days. Before the end of that period, the Board will file proposed rule amendments through the regular public notice and hearing process. 

•The following three temporary rules clarify who may and may not administer rabies vaccine. Click here for annotated version 875-010-0045 and Click here for an annotated version of 875-015-0030


875-010-0045

(3) Veterinary student Interns may perform the following acts: 

(f) Student interns may perform other acts not specifically enumerated herein under the supervision of a veterinarian licensed to practice veterinary medicine in the State or Oregon; however, under no circumstances may a student intern adminsiter rabies vaccine. 


(4) Certified Veterinary Technician student interns may perform all the acts enumerated in OAR 875-030-0040(2) and may not perform the acts prohibited in OAR 875-030-0040(3). 

(a) CVT student interns may not administer rabies vaccines.


875-015-0030

(5) Biologicals and drugs: The minimum standard for drugs procedures shall be:

(d) Rabies vaccine shall be administered only by an Oregon-licensed veterinarian, or by Oregon-licensed Certified Veterinary Technician under the direct supervision of an Oregon-licensed veterinarian, or by an individual authorized by the Oregon Public Health Veterinarian pursuant to OAR 333-019-0017. 


•This temporary rule repeals the limit on facilities that may be managed by a Managing Veterinarian and the requirement that facility be within a 100-mile radius. Click here for an annotated version.


875-010-0031

(f) No one veterinarian my act as the Managing Veterinarian for more then four separate​ facilities at any one time. If designated as Managing Veterinarian for ore then two separate facilities, none of the facilities my be more then 100 miles apart. 


PROPOSED RULES

 

Publicly noticed with the Secretary of State; public comment period closes January 9, 2017. Not in effect until adopted by the Board. 


• This rule requires training in radiation use and safety for facility employees not license as CVT's. The existing rule contains an obsolete reference to Oregon Health Division. Click here for an annotated version​. ​


875-030-0050

(1) Persons who are not licensed by the Board as CVTs may, under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian, perform all acts that a CVT may perform except: 

(2) Operate diagnostic imaging equipment unless the person has completed Board-Approved radiation use and safety training. 


ADOPTED (PERMANENT) RULES

Proposed rules were published in the August Secretary of States' Bulletin; the public comment period closed in September. These rules are now in effect.

 

• This rule prohibits non-license person from working under indirect supervision. It means that only a veterinarian or a CVT under the veterinarian's indirect supervision may provide veterinary services in a client's home or places where animals are kept. New text, now in effect, is highlighted. 


875-030-0050

(1) Persons who are not licensed by the Board as CVTs may, under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian, perform all acts that a CVT may perform except: 

(7) Perform any duties under indirect supervision a defined in OAR 875-005-0005(13)(c). 


This rule requires that veterinarians obtain one hour each of Continuing Education in judicious antibiotic use and appropriate analgesic and anesthetic methods as part of the 30 hours of CE required for odd year license renewal. This requirement will be in effect for the December 31, 2017 renewal deadline. Click here for annotated version.​


875-010-0090

(d) A minimum for veterinarians of one hour each in judicious antibiotic use and appropriate analgesic and anesthetic methods. 


•This rule changes the work experience requirement for out-of-state CVT applicants from five to four years and requires  experience equivalency. Click here for annotated version. 


875-030-0010

(3) Have been actively licensed or registered in good standing as veterinary technician in another state or states for a period of at least four years and: 

(a) Have been employed as a license veterinary technician or instructor of veterinary technology, performing duties substantially equivalent to those in OAR 875-030-0040 for a minimum of four years; 

(c) Provide notarized letters confirming clinical competency as a veterinary technician or instructor for at least veterinarian or college official who supervised the applicant pursuant to (a) of this section:                                                                                                                                             

 

Survey
How are we Doing? Please click on the link below to complete a brief, anonymous survey.
The Governor's Link for H1N1 Information
Protect yourself, your family and your co-workers by staying informed. The Governor of Oregon has asked that this site be posted to all state agency web sites. It is always a good idea to check with your doctor on your health care, especially at this time of year.
The fewer of us who get sick from either seasonal influenza or pandemic H1N1 influenza, the more we can reduce the impact in our schools and workplaces. Visit the state's flu Web site at www.flu.oregon.gov or call the state hotline at 1-800-978-3040.