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Oregon Veterinary Medical Board

NEWSLETTER
CE Due with ‘05 Renewal
Veterinary license renewals will be mailed in

late October.  Since ‘05 is an odd year, you will
need to report 30 hours of Continuing Education
on your renewal form.  Approved CE will be listed
on the form.  If you are unsure whether a particular
CE course is approved, please contact us.  Late
fees will be charged for renewals that are not
returned before December 31.  If you received
this newsletter, then we have your current address.
If you did not get a newsletter, but your
colleague(s) did, please contact us.

How Are We Doing?
The Board has contracted with a private

consultant to conduct a customer satisfaction
survey.  You will receive the survey along with
your renewal form.    The survey tool will be posted
on our website.  The Board has not participated in
survey design, and neither staff nor Board members
will ever see the completed surveys.  The
consultant will provide a written report, which
will be mailed to licensees.  We will also post the
report on our website.

Participation in the survey is voluntary.  The
consultant says that most surveys produce a return
rate of about 2%, which provides a statistically
valid sample.  We scoffed and assured the
consultant that veterinary professionals are way
above average!  So now we need your help to
make good on our wild claim and, most
importantly, let us know how we’re doing.

800 NE Oregon St., Suite 407   Portland, OR 97232                            October 2004

Practice Violations
Disciplinary activity in the last year included

two cases involving veterinarians who closed
practices and failed to make arrangements for
clients to obtain record copies.  In both cases the
Board issued disciplinary notices and imposed
fines.  The Veterinary Practice Act requires that
veterinarians provide copies of records (including
radiographs, if requested) to clients in a timely
manner.  The Board has decided that ‘timely’
means within 72 hours and ASAP in emergencies.
While dire circumstances may prevent
compliance, veterinarians are nonetheless
responsible for ensuring by whatever means
possible that clients have access to records.
Failure to notify the Board of temporary or
permanent inability to provide records exacerbated
these cases.  If you ever find yourself in this
situation, let us know.  We can help.

Veterinary technician and assistant scope-of-
practice violations also resulted in discipline for
veterinarians. The Practice Act allows certified
technicians to perform a wide range of duties
under the supervision of a veterinarian, except:
diagnose, prescribe, perform surgery except as
an assistant to the veterinarian and administer
rabies vaccine.  In addition to not being allowed
to do the above, non-certified staff may not induce
anesthesia or operate x-ray equipment unless
they’ve completed a 20-hour radiation safety
course.  Summarized rules for certified staff are
on the next page and complete rules for certified
and non-certified staff can be found on our website
(click on Links and go to Oregon Administrative
Rules, Division 30).

Job security for Board investigator Dennis
Chaney depends in part on violations concerning
recordkeeping and examinations.  We have
acknowledged those veterinarians who helped
keep Mr. Chaney busy this year.  Requirements
for compliant recordkeeping are on the next page;
feel free to ignore them if you would like to get
better acquainted with Mr. Chaney.

New Tests for Applicants
Beginning in January, veterinary applicants

in Oregon will be required to pass a test on
knowledge of salmon poisoning, groundsel and
tansy ragwort toxicity in livestock, and effects of
endophyte toxins on livestock.  The new test will
be provided with the Jurisprudence Exam.  If you
would like to check your knowledge on these
topics, please contact the Board office.
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Minimum Veterinary Practice Standards
875-015-0020
Each veterinarian shall comply with the following:
(1) Recordkeeping: Daily written reports shall be kept for
each animal treated, but records for herd or flock animals
may be maintained on a group or client basis. All records
shall be readily retrievable and must be kept for a
minimum of three (3) years following the last treatment or
examination. Records shall include, but are not limited to,
the following information:
(a) Name, address and telephone number of the owner
and/or client;
(b) Name, number of other identification of the animal
and/or group;
(c) Species, breed, age, sex, and color or distinctive
markings of the animal;
(d) Beginning and ending dates of custody of the animal;
(e) Upon presentation, when applicable by species, the
animal’s condition of the following, even if such condition
is normal:
(A) Temperature;  (B) Weight;  (C) Mucous membranes;
(D) Auscultated chest;  (E) Abdomen;  (F) Lymph nodes;
(G) Musculoskeletal condition.
(f) Physical examination findings & any laboratory data;
(g) Provisional and/or final diagnosis;
(h) Treatments, medications, and immunizations
administered, prescribed or dispensed to include dosage
and route of administration;
(i) Surgical description and types of anesthetic agents;
(j) Progress of the case while in the veterinary medical
facility;
(k) Exposed radiographs with permanent identification;
(l) If a client waives or denies approval of any
examinations, tests, or other recommended treatments,
such waiver or denial must be noted in the records.

          Ask Mr. Chaney:
zIs there a law that mandates a physical exam at
each visit?  YES.  See above.  And note (l).
zCan I vaccinate or prescribe medication without
conducting a physical exam?  YES, see above,
and don’t forget to document the client’s waiver.
zIs a specialist seeing a referred patient subject
to records requirements?  YES, see above, and
please document the client’s waiver.
zA client wants me to write a prescription for an
on-line pharmacy without conducting an exam.
Isn’t that against the law?  NO.  It’s up to you.
Just remember to document the client’s waiver.
zIf another veterinarian’s client wants me to refill
a prescription without an exam, can I do it?  YES,
if you obtain a copy of the patient record from the
veterinarian for retention and—all together now—
document the client’s waiver!.

Wanted:  Veterinary Technicians
Soon, the Board will amend the rules to further

expand eligibility to take the Veterinary
Technician National Exam (VTNE) and become
certified as a veterinary technician.  Currently,
the Board approves applicants who have
graduated from an accredited vet tech school or
program, or who have four years of verifiable
clinical experience.  The current rule also permits
the Board to approve ‘other programs.’  Under
this provision, the Board may approve applicants
who have an equivalent combination of education
and experience, e.g., a bachelors degree in animal
science and two years of clinical experience.  As
of this date, there are approximately 1,785
licensed veterinarians and only 835 certified
veterinary technicians in Oregon.  Under your
supervision (defined as having received an
instruction from you), certified veterinary
technicians may:

Obtain and record information: Complete admission
records, including clients’ statements concerning the
patient’s problems and history, and the technician’s own
observations of the patient.
Maintain daily progress records, surgery logs, X-ray logs,
DEA logs, and all other routine records; Prepare patients,
instruments, equipment and medications for surgery:
Prepare and sterilize surgical packs;
Clip, surgically scrub, and disinfect the surgical site;
Administer preanesthetic drugs; Position the patient for
anesthesia; Induce anesthesia; Operate anesthetic
machines, oxygen equipment, and monitoring equipment.
Collect specimens and perform lab procedures:
Apply and remove wound and surgical dressings, casts,
and splints; Monitor and record the patient’s vital signs;
Administer topical, oral hypodermic, and intravenous
medication; Operate X-ray equipment and other diagnostic
imaging equipment; take ECGs, electroencephalograms,
and tracings; Perform dental prophylaxis, including
operating ultrasonic dental instruments  AND
other acts not specifically stated, under the supervision of
a veterinarian.

Veterinarians employing non-certified staff
should encourage them to review their experience
and education and consider applying for the VTNE
and certification.  See our website or contact us
for forms and info.

.
Grrrr!

VTNE Dates

January 21, 2004 Nov. 19, 2004
June 17, 2005 April 16, 2005
January 20, 2006 Nov. 21, 2005

Test Date                            Application Deadline

The VTNE is administered by Board staff in Portland
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Legislative Activities
The Board has proposed two concepts for the

2005 legislative session.  The first attempts to close
the ‘agent’ loophole in ORS 686.040 (Application
of ORS 686.020), which currently reads:

(2) Nothing in ORS 686.020(1) shall be so construed
as to prevent any person or the agent or employee of
the person from practicing veterinary medicine an
surgery or dentistry in a humane manner on any animal
belonging to the person, agent or employee or for
gratuitous services of from dehorning and vaccinating
cattle for the person, agent or employee.
Board counsel has consistently interpreted

‘agent’ to mean anyone the ‘person’ so designates,
and advised that selective exemptions would be
problematic.  In 1993, the Board attempted to
amend the statute, but a legislative committee
member who was also a rancher persuaded the
Board to withdraw the concept. OVMA considered
presenting a similar concept in this session, but
has decided against it.  It is possible that, given
the unlikelihood of success at this time, the Board
may not present the concept.

Last year, the state Office of Degree
Authorization (ODA) notified the Board that
degrees issued from St. Kitts-Nevis are illegal for
use in Oregon.  Holders of Ross University
Veterinary School degrees could be subject to
prosecution if the ODA statute were to be enforced
against them.  The Board has expended
considerable resources on this issue in negotiation
with ODA.  The Board contends that authority to
approve veterinary degrees resides in the
Veterinary Practice Act.  The second legislative
concept the Board has submitted exempts OVMEB
from provisions of ODA’s statutes.  ODA has
indicated that they will not oppose the Board’s
proposed exemption.

Budget
The Board’s proposed biennial 05-07 budget

of $510,084 is a slight increase over the 03-05
budget.  The increase is partly due to costs
associated with adding an additional member to
the Board, and the Department of Administrative
Service’s authorization to increase Attorney
General line item by 16%.  The new budget does
not include any license fee or staff salary increases.
Revenues are projected at about $569,000, which
means that we may continue to waive fees for
veterinary technician, euthanasia technician and
euthanasia facility renewals.

Rule Amendments
The Board has adopted housekeeping rule

amendments which allow addition of qualifying
examinations and approval of foreign graduate
equivalency programs in addition to the ECFVG.
The Board has repealed the rule that allowed
ECFVG candidates to obtain their intern permit
prior to completion of the ECFVG program.

We have also amended the North American
Veterinary Licensing Exam (NAVLE) rule to allow
applicants to apply directly with the testing agency,
which saves staff time and eliminates the need to
amend the rules every time the NAVLE fee
increases.  The fee has risen from $375 to $425
this year and will increase to $450 in December.
The Board’s $50 fee for certifying the eligibility
of candidates has not increased.

The rabies administration rule still allows only
veterinarians to administer and sign certificates.
This may  change in the near future.  Minimum
standards and CE for CVTs will also be addressed.
We will keep you informed.

� Jonathan E. Betts, DVM, Woodburn (Chair
� Emilio E. DeBess, DVM, MPH, Portland (Vice-Chair)
� Martha H. DeWees, DVM, Springfield
� Jo Ann V. Dewey, Public Member, Bend
� Dolores Galindo, CVT, Gresham
� Rocky Liskey, Public Member, Klamath Falls
� Kris Otteman-Brant, DVM, Sherwood
� Leon Pielstick, DVM, Burns

Your Board Members

NAVLE Dates

April 11-23, 2005 January 8, 2005
Nov. 15-Dec. 10, ‘05 August 11, 2005
April 10-22, 2006 January 5, 2006

Test Date                            Application Deadline

NAVLE is administered by Sylvan Prometrics nationwide.

AAVSB and FARB
Members Dr. Kris Otteman-Brant and CVT

Dolores Galindo attended the annual meeting of
the American Association of Veterinary State
Boards (AAVSB) in Kansas City, Sept. 16-19th.
New members are always encouraged to attend
AAVSB meetings, which conduct special seminars
for board volunteers and administrative staff.

Investigator Chaney attended the attorney
certification training of the Federated Association
of Regulatory Boards in New Orleans, Oct. 8-12.
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Equine Dentistry (Wilbur-r-r-r-r!)
At its June meeting in Bend, the Board heard

from representatives of both sides of the equine
dentistry controversy.  Those opposed to the
practice of equine dentistry by non-veterinarians
contend that many such practitioners are
inadequately trained, skilled or supervised, and
are causing serious damage to horses.  Those in
favor claim that there are legitimate training
programs available and that the ‘good’ equine
dentists abide by the Veterinary Practice Act by
ensuring that they do their work with a referral
from and under the supervision of a licensed
veterinarian.

The Board faces two problems in dealing with
harmful equine dentists: lack of complaints from
the public, and logistical inability to apprehend
perpetrators.  There is also a matter of local
veterinarians’ understandable reluctance to report
their friends and neighbors who may be using
equine dentists, although since the meeting,
progress in this area is happening.  As a first step
toward gathering evidence, a  letter has been sent
to selected clients, warning them of the potential
hazards in employing unlicensed practitioners,
and asking for cooperation in helping identify
individuals doing harm.

While the Board has the authority to launch
an investigation on its own initiative, issuing
subpoenas and going before a judge to seek an
injunction without witnesses could make the
agency look like the opposite of the subject of
this section.  (Sorry about bad but irresistible pun.
-Ed.)

Office hours:   6:30 to 5,  M—Th    7 to 4 on Fri.

Fax 503-731-4207
E-Mail: ovmeb.info@state.or.us
Web:  www.ovmeb.state.or.us

Staff
Lori Makinen, Director    503-731-4051
Rod Lemeni, Assistant     503-872-6860
Dennis Chaney, Investigator  503-731-8379

Minimum Standards Committee
The final meeting of the committee is

scheduled for November 7th in Woodburn.
Chairman Dr. Robert J. Anderson anticipates
presenting a report and recommendation to the
Board in early 2005.  The Board will then review
the recommendations and decide whether to
propose rule amendments.  If amendments are
proposed, there will be opportunities for public
comment prior to rule adoption.  Licensees and
interested parties will receive copies of proposed
amendments and public comment information.
Members of the committee are:  Dr. Jon Betts;
Dr. Dennis Cundy; Dr. Marty DeWees, Dr. Nancy
Dollarhide; Dr. Michael Foland; Dr. Bob Franklin,
Dr. Leon Pielstick and Dr. Joann Voss-Brown.

     And from the staff...
One of our highest priorities is processing

license applications.  Anecdotal information from
veterinarians licensed in other states suggests that
Oregon’s licensing process—particularly
compared to states in which an umbrella agency
regulates more than one profession—is relatively
simple and quick.  Here’s how it works:  an
applicant completes a qualifying qualification
form; supplies a transcript or diploma copy;
requests national board scores from Veterinary
Information Verifying Agency (VIVA); and requests
verification of license status from other states.
Graduates of foreign, unaccredited schools must
also provide proof of completion of either the
ECFVG or PAVE program.  When these steps are
done, we mail or fax the Jurisprudence Exam (and,
starting in January, the regional toxins test) and
when the applicant completes the tests, we provide
the license activation form.  When the activation
form is returned to the office, the license is issued.

Another top priority is dealing with consumer
complaints.  We first look to authority under the
Veterinary Practice Act.  Complaints about fees,
attitude, office policies and the like are non-
jurisdictional. Complaints found to be
jurisdictional are further evaluated for specific
noncompliance.  The investigator may consult with
one or two Board members about cases that appear
to be mere mistakes (rather than malpractice) and
will then either present the case to a rotating
preview committee or to the full Board for
consideration.  ORS Ch. 676 prohibits disclosure
of information relating to complaints and
investigations; thus, cases that do not result in
discipline remain confidential.

Staff comprises 2.25 FTE (Full Time
Equivalents) with a full-time director, 3/4 time
assistant, and 1/2 time investigator.   See below
for office hours and contact info.
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