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Time to Renew!

Renewal forms have been mailed to
licensees’ address of record. If you have moved
and didn’t notify us, you may not receive your
renewal form timely or at all, and you may be
subject to late fees. If we haven't received your
paid renewal by January 1st, the late fee is $50.
The fee goes up to $100 on February 1st, and if
you wait until March, expect to pay $150 in
addition to the $100 renewal fee. The Board is
required to send one late notice to licensees who
have not renewed by January 1st. Licenses that
have not been renewed by April 1st automatically
expire. Ultimately, itis your responsibility to ensure
that your license to practice is current.

This is an even-numbered renewal year,
S0 you won't need to report CE, and you won't
see a space to report it on the form. Plan on
reporting 30 hours for renewal in 2001.

Board Goals for 99-01

Every two years the Board presents a
proposed budget to the Governor and the
Legislature. This biennium’s approved budget
includes two important goals—updating the
Veterinary Practice Act, and identifying standards
of practice for alternative or complementary
methods of veterinary medicine.

Work has begun on both goals. Board
members are considering other states’ veterinary
policies on acupuncture, chiropractic, homeopathy
and other complementary methods. Dr. Bob
Anderson attended the American Holistic
Veterinary Medical Association’s annual
conference in October and has drafted standard
of care guidelines. In September, Dr. Marty
DeWees attended the 13th Annual Conference of
the International Association of Equine Dentistry.
Dr. DeWees is reviewing other state’s statutes
and rules regarding regulation of this practice. The
Board expects to promulgate relevant rule
amendments before 2001.

The Unlicensed

In the last year complaints to the Board about
unlicensed persons suspected of practicing
veterinary medicine have increased. Ironically,
the Board has no statutory authority over
unlicensed individuals. If an unlicensee’s behavior
constitutes an egregious threat to public or animal
safety, the Board may seek an injunction or ask
the local District Attorney to prosecute.

New Chairperson Elected

The Board has elected Dr. Vera Rogers of
Days Creek to a two-year term as chair, replacing
Portland’s Dr. Bob Anderson.

Dr. Rogers earned her MS and DVM degrees
at Kansas State University. She and her husband,
veterinarian Dr. Wayne Rogers, have owned three
veterinary practices in Oregon. They currently
enjoy semi-retirement on their cattle ranch.

In addition to listings in Who's Who in Veterinary
Medicine and Who’s Who Women of the World,
Dr. Rogers has served on the AVMA Advisory
Committee on Veterinary Technician Education &
Activities, on the OVMA committee on continuing
education, and as president of the Cottage Grove
Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi. Before coming to
Oregon, Dr. Rogers was a professor at the OSU,
KSU and WSU colleges of veterinary medicine
and at Ahmad DuBello college in Nigeria. She
also served as Director of the veterinary
technology program at Northeast Missouri State
University, now Truman State University.

Dr. Rogers is in the second year of her second
term as a Board member.

Exam Dates for 2000

NBE-CCT VTNE
April 11-12 January 21
December 12-13 June 16

Registration deadlines are 60 days prior to each
exam. Exams are held in Portland.




Complaints Unlimited

The Board continues to receive about 10
complaints a month. Most are quickly determined
to be outside the Board’s jurisdiction: fee issues,
business practices, cold-hearted veterinarians.
Seriously, complaints about perceived lack of
compassion or sympathy constitute a significant
percentage of non-jurisdictional complaints.
Although there’s no hard data—our database
suffered an upgrade that has temporarily hidden
our complaint statistics—valid complaints may
have decreased in 1999. We attribute this to
efforts on the part of licensees to work with clients
on disputes, as well as our efforts to mediate and
resolve potential problems.

There’s more good news: Last legislative
session’s Senate Bill 235 (ORS 676) has been
amended by this session’s Senate Bill 236. Among
other things, we are now allowed to provide more
information to licensees about complaints filed
against them. Although the practical application
of the amendment remains to be interpreted by
the Attorney General, it's possible that licensees
will again be able to receive copies of complaints.

Complaints reviewed by the Board in 1999
generally have involved substance abuse, failure
to provide records, charging for service not
rendered, negligence, incompetence and
unprofessionalism.  The Board has issued two
Notices of Discipline and scheduled one Contested
Case Hearing.

Board office hours are
7am to 5pm Monday—Thursday
7am to 4pm on Fridays.

Phone:
503-731-4051
Fax:
503-731-4207
E-Mail:
lori.makinen@state.or.us
Staff
Lori Makinen, Director
Steve Cearley, Investigator
Kim McCormick, Assistant

Happy

Board Members

4 Robert J. Anderson, DVM, Portland

4 Jonathan E. Betts, DV M. Woodburn

#MarthaH. DeWees, DVM, Springfield

4 JoAnnV. Dewey, Public Member, Bend

4Donad M. Hagglund, Public Member, Klamath Falls
¢Mark L. McFarland, DVM, Madras

#VeraRogers, DVM, Chair, Days Creek

Can Vets Prescribe for Humans?

NO! Do not prescribe or admininster drugs to
people, including yourself. It's not lawful, even if
another medical professional tells you it's okay.
Two recent complaints involve one veterinarian
ordering large quantities of painkillers for a friend
and another self-medicating with narcotics. The
DEA investigated and referred these cases to the
Board. Abusing drug ordering privileges can result
in the loss of your DEA license and criminal
prosecution, as well as Board discipline up to and
including revocation of your veterinary license.

ECFVG Rule Amendment

The Board deliberated for over a year before
voting to amend in the Practice Act the definition
of “graduate” to include a graduate of a foreign
veterinary school who is enrolled in and has
completed step 3 of the ECFVG Program and
whose scheduled date to sit for the CPE exceeds
six months. The rule amendment hasn’t been
adopted; the Board at its September meeting
decided to await further developments in the
negotiations between AVMA and AAVSB to
improve the program. An additional test site was
added this year, and some candidates’ exam dates
were moved up.

WebSite

It's under development right now and should
be up in early Y2K. Planned features include
downloadable application forms for licensure and
board exams; current Board meeting minutes; info
on how to file and respond to a complaint; directory
of licensees; full text of the Veterinary Practice
Act; and links to other exciting places, like AVMA,
OVMA, AAVSB, etc. Future offerings may include
online payment of fees via credit card.

Holidays!



