DIVISION 10
VETERINARY LICENSES
875-010-0000
Qualifications for Veterinary Licenses
Applicants for Oregon veterinary licenses shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Graduate from a veterinary college or veterinary department of a university or college of good standing and
repute as defined in OAR 875-005-0005(9)(a)(b), or if a graduate of an unaccredited veterinary school, completion
of all requirements of the Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) program or the
Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education (PAVE); and

(2) Pass the North American Licensing Exam (NAVLE), or the National Board Exam (NBE) and Clinical
Competency Test (CCT) and the Oregon Jurisprudence Exam/Regional Disease Test as required by OAR 875-
010-0016.

(a) An applicant may request a waiver of the Clinical Competency Test requirement if all the following conditions
are met:

(A) The applicant has graduated from an accredited veterinary school or earned the ECFVG certificate or completed
another equivalency program approved by the Board, as described in OAR 875-010-0000, prior to and including
1990;

(B) Has been engaged in active veterinary clinical practice for at least five contiguous years immediately preceding
the date of application;

(C) Has held license(s) in good standing in other state(s) or U.S. territories since graduation; and

(D) Has met continuing education requirements at least equivalent to 10 hours per year during the five years
immediately preceding the date of application.

(E) The Board may request other documentation of competent clinical practice.

(3) Temporary and active licenses may be issued only to applicants who have at least one year of clinical experience,
as set out in ORS 686.045(3) and 686.065(1)(b).

(4) The Board may refuse to issue a license or permit to an applicant for any of the following:

(a) Violations of veterinary practice laws and rules in other states, provinces or countries;

(b) Evidence of previous veterinary incompetence or negligence;

(c) Violations of other laws substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of veterinary medicine;
(d) The sale or use of illegal drugs or substance abuse; or

(e) Making a misrepresentation or omission on application or otherwise to the Board.
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875-010-0006
Procedures for Obtaining a Veterinary License or Permit

(1) All applicants must complete an application for Oregon Veterinary License. Upon approval of the application,
the applicant must then complete a license activation form. All required applications materials are available from
the Board office or on its website. In addition to the application form, the applicant must provide:

(a) An official transcript or a letter from an accredited veterinary school verifying satisfactory graduation, or
certification of satisfactory completion of requirements of the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary
Graduates (ECFVG), or the Program for Assessment of Veterinary Education (PAVE), or verification of completion
of another foreign graduate equivalency program approved by the Board;

(c) A completed Oregon Jurisprudence Exam/Regional Disease Test;

(d) Verification of veterinary experience and, if applicable, status of license[(s)]sure in other states, provinces or
territories, or Canada.;

(e) The application fee of $75.00.

875-010-0016
Veterinary License Examinations

“North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE)”: The National Board of Veterinary Medical
Examiners (NBVME) provides this examination to test a candidate’s qualification for entry-level clinical practice
and comprehensive veterinary knowledge. Effective November 2000, the NAVLE replace[s]ed the National Board
Examination (NBE) and Clinical Competency Test (CCT).

(1) NBVME is the sole provider of the NAVLE. The NBVME will report the scores of NAVLE to the Board.

(2) The passing score for NAVLE shall be 425. If the National Board Examination (NBE) and/or Clinical Competency
(CCT) was taken December 1992, or later, the candidate must receive a passing score according to the criterion-
referenced scoring method implemented by the Professional Exam Service in December 1992.

875-010-0021
Recalculation, Review and Appeal of Examination Results

(1) The Jurisprudence Exam/Regional Disease Test may be taken more than once, however, applicants who fail the
JPE/RDT three times may be required to make further attempts to pass in the presence of a Board staff or member.

(2) An applicant may request a review of the NAVLE examination results according to the review procedures of
the NBVME.

875-010-0026
Intern and Active Licenses

Upon approval of all required application materials, the applicant may then apply for an intern or active license
to practice veterinary medicine in Oregon. License activation forms are available from the Board office or on its
website.

(1) The intern or active license fee shall be $[100]150.
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(2) If the applicant has satisfactorily completed one year’s experience[,] in the United States or its territories or
provinces, or in Canada, an active veterinary license will be issued and will expire on the next following December
31. Licensee shall renew the license according to OAR 875-010-0065.

(3) If applicant has less than one year’s experience, an Intern Permit (intern license) will be issued. The intern
license will expire following the total number of days necessary to complete one year’s practice experience, under
supervision of an Oregon licensed veterinarian, pursuant to ORS 686.085 and OAR 875-010-0050:

(a) Upon completion of the internship, the intern may apply for an active license, pursuant to OAR 875-010-
0065. Late fees up to $150 will apply for each month the application is late if the intern has continued to practice
veterinary medicine in Oregon after expiration of the intern license;

(b) The supervising veterinarian shall complete an experience verification form attesting that the intern has
satisfactorily completed the internship and the intern shall submit this form with the application for an active license.

875-010-0045
Student Interns

(1) Any person wishing to work in Oregon as a student intern may do so if he or she is engaged in a preceptee or
student intern program administered by a veterinary college or university, or a veterinary technology program,
approved by the Board or the American Veterinary Medical Association.

(2) Supervision of student interns. All acts which a student intern may perform must be under the direct supervision
of a licensed veterinarian. “Direct supervision” means that each act shall be performed by the student intern only
after receiving specific directions from and in the presence of an Oregon licensed veterinarian. Certified veterinary
technician student interns may work under direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian or certified veterinary
technician.

(3) Veterinary student interns may perform the following acts:
(a) Obtaining and Recording Information. Student interns may obtain and record the following information:

(A) Complete admission records, including recording the statements made by the client concerning the patient’s
problems and history. Student interns may also record their own observations of the patient. However, student
interns cannot state or record their opinion concerning diagnosis of the patient;

(B) Maintain daily progress records, surgery logs, X-ray logs, Drug Enforcement Agency logs, and all other routine
records as directed by the supervising veterinarian.

(b) Perform surgery, if relevant coursework has been successfully completed, and if determined by the supervising
veterinarian to be competent in basic surgical techniques;

(c) Preparation of patients, instruments, equipment, and medicants for surgery. Preceptees and Student Interns may:
(A) Prepare and sterilize surgical packs;

(B) Clip, surgically scrub, and disinfect the surgical site in preparation for surgery;

(C) Administer preanesthetic drugs as prescribed by the supervising veterinarian;

(D) Position the patient for anesthesia;

(E) Administer anesthesia as prescribed by the supervising veterinarian;
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(F) Operate anesthetic machines, oxygen equipment, and monitoring equipment.

(d) Collection of specimens and performance of laboratory procedures. Student interns may:
(A) Collect urine, feces, sputum, and all other excretions for laboratory analysis;

(B) Collect blood samples for laboratory;

(C) Collect skin scrapings;

(D) Perform routine laboratory procedures including urinalysis, fecal analyses, hematological, and serological
examinations.

(e) Assisting the veterinarian in diagnostic medical and surgical procedures. Student interns may assist supervising
veterinarians in the following diagnostic, medical, and surgical proceedings:

(A) Take the patient’s temperature, pulse and respiration;

(B) Medically bathe the patient;

(C) Administer topical, oral, hypodermic, and intravenous medication as directed by the supervising veterinarian;
(D) Operate diagnostic imaging equipment;

(E) Perform dental prophylaxis, including operating ultrasonic dental instruments.

(F) Student interns may perform other acts not specifically enumerated herein under the supervision of a veterinarian
licensed to practice veterinary medicine in the State of Oregon.

(4) Certified veterinary technician student interns may under the appropriate supervision of a licensed veterinarian
perform all the acts enumerated in OAR 875-030-0040(2) and may not perform the acts prohibited in 875-030-0050.

875-010-0050
Supervision of Interns

An intern license is issued for the purpose of providing a supervised internship to veterinarians who have less
than one (1) year experience following graduation from a veterinary school or college as defined in OAR 875-
005-0005(8).

(1) “Supervision,” as used in ORS 686.085, requires an Oregon licensed veterinarian to provide supervision of
the Intern as follows:

(a) Direct supervision of the Intern for each and every procedure until such time as the supervising veterinarian
reasonably concludes that the Intern has sufficient training and experience to competently conduct a particular
procedure, or class of procedures, independently;

(b) The supervising veterinarian shall document and make available to the Board, if requested, the
documentation used in making the decision to allow the Intern to work independently.
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(c) The supervising veterinarian need not continue to directly supervise that procedure or class of procedures,
upon the supervisor’s determination that competency has been achieved by the Intern; however, the supervising
veterinarian shall continue to reasonably monitor the results thereof;

(d) The supervising veterinarian shall continue to directly supervise all procedures for which the supervisor has
not yet made a competency determination.

(2) However, in no event may the supervising veterinarian:

(a) Be absent from the veterinary clinic for more than 14 consecutive days, or more than 21 total days, in a six
month period, exclusive of weekends;

(b) Conduct the supervision from a separate clinic.

(3) The supervising veterinarian shall notify the Board within 15 calendar days if an Intern is no longer under
that veterinarian’s supervision.

875-010-0065
License Renewal Procedures
(1) The annual renewal fee for all veterinary licenses shall be $150.

(2) A renewal application is timely if the completed application together with the correct renewal fee is
postmarked by December 31st of the current license year. The licensee has the burden of proving that the
application was mailed timely. If the renewal application is not timely, the applicant must pay delinquent fees:

(a) The delinquent fee shall be $50 for each month or part of a month after December 31st, up to a maximum of
$150.

(b) In the event a licensee’s renewal application is not received by January 31, notice from the Board will

be sent by April 1, advising the licensee of his or her delinquency and that practicing veterinary medicine in
Oregon without a current license is a violation of ORS 686.020. It is the licensee’s responsibility to provide the
Board with a current address;

(c) If the delinquency in license renewal exceeds three months, the Board may require the applicant to appear
before the Board and/or may attach other conditions to the renewal, e.g. community service, additional
continuing education, etc.;

(d) If the delinquency in license renewal exceeds 21 months, the Board may assess an extended delinquency
renewal fee, and/or require re-qualification by examination.

(3) Board staff will review renewal applications. If the application is complete with the following requirements,
staff will issue a license which expires on December 31 of the next calendar year:

(a) The renewal application is completed;

(b) The renewal fee is enclosed;

(c) Any delinquent fees are enclosed;

(d) Continuing Education (CE) requirements must have been met; and

(e) The license is not suspended, revoked or otherwise encumbered under the provisions of ORS 686.120 and
686.130.
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(4) Board staff will refer for Board review any license renewal that fails to respond fully to questions in the
application.

(5) A veterinarian who submits a completed renewal application postmarked no later than December 31, and
has complied with all requirements under section (3) of this rule, may continue to practice veterinary medicine
in Oregon pending notification of renewal or notification that the application is incomplete. A veterinarian who
submits a renewal application postmarked after December 31, or who knows the application is incomplete, or
has not fulfilled the continuing education requirement, will be subject to delinquent fees and may not lawfully
continue to practice veterinary medicine in Oregon until notified that the license has been renewed.

[(5)](6) If the veterinarian’s license lapses, a 21-month grace period begins. The veterinarian may renew the
license within the 21-month period by paying the maximum delinquent fee and the current annual license fee,
and by providing documentation of veterinary activities, including completed Continuing Education, during the
interim. After 21 months, the license may be revoked and the veterinarian may have to requalify for licensure by
taking an examination.

875-010-0090
Continuing Education Requirements (CE)

(1) All active licensees, including veterinarians and certified veterinary technicians, must comply with the CE
provided in this rule in order to renew their licenses.

(2) Licensees wishing to renew their license must complete the minimum required number of CE hours every two
years. Veterinarians shall report 30 hours of CE to the Board with license renewals for every odd-numbered year.
Certified veterinary technicians shall report 15 hours of CE to the Board for every even-numbered year. The required
hours may be obtained online and be satisfied with any combination of the following continuing education activities:

(a) Attendance at scientific workshops or seminars approved by the Board or by the American Association of
Veterinary Boards Registry of Approved Continuing Education (RACE).

(b) A maximum of four hours for veterinarians or two hours for certified veterinary technicians reading approved
scientific journals. One subscription to an approved journal is equal to one hour of credit.

(c) A maximum of six hours for veterinarians or three hours for certified veterinary technicians of workshops or
seminars on non-scientific subjects relating to the practice of veterinary medicine such as communication skills,
practice management, stress management, or chemical impairment.

(3) Workshops, seminars, and prepared materials on scientific and non-scientific subjects relating to veterinary
medicine sponsored by the following organizations are approved:

(a) American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) and Canadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA);

(b) Specialty and allied groups of the American Veterinary Medical Association and Canadian Veterinary Medical
Association;

(c) Regional meetings such as the Inter-Mountain Veterinary Medical Association, Central Veterinary Conference,
and Western Veterinary Conference;

(d) Any state or province veterinary medical association;
(e) Any local or regional veterinary medical association;

(f) The American Animal Hospital Association;
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(g) American and Canadian Veterinary Schools accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association;
(h) All federal, state or regional veterinary medical academies or centers;
(k) Other programs receiving prior approval by the Board;

(1) The Board may approve other sponsors for lectures or prepared materials upon written request by the attending
veterinarian or the sponsor.

(4) Scientific journals and publications relating to veterinary medicine are approved by the Board to satisfy a
maximum of four hours of non-lecture CE activities.

(5) Study in a graduate resident program at an AVMA-approved veterinary school will satisfy the CE requirements
for the year in which the veterinarian is enrolled in such program.

(6) Postgraduate coursework in veterinary science or veterinary public health at an AVMA- or Board-approved
educational institution will satisfy CE requirements on a semester or credit hour basis for the reporting period in
which the coursework occurs.

(7) Reporting CE credits.

(a) At the time of making application for license renewal in years when CE reporting is required, the veterinarian
shall certify on the application form that 30 hours of CE, and the veterinary technician shall certify on the application
form that 15 hours of CE, as set forth in this rule have been satisfied. Proof of participation in such CE programs
must be kept by the licensee for a period of at least two years, and the licensee must permit the Board to inspect
CE records. Failure to keep or provide these records to the Board shall constitute grounds for non-renewal of the
license, or, if the license has been issued for that year, for revocation of the license;

(b) Proof of compliance with the CE requirement of this rule may be supplied through registration forms at lectures,
certificates issued by the sponsors of lectures, subscriptions to journals, and other documentation approved by the
Board.

(8) The Board may approve CE programs presented by non-veterinarians, if program content is pertinent or
complementary to veterinary medicine.

875-010-0095
Fee Waivers for Licenses

The Board may waive a category of fees if, in its judgment, such waiver is necessary to ensure that the fees
charged do not exceed the cost of administering the Board’s regulatory program pursuant to ORS 656.255(c¢).
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