DIVISION 30
CRITERIA FOR BECOMING A CERTIFIED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN
875-030-0010

Criteria for Becoming a Certified Veterinary Technician

In order to become a certified veterinary technician, an individual must:

(1) Pass the examinations referred to in OAR 875-030-0020; and

(2) Hold a certificate in veterinary technology (or a comparable certificate) from a college accredited by the
American Veterinary Medical Association, or other program approved by the board.

875-030-0010

Criteria for Becoming a Certified Veterinary Technician

In order to become a certified veterinary technician, an individual must:
(1) Pass the examinations referred to in OAR 875-030-0020; and

(2) Hold a certificate in veterinary technology (or a comparable certificate) from a college accredited by the
American Veterinary Medical Association, or other program approved by the board.

875-030-0020
Examinations for Certified Veterinary Technicians

(1) Applicants for certification as veterinary technicians shall pass the Veterinary Technician National Examination
(VTNE) with a criterion score of 425 or greater. The Board will accept VINE scores transferred to Oregon through
the Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA) if the examination was taken in another state.

(2) In addition to the VTNE, applicants must successfully complete an open book examination on the Oregon
Veterinary Practice Act and Administrative Rules relating to veterinary medicine and veterinary technology, with
a passing score of at least 95 percent, and the Regional Disease Test, with a passing score of 100 percent.

875-030-0025

Application for Certified Veterinary Technicians

(1) Applications for certification shall include:

(a) An application form available from the Board office completed by the applicant;

(b) The application fee of $35 payable to the Board,

(c) An official transcript or verification of standing and impending graduation from school.

(d) Completion of the Oregon Jurisprudence Exam and Regional Disease Test;

(e) The VTNE score report if the examination was taken in another state; and

(f) Letters of good standing from any other state the applicant is or has been licensed in as a veterinary or

animal health technician.
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(2) All applications for the VITNE must be made directly to the American Association of Veterinary State Boards
(AAVSB, www.aavsb.org). The application fee for certification if the VITNE was taken in another state is $35
payable to the Board.

875-030-0030
Issuance of Certificates, Fees, Renewals for Certified Veterinary Technicians

(1) Upon filing a complete application and meeting all the criteria of OAR 875-030-0010, the Board will issue
the applicant a certificate that the person is certified as a veterinary technician.

(2) Each certification shall expire on December 31st of each year.

(3) On or about November 1 of each year, the Board will send a renewal application to the last known address
of the certified veterinary technician on file with the Board. Certified veterinary technicians shall keep the
Board advised of their address at all times. The Board shall be entitled to rely on its records, regardless of
whether the certified veterinary technician keeps the Board so advised.

(4) Veterinary technician certificates may be renewed annually without re-examination upon timely application.
A renewal application accompanied by the annual fee of $35 must be returned to the Board postmarked no later
than December 31st of each year in order to be considered timely filed.

(a) Renewal forms received or postmarked between January 1st and 31st will incur a late fee of $10.

(b) Renewal forms received or postmarked between February 1st and February 28 or 29 will incur a late fee of
$25.

(c) Renewal forms received or postmarked between March 1st and April 30 will incur a late fee of $35.

(d) If the veterinary technician’s certification lapses, a 21-month grace period begins. The veterinary technician
may renew the certification within the 21-month period by paying the maximum delinquent fee and the current
annual renewal fee, and by providing documentation of veterinary technician activities, including having
completed 15 hours of approved continuing education, during the interim. After 21 months, the certification
may be revoked and the veterinary technician may have to requalify for certification by taking an examination
specified by the board.

875-030-0040

Supervision of Certified Veterinary Technicians

(1) All duties of certified veterinary technicians must be performed under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian.
(2) Certified veterinary technicians may perform the following acts:

(a) Obtain and record information:

(A) Complete admission records, including recording the statements made by the client concerning the patient’s
problems and history. The certified veterinary technician may also record the technician’s own observations of the
patient. However, the certified veterinary technician cannot state or record his or her opinion concerning diagnosis
of the patient;

(B) Maintain daily progress records, surgery logs, X-ray logs, Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) logs, and
all other routine records as directed by the supervising veterinarian.
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(b) Prepare Patients, Instruments, Equipment and Medicants for surgery:

(A) Prepare and sterilize surgical packs;

(B) Clip, surgically scrub, and disinfect the surgical site in preparation for surgery;
(C) Administer preanesthetic drugs as prescribed by the supervising veterinarian;
(D) Position the patient for anesthesia;

(E) Induce anesthesia as prescribed by the supervising veterinarian;

(F) Operate anesthetic machines, oxygen equipment, and monitoring equipment.

(G) Place an endotracheal tube for the purpose of delivering oxygen and anesthetic gas to the patient requiring
inhalant anesthesia.

(c) Collect specimens and perform laboratory procedures:

(A) Collect urine, feces, sputum, and all other excretions and secretions for laboratory analysis;
(B) Collect blood samples for laboratory analysis;

(C) Collect skin scrapings;

(D) Perform routine laboratory procedures including urinalysis, fecal analyses, hematological and serological
examinations.

(d) Apply and remove wound and surgical dressings, casts, and splints;

(e) Assist the veterinarian in diagnostic, medical, and surgical proceedings:

(A) Monitor and record the patient’s vital signs;

(B) Medically bathe the patient;

(C) Administer topical, oral hypodermic, and intravenous medication as directed by the supervising veterinarian;
(D) Operate X-ray equipment and other diagnostic imaging equipment;

(E) Take electrocardiograms, electroencephalograms, and tracings;

(F) Perform dental prophylaxis, including operating ultrasonic dental instruments pursuant to OAR 875-015-0050.
(G) Perform extractions under the immediate supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

(H) Administer rabies vaccine under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

(D) Under direct supervision of a veterinarian, inject or implant a permanent identification device.

(J) Under indirect supervision, follow an Oregon-licensed veterinarian’s home care instructions for duties permitted
under OAR 875-030-0040. A valid VCPR must exist in order for a CVT to perform duties under indirect supervision.

(d) Sign a rabies vaccination or any other animal health certificate.

2013 Division 30 Proposed Amendments Page 3



(3) Certified veterinary technicians may perform other acts not specifically enumerated herein under the supervision
of a veterinarian licensed to practice veterinary medicine in the State of Oregon. However, nothing in this section
shall be construed to permit a veterinarian technician to do the following:

(a) Make any diagnosis;
(b) Prescribe any treatments;

(c) Perform surgery, except as an assistant to the veterinarian;
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