OREGON VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD
RULEMAKING

AUGUST 2016

The Board has filed temporary rules amending OAR Section 875-010-0045 (Student Interns) and
Section 875-030-0050 (Practice Limitations for Individuals not Certified as Veterinary Technicians).
The temporary rules are in effect now to ensure that CVT student interns are able to meet
curriculum requirements. Temporary rules are valid for 180 days. The Board will propose these
rules for permanent adoption within the 180-day period.

Proposed changes to sections on Definitions, Continuing Education Requirements and Criteria for
Becoming a Certified Veterinary Technician also have been filed. These are proposed changes
only and are not in effect at this time. Public comments will be accepted through the close of
business on September 30, 2016. A public hearing will be held if requested by 10 or more
individuals or an organization representing 30 or more individuals. Send comments to
lori.makinen@state.or.us, fax to 971-673-0226, or mail to 800 NE Oregon St., Ste. 407, Portland, OR
97232.

Changes are highlighted. Text to be deleted is underlined, and text to be added is bracketed. The
full text for Definitions, Student Interns and CE sections is not copied. For full text, see the
Veterinary Practice Act (Administrative Rules), at www.oregon.gov/ovmeb.

875-005-0005 Definitions

[(18) For purposes of meeting work experience eligibility requirements for intern, veterinarian and Certified Veterinary Technician
licensure, a year is defined as at least 1,500 hours in any 52-week period.]

875-010-0045 Student Interns

(1) Any person wishing to work in Oregon as a student intern may do so if he or she is engaged in a student intern program
administered by a veterinary college or university, or a veterinary technology program, approved by the Board or the American
Veterinary Medical Association.

(2) Supervision of student interns. All acts which a student intern may perform must be under the direct supervision of a licensed
veterinarian. “Direct supervision” means that each act shall be performed by the student intern only after receiving specific directions
from and in the presence of an Oregon licensed veterinarian. Certified Veterinary Technician student interns may work under direct
supervision of a licensed veterinarian or Certified Veterinary Technician.

(4) Certified Veterinary Technician student interns may perform all the acts enumerated in OAR 875-030-0040(2) and may not
perform the acts prohibited in 875-030-0050 [875-030-0040(3)].

875-010-0090 Continuing Education Requirements

(2) Licensees wishing to renew their license must complete the minimum required number of CE hours every two years.
Veterinarians shall report 30 hours of CE to the Board with license renewals for every odd-numbered year. Certified Veterinary
Technicians shall report 15 hours of CE to the Board for every even-numbered year. The required hours may be obtained online and
be satisfied with any combination of the following continuing education activities:

(a) Attendance at scientific workshops or seminars approved by the Board or by the American Association of Veterinary Boards
Registry of Approved Continuing Education (RACE).


mailto:lori.makinen@state.or.us
http://www.oregon.gov/ovmeb

(b) A maximum of four hours for veterinarians or two hours for Certified Veterinary Technicians reading approved scientific journals.
One subscription to an approved journal is equal to one hour of credit.

(c) A maximum of six hours for veterinarians or three hours for Certified Veterinary Technicians of workshops or seminars on non-
scientific subjects relating to the practice of veterinary medicine such as communication skills, practice management, stress
management, or chemical impairment.

[(d) A minimum for veterinarians of one hour each in judicious antibiotic use and appropriate analgesic and anesthetic methods.]

875-030-0010 Criteria for Becoming a Certified Veterinary Technician

In order to be licensed as a CVT, an individual must:

(1) Pass the examinations referred to in OAR 875-030-0020; and

(2) Hold a certificate in veterinary technology (or a comparable certificate) from a college accredited by the American Veterinary
Medical Association, or other program approved by the Board; or

(3) Have been actively licensed or registered in good standing as a veterinary technician in another state or states for a period of at
least five [four] years and:

(a) Have been employed as a licensed veterinary technician or instructor of veterinary technology [performing duties substantially
equivalent to those in 875-030-0040] for a minimum of three of the last five [four] years; and

(b) Pass the examinations referred to in OAR 87-030-0020; and

(c) Provide notarized letters confirming clinical competency as a veterinary technician or instructor from at least a veterinarian [or
college official] who supervised the applicant pursuant to (a) of this section; and

(d) Provide W2 federal tax forms or other Board-approved proof of employment as a licensed veterinary technician or instructor; and

(e) Provide proof of CE as required in OAR 875-010-0090 that is current at the time of application.

875-030-0050 Practice Limitations for Individuals not Certified as Veterinary Technicians

(1) Persons who are not licensed by this Board as CVTs may, under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian, perform all acts that
a CVT may perform except:

(2) Induce anesthesia, except to place an endotracheal tube to establish an airway in emergencies (OAR 875-030-0040(2)(b)(E);

(3) Operate X-ray equipment unless the person has completed 20 hours training in radiograph safety (2)(b)(G) as required by the
Oregon State Health Division (OAR 333);

(4) Perform dental extractions (2)(e)(G);

(5) Administer rabies vaccine (2)(e)(H); and

(6) Inject or implant a permanent identification device (875-030-0040(l)).

[(7) Perform any duties under indirect supervision as defined in OAR 875-005-0005(13)(c).]*

* (¢) “Indirect” supervision under this provision means that a CVT may, after receiving specific direction from an Oregon-licensed veterinarian,
perform duties permitted under OAR 875-030-0040 at a client’s home or other location where the animal is kept. A valid VCPR must exist in
order for a CVT to perform duties under indirect supervision.



