
 
820-010-0205  
Applications for Registration as Professional Land Surveyors (PLS) Based on Licensure by 
Another Jurisdiction (Comity) 
(1) Professional land surveyors registered in other jurisdictions may file applications for 
registration on the basis of comity as provided in ORS 672.148. NCEES records, current within 
the two years prior to application, may be accepted to document registration.  
(2) In lieu of a NCEES record, application will consist of: 
(a) Experience Details form including active practice in land surveying; 
(b) Five references that meet the requirements of OAR 820-010-0255, three of whom hold 
registration in a NCEES jurisdiction; 
(A) Qualifying experience accrued by the applicant must be accompanied by a reference that 
verifies the applicant’s work meets the definition of land surveying as defined in the OAR 820-
010-0010.  
(B) References must be submitted on the Board approved Reference Details form.  
(C) The Board may, for good cause upon written application, reduce the number of references 
required.  
(c) Official transcripts or evaluation of degree credentials for those degrees not from an ABET 
accredited program.  
(d) Official verification of LSI and current registration in another NCEES jurisdiction.  
(3) The other jurisdiction that issued the certificate of registration must have had substantially 
equivalent requirements for registration as Oregon had at the time the other jurisdiction issued 
the certificate of registration.  
(4) The Board may require the applicant to provide documentation of the requirements for 
registration by such other jurisdiction in effect at the time the applicant obtained a certificate of 
registration.  
(5) Before receiving a certificate of registration to practice professional land surveying in 
Oregon, each applicant must successfully pass a state specific examination covering Oregon law 
relating to land surveying.  
(6) Before receiving a certificate of registration to practice professional land surveying in 
Oregon, each applicant must pass a [take-home] take at home examination on the laws and rules 
in Oregon.  
(7) Application must be accompanied by the [$375.00] $360.00 fee.  
Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 672.095, 672.157, & 672.255 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 672.002 - 672.325 
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