OO ) o b

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22

24
25
26

BEFORE THE
PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSING BOARD

OF THE STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of the ) Case No.: PT 411-10/11
Physical Therapist License of: )

) .
MICHAEL PENNINGTON, PT ) STIPULATED AGREEMENT

License # 4031 ) AND FINAL ORDER
)
Licensee. )

The Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board (Board) 1s the state agency responsible for
licensing and disciplining physical therapists and physical therapist assistants pursuant to ORS
688.140 and 688.160. Michael Pennington, PT (Licensee) is licensed by the Board to practice as a
physical therapist in Oregon. The Board issued a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action on April
24, 2012. In lieu of proceeding to hearing, the Board and Licensee agree to resolve this case as
follows: | |

STIPULATIONS

1. Licensee stipulates that for various short periods of time in 2008 and 2009 Licensee
allowed his two teenage children to act as aides. During this time, the Licensee’s
two teenage children performed treatment reIatéd tasks with at least two patients.
Although Licensee had trained his children as aides, neither of them met the |
minimum eligibility standards for being utilized as an aide, which require that
an aide be at least 18 years of age and have received a high school diploma or
equivalent. This conduct constitutes a violation of ORS 688.140(2)@) (violation of
Board rule), specifically OAR 848-020-0010(1) and (2} (use of an underage aide)
and 848-040-0105(3) (delegation of tasks to unqualified persons).

2. Licensee stipulates that he failed to appropriately document that the training he
provided met the Board requirement of 40 hours of aide training. Specifically,
the documentation of the aide training that was performed failed to include the
amount of time for each of the training activities and the names of instructors and

signatures of aides. Licensee also failed to maintain the training documentation of
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1 several aides at his clinic. This conduct constitutes a violation of ORS 688.140(2)

2 (a) (violation of Board rule), specifically OAR 848-020-0040(2) (documentation
3 and maintenance of aide training records).
4 3. Licensee stipulates to the assessment of a civil penalty in the amount of $2,000;
5 ,
. ﬁT\—n
6 Dated this day of June, 2012.
7 : OREGON PHYSICAL THERAPIST
LICENSING BOARD
5 | SIGNATURE ON FILE
9 James ¥, Héldéi‘;EX'éCilﬁw Director :
10
11 . | CONSENT

12 1THEREBY CERTIFY that I have read and understand the provisions of this Stipulation and
13 Final Order. I understand that I have a right to a hearing with the assistance of legal counsel.
14 1 freely and voluntarily waive all rights to a hearing, further appeal or judicial review in this

15 matter, and I understand that any violation of this Stipulation and Final Order shall be grounds

or additional discipline . . ﬁ/\\
16 foraddtions] disepline. SIGNATURE ON FILE

18 ' By:

19 Michael Pennington, PT
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