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BEFORE THE
PHYSICAI. THERAPIST LICENSING BOARD -
STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of the License to Practice Case No: PT-387-4/11

as a Physical Therapist of:

LICENSE NO. 06226 FINAL ORDER

)

)

CLARK G. JOHNSON, PT )
_ )

Licensee. )

HISTORY OF THE CASE

On June 20, 2011, the Physical Therapist Licensing Board (the Board) issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action (Notice) to Clark G. Johnson (Licensee), alleging that he provided
physical therapy to one patient prior to renewing his license and proposing to impose a $100 civil
penalty. On July 17, 2011, Licensee requested a hearing.

The Board referred the case to the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) on July 19,
2011. Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) John M. Mann convened a telephone prehearing -
conference on September 14, 2011. Senior Assistant Attorney General (AAG) Carol Parks
represented the Bpard and Licensee represented himself. The parties agreed to convene a
telephone hearing on October 26, 2011.

Thereafter, the OAH reassigned the case to Senior ALJ Monica A. Whitaker. A
teiéphone héaring convened on October 26, 2011 before ALJ Whitaker. AAG Parks represented
the Board and Licensee represented himself. James Heider (Heider), Board Executive Director,
and Sherri Paru (Paru), Board Investigator, testified on the Board’s behalf., Licensee testified on
his own behalf. The record closed at the conclusion of the hearing.

On November 2, 2011, ALT Whitaker issued a Proposed Order proposing that the Notice
of Proposed Disciplinary Action be affirmed. The Board hereby issues this Fiﬁal Order after
considering the Proposed Order and the record.
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ISSUES

1. Whether Licensee engaged 1n unprofessional conduct by providing physical therapy to
one patient prior to rencwing his lapsed license. OAR 848-045-0020(2)(r). '

2. Tf so, whether the Board may impose a $100 civil penalty. ORS 688.140.

EVIDENTIARY RULING

ALJ Whitaker admitted into the record without objections Exhibits AA, 1, 1A, 1B, 2

through 4, 4A, 5 through 6, 6A, 7 through 11, 11A, 11B, and 12 and R1 through R4 .
| FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On March 29, 2010, Licensee filed an Application for Licensure by Examination

(Application) with the Board. In the Application, Licensee provided a mailing address of 2560

North 3000 West Delta, UT 84624. (Ex. AA.)

2. Licensee received his license to practice physical therapy in the state of Oregon on

‘May 19, 2010. (Ex. AA at 1; Test. of Heider.) The license reflects an effective date of May 19,

2010 and an expiration date of March 31, 2011. (Ex. Al at2.)

3. By letter dated May 19, 2010, the Board notified Licensee that the license must be
renewed annually, on or before March 31. (Ex. Al at 1.) The letter explained that “License
renewal notices are mailed in January of each year. If you do not réceive notification for renewal
by February 1%, you should immediately contact the Board office.” (Id.)

4. During the first week of January 2011, the Board mailed a letter titled “Oregon
Physical Therapist Licensing Board 2011-2012 Renewal Instruction Letter” to Licensee at his
address of record in Utah. (Ex. 1A at 1; Test. of Heider.) The letter provided a detailed
explanation regarding how a licensee could renew his or her license with the Board. (Ex. 1A at
1.) The letter was not returned to the Board as undeliverable by the United States Postal Service

(USPS). (Test. of Heider.)
5 Licensee did not renew his license with the Board by March 31,2011 and the license

lapsed. (Ex.4A.)
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6. Licensce is a traveling physical therapist. After he applied for and obtatned his license
from the Board, Licensee accepted a traveling position in Oregon. He thereafter failed to
provide an updated mailing address to the Boa:fd. (Test. of Johnson; Ex. A3 at 1.)

7. On April 1, 2011, Licensee’s employer notified him that his license had lapsed. (Test.
of Johnson.,) Immediately thereafter, Licensee contacted the Board and spoke to investigator
Paru. (Test. of Johnson and Paru.) Licensee explained that on April 1 he saw one patient from
9:15 a.m. to 10:25 a.m. for a routine visit. (Test. of Johnson; Ex. A3 at 1.) Licensee then
renewed his license with the Board. (Test. of Johnson; Ex. A5.)

8. The Board has an internal penalty matrix that sets forth civil penalty amounts it
assesses against licensees who practice without a vélid license. The penalty matrix provides that
a licensee who practices without a valid license for one day to one month should be assessed a
civil penalty of $100. (Test. of Paru.)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Licensee engaged in unprofessional conduct by providing physical therapy to one
patient prior to remiewing his lapsed license.

2. The Board has the authority to impose a civil penalty.

OPINION |

The Board alleges that Licensee practiced physical therapy with a lapsed license and that
this constitutes unprofessional conduct, for which the Board proposes imposing a $100 civil
penalty. The Board bears the burden of proving its allegations by a preponderance of the
evidence. ORS 183.450(2) and (5); Reguero v. Teachers Standards and Practices Commission,
312 Or 402, 418 (1991) (burden is on Commission in disciplinary action); Cook v. Employment
Div., 47 Or App 437 (1980) (in the absence of legislation adopting a different standard, the
standard of proof in administrative hearings is preponderance of the evidence). Proofby a

preponderance of the evidence means that the fact finder is convinced that the facts asserted are

i
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more likely true than false. Riley Hill General Contractor v. Tandy Corp., 303 Or 390, 402
(1987).

The Board is responsible for licensing and disciplining physical therapists pursuant to
ORS 688.140(2), which provides, in part:

Grounds exist for the imposition of sanctions as specified in subsection (1) éf this
section when a person:
(a) Violates any provision of ORS 688.010 to 688.201, board rules or a written
order from the board.’ |
OAR 848-045-0020 provides, in relevant part:

| 2) A 1icénsee commits or engages in illegal, unethical or unprofessional conduct
if the licensee:
¥ ok ok ok %
(r) Practices physical therapy with a lapsed license.

Licensee does not dispute the material facts of this case. He acknowledges that be failed
to renew his license by March 31, 2011. Nevertheless, he contends that he should not be
disciplined because his failure to renew the license was unintentional and he only treated one
patient while his license was lapsed. The Board’s statutes and rules do not provide for a “good
cause” cxception to sanctioning a licensee who practices physical therapy without a valid licénse.
Moreover, the Board has been consistent and unwavering in disciplining licensees who practice

while their license is in lapsed status. Therefore, the Board finds Licensee violated OAR 848-

045-0020(2)(r) for practicing physical therapy with a lapsed license.

" ORS 688.100(1) provides:

A person who is licensed as a physical therapist or physicat therapist assistant
shall renew the person’s license pursuant to the rules of the physical Therapist
Licensing Board. A person who fails to renew the license on or before the
expiration date specified by board rule may not practice as a physical therapist
or work as a physical therapist assistant in this state until the lapsed license is

renewed.
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SANCTION

ORS 688.140(1), which provides, in relevant part:

The Physical Therapist Licensing Board, after notice and hearing as provided in
ORS 688.145, may impose any or all of the following sanctions or take any of the
following actions upon any of the grounds specified in subsection (2) of this
section:

ok ok ok %k

() Impose a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000.

The Board has the authority to impose a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 when a
licensee violates its rules. Here, Licensee practiced physical therapy with a lapsed license, which
cons;citutes unprofessional conduct. The Board’s penalty mafrix provides that a licensee who
practices physical therapy with a lapsed license for one day to one month should be imposed a
civil penalty in the amount of $100. Considering the circumstances of this case and the fact that
the Board does not deviate from the matrix, the Board hereby finds that a civil penalty in the
amount of $100 should be imposed against Licensee.

ORDER

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Licensee is assessed a civil penalty of $100, which must

be paid within 30 days that this Final Order is issued by the Board.

DATED this 25 day of January, 2012.

PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSING BOARD
State of Oregon A

TR . :
SIGNATURE ON FILE

L, | N

J _Heider V
xecutive Director

1l

1"
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i : ' RIGHT TO JUDICIAL REVIEW
NOTICE: You are entitled to judicial review of this Order. Judicial review may be obtained by
filing a petition for review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 60 days from the date of this

Final Order on Default. If you do not file a petition for judicial review within the 60 days time

period, you will lose your right to appeal.
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