Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • Welcome to the Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board
    State rotating images
    The Physical Therapist Licensing Board was created in 1971 to regulate the practice of physical therapy in Oregon. The Board's purpose is public protection and to establish professional standards of practice which assure that physical therapists and physical therapist assistants are properly educated, hold valid/current licenses, practice within their scope of practice and continue to receive ongoing training throughout their careers. Physical therapy practice is governed by state statutes and rules, which define the scope of practice. The Board issues licenses, promulgates rules, monitors continuing education, investigates complaints, issues civil penalties for violations and may revoke, suspend or impose probation on a licensee or limit his/her practice. The Board is comprised of eight volunteer members: five physical therapists, one physical therapist assistant, and two public members. Each member is appointed by the Governor and may serve a four-year term. A Board member may be reappointed to subsequent terms. The Board is self-supporting and activities are financed solely from licensure and related fees.
STATUTES & RULES/LICENSE VERIFICATION IMPORTANT INFORMATION
  

 

ON-LINE PT/PTA LICENSURE VERIFICATION
This site does constitute a "primary issuing source" for purposes of license verification. Unless otherwise noted on an individual document, the Board grants permission to copy and distribute documents and information verbatim for non-commercial use.

 

 

January 1, 2014 Administrative Rule Change Highlights

There are several Administrative Rule changes that take effect Jan. 1, 2014. The highlights below are just some of the key items. Please refer to the full Administrative Rules Chapter 848 as posted on this web site for any questions you may have.

 

848-040-0117 Standards For Authorization To Provide Physical Therapy Services

As a result of legislative changes effective Jan. 1,2014 a Physical Therapist is no longer required to limit treatment of a self-referred patient to 60 days before having to refer the patient to a provider.  Read all of 848-040-0017 to see how this will impact your practice.

 

848-010-0035 Renewal of Lapsed Licenses

If your license has lapsed for between two to five years you must show evidence of a minimum of 24 hours of continuing competence completed prior to the reinstatement of your license, unless you are currently licensed in another state and have completed that states requirement.

 

848-040-0105 General Standards for Practice - (License Copy)

You may now have a paper copy of your license or produce an electronic verification of your current license status from the Board's website.

 

848-005-0020  Board Fees and Refunds

The mailing list fee has been reduced  from $150.00 to $100.00

 

April 1, 2014 Administrative Rule Change

Division 35 Continuing Competency

Effective 04/01/2014 Continuing Education is now "Continuing Competency"

 

848-035-0020 Effective with the current Certification Period 04/01/2014 - 03/31/2016 PTA's will now need to have 24 hours of Continuing Competency in order to renew their license for the licensing period beginning April 1, 2016.
 
2014 - 2015 LICENSE RENEWAL
Option # 1 – online renewal with electronic payment - You will need to provide your last name, your Oregon PT/PTA license number, and the last four digits of your social security number. You will be able to complete your renewal online and pay through the P.T. Board secure US Bank Merchant account system. You will be able to use a credit card, debit card, electronic check or Automatic Clearing House (ACH) transaction moving money from your account directly into the Board’s account.
 
Option # 2 – online renewal with a manual payment – If you don’t want to pay online, you will have the option to complete the renewal form online and print out a renewal confirmation. You will then mail the confirmation form along with your check or money order directly to the Board office. Confirmation forms received without a payment will be returned. Processing will take up to 5 business days from date received.
Regardless of what method you select, be certain to allow enough time to complete the renewal process by Monday March 31st 2014. Any license not renewed by that date will lapse at 12:01 AM Tuesday April 1st 2014, and the licensee can not provide patient care in the State or Oregon. All renewals received and or postmarked after March 31, 2014 will be assessed a $50.00 lapsed license renewal fee.
 
Continuing Education (CE) - The current certification period is 04/01/2012 – 03/31/2014. In order to renew your license you must have completed the required CE of 24 hours for PT’s and 12 hours for PTA’s. If you are newly licensed between 04/01/2013 and 12/31/13, you will only need to complete half of those hours to renew your license. If you are newly licensed between 01/01/2014 – 03/31/14 you will not be required to complete any CE to renew your license for 2014.
Pain Management CE requirement for PT's only - If you were initially licensed in Oregon between 04/01/2010 - 03/31/2012 you must attest that you have completed the one time pain management course work to renew your license.  Your initial licensure date can be found with your online renewal.
 
PAIN MANAGEMENT CONTINUING EDUCATION
If you are a Physical Therapist and you were initially licensed between 4/1/10 through 10/31/12, as part of your 24 hours of mandatory CE due 3/31/14, you must have completed the mandatory 1-hour on-line presentation by the Oregon Pain Commission (see link below); additionally, as part of your 24 hours, you must also complete 6 hours of CE relative to the management or treatment of pain. This is a one-time legislative requirement.
 
Physical Therapists initially licensed prior to 4/1/10 have already completed this one time requirement as part of their 2012 CE Certification. 
 
Physical Therapists initially licensed on or after 11/1/12 have also completed the one hour pain management course as part of their application process.
 
Physical Therapist Assistants are not required to meet this mandate but, if they do so, they may count the 1 contact hour of CE towards their 12 hour CE requirement.