STATE OF OREGON
PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSING BOARD
JURISPRUDENCE EXAM

Please circle the correct answers, sign and date the exam, and submit this exam with your license application.
Your application will be returned if it is not accompanied by this form. (Note: This exam is based on Oregon
Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules and may differ from Medicare or other insurance regulations.)

1. The qualifications for licensure as a physical therapist include:

Must be at least 18 years of age

Must be of good moral character

Must be a graduate of an accredited program
All of the above
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The grounds for discipline of a licensee include:

Practicing under the influence of intoxicating liquors
Practicing with a lapsed license

Knowingly making a false entry in a patient record
All of the above
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A new graduate temporary permit holder, waiting to take the national licensing exam must:

a. Work under General Supervision

b. Within five working days of beginning practice submit a Temporary Permit Letter from Employer

c. Stop working immediately and return temporary permit upon notification of failing NPTE

d. BothBandC

4. Unprofessional conduct includes acts involving moral turpitude. This includes:

a. Fraud

b. Dishonesty

c. Violence

d. All of the above

5. How many hours of continuing competency is a PT/PTA required to complete in a certification
period?

a. 12/12

b. 12/6

c. 18/9

d. 24/12

6. Which of the following will not count towards Continuing Competency credit:

Completing a Certified Clinical Instructor course.
Serving as a delegate for the OPTA.

Publishing an article of a peer review journal.
Online courses
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7. The permanent record of a physical therapy service must:

a. Be prepared on the day of service

b. Be prepared within seven calendar days of the date of service

c. Bewritten entirely by the treating PT or PTA

d. Not contain any abbreviations

8. A physical therapist aide is prohibited from performing the following:
a. Transporting patients

b. Ambulating with a patient

c. Administering mechanical traction

d. All of the above

9. When an aide is performing a treatment related task, the supervising therapist must be:

a. Within sight or earshot of the aide
b. Available by phone

c. Inthe same building

d. BothAandC

10. As of January 1, 2014 a PT may initiate and provide treatment without a referral however;

a. They must obtain a referral after 60 days for continued treatment
b. They must have a Doctoral level degree

c. They must complete a Board approved medical screening course.
d. None of the above

11. Except for a physical therapist practicing in an educational setting a physical therapist shall perform,
at a minimum, a hands-on reassessment:

a. Everyweek

b. Every 2 weeks
c. Every 30 days
d. Quarterly

12. When an error is discovered in a patient record an acceptable way to correct the error is to:

a. Eraseit

b. Cross out, date and initial the error

c. Correct the error with white-out liquid
d. None of the above

13. The following may be used to authenticate a patient record:

a. Therapist initials
b. Therapist signature
c. Rubber stamp
d. All of the above
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14. According to Oregon Administrative Rules, unethical or unprofessional conduct relating to licensure
is:

a. Voluntarily participating in an alcohol treatment program
b. Being issued a traffic ticket

c. Failure to provide documents requested by the Board

d. None of the above

15. The certification period for continuing education is from:

a. January 1° of an even numbered year through December 31°% of that same year
b. January 1* of an odd numbered year through December 31% of that same year

c. April 1° of an even numbered year through March 31 of a subsequent even numbered year
d. April 1* of an even numbered year through March 31* of an odd numbered year

16. A physical therapy screening:

a. Can be performed by a PT or PTA

b. Must be documented and followed up with a written plan of care

c. Can be performed by a physical therapy aide as long as a PT subsequently evaluates the patient
d. All of the above

17. An aide may do the following on the patient’s first day of treatment:

a. Perform joint mobilization

b. Determine the placement of electrodes for electrical stimulation
c. Write dictated information in the patient chart

d. Initiate an exercise program with a patient

18. A student physical therapist may practice under which type of supervision:

a. Supervising therapist available via e-mail

b. On-site supervision

c. Under supervision of a licensed physical therapist assistant
d. AandB only

19. A physical therapist assistant may:

a. Work alone in a facility if a supervising physical therapist is available by phone
b. Prepare a discharge summary

c. Make recommendations in regards to revision of a plan of care

d. All of the above

20. A physical therapist assistant may supervise how many physical therapist aides?

A maximum of two aides who are performing treatment related tasks

A maximum of two aides who are performing non-treatment related tasks
A maximum of four aides

None. Only a physical therapist may supervise an aide
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21. The record of an initial evaluation must include all of the following except:
a. Funding source
b. Referral source, including patient self referral
c. Co-existing medical conditions that may affect the goals or plan of care
d. Interpretation of evaluation results
22. Which of the following are grounds for disciplinary action:
a. Failure to report name or address change to the Board within 30 days following the change
b. Failure to notify the Board of unprofessional conduct by another licensee
c. Practicing physical therapy with a lapsed license
d. All of the above
23. A patient must be discharged from physical therapy for all of the following reasons except when:
a. The referring provider directs that the patient be discharged
b. The patient has reached all physical therapy goals
c. The patient can no longer pay for the physical therapy services
d. Physical therapy is contraindicated for psychosocial reasons
24. Which of the following is not considered patient exploitation:
a. Influencing a patient to purchase a piece of equipment based on your own financial interests
b. Obtaining compensation for physical therapy services that were not provided
c. Accepting a gift of nominal value from a patient
d. Failing to maintain an appropriate patient/therapist relationship
25. In Oregon, physical therapist and physical therapist assistant licenses expire:
a. Annually on December 31%
b. Annually on your date of birth
c. Annually on March 31
d. Annually on the anniversary of your initial licensure date
Name:
(Print Name)
Signature:
Date:
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