ITEM NO. CA2

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF OREGON
STAFF REPORT
PUBLIC MEETING DATE: September 23, 2008

REGULAR  CONSENT X EFFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2008
DATE: September 10, 2008

TO: Public Utility Commission

FROM: John Tatom

THROUGH: Lee Sparling, Rick Willis, Vikie Bailey-Goggins, Bryan Conway, and
Cynthia Van Landuyt

SUBJECT: OREGON PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION STAFE: (Docket No. UM 940)
Establishes the gross revenue fee level for telecommunications providers
for 20009.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

By November 1, 2008, issue an order to set 0.25 percent as the percentage rate
for the annual PUC fees due from telecommunications providers on April 1, 2010,
in accordance with ORS 756.310.

DISCUSSION:

ORS 756.310(6) requires each telecommunications provider* to pay up to

25 hundredths of one percent (0.25 percent) of its gross retail intrastate Oregon
revenue or $100, whichever is more, to the Commission. The Commission opened
docket UM 940 in 1999 to set the annual fee levels for telecommunications providers,
and the annual rates have been set at the statutory maximum of 0.25 percent.

The Commission collected $2.7 million in annual fees from telecommunications
providers for 2006 and $2.6 million for 2007. Staff is forecasting declines in gross retail
intrastate Oregon revenues for 2008 and 2009. Therefore, for revenues recorded
during 2009, the Commission should continue to assess the annual fee at the statutory

! Telecommunications provider means "a telecommunications utility or a competitive telecommunications
provider as defined in ORS 759.005" (ORS 756.310(8)(c)). This definition excludes radio common
carriers and telecommunications cooperatives with certificates issued only under ORS 759.025.
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maximum level of 0.25 percent. | estimate this assessment rate will provide annual fees
of $2.4 million from telecommunications providers for 2009.

The Commission must issue an order to establish the percentage rate for the annual
fee "not less than 60 days prior to the calendar year upon which the fee is based"
(ORS 756.310(6)(a)). For revenues recorded during 2009, this provision means the
fee level order must be issued by November 1, 2008.

Attached is a draft order for the Commission's consideration. It is based on the
previous fee level orders for revenues recorded by telecommunications providers
during 2000 through 2008 (for example, Order 07-423).

PROPOSED COMMISSION MOTION:

The annual gross revenue fee for telecommunications providers be set at the statutory
maximum level of 0.25 percent for calendar year 2009.

Attachment



ORDER NO.

DRAFT

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION
OF OREGON

UM 940

In the Matter of the Imposition of Annual )
Regulatory Fees Upon Telecommunications )
Utilities and Competitive Telecommunications ) ORDER
Providers Operating Within the State of Oregon. )

DISPOSITION: FEE LEVEL SET FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2009

In accordance with ORS 756.310, it is hereby determined that it is
necessary to impose a fee on telecommunications utilities and competitive
telecommunications providers of twenty-five hundredths of one percent (0.25 percent) of
gross retail intrastate revenue during the calendar year 2009 in Oregon. These fees are
deemed necessary to defray the cost of performing duties imposed by law upon the
Public Utility Commission of Oregon (Commission). The fees, as imposed by this order
on calendar year 2009, are due on or before April 1, 2010.

At its Public Meeting on September 23, 2008, the Commission adopted
Staff’'s recommendation to impose a fee on telecommunications utilities and competitive
telecommunications providers of twenty-five hundredths of one percent (0.25 percent).
Staff's recommendation report is attached as Appendix A and is incorporated by
reference.



ORDER NO.

DRAFT

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that telecommunications utilities and competitive
telecommunications providers operating in Oregon must pay, to the Public Utility
Commission of Oregon, a fee of twenty-five hundredths of one percent (0.25 percent)
of gross retail intrastate revenues during the Calendar Year 2009 in Oregon. In no case
shall such fee be less than $100. Each telecommunications utility and competitive
telecommunications provider must pay the fee on or before April 1, 2010.

Made, entered, and effective

Lee Beyer John Savage
Chairman Commissioner
Ray Baum

Commissioner

A party may request rehearing or reconsideration of this order pursuant to

ORS 756.561. A request for rehearing or reconsideration must be filed with the
Commission within 60 days of the date of service of this order. The request must
comply with the requirements in OAR 860-014-0095. A copy of any such request must
also be served on each party to the proceeding as provided by OAR 860-013-0070(2).
A party may appeal this order to by filing a petition for review with the Court of Appeals
in compliance with ORS 183-480-183.484.



