Oregon Oregon Board of Pharmacy

800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 150

e Bicvwn, Govemion Portland, OR 97232
Phone: 971 / 673-0001

Fax: 971 / 673-0002

pharmacy.board@state.or.us

TO: Continuing Education Attendees and Providers
FROM: Gary Miner, R.Ph., Compliance Director
SUBJECT: Approval for Continuing Education Programs

TO SUBMIT A CE PROGRAM FOR APPROVAL AS AN ATTENDEE OR PROVIDER PLEASE:
1. COMPLETE the attached “Application for Continuing Education Approval”.

A. Type or print information clearly.

B. Complete ALL information, being sure to include the date, time of program, name and
address of the location.

C. Indicate the number and type of CE hours requested: Pharmacy and Drug Law, Patient
Safety or Medication Error Reduction, or other pharmacy or health related topic.

2. SUBMIT a copy of the application AND a program syllabus, brochure or other applicable
document(s) to the board office for our file.

A. After the application is reviewed you will be notified.
3. PROVIDERS also must:
A. MAINTAIN attendance records for three years after the program.

B. SUPPLY attendees with a certificate as “proof of program completion” filled out by the
provider.

The required attendee certificate must contain:
= Date of the Program
Participant’'s Name
Program Title
Program type(s) and number of hours provided
Sponsoring Organization
Signature of authorized person of the sponsoring organization

ADDITIONAL CONTINUING EDUCATION INFORMATION

Per OAR 855 Division 21, during the period from July 1 through June 30 of the biennial license renewal
cycle, each pharmacist must have satisfactorily completed 30 contact hours of continuing education (CE) in
an approved program. This requirement may be fulfilled by attending an approved CE program or per OAR
855-021-0010:

(8) Pharmacists taking post graduate studies applicable to graduate or professional degrees may
submit the course syllabus and evidence of satisfactory completion of the course for continuing
education credit approval by the Board.
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(9) The Board may approve up to 26 hours of CE credit for pharmacists who have successfully
completed nationally certified Disease State Management courses.

In addition, attending life saving/support training may be approved for CE hours as follows:

= ACLS, PALS or Immunization training may be approved for up to 14 contact hours
= CPR training may be approved for up to 4 contact hours
= BLS training may be approved for up to 2 contact hours

To obtain approval following completion of training, please submit a completed application with an
attached copy of “proof of attendance”.

Also, CE hours may be earned as a PROVIDER of a CE program.

OAR 855-021-0010 (7) states that: A maximum of 20 hours may be earned in any licensing cycle by
preparing and presenting CE programs. Pharmacists presenting CE programs may earn one contact hour
for preparation time of one hour or more, plus credit for the actual contact hour time of the presentation. A
pharmacist must show content of the course, and a description of the intended audience (e.g.,

pharmacists, physicians, nurses).

Note: Public service programs, such as presentations to school children or service clubs, are not eligible for
continuing education credit.



Oregon Oregon Board of Pharmacy

800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 150

Kt Brovin/Govermon Portland, OR 97232
Phone: 971 / 673-0001

Fax: 971 / 673-0002
pharmacy.board@state.or.us

APPLICATION FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION APPROVAL

Please attach ONE (1) copy of the program syllabus, brochure or other applicable document(s) and refer
to them in filling out this form.
PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY Date Submitted:

Requesting as an: [ ] Attendee [ ] CE Provider Name:

Provider / Sponsor:
Address: Phone:

Contact Person:

Title of Program:

C.E. credit (50 min. = 1 clock hr) Law/Ethics: Patient Safety Error Prevention: Pain Mgmt:____
Other topic: (topic: )
Total contact hours: Date of Program: Time:

Location name and address:

Phone:

Brief description of Program & Objectives:

Program Format (PowerPoint, lecture, demonstration):

Name(s) of speaker(s) & qualifications:

Method of program evaluation:

Providers MUST:
» Submit this application to the Board before the date of the program.
= Maintain attendance records for 3 years after the program.
= Supply participants with a “proof of attendance” certificate, filled out ONLY by the provider, that

MUST contain:

o Date of the program 0 Program type(s) and number of hours provided

o Participant's name 0 Sponsoring organization

o Program title 0 Signature of authorized person from sponsoring organization
RETURN CONFIRMATION|[ ]Yes [ ]No PROGRAM APPROVED [ ]Yes [ ]No
via:
0 E-mail: BY:
[0 Fax#: DATE:
0 Mail:
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