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 APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 
 RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL DRUG OUTLET 
 IN AND OUT OF STATE 
 (Expires March 31 Annually) 
 OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150 
 PORTLAND OR  97232 
 TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001 

www.pharmacy.state.or.us  
 

RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL DRUG OUTLET    Fee:    $175.00 
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE (If Applicable)       Fee:      $50.00 
LAWS & RULES (Not Required if Accessible Electronically)      Fee:      $25.00 
            ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE 
Dear Applicant:  
 

Please be advised of the following information for registration of a Retail or Institutional Drug Outlet.  
 
1. The registration must be issued before opening. 
 
2. Outlets may need both a Retail and Institutional Drug Outlet Registration based on services provided.  
 
3. Per Oregon Administrative Rules, registration fee(s) are required for NEW OUTLETS, OWNERSHIP 

CHANGES or LOCATION CHANGES.  An ownership change requires submission of a copy of the 
sales agreement or other documentation that verifies proof of new ownership. 

 
4. NEW OR RELOCATED PHARMACIES must submit an 8.5” x 11” floor plan, drawn to scale (can be 

hand drawn). Floor plans must identify the location of sinks, refrigerators, windows and doors.  
Additionally, you must note whether windows/doors are secured or unsecured. 

 
5. No fee is required if you are completing these forms to report a NAME CHANGE ONLY.   
 
6. All non-resident pharmacies must have an Oregon licensed Pharmacist-in-Charge who is licensed in 

Oregon within four months of initial licensure of the pharmacy. 
 
7. OREGON CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE ACT APPLICATION.  Be advised that the Controlled 

Substance Registration is not an independent registration. It must be issued in conjunction with a Retail 
or Institutional Drug Outlet Registration. Retail and Institutional Drug Outlet Applications will not be 
processed without the completion of the Controlled Substance Application.  You must submit a copy of 
your DEA registration along with your application. If your facility does not handle controlled 
substances, please check the box “Not Applicable” and return it with the Retail or Institutional Drug 
Outlet Application. Note: The controlled substance fee is not required if the application is marked “Not 
Applicable.” 

 
8. VERIFICATION FORM OF LICENSE/REGISTRATION IN RESIDENT STATE (required for pharmacies 

located outside of Oregon.)  Applications for registration of out-of-state pharmacies will not be 
processed without this verification.  To prevent delays in processing, submit a completed verification 
form or letter from your resident state licensing agency with your application(s). License verifications 
must be original and not tampered with, this includes the use of whiteout.  Photocopies of registrations 
will not be accepted in lieu of a license verification from your resident state.   

 
9. OREGON REVISED STATUES and ADMINISTRATIVE RULES are available for review on our web 

site at: www.pharmacy.state.or.us. If electronic copies of laws and rules are accessible to all staff 
members, a hard copy is not required.   

   
Please be aware that your registration will be issued upon approval once all required paperwork and fee(s) are 
processed. Your license is to be in your possession PRIOR to doing business in Oregon.  Retail and 
Institutional Drug Outlet Registrations expire March 31, annually, and fees are not prorated.  Renewals are due 
and must be post-marked by February 28, annually, which is one (1) month prior to the expiration date of your 
license.  Renewal notices will be mailed out mid-January. 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
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APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 
 

RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL DRUG OUTLET 
IN AND OUT OF STATE 
(Expires March 31 Annually) 
 

OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150 
PORTLAND OR  97232 
TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us 
 
 

RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL DRUG OUTLET         FEE: $175.00 
                         ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE 
CHECK ONE  [  ]  RETAIL  [  ]  INSTITUTIONAL          (Check or Money Order only) 
 
PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE BOXES:           
 [  ]  New Outlet Start  / Effective Date:           
 

[  ]  License Reinstatement  [  ] Owner Change  [  ]  Location Change  [  ]  Name Change Only - No fee required 

  License Number:      Date Effective:        

A change of ownership or location requires the submission of a new application and registration fee within 15 days. 
 

Please PRINT or TYPE WARNING: ORS 475.135 (1) (e) The furnishing of false information is grounds to deny registration. 

Pharmacy Name:                

Corporate / LLC Name:              

Federal Tax ID # or Owner SSN:         

Location Address:               

City, State, Zip:                 

Phone Number:   (           )                -    FAX #  (            )                -     

License & Renewal Mailing Address:             

City, State, Zip:                 

Licensing Contact Person:    Title    Contact Phone    

Licensing Contact Person E-mail Address:            
Please check all that apply to this location 

[  ] Community Chain  [  ] LTCF Ambulatory [  ] Health System Ambulatory [  ] Non-Sterile Compounding  

[  ] Community Independent [  ] LTCF Consulting  [  ] Health System Residential [  ] Sterile Compounding   

[  ] Consulting   [  ] LTCF Residential [  ] Nuclear                  [  ] 503B Outsourcing Facility 

[  ] Other           [  ] Mail Order  [  ] Central Fill   [  ] Central Processing  

Hours/days pharmacy is open:   AM to   PM   Through     
 

Please provide the name, title, address and email of the Owner, CEO, President, or Members of LLC. 
              
Name     Title Address, City, State, Zip  Email     
 

              
Name     Title  Address, City, State, Zip  Email     
 

                
Name   Title Address, City, State, Zip Email     
 
 

PLEASE CHECK ONE: 
 
[  ] I wish to have this registration application processed on the date the Board receives a COMPLETE APPLICATION 

and PAYMENT.  Because the Oregon Board of Pharmacy does not prorate fees, I realize that by having this 
registration become effective before April 1, this license will not be valid for a full year and will need to be 
renewed prior to March 30th.   

 
[  ] I wish to have my registration become effective on the following April 1st.  (ONLY APPLICABLE FOR NEW 

OUTLETS) 

FOR BOARD USE  ONLY 
[0305]  $175.00 
[0310]  $  50.00 
[0326]  $  25.00 

RECEIPT # 
  

  
CHECK #   

ENTERED BY   
PERSON ID #   
APPLICANT ID #   
 

  

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
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RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL DRUG OUTLET 
IN AND OUT OF STATE 

 

ALL PHARMACIST, INTERN AND TECHNICIAN LICENSES MUST BE PROMINENTLY DISPLAYED 
 

ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION (Check Appropriate Boxes) 
(If No, Please Explain) 
 

[  ]  Yes  [  ]  No One prescription balance consistent with the needs of the practice 
[  ]  Yes [  ]  No All other equipment and stock per minimum equipment listed in OAR 855-041-1035   Are these publications on hand? 
  (IF NO, PLEASE EXPLAIN) 
 

 

[  ]  Yes [  ]  No Reference books as per OAR 855-041-1035  
 

[  ]  Yes [  ]  No Generic Sign as per ORS 689.515 (4) 
 

[  ]  Yes [  ]  No Current Pharmacy Laws of Oregon 
 

[  ]  Yes [  ]  No Procedures for use of technicians 
 

[  ] Yes [  ] No Has action ever been taken, or is any such action currently pending against any of the persons or the facility listed on 
this application, by any State or Federal Authority? If “yes”, attach a detailed explanation of the incident and describe any 
penalty incurred.   You must provide a copy of all documents pertaining to discipline. This would include Notice of 
Disciplinary Actions, Board Orders and other related documents. 

 
All of the undersigned hereby state that all the information contained in this application for a pharmacy license is true and correct, that they 
have read and are familiar with the pharmacy laws and rules of the Oregon Board of Pharmacy, and that such provisions of the law will be 
faithfully observed. 
 

 
________________________________________ ________________________________ __________________________ 
Signature     Title (owner, partner, etc.)   Date 
 

OPERATION OF PHARMACIES 
 Personnel 
OAR 855-041-1010(2) 
The pharmacy must ensure that it is in compliance with all state and federal laws and rules governing the practice of pharmacy and that all 
controlled substance records and inventories are maintained in conformance with the keeping and inventory requirements of federal law 
and board rules. 
 

Non-Resident Pharmacies 
855-041-1060(5)  
Every non-resident pharmacy will have a pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) who is licensed in Oregon within four months of initial licensure of 
the pharmacy. 
 

855-041-1060(4)(b)  
[The Oregon licensed PIC] must be normally present in the pharmacy for a minimum of 20 hours per week. 
 

LICENSING OF PHARMACISTS 
 

Duties of a Pharmacist Receiving Prescriptions 
OAR-855-019-0210  
A pharmacist receiving a prescription is responsible for: 
 

(a) Using professional judgment in dispensing only pursuant to a valid prescription. A pharmacist shall not dispense a prescription if the 
pharmacist, in their professional judgment, believes that the prescription was issued without a valid patient-practitioner relationship. In this 
rule, the term practitioner shall include a clinical associate of the practitioner or any other practitioner acting in the practitioner's absence. 
The prescription must be issued for a legitimate medical purpose by an individual practitioner acting in the usual course of their 
professional practice and not result solely from a questionnaire or an internet-based relationship; and    
 

(b) Ensuring that the prescription contains all the information specified in Division 41 of this chapter of rules including the legible name and 
contact phone number of the prescribing practitioner for verification purposes.  
 

Duties of a Pharmacist-in-Charge 
OAR 855-019-0300(6)  
 

The PIC, along with other licensed pharmacy personnel, must ensure that the pharmacy is in compliance with all state and federal laws 
and rules governing the practice of pharmacy and that all controlled substance records and inventories are maintained in accordance with 
all state and federal laws and rules. 
 

 

The outlet submitting and pharmacist signing this document acknowledges reading and understanding the responsibilities of a pharmacist-
in-charge and the requirement to comply with Oregon laws and rules.    
 

__________________________________________     _____________________________ 
Pharmacist-in-Charge (please print)                    Oregon Pharmacist License No. 
 
 

               
Signature of Pharmacist-in-Charge                      Date  
 
 

       
Email Address  

 

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH REQUIRED DOCUMENTS, AND FEES, PAYABLE TO THE 
OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 

ALL RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE ASSESSED A $35.00 RETURNED CHECK FEE PURSUANT TO ORS 30.701(5) 
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CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE APPLICATION 
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION UNDER 
 
OREGON CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE ACT 
(Expires March 31 Annually) 
 

OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150 
PORTLAND OR  97232 
TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us                             FEE $50.00 
                 ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE 
PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE BOXES:           
[  ]  New Outlet   Start  / Effective Date:            (If Not Applicable, please check here) [   ] 
 

[  ]  CS License Reinstatement  [  ] Owner Change  [  ]  Location Change  [  ]  Name Change Only - No fee required 

  License Number:      Date Effective:        

Please PRINT or TYPE WARNING: ORS 475.135 (1) (e) The furnishing of false information is grounds to deny registration. 

Pharmacy Name:                

Corporate / LLC Name:              

Federal Tax ID # or Owner SSN:         

Location Address:               

City, State, Zip:                 

Phone Number:   (           )                -    FAX #  (            )                -     

License & Renewal Mailing Address:             

City, State, Zip:                 

Licensing Contact Person:    Title    Contact Phone    

Licensing Contact Person E-mail Address:            

DRUG SCHEDULES (Check appropriate box(es): 
 

[   ] Schedule I        [   ] Schedule II          [   ] Schedule III          [   ] Schedule III          [   ] Schedule IV          [   ] Schedule V 
 
Attach list of stocked Schedule I Drugs  [   ]   Narcotic   [   ]    Non-Narcotic 
 
ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING: 
 
1. Is the facility listed above currently registered to manufacture, distribute or otherwise handle the controlled substances 
 in the schedules for which you are applying under the laws of the Federal Government?   [    ] YES   [    ] NO 

  
  CURRENT FEDERAL REGISTRATION NUMBER         
 
2. If the applicant is a corporation, association or partnership, has any officer, partner or stockholder been convicted of a 
 felony in connection with controlled substances under state or federal law?    [    ] YES   [    ] NO 
 
3. Has the applicant ever surrendered a previous Federal Controlled Substances Registration (FCSA) or had a FCSA 
 Registration revoked, suspended or denied?  [    ] YES   [    ] NO 
 
4.  If the applicant is a corporation, association or partnership, has any officer, partner, or stockholder surrendered a FCSA 
 Registration or had a FCSA Registration revoked, suspended or denied?  [    ] YES   [    ] NO 
 
IF THE ANSWER IS YES TO ANY OF QUESTIONS 2 THROUGH 4, ATTACH LETTER SETTING FORTH THE CIRCUMSTANCES. 
 
                      
Print or Type Name of Applicant                       Signature of Applicant or Authorized Individual         Date  
 
 

 
ALL RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE ASSESSED A $35.00 RETURNED CHECK FEE  

PURSUANT TO ORS 30.701(5) 
  

FOR BOARD USE  ONLY  [0310]  $  50.00 
 

RECEIPT # 
  

  
CHECK #   

ENTERED BY   
PERSON ID #   
APPLICANT ID #   
 

  

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
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RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL DRUG OUTLET 
(Expires March 31 Annually) 

 
OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 

800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150 
PORTLAND OR  97232 

TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us  

 
Out-of-State Establishments Only  

 
Verification Form of License/Registration in Resident State (required for retail or institutional drug 
outlets located outside the State of Oregon).  Applications for out-of-state retail or institutional drug outlets will not 
be processed without this verification.   
 
To prevent delays in processing, submit a completed verification form or letter from your resident state licensing 
agency with your application(s). License verifications must be original and not tampered with, this includes the 
use of whiteout.  Photocopies of registrations will not be accepted in lieu of a license verification from your 
resident state.   If your license or registration can be verified online, a recent printout from the online system may 
be submitted along with a copy of your license or registration. 
 
 

To be completed by Applicant. You are responsible for sending this document to your resident State licensing 
agency for their verification and state seal.  You must attach a photocopy of your registration or license. 
 

Resident State 
License Number              
License Type               
Business Name              

Physical Address              

City, State, Zip Code              
 

 
To be completed by licensing/regulatory agency and returned to the applicant: 
 

The above pharmacy has applied for a Retail or Institutional Drug Outlet Registration with the Oregon Board of 
Pharmacy.  This registration is required of any pharmacy located within or out of this state that is engaged in the 
distribution of drugs within Oregon. 
 
Written verification that this establishment has a current license or registration and is in good standing with its 
resident state is required for our licensing process. Please complete the section below and return it to the 
applicant. 
 

[  ] The outlet listed above holds a current, unrestricted license or registration with our agency and has no 
disciplinary action pending. 

[  ] Other (please explain):              

                 
 

      
Print Name & Title 
 

              
Authorized Signature      Date  
 
 
 
 
 

 (State Seal Required) 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
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OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150 
PORTLAND OR  97232 
TELEPHONE: (971)673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us  
 

 

 
 

OREGON PHARMACY LAWS AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULES       FEE $25.00 
 

Please Mail to: 
  
NAME                
 
FACILITY NAME              
   
ADDRESS               
   
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE             
 
 
Number of sets requested      Amount enclosed $    ($25.00 per set) 
 
Set(s) ordered for: 
 

Pharmacist [  ]          Intern [  ]          Reciprocal [  ]          Pharmacy [  ]          Other [  ] 
 

Make checks payable to:     Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 NE Oregon St, Ste 150 
Portland, OR  97232 

 
 
 
Please Note: 
 

• Administrative Rules are updated through the Secretary of State’s Office within 30 days of being filed. 
 

• Electronic versions of pharmaceutical references required under Oregon Administrative Rule 855-041-
1035 satisfy the minimum equipment requirement for a pharmacy. 

 
• The Oregon Board of Pharmacy Official Newsletter can be subscribed to by sending an email to 

OregonBOPNewsletter@nabp.org with only the word “Subscribe” in the subject heading and body of the 
email. Once you subscribe, you will receive a notice via e-mail when the newsletter is available.  

 
• The Laws and Rules for the Oregon Board of Pharmacy may be found on the Boards website at 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us. Included are: 
 

o Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 689,Oregon Pharmacy Act 
o Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 475, Uniform Controlled Substance Act 
o Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 855 

 

 
 

ALL RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE ASSESSED A $35.00 RETURNED CHECK FEE  
PURSUANT TO ORS 30.701(5) 

FOR BOARD USE  ONLY  [0324]  $25.00 

RECEIPT # 
  

  
CHECK # 

  

ENTERED BY 

  

   

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
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