
State of Oregon Department of Aviation – Exemption Request Form - 2014 

REQUEST FOR TEMPORARY EXEMPTION  
FOR OREGON AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION 

 
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULE 738-080-0030 

 
Aircraft not physically capable of operation or flight may be temporarily exempt from the requirement of 
paying an annual registration fee. The Director of the Department of Aviation or the Director’s designee 
shall make the final determination as to which aircraft may be allowed a temporary exemption. 
 
The owner of any aircraft that has been assigned a Federal “N” number for the aircraft must complete 
an application for registration within the prescribed time limits.  (Prior to March 1 or within 60 days upon 
entering the state or being purchased).   
 
An aircraft owner that believes an aircraft to be not physically capable of operation or flight shall 
prepare a detailed statement on the attached sheet giving the reason why it should be temporarily 
exempted from registration. This statement shall be signed and shall accompany the completed 
application for registration. 
 
This statement must be received by the Department 30 days before the appropriate registration 
deadline to allow time for determining the eligibility for exemption. 
 
If approved, the temporary exemption from registration shall be effective for one calendar year in 
which the exemption is granted – all exemptions expire on December 31 of each year.  
 
If the exemption is denied, the aircraft owner will be notified.  The owner must then submit 
the appropriate registration fee to the Department by the established deadline to avoid assessment of 
penalty and possible citation for “failure to register”. 

 
“Not physically capable of operation and flight” means any aircraft that is not capable of: 

 
 1.) Being operated in a forward motion on the ground or in flight. 
 
 2.) The need for repairs to the aircraft such as flat tires, broken windows, or other short term 
 maintenance items that are normally required are NOT considered adequate justification for 
 exemption. Please see FAR, PART 43, Appendix A (c) for guidance on preventive maintenance. 
  
 3.) An aircraft that is grounded merely because it has not had appropriate inspections as 
 required by Federal Law is NOT eligible for exemption. 
 
 4.) An aircraft must be incapable of physical operation or flight for a period of time that extends 
 beyond March 1 of each calendar year to be eligible for exemption.   
 
An aircraft owner may request a review of the Director of the Department or the Director’s designee’s 
decision after payment of the appropriate registration fee has been submitted. 
 
Please complete the attached statement, sign and date. Be explicit in your detail of why the plane is not 
flyable. Submit with a completed registration form to: 
 
 
 Oregon Department of Aviation 
 Request for Aircraft Exemption 
 3040 25th Street SE 
 Salem, OR  97302 
 
 
 



State of Oregon Department of Aviation – Exemption Request Form - 2014 

REQUEST FOR TEMPORARY EXEMPTION  
FOR OREGON AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION 

 
 Aircraft N number: _______________________________________ 
 
My aircraft is not flyable because:          
 
             
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
As the owner of the above-named aircraft, I am applying for a temporary exemption from Oregon 
aircraft registration fees because my aircraft is not physically capable of operation or flight.  I 
understand an exemption cannot be approved for an aircraft awaiting normal maintenance work 
necessary for safe flying, such as annual or preventive maintenance; or repair of worn or 
broken items such as tires, windows and the like; or awaiting annual inspections as required by 
the Federal Aviation Administration. 
 
I agree to allow the Oregon Department of Aviation to inspect my aircraft if they choose to determine if 
it qualifies for temporary exemption.  I understand that if approved, the exemption will be valid through 
December of each year.  I will need to renew my exemption for each year that it remains un-flyable.  I 
also understand that as soon as my aircraft becomes flyable, I must immediately pay the registration 
fee with the Oregon Department of Aviation, or I will be subject to penalties. 
______________________________________________________________________ 
Printed Name 
 
       ____________ ___________ 
Mailing Address 
 
        _______________________ 
City, State, ZIP Code 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Home Phone No.      Business Phone No. 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Email Address 
 
 
      ________________________ ______ 
Please sign your name here                                              Date 
 
 
For Office Use only: 
 
Exemption Approved    Exemption Denied        
 
Approving Initial______________             Date________________  
 


